|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
If you want unobstructed, white-water, ocean views it does not get better than this. On the cliff side, our two cottages offer waves crashing you to sleep, whales passing by, and sunsets to die for - all with incredible privacy yet ten minutes from downtown Mendocino. Both cottages have their own ocean view hot tub. Shangri-La is slightly larger with a full wall of windows; Sea Cloud is cozy and romantic for two. CALL 1-707-937-5525 for availability or to make a reservation.
Our stay overlooking the Pacific Ocean at Sea Cloud cabin was not only restful and rejuvenating away from the crowds, but we felt well taken care of and even pampered by the responsive staff. It was our third stay there and certainly not our last. It's really worth the price. Your hardest decision will be Sea Cloud or Shangri-la - good luck with that one.
We absolutely loved the Sea Cloud! It was secluded, romantic, tiny, cozy, lovely...We wanted nothing more than to hole up for a few days and not see another soul. The bed, indoor gas fireplace, deck, hot tub, amazing view of the crashing waves and the sunset are just phenomenal. So private! Very clean and nice towels and linens.
Very disappointed, though, to find that not of all the amenities listed on the VRBO site or the Inn at Schoolhouse Creek are up to date. There is NO outside barbecue grill which was a huge disappointment to us since we brought a lot of marinated meat and veggies to take us through the 3 days. We even emailed to confirm this but with no response from the Innkeeper. The kitchen is fine, but stocked with nothing but coffee, tea, spices and sugar packets. Bring absolutely everything you need including salt and oil if you want to cook anything at all. The proprietors said they cannot have any food, but there is a sign asking to let them know what's missing, so?
There are no DVDs and no stereo and we did not find any books though there were some puzzles. We didn't care, we brought our own, but others might not have. There is wifi available on an open network, BUT it was not discoverable by iPhone or iPad, only by my computer which I brought at the last minute. I did not need my computer at all, but because there is no AT&T service and no 3G in the region, the thought of not having wifi access was very unnerving. Yes it was very slow but that is expected in remote areas.
Not huge problems, really, but when there are SO many choices in the area for a vacation, guests really scour these sites for the amenities in order to make their vacation selection. There is is just NO excuse for any website listing to be out of date.
This is a fantastic place, but would be even more fantastic if the description matched the reality more accurately. Seems like it would be easy to do that!
|Rate Period||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly||Event|
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
|Property Damage Protection||$49|
Payment is usually accepted in the quoted currency (USD) unless the currency and the amount is specifically agreed in advance with the owner / advertiser.