Polly Watt

Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Polly Watt

Speaks french, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GÎTE POPPY

Moyon Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 COLOCATED TWO BEDROOM COTTAGES CLOSE TO D-DAY BEACHES AND MT ST MICHEL

A stone barn conversion comprising 2 two bedroom cottages/gîtes, renovated in 2010, to a high standard. They are located 800m from the village which has a restaurant, village shop, post office, bakery, butchers, garage and riding school. The houses are surrounded by fields of cows and horses, 100m off a quiet road.

20% OFF BRITTANY FERRIES: We can offer a discount of up to 20% with crossings on Brittiany Ferries

Details for Gîte Poppy 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4, 1 Bathroom

This converted stone barn has been made into two self-catering 2-bedroom properties, each sleeping 4 people comfortably with the option of a travel cot in each. The gîtes/cottages, can be rented together or apart and have been newly renovated in 2010 with all new furnishings. There is a double bedroom and a twin / superking bedroom in each gîte, with new hotel quality beds. The properties have broadband/wifi access including free international telephone calls. Gîte Poppy has a west facing terrace area, for sunset views and a barbeque. The houses are in a very quiet spot ,surrounded by fields with horses and cows, but within walking distance (800m) of the village, which has a restaurant (lunch only), bakery, play ground, post office, butcher, tennis court, equestrian centre and two bars. Moyon is in the centre of la Manche, an hour from Cherbourg and Caen ferry ports, and an hour and a half from Dinard airport (with Ryanair flights), and from Deauville airport.
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
Polly Watt (Owner)
Advertiser since 2010
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks french, english

About Polly Watt

I am a single mum, with two great girls aged 7 & 8. I am a full-time teacher at a Business School.

Polly Watt purchased this cottage in 1995

Why Polly Watt chose Moyon

I came to France when I was 24 and saw this house near the village of Moyon and fell in love with it. We moved here in the September of 1995, and gradually began converting one of the barns. Now 17 years later, we are still working on improvements on the property, all though finally most of that is actually happening on the main house.

What makes this cottage unique

I fell in love with this area on my first visit to Bayeux and that was the basis of our search for a new home. We are very well located for visiting the local sites. We are equi-distant to most of them, such as Bayeux, Granville, Cherbourg, Mont St Michel. There is also a very lively music scene locally, which never fails to surprise people.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed in Gite Poppy in Spring and it was just lovely. The area is filled with gorgeous daffodils and the grass was nice and green. The gite itself was in a fantastic area, not too far a drive from Mont St Michel and other towns such as St Lo, which has a great fresh food market on Saturdays.



The gite is in great condition, with everything you would need for a relaxing holiday week away. Inside the gite is warm and homely with good self-contained facilities and nice large beds. Books were provided in the living room, as well as an English skybox.



The gite is in a lovely stone building which is perfect for the countryside location, surrounded by cows and horses. The owners dogs were also fun to play with. Truly a great place to come for some time away from the city.
Mar 2011
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.5
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Gîte Poppy
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews
business
Gîte Poppy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465280
+33 666803308
Moyon Coutances - Saint Lo area
5

Comfortable French Countryside Retreat

  • 5 of 5
Gite Poppy was a comfortable and cozy retreat in the French countryside. My two teenage daughters and my husband especially liked...
...the beds which were the most comfortable we've experienced away from home.
...the amount of space in the apartment with the two bedrooms upstairs and a sitting room combined with dining room and kitchen downstairs
...the quiet of the countryside with fields all around us (and three handsome horses which we could see from our front door), yet it was only about 10 minutes from the highways.
...our helpful host, Polly, who was easy to reach (being right next door), and who was happy to assist us and was friendly as well as fun and easy to visit with. If Polly wasn't available, her assistant, Claire, was just as helpful.
...the location in the center of Normandy made it easy for us to visit the beautiful and scenic Mont St. Michel as well as visit the Museum of Peace in Caen and the American Cemetery at Omaha Beach.
Thank you, Polly!!
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a fabulous fun family to have staying in our Gite, and if I could give them a rating they would get the full 5 stars.
business
Gîte Poppy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465280
+33 666803308
Moyon Coutances - Saint Lo area
5

Just really lovely

  • 5 of 5
My partner and I stayed at Gite Poppy earlier this year and enjoyed a thoroughly lovely time there. Although time sort of disappeared off the radar, as it has a habit of doing when it no longer has relevance to having a good time. This was exactly what I was looking for - far away from the Madding Crowd, far away from the continuous beep of devices (although the internet connection worked fine ;-)) and very close to the real France that was promised on the website where we found Poppy.

The owner and her family became friends whilst we were there, offering helpful advice and travel tips for all the things to see locally. I am no stranger to this part of the world, but Polly pointed out a few brand new things that I can now add to my portfolio.

It's just a well-appointed, relaxed, country retreat from the madness of life, and I cannot write here exactly what it meant to be so relaxed so quickly. It was Good with a Capital 'G', and that is what I wanted. What we wanted. Clean, fresh, well positioned, far enough away from everything and close enough to anything. You do need a car or a good horse, but this is France and not central London - thank goodness.
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: A really lovely couple who we loved having. Welcome back any time and stay for as long as you want.
business
Gîte Poppy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465280
+33 666803308
Moyon Coutances - Saint Lo area
5

Wonderful Gite !!

  • 5 of 5
We were a party of four adults. My husband and I are from Washington DC suburbs and our friends are from Arizona. We loved everything about the gite and Polly the hostess..We could not have been more pleased with everything even the weather!
The gite is in a rural setting that is just beautiful. It was quiet and we enjoyed interacting with Polly on the deck. She had a staff of 3 delightful young people from Australia, Scotland and England. They were so helpful that they took our laundry in to dry it one evening.
I definitively would recommend the gite. The price was right and it was extremely clean. We cooked every night, the kitchen was adequate eventhough sans microwave. The beds were very good (we are seniors) so we needed a good night's rest. Loved the skylights in the bedrooms.
We have rented many places in the States that could not even meet this gite as far as cleanliness.
Moyon is a charming little town very close to all the main sites in Normandy. You do need a vehicle as I do not have any information about the public transportation . Vive gite Poppy !!!! 5 stars

I can see from the previous reviewer that flies were an issue..I don't understand it..The gite is in the country and the horses are in the pasture not having wine and cheese with you at your table..
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: These were my best ever guests! I got invited over for cheese and wine on the terrace, they were generous to a fault and left the property clean and tidy. Please come back anytime.
business
Gîte Poppy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465280
+33 666803308
Moyon Coutances - Saint Lo area
Hebron, KY
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5
I agree with all of the reviews about location; the countryside is beautiful, Moyon is a very charming village and you are centrally located for seeing lots of sights in Normandy. We enjoyed all of this, especially getting fish and chips in Moyon on Friday evening.
I do not agree that the gîte was a peaceful place to stay. There are several people living in the main house and while we were there, the people in the next-door gîte seemed to be acquainted with the people in the main house. There were cars coming and going all the time as well as people cutting across our “patio” so it wasn’t much fun to sit outside. The other unit does have a private garden so that would have been better. Yes, the horses are beautiful to watch, but that also results in lots of flies. Ugh!
The pictures show lots of pretty flowers on the patio…..all we found were boxes of dead flowers. That was such a shame since every village you went through still had beautiful flowers at this time of year.
The interior pictures make it look a lot nicer and larger than it is. It is very rustic and furnished cheaply. However, it was clean.
The WiFi worked nicely.
The kitchen is cramped, dark and not too well equipped. No microwave, small refrig, very few pots and pans.
The only bathroom is on the first floor (we knew this before renting), but is really tiny. There is a small washer. The hair dryer was very nice and greatly appreciated.
The steps going to the bedroom are steep and narrow and would be a problem for anyone with mobility problems.
The bedrooms were a nice size with new hardwood floors. There was plenty of storage. The beds were comfortable. There are only skylights so I would imagine that it would be hot in the summer. Plus I felt like it was a fire hazard since there were no windows.
Disposing of your trash was inconvenient…several different recycling bins in the barn and you were supposed to take it all to the neighbors one evening a week. Not something you want to mess with on vacation.
We were able to use PayPal which we like to do. Although we had to remind Polly to return our refund.
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments - in our efforts to continually improve the experience of visitors to our property all feed back is useful. I have answered your points below.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed the village and the surrounding area (and the fish and chips!)

We are sorry that you had noise disturbance - we were not aware of any undue comings and goings during your stay and if you had mentioned this we would have looked into it. The couple staying in the co-located gite during your stay are a quiet professional couple who have been coming for 4 days a month for the last two years.

We apologise for the window boxes which was an oversight on our part

With reference to flies, I'm afraid they are part and parcel of a country location and beyond our control.

The property is typical of accommodation in rural France and we have always been commended on how well equipped the gites are. However, we will put an inventory on our website so that future guests know exactly what we provide. We have considered adding a microwave, but did not want to reduce the available surface space, or reduce the natural light in the kitchen by putting it on the windowsill. In view of your comments we will review our decision.

House to house rubbish collection is not generally available in the French countryside and it is quite common for property owners to have to take their rubbish to a central point. Any rubbish incorrectly recycled will not be removed by the municipal waste collection service. We provide a point in the barn, 10m from our gites, for our guests and we then take this rubbish and recycling to the main collection point for you.

We are glad that you found using Paypal helpful. Your security deposit (not refund) was returned well within our two week stated time scale.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us such detailed feedback.
business
Gîte Poppy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465280
+33 666803308
Moyon Coutances - Saint Lo area
5

Our visit to Nornamdy

  • 5 of 5
Our stay at the Gite Poppy was very nice. The Cottage was located close to a very cute,friendy little French village. The Cottage was very comfortible, clean and well stocked with all we would need. The owner and her staff were very friendly and helpfull. We were centrally located to all we wanted to see while in Normany. And I loved the beautful country side all around this cottage. The Horse coral with the beautiful horses just topped it all off. Would recommend these cottage's to anyone who would like to visit Normany.
Thank you!
Miki Hayes
USA
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were delighted that this charming couple could stay with us. As always we were impressed by the amount of sites they managed to visit during their stay. We'd love to have them back any time.
business
Gîte Poppy
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p465280
+33 666803308
Moyon Coutances - Saint Lo area
5

excellent choise

  • 5 of 5
Nice and cosy house, beautiful scenery, peaceful,friendly owner.
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
52 Kilometres
Caen
Nearest Ferry
70 Kilometres
Caen
Nearest Train
15 Kilometres
Saint Lo
Nearest Motorway
15 Kilometres
A84 junction 39
Nearest Beach
36 Kilometres
St Martin de Brehal
Nearest Barpub
0.8 Kilometres
Moyon
Nearest Golf
24 Kilometres
Vire
Nearest Restaurant
0.8 Kilometres
Moyon
Car: necessary

Moyon is centrally located in La Manche, and ideally placed for visiting all the local attractions. To the west are beautiful sandy beaches and the historic town of Granville, birthplace of Dior, and Mont St Michel. To the south are areas of exceptional beauty as you drive to Villedieu les Poeles or Vire; to the East is Caen, and to the North are the D-Day landing beaches and Bayeux. In Moyon there is a horse riding centre and there are sporting activities all around us - parachuting, golf, microlight aircraft, bungy jumping, swimming pool complex, beautiful walks and bike rides.

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Moyon Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Euro
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Mid-Season
Sep 8 2014 - Sep 26 2014
3 night minimum stay
€375
 
extra night: €45    
 
Low/Mid Season
Sep 27 2014 - Oct 31 2014
3 night minimum stay
€350
 
extra night: €40    
 
Low Season
Nov 1 2014 - Dec 19 2014
3 night minimum stay
€325
 
extra night: €35    
 
Low/Mid Season
Dec 20 2014 - Jan 4 2015
3 night minimum stay
€350
 
extra night: €40    
 
Low Season
Jan 5 2015 - Feb 6 2015
3 night minimum stay
€325
 
extra night: €35    
 
Spring Break
Feb 7 2015 - Apr 12 2015
3 night minimum stay
€350
 
extra night: €40    
 
Mid-Season
Apr 13 2015 - Jul 2 2015
3 night minimum stay
€375
 
extra night: €45    
 
High-Season
Jul 3 2015 - Aug 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
€450
 
extra night: €55    
 
Mid-Season
Aug 31 2015 - Oct 2 2015
3 night minimum stay
€375
 
extra night: €45    
 
Low/Mid Season
Oct 3 2015 - Nov 1 2015
3 night minimum stay
€350
 
extra night: €40    
 
Low Season
Nov 2 2015 - Dec 18 2015
3 night minimum stay
€325
 
extra night: €35    
 
Mid-Season
Dec 19 2015 - Jan 3 2016
3 night minimum stay
€375
 
extra night: €45    

Notes

  • Our preferred payment method is by credit card, which also gives you the best protection and guarantees. However, we prefer to use our own credit card facilities (via Paybox) and not those of any particular listing sites. We can also take payment using Paypal or bank transfer in either Euros or Sterling.

    For winter rentals of up to 6 months, between 1 October and 30 March, please contact owner for prices.

    Low season short break
    150€ for weekend or 3 night mid week short break (no linens or cleaning) + 25€ for every extra night
    225€ for 3 night short break linens and cleaning included every extra night 25€

    Mid season short break
    175€ 3 nights no cleaning or linens + + 30€ for every extra night
    250€ for weekend or 3 night mid week short break + 30€ for every extra night

    High season short break
    250€ for 3 nights + 50€ for every extra night. Linens and cleaning included.

Amenities

Amenities

Moyon Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage (semi-detached)
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 70 m²
Location Type:
  • Rural
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Parking ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Baby Gate
  • Telephone
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Hair Dryer
  • Laundry Soap
  • Shampoo
  • Basic Soaps
  • Toilet Paper
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Oven ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Stove ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Toaster
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • In the shower room there is also a washing machine.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Bedroom 2 single has ziplock beds, which can be zipped together to make a superking bed, so please let us know you requirements when booking so that we can make up the beds to suit you. Bedroom 1 has space for a travel cot, which we are happy to provide.
Entertainment:
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • playground
  • theme parks
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Pricing per night including sheets and linens. up to 3 4 5 6 7 LOW € 180.00 € 215.00 € 250.00 € 285.00 € 325.00 MID € 195.00 € 235.00 € 275.00 € 315.00 € 350.00 HIGH € 210.00 € 255.00 € 300.00 € 345.00 € 375.00 PEAK€ 240.00 € 295.00 € 350.00 € 405.00 € 450.00