2 MINUTES FROM STADIUMS, HORSESHOE CASINO, AND DOWNTOWN

Rhett Barbour

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

2 MINUTES FROM STADIUMS, HORSESHOE CASINO, AND DOWNTOWN

Cincinnati House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom Close To Downtown Cincinnati

Our home is less than 5 minutes from Downtown Cincinnati, Ohio with great restaurants, fine shopping, and great museums. Our place is perfect if you want a small town feel without giving up the advantages of the 'big city.' Within 5-10 minutes of Rookwood Pavilion outdoor mall and Kenwood Town Center indoor mall. Great place to stay for a weekend series with the Cincinnati Reds or a Cincinnati Bengals game. 50 minutes from Downtown Lexington and 70 minutes from Downtown Louisville. 30 minutes from Perfect North Ski/Snowboard Slopes. 25 minutes from the newly finished Creation Museum. 5 minutes from Newport Aquarium and 10 minutes from Cincinnati Zoo.

This house is within a 5-10 minute walk of two major grocery stores, several local restaurants, Blockbuster, Starbucks, and not to mention the close proximity to our famous hometown ice-cream, Graeter's.

House comes with a stocked kitchen with quality appliances. Kitchen has entry to the main living space, the stairs to the second floor, and the dining room. It walks out to a back deck overlooking the fenced-in backyard, which dips down to a small creek. The dining room has a table that can seat 6 comfortably and 8 if needed, and it enters into the main living space. There is also a high chair available for infants or small children. The main living space has plenty of comfortable seating, a small desk and chair (perfect for laptop work while connected to our super fast WiFi internet), and a flat screen TV with DVD player. The whole house is fully furnished with ceiling fans throughout for added comfort. Upstairs has 3 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. The master bedroom has a queen size bed and windows overlooking the front of the house. The other 2 bedrooms each have a full bed and one has a baby crib and twin bed as well. The full bathroom has an old fashion claw foot tub with shower. All beds have linens and one bath towel per person will be provided.

The front porch is covered, has a porch swing, and spans the whole front of the house. There is a washer and dryer in the basement. It has a fully functional toilet as well.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Events Allowed

Rhett Barbour

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2013
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Born and raised in Cincinnati, this area will always be home. I run a test prep firm and help thousands of high school students get scholarship money for college. Having this property is a way to stay connected to the city I love.

Rhett Barbour purchased this house in 2007

The location means everything for this property. Less than 500 meters from the interstate and 2 minutes from downtown (traffic is never a problem!), this home gives you the feel of being in the suburbs while basically being in the city.

Close to interstate.

Hearing the fireworks from the stadiums.

Porch swing on cool summer nights.

Grilling out on the back deck.

Original wood trim.

Unique design on main level hardwood flooring.

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
2 Minutes From Stadiums, Horseshoe Casino, And Downtown
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews
business
2 Minutes From Stadiums, Horseshoe Casino, And Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p466093vb
(859) 652-3228
Cincinnati Ohio
Minneapolis
2

Weekend Stay

  • 2 of 5
My family and I stayed at this rental for a long weekend. It was OK.
The good: location, convenient, big enough.
The bad: no heat, dirty, uncomfortable, outdated furniture,minor repair issues throughout, damage deposit was not returned within the specified time frame.
Would NOT recommend
  • Submitted: May 30, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Security Deposit: The contract states the deposit will be returned within 2 weeks of departure. This review was written 2 days before the 2 week mark. The security deposit was returned on May 31 and the stay ended on May 18.
No heat: We had a family stay in this house all winter and the furnace worked well, so I'm not sure what this is in reference to, particularly since this stay occurred in mid-May.
Dirty: We hire a professional cleaner before each stay. I'd like to know more specifics on what was considered dirty so I can address this with the cleaners.
Uncomfortable: I'm not sure exactly what this means, but most guests leave communicating that they found the house to meet their comfort standards.
Outdated Furniture: This is true. The furniture is not brand new and we chose to buy from antique furniture stores as opposed to buying from Ikea. This seems to be more of a preference than anything, so knowing the style of furniture may help inform your decision about renting this property.
Minor repair issues: This is a difficult one. As stated, this home is over 100 years old. It had significant updates completed about 10 years ago, but it will always be an old home. We regularly have professionals come to check out the property (i.e. plumber, hvac, etc.) and items are either fixed or deemed unnecessary.
When thinking about renting, feel free to ask about any of the above issues and I'll address them in more detail if you'd like.
business
2 Minutes From Stadiums, Horseshoe Casino, And Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p466093vb
(859) 652-3228
Cincinnati Ohio
Memphis, TN
5

Great Family Trip

  • 5 of 5
We had a great time in the Newport / Cincinnati area! We came for a family trip to see the Creation Museum, the Cincinnati Zoo and the Newport Aquarium. This property was a great place to stay... less than 2-miles from the Aquarium; less than 5-miles from the zoo and only 20+ miles from the Creation Museum. This was our family's first adventure with a rental house instead of a hotel and absolutely loved having a "home" to return to at the end of each day's adventures.
The house has a few idiosyncrasies, but one would expect that from a home that is 100+ years in age. The floors creak and slope noticeably in various directions and the wife didn't really like the idea of the second toilet located in the basement (although the kids were fascinated with the concept - at least during the day), but those are just signs of the age and the house appears to be well maintained - we woke up the first morning to outside temperatures of 25-degF and were pleasantly surprised at how well the home was insulated; the house also sports very good water pressure (when using one point of service at a time; water pressure tanks if a second point of use is added) and has a very good water heater. The neighborhood is quite and feels very safe, the house is clean, the kitchen has most everything that you would need to put together meals (including some "open use" pantry items - spices, etc), the wife was thrilled to have access to a washer and dryer (that worked very well). The grill on the back patio was great to have as well. There is shopping minutes from the house - including Target and a grocery store (Krogers) - the Krogers even had a section were they provided fresh Sushi that was actually very good. The owners provided good communication and the process to access the property and get settled in went very smoothly.
As a family, having a rental house was such a blessing when compared to a hotel. The ability to have a bedroom to put the kids to bed; to have a living room to hang out in (both with the family and after the kids were put to bed); to have a kitchen to prepare meals in - while the daily cost for the home was a more than the daily rate for a hotel, it was easily offset by the fact that we were not having to eat out all the time. We will definitely seek out other rental properties as we plan our next vacation and we would definitely consider returning to this property when our travels bring us back to the area.
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
2 Minutes From Stadiums, Horseshoe Casino, And Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p466093vb
(859) 652-3228
Cincinnati Ohio
4

A Great Holiday Retreat

  • 4 of 5
We stayed for a week with our two young children (ages 1 & 3). The reservation process and all communications leading up to and during our stay were very smooth, courteous and speedy. The photos in the listing are a perfect representation of the house itself and we were very happy upon our arrival to the property. The house is situated in a quiet neighborhood and the property (and surrounding properties) are very well maintained. The house is located very close to a sizeable shopping center which was convenient. It's also the perfect distance from the expressway - close enough to quickly jump on, but just far enough away so you're not inundated with road noise.

The house is older and, therefore, has some of the interesting quirks of such. During a very cold week the heat kept us perfectly warm, but some of the rooms do heat up much more than others. There was more than an ample amount of storage and closet space. The bedroom furniture is a bit dated and worn, but all functioned well and provided us with the room we needed to spread out our things and be comfortable for our stay. The bear claw tub and shower were a little cramped, but the water pressure and temperature were fine. This is a very clean house in general and is well-kept.

There were also ammenities specifically for children that we were so grateful for: toys (suitable for children 4 and under) placed alongside a perfect play rug, a new and very sturdy Pack 'n Play that kept the baby sound asleep, bunk beds, a high chair and child-sized dining utensils and dishes. Because we knew there were stairs, we brought our own gate. Since we stayed over a holiday, it was nice to be able to have a couple family members over and the children have a place to play while the adults chatted.

Overall, this was a great stay and we'd recommend it. There is a very eclectic mix of old and new in the house interior that make it charming and the location is convenient. Most importantly, we had confidence that the owners would be rapidly responsive if we needed anything or had any problems during our stay. We were most grateful for that.
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
2 Minutes From Stadiums, Horseshoe Casino, And Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p466093vb
(859) 652-3228
Cincinnati Ohio
Poconos, PA
5

Nice Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5
Very nice, clean house. We stayed during what was probably the hottest week of the year and the central A/C kept it very comfortable. Much to see and do in the Cincinnati/Newport area and I would recommend this property to anyone visiting there.
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
2 Minutes From Stadiums, Horseshoe Casino, And Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p466093vb
(859) 652-3228
Cincinnati Ohio
4

a hawk

  • 4 of 5
Very convenient to downtown and comfortable.
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International - CVG
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Anderson Ferry
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Amtrak - Downtown Cincinnati
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I-71/75
Car: recommended

Our home is less than 5 minutes from Downtown Cincinnati, Ohio with great restaurants, fine shopping, and great museums. Our place is perfect if you want a small town feel without giving up the advantages of the 'big city.' Within 5-10 minutes of Rookwood Pavilion outdoor mall and Kenwood Town Center indoor mall. Great place to stay for a weekend series with the Cincinnati Reds or a Cincinnati Bengals game. 50 minutes from Downtown Lexington and 70 minutes from Downtown Louisville. 30 minutes from Perfect North Ski/Snowboard Slopes. 25 minutes from the Creation Museum. 5 minutes from Newport Aquarium and 10 minutes from Cincinnati Zoo.

This house is within a 5-10 minute walk of two major grocery stores, several local restaurants, Blockbuster, Starbucks, and not to mention the close proximity to our famous hometown ice-cream, Graeter's.

Be sure to check out the 2nd oldest Zoo in the US. The Banks in downtown Cincinnati has plenty of bars and restaurants near the stadiums.

Don't miss the Horseshoe Casino as well. Newly finished, this is a great place to spend the afternoon or evening.

King's Island is another great attraction for families.

Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Cincinnati House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
2015 MLB All-Star Game
Jul 14 2015 - Jul 16 2015
3 night minimum stay
$900
Flat fee
 
 
Non-Peak Season
Sep 13 2015 - Apr 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$160
$1,100
$2,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,300
$2,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49
Pet Fee $75
Cleaning (< 3 nights) $60
Tax Rate 7.0%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting manager when booking.
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Cincinnati House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Internet
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Parking
  • Living Room
  • Iron & Board
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • Dining ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , Clawfoot tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , dresser and closet
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , double and twin bunk, closet, dresser
  • Other beds are available.
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Events Allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • theme parks
  • zoo
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • miniature golf
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • Babysitter
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • basketball court
Notes:
Ask questions and let us know how we can make your stay great!
Email Manager Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,575 - $1,775 per week
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 7
$1,775 per week
  • 2 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 7