Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Spacious, Upscale and Unique Northeast Harbor Timber Frame Home/Compound

Tim & Tammy Thomas

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Tim & Tammy Thomas

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 4, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Spacious, Upscale and Unique Northeast Harbor Timber Frame Home/Compound

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


Northeast Harbor House Rental Photos and Description

6500 sf...6 bedrooms, 4 baths.... including a 1400 sf guest apartment on 3rd flr

***JUNE 2015 Special***

$1000 off any of the first 3 weeks of June

***Potential guests please note. Please review the entire listing including the 'Rate' section (and drop down menus) before asking to reserve and requesting a lease and then being 'surprised' by any fees that are listed in this description. The home does sleep 16+ people but there is an extra charge of $250/pp for parties above 12 that is stated in the rate section. Dogs are also welcomed but incur the same fee. The pool is across the street at the Elementary school and operated by The Neighborhood House and is not on the property. If attempting to reach me by phone, please try BOTH numbers as there are times when a voice mail on my cell doesn't reach me for a couple of days. Thanks and happy hunting. Cheers.***

**Book this one of a kind home now for the holidays!**

**We have a 15kw generator so no worries with any possible foul weather power outages!**

***Pets considered for an additional fee.***

This lovely home is also available for Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years and other special events.

It also can be combined with VRBO listing numbers 404715 and 417250 as a compound that can sleep up to 30 and is perfect for weddings and family reunions.

Welcome to Into the Woods! This fully remodeled (2007) home has the qualities of a timber frame and Rocky Mountain log home wrapped all into one great experience. From the 700 sf living room with propane fire place and 50 inch plasma television (with DirecTV) to the chef's quality kitchen to the in home guest apartment, this home meets the demands of the most discriminating traveler.

The home sleeps up to 16 people depending on set up and at 6500 sf you won't be bumping into each other at every turn. If one needs additional space please refer to VRBO listings 417250 and 404715 as they are also on the property and would turn this into a compound enabling parties of up to 30 to enjoy.

1st Floor:

**For those parties requiring a chef, contact us early and we can help you locate one.**

The chef's quality kitchen has all the latest appliances including a 48 inch DCS professional gas range/cook top with dual ovens, GE Monogram refrigerator, 2 dishwashers, 2 coffee makers, (regular and decaf) and a GE Advantium microwave oven.

Beautiful slate adorn the counter tops which include 2 sinks. There are also 2 dishwashers to handle larger groups. The first floor is also where the larger living and dining rooms are. The dining room table seats 8, a second corner table that seats 6, with seating for 4 at the island and 2 additional small children's tables round out the seating.

Directly off the kitchen is the atrium room which features lots of glass both around and above the room and log furniture. The best part is the 5 foot tall double waterfall that echoes throughout the home and is viewable from here. The room is fully furnished and is usually the favorite spot to hang out in the home.

The great room is directly off the dining room and features a floor to ceiling fireplace and 10 foot ceilings. With plenty of seating and a 50 inch Panasonic Viera plasma TV with Direct TV/DVD and movie channels included.

There is the first floor office directly off the great room where you can go to get some office work done or have a quiet place for a phone call.

The first floor laundry has 2 washers and 2 dryers and a dog shower! There is a laundry chute on the 2nd floor that goes directly into the laundry room.

The downstairs bath is directly off the great room.

Floors throughout the home feature rustic maple and red oak with radiant floor heating.

2nd Floor:

Enjoy the 1200 sf master bedroom with propane fireplace, 2 person jacuzzi tub and double shower. Enjoy the use of a wall hung Dr. Mercola Vitamin D tanning light. There are also 2 vanities with a make up counter and bidet with commode. There is also a 42 inch HDTV/DVD with DirecTV in the bedroom. Workout equipment includes a Power Plate and a Total Gym XL.

There are 3 additional bedrooms that share one full bath. Two of the bedrooms have queen beds and the third has a XL twin bed over a queen as a bunk bed and a pull out trundle twin bed.

3rd Floor:

The 3rd floor features a large office and 1400 sf guest apartment. The apartment has a full bath, queen bed, large sofa with queen pull out sleeper and fantastic views. There is also a 35 inch TV/DVD with Direct TV. Perfect for 2 adults and 2 kids or a traveling sitter or staff.

The office is another place to do some work if the need arises.

4th Floor:

The 4th floor features a small sitting room with a full size futon which can be used for additional sleeping. There is also an outside deck which affords tremendous views and a 6 foot Softub jacuzzi with outdoor furniture. Views of the ocean and nearby islands abound. Milky Way Galaxy views come with no extra charge!

The home is fully wired for WiFi on all floors with two routers for a strong signal anywhere on the property.

All TV's have Direct TV with movie channels.

Only natural and organic cleaning supplies are used in the home. For rentals of more than one week, a housekeeper is available for an additional fee.

For children, there is a full cedar slide/swing set along with a 50' zip line in the back yard. You will find the large and newly remodeled playground at the town elementary school along with the town swimming pool across the street.

Enjoy the cool evenings while rocking in one of the hand made rocking chairs on the front porch or in the backyard patio on the log swinging chair for two.

There is parking for two vehicles in the driveway and another two in front of the home along with street parking for three more vehicles.

Keep in mind that the home is 4 floors and does not have an elevator.

Thank you for your consideration.


Tim & Tammy Thomas

207-266-4955 cell

207-276-5131 home

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Tim & Tammy Thomas (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 4, 2015

About Tim & Tammy Thomas

Tim is a real estate broker with Berkshire Hathaway Home Services and Tammy is a ultrasonographer. We have 3 children and live here year round.

Tim & Tammy Thomas purchased this house in 2003

Why Tim & Tammy Thomas chose Northeast Harbor

Only 2 blocks from downtown Northeast Harbor yet on a quiet side road. The town library is 50 yards away. Also 2 blocks from the Post Office, grocery/liquor store and the Island Explorer bus stop. Bike rentals are also available next to the Post Office.

What makes this house unique

We call this architecture, Colorado meets Maine. We moved to Northeast Harbor from Colorado and many of the unique furnishings and interior finishes that adorn the home are from Colorado. It is a style we call rustic elegance.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Spacious, Upscale and Unique Northeast Harbor Timber Frame Home/Compound
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
Cape Cod, MA

Memorable Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

This was the first time using an on-line site and was somewhat apprehensive.

Our family consisted of 15 people. Ten adults and 5 grandchildren. The property was depicted exactly as advertised. It was so spacious, clean, and have all amenities and accommodated everyone very nicely.

I would very much recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We also are apprehensive when renting a home and pride ourselves with an accurate listing with many pictures and try to take care of renter requests when they arise promptly. Glad you had a nice stay.
Atlanta, GA

Beautiful place

  • 5 of 5

There were 14 of us that stayed here aging from 2yrs -60 yrs. It was perfect! Large enough to have a choice to be together or apart. Inside, outside- all beautiful and relaxing. Even the kids area was nice to sit and relax while watching them play. The waterfall off the sun room was peaceful after a long day being out. Rain or shine it didn't matter. PLenty to do in Maine, or stay behind and relax. Tim was accommodating and a pleasure to work with. The only thing that you should be aware of, is there are a lot of stairs, if you have special needs. It didn't bother me, in fact, I liked it since I could justify eating more! I stayed on the top floor so I could have the grand babies early in the morning and it was perfect! I could feed them breakfast and lots of room to play! I loved waking up to the sun so not to waste the day away! The small town was close enough to walk to and the shop owners were nice to talk to. There was a restaurant close by that had a lobster,shrimp and scallop pizza that was to die for!!! Too bad I didn't find it until the last day! ( Colonial??) Make sure you do the Arcadia park "Loop". We found a book on it at a restaurant. The sunrise was worth getting up early for-takes "breathtaking" to a whole new level! A very special and memorable time for all of us!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Everything We Hoped For and More

  • 5 of 5

Tim was warm, courteous, and professional to deal with. The photos do not do the house justice, it is immaculate and thoughtfully appointed. We spent the first few hours ooh and ahhing over the plethora of amenities, from the fully outfitted kitchen, to the stocked DVD closet and cabinets full of games and toys, we wanted for nothing. The layout was perfect for entertaining our group of 15, (3 families, ages 6-79). The 6 teens took over the sweeping third floor. All enjoyed the open layout of the 1st floor–typically while I cooked, a few sat at the breakfast nook doing a jigsaw puzzle, others sat at the dining table planning the next days activities, and a group caught a soccer match in the living room. You'd think the house would be noisier being so big, but it is quiet and peaceful-surely the waterfall outside the sun room contributes to this. The garden areas are lovely, with a perfectly situated patio. We found the home's location ideal. The teens took the island bus into Bar Harbor, walked the few blocks in NE Harbor's downtown to get blueberry doughnuts (nearly every night), and it made accessing Acadia a breeze. Surprisingly, my husband and I found the 4th floor loft with futon our favorite bdrm. We gazed at the milky way through the large window and had the loveliest breezes. Every bed was comfortable (well okay-one as comfortable as a pull-out couch gets). Since this review is for potential renters as much as the owners there are two things I'll mention. This is not a complaint, just a heads-up for those sensitive to heat/humidty. 2 of 4 bdrms on 2nd fl felt a bit stuffy at night (master and opposite bath). BUT, there are plenty of fans to help move air around and we made no mention of this to Tim as we felt it wasn't a problem, nor unduly unpleasant, just life without AC and it did not detract from our positive experience. The other is a matter of personal preference. The master suite while beautiful and comfortable, is open concept, meaning the tub and shower are open to the main bedroom (the toilet and bidet are enclosed). The luxurious master shower was so enticing some of us "borrowed" it while the couple assigned to it were out (LOL, not together!). We had one of the best vacations ever, and attribute much of the success of it to the wonderful accommodations. I highly recommend this home and we all agreed we wouldn't hesitate to rent it again. Thank you Thomas family for sharing it with us.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. But I was a little puzzled by the two "comments" for other travelers. Not sure what the problem was with air flow as one room has 4 opening windows with a over sized floor fan and the master suite has 8 opening windows with an overhead fan. There is also no mention of air conditioning in the description. I am a real estate broker here on MDI and 98% of the homes do not have air conditioning as it is rarely needed. Secondly I hope that the pictures are clear enough to see that the master suite has the shower and jacuzzi open to the rest of the room. We remain local during the summer and respond to any need promptly should one arise.

New Year's Visit 2014

  • 5 of 5

Thanks for the use of your home, it worked perfectly for our family. We enjoyed the games and movies, as we are a family that loves time together. Your village is just a wonderful little village, everyone we met was simply lovely. Thanks once more for sharing your lovely home with our family, it was a perfect holiday filled with many great memories and much laughter.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. I guess everyone stayed warm through the ice storms! Our housekeeper commented that when she arrived that she could hardly tell that anyone had been staying there! Thanks for taking care of our home with such care. You are welcome back anytime!

Excellent Property

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this house recently and had a great stay. It's a quality, spacious home with high end appointments and comfortable beds - which made our vacation all the better. The owner was accommodating and professional, and the house was well-outfited with everything you'd expect. No complaints!

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Vince for the kind review. Being a real estate broker I have been in quite a few high end rentals here on MDI. We try to go above and beyond with our home as that is what we look for when we rent through VRBO ourselves. Many rentals here are very outdated and lack many basic essentials. That is probably because most of the high end properties are only used in the summer. We live in the home year round (except when rented) and have everything we use at the renters disposal. On the rare occasion that we don't have something, we make every effort to obtain it. Thanks again Vince!


  • 3 of 5

At first, this house and owner seemed very nice but that soon changed. The owner was quick to respond with availability and appeared happy to help us house family members for our wedding. But once we got there, we found a few things not working (ice maker, dishwasher, and slimy hot tub). We asked that the hot tub be cleaned before we came in. Not to mention the black gunk that came squirting out of the jets in the master jacuzzi. Then out of the blue, the owner found it necessary to pester us daily, even on our wedding day, about a small fee that he insisted "we" had to pay, although on the pay pal site it states "owner pays fee". Rent with caution.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: 1) The renters were told when I met them that the ice maker didn't work and couldn't be fixed within the 5 day period that they would be in the home. The home had been leased the previous 14 weeks without any mention of the ice maker problem. 2) The dishwasher problem was not mentioned to me until day 4 of their stay. What they fail to mention was that the kitchen had 2 dishwashers and the other one worked! Again it was not reported to me that there was a problem prior to their stay. 3) The slimy hot tub is flat out untrue. I put chemicals in the day before they arrived and used it to make sure it was clean. They also claimed to have asked for the hot tub to be cleaned before they arrived (which they did not). Who would ask that anyway? 4) The black gunk in the jacuzzi was cleaned up by the travelers before they could show me. Our cleaning crew could find no evidence that there had been a problem. 5) They also say they were badgered daily about a PayPal fee. They were told that they were responsible for all PayPal fees but elected to charge them to me. When I discovered what had happened I sent emails for 3 consecutive days wanting a resolution since they ignored the first 2 emails and then agreed to pay half. These complaints came as a surprise as we had leased the home out for 14 consecutive weeks without any complaints. The travelers had just been laid off by the government as part of the shutdown that had occurred so I can understand that they were not as happy as one could expect. We are owners who pride themselves on the quality of our three rentals and have caretakers locally who take care of problems should they occur.


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Trenton/Bar Harbor
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
The Colonels Bakery/Deli/Restaurant
Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
Cranberry Isles Ferry
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Northeast Harbor Golf Club
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Downeast Scenic Railroad
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Route 3/198
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
The Colonels
Nearest Ski
55 Miles
Hermon, Maine
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Seal Harbor Beach

Northeast Harbor is the perfect getaway on Mount Desert Island. Close to everything but away from the hustle and bustle (and noise) of Bar Harbor. Google it and see what I mean.


Rates & Availability

From $4,950 Per week

Northeast Harbor House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
May & June
May 2 2015 - Jun 19 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $36 per night, per additional guest
July & August
Jun 20 2015 - Sep 4 2015
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $36 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $36 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000.00
Pet Fee $250.00
Tax Rate 8.0%
Notes * Holiday rates are $5950/week or $990/night plus cleaning of $350. 4 night minimum.
Extra person over 12, $250/week. Pets considered at $250/week. $50 return check fee.
Summer rentals are Saturday to Saturday only unless 14 days prior.
50% due at reservation and balance due 90 days prior to arrival. Cottage is considered 'leased' when lease and payment are received by owner. It is recommended that lease and payment be mailed by Priority or Overnight service.
Other leases may be sent out if lease hasn't been returned.
***It is recommended to send lease and payment back ASAP by overnight mail.***
Enter dates to see total


Northeast Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double , This is the 4th floor sitting room and has a full size futon
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 2 twin/ single , This is a XL twin over queen bunk bed with pull out trundle.
  • A Pack n' Play and high chair is available for infants.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Other Vacation Properties

$821 per night
6 night min stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$1,800 - $2,500 per week
5 night min stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
  • 5 BR,
  • 5 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote