Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Contemporary Luxury with Priceless La Plata Mountain Views

Shannon Van Den Berg

Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Shannon Van Den Berg

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 21, 2015
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Contemporary Luxury with Priceless La Plata Mountain Views

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Durango House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, Huge Game Room, Loft & Deck with stunning mountain views

Luxury is the first and last word to describe this spectacular 3,600 square foot, three bedroom, three-and-a-half bath, all suite vacation home. Endless million dollar views greet you from every window and the abundant outdoor areas that surround your home. As a bonus, there is a cozy, fully furnished loft above the detached garage which provides additional accommodations for your family or group.

Only 15 minutes from Durango-La Plata County airport, 10 minutes from downtown Durango and less than an hour’s drive for myriad outdoor adventures including Durango Mountain Resort (skiing/snowboarding), this gorgeous home is the perfect place for your next vacation. You create the ultimate dream home vacation adventure while surrounded by luxurious comfort.

Enter to two stories of options. Upon approaching the multilevel entry you can’t help but be amazed by the one of kind solid stainless steel entry door with laser etched waterfall. As you pass through the entry door you hear the gentle sound of the waterfall immeadiatly on your left. The river rock path guides you straight to the sliding door which opens to the upstairs patio where you can watch breathtaking views of the La Plata’s or the sun sink slowly behind magnificent peaks. Turn right into the powder room and when you turn to the left you enter the sunken living room complete with 3-sided fireplace and contemporary Italian leather furniture. Entertainment options include an 80 inch flat screen TV that turns this room into a theater or the perfect place to watch the big game.

Continue around to the left and you’ll find the dining room which seats eight across from the Chef’s kitchen. A double oven, four burner stove with griddle, and commercial-sized refrigerator are just the beginning of what makes this kitchen every cook’s dream. Family can hang out at the breakfast bar with seating for four, while you create the perfect evening meal to refuel and revisit the day’s adventures.

The master suite includes a sliding door that opens to you the main patio and the custom spiral staircase down to the hot tub. The big surprise is that the master also has its very own private patio! Wait until you see the sunsets from here and the mountains glow in morning that gently wakes you up. The master bath is a retreat with his/hers sinks and a jetted tub to help you relax and recover from the day’s adventure.

The main patio has abundant seating, a gas BBQ and smoker (should you decide to grill your supper), a custom copper gas fire pit and heaters to keep the chill off in the evenings. Enjoy this 4-season patio as many Coloradan’s do. With 300+ days of sunshine, you will remember the good times had here.

The downstairs patio is accessed from the spiral wrought iron staircase and includes a hot tub, bar-like seating and access to the game room. The game room offers two sitting areas, one for relaxing with a good book or perhaps a game of chess and the other has a large flat panel TV with a leather sectional for relaxing in front of that movie you’ve not had the time to see. A championship quality pool table and a wet bar round out room which is perfect for family gatherings.

Two bedrooms open off the game room, the West Suite and the East Suite. Both feature contemporary queen sized comfort with marble shower and vanity in the west bathroom and tile and wood vanity with a shower/tub combo in the east bathroom. The detached garage offers a loft with a queen bed and sleeper sofa, microwave and its own bathroom with a shower.

Security is also as you would expect with 8-foot privacy fences, three security cameras, and a lighted, automatic gate at the driveway entrance.

Just minutes away, historic downtown Durango offers world class health spas, cinema, art gallery walks and shopping downtown, more restaurants per capita than anywhere else in the U.S., Durango Recreation Center for swimming and fitness, and a multitude of outdoor recreation.

All four seasons offer unique experiences. Have you ever seen a grove of Aspens turning gold with a backdrop of pines in the fall? Have you ever hiked a trail through a forest that opened up to spectacular mountain vistas?

Stand on the summit of 14,000 foot Mt. Eolus, Sunlight Peak, and/or Windom Peak. They are close enough to sleep in luxury, summit the mountain, relax in the ultimate of comfort and relive your accomplishment.

A nice evening out can be topped off by a horse drawn sleigh ride in the winter and one of the most famous attractions, the Durango-Silverton railroad offer endless mountain vistas in historic fashion. Bring your camera and extra memory cards.

Have you ever landed so many trout that you could feed your family supper and taken them from the river straight to your BBQ? Have you experienced the peace of cross country skiing or snow shoeing through a winter wonderland? How about renting a snow machine and exploring the snow cover forest surrounded by pines with a frosting of white? Your imagination and sense of adventure are the only limit on what is possible with your vacation home in the perfect location that can open the door to memories you will forever cherish.

One more reason to visit Durango is the many festivals and events in town and the surrounding areas; here's a sampling: Snowdowns Light Parade (Feb.), Silverton Ski Joring (Feb), Professional Snow Mobile Racing (Winter), Durango Farmers Market (Summer), Music In the Mountains (Summer), Animas River Days (June), Old Fashioned 4th of July Parade and Fireworks, Fiesta Days Rodeos, Chuck Wagon Cook Off and Carnival (July), Pro Cycling Tour (Aug), La Plata County Old Time Fair and Carnival (Aug), White Water Kayaking and Rafting Events (Summer), and Apple Festival with old fashioned apple cider pressing (Oct).

An assortment of land and water “Big Boy Mountain Toys” are available for rent for an additional fee.

Vehicle Rates:

2012 Jeep Wrangler $195.00 per day 200 miles daily maximum $.39 per mile thereafter

2011 Ram 2500 $225.00 per day 200 miles daily maximum $.50 per mile thereafter $500.00 deposit


2015 Enclosed 24 Toy hauler $150.00 per day no mileage limit

2012 Aluminum Snowmobile/ATV trailer $55.00 per day no mileage limit

2010 Big Tex ATV/ 3-place motorcycle trailer $55.00 per day no mileage limit.

Plus Deposit of $250.00


2011 Polaris RZR-XP 2-seat hi performance SXS $325.00 per day maximum of 8 hours, extra hours $75.00 each

2011 CanAM Outlander 800 2-seat hi performance ATV $235.00 per day maximum of 8 hours, extra hours $40.00 each.

Plus Deposit of $1000.00


2013 Polaris Pro RMK800 Ultra Hi Performance Mountain Sled $400.00 per 6 hours of use additional hours $100.00 each

2012 Skidoo XP Summit hi performance mountain sled $350.00 per 6 hours of use additional hours $75.00 each

Deposit of $1000.00


Wilderness Systems $55.00 per day

Perception $55.00 per day

Plus Deposit of $250.00

If you are looking for a rural mountain experience, there are two creek side Log Homes near Vallecito Reservoir that may be rented separately or together. Look up Vallecito Creekside 656 VRBO #573834 or Vallecito Creekside 628 VRBO #575309 for information about these secluded retreats.


Master Suite: Queen-sized Bed and upstairs patio access. West Suite: Queen-sized Bed. East Suite: Queen-sized Bed. Private Loft: Queen Bed and sleeper sofa.


Master Bath: Double sinks and vanities; Double shower with Bench; Jetted tub. West Suite Bath: Shower. East Suite Bath: Shower/Tub Combination. Loft Bath: Shower

Kitchen & Dining

Professional chef’s kitchen with stainless steel appliances and refrigerator with ice/water, double oven and gas range, full complement of cookware and dishware. Dining room seats 8 plus seating for 4 at the kitchen bar.


3-sided gas fireplace upstairs and gas fireplace in the game room. Two washers/dryers(master suite and downstairs laundry room). Parking for up to 10 cars. 400+ thread count linens and Turkish towels. See list for rental vehicles.


Wii/Xbox and flat panel TV in Loft and tons of board games (family fun). Game room includes pool table, fireplace, wet bar/refrigerator, and flat panel TV. Living room has 80” flat panel TV. Dish Satellite TV.


Mobile phone/tablet reception is very good with ATT and Verizon. DSL Internet service is available through Century Link.

Pool & Spa

Soak in the huge hot tub with stunning mountain vistas from the lower patio.

Outdoor Features (200 c)

Professionally landscaped one acre lot. Three deck/patio areas that total 1,200 sq. ft. Professional Napoleon gas grille on the dining room patio. See list for rental vehicles and outdoor toys.

Theme (200 c)

Historic, Tourist Attractions, Durango Mountain Resort, Luxury Dream Home Living, Adventure, Tranquility, Stunning Mountain Vistas, Paper Yourself, Perfect Honeymoon, Family Gatherings.

Locations & View (200 c)

Easy access to Durango, Airport, and Durango Mountain Resort/outdoor adventure and fun. Four Season Million Dollar Views that never grow old or routine.

We have a 100% refund policy if your reservation is cancelled 60 days prior to your stay. We highly recommend that you purchase renters and cancellation insurance.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Shannon Van Den Berg (Property Manager)
Member since: 2013
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 21, 2015

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Contemporary Luxury with Priceless La Plata Mountain Views
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews

Contemporary Luxury

  • 5 of 5

This was a nice home. It was clean, well-stocked, and close enough to town and the ski area. The beds are comfortable. The game room is cool. My only complaint is that the loft above the garage does not have a bathroom; instead, you have to walk down very narrow stairs into the garage. It's cold in there.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review we are very happy you enjoyed your stay.
New Mexico

college reunion visit

  • 4 of 5

House was great with a few minor issues. Big thing.... I haven't received my deposit back although I sent two emails to the manager and it has been over 30 days since our visit.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Neat house, not very inviting

  • 2 of 5

The house was really interesting, spacious and modern. However, we did not feel welcome at all. There were no directions for any of the hi-tech features, actually there were no directions at all, or even a "welcome" note with tips about the house (how to turn off the bright outside lights, heat/air, etc.), the area or anything! All we had was a long e-mail with what NOT to do before our arrival including avoiding the drawers with "red dots" on them (stickers) because the owners actually live here apparently. We were also warned that there were cameras outside the house that were monitored so no parties (not that our 7 and 9 year old boys are a risk for that yet - it creeped us out). There were lots of locked cabinets and "off limits" and no hygiene items like bar soaps, shampoo, etc. included in the bathroom. It really felt odd staying in a house where people live. For the price it was not what we expected. The hot tub did not heat either and, oh a detail, the bottom floor (where the non-master bedrooms are) is not heated. It was cold in the summer, cant imagine what it is like in the winter!!! Our kids turned to pop-sickles. My advice - keep looking.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sean, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at my property in Durango. My property management team had forewarned me that you were not happy due to the rental rate being decreased between the time that you booked and when you stayed. We did offer to refund your money and let you find other accommodations as we felt we would not be able to make you happy. In regards to your statements I will address each one below. 1. My property management team sends out a welcome email with basic instructions and suggestions for the house. There is really nothing Hi-tech other than the A/V system which has stumped a few other renters and myself at times. 2. The (9) red dots are for drawers and cabinets that contain my personal effects and are only located in the Master Suite. 3. in regards to the locked cabinets. We do have (4) locked cabinets where we keep liquor and expensive and fragile glassware. We also have one locked owner’s closet in the master suite and the door to the wine cellar downstairs along with the door to the electronics distribution room. For obvious reasons these areas need to be secured. 4. The cameras are there for security purposes and they can be used to confirm how many cars/people are staying at the house. We have had some instances in the past where a few renters understated the amount of people staying at this house. There are no cameras inside the house; they only monitor the entry gate and the 3 entry doors to the home. 5. In regards to the hot tub, it was checked today and is functioning properly. 6. The entire house is heated and cooled by a forced air system. The thermostat is in plain sight in the upstairs living area, the thermostat operates just like any other Red arrow up adjusts the temperature up, and blue arrow down adjusts the temperature down. It automatically switches between Air conditioning and heat. There is about a 10 degree variance between upstairs and downstairs during the afternoon because of the amount of west sun we receive through all the windows upstairs. 7. There are two light switches in the Foyer that operate the front flood lights and rear flood lights they operate just like any other light switch. As far as the house being lived in by the owners, I do spend about 8 weeks a year at this home. I own many homes and this one is quite special to me and happens to be my favorite in Colorado. It is quite typical for an owner to actually stay at their vacation property as why else would we own them? Keith Ayers

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this home, it's beautiful. The house is fun and unique, it has a wonderful view and is a short 10 minute drive to town. We stayed for two weeks and easily could have stayed longer.

Pros: beautiful home, great kitchen, nice view, clean, short trip to town

Cons: (but doesn't take away from the 5 star review) wifi was down for a couple days and the water shut off a few times during our trip, see previous review. It required us to turn a valve to get it back on and was fine within 20 min or so.

Brent and Shannon were very easy to work with!

Honestly, a great property and we would love to stay here again! Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Fantastic vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

This house is beautiful! It was a perfect fit for our party of 8. Although we didn't use the private loft, there was plenty of room for all of us in the main house. We spent all of our days at Durango Mountain Resort and one of things to look forward to after a long day of skiing is getting to relax in this house. We made meals in the awesome kitchen and relaxed in the sunken living room, downstairs gameroom and the hot tub. Location was an easy drive into town and to the mountain.

The only issue we had was losing water a few times, I believe due to the water being supplied by a well. This was our first experience with well water. Shannon and Brent were very attentive and assisted us during the short periods of time without water. It really wasn't a big deal at all. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Maria, our apologies for the water supply issue. We will be supplying instructions going forward to mitigate any issues our guests may have with our water supply. As we are on a well our water production rates are only about 5 GPM, so it is possible to out pace our supply. We appreciate your excellent review and for your troubles we will offer you one free night should you wish to come back to the house. Again thank you for being our guest. Keith Ayers,

Great Escape!

  • 5 of 5

This home was absolutely stunning! The photos are an exact depiction of what to expect. The view from the master bedroom as the sun rises is beautiful. The home seemed to be well maintained and clean, aside from one of bathrooms downstairs, which was not enough to discredit the rating of the home. The owner was extremely helpful in answering any of the questions we had prior to our arrival. The location of the home is close to many attractions, we visited Trimble Hot Springs, Downtown Durango and Durango Mountain. Our guests consisted of 3 couples and 2 singles. It worked out great because there are 3 bedrooms in the home and 1 bedroom above the garage in a loft area with 2 beds. The pool room/bar area is a great place to gather with your friends or family. They have an iHome stereo system so you can connect your music to their device and listen while playing. We had a great time at the house and would recommend the stay.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Nearest Airport
11.5 Miles
LaPlata, County (DRO)
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Nearest Golf
4.4 Miles
Hillcrest Golf Club
Nearest Train
6 Miles
Durango Silverton Railroad
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Upper East Side Cafe
Nearest Ski
33 Miles
Durango Mountain Resort
Car: recommended

Durango is located in southwestern Colorado and is the gateway to the LaPlata and San Juan mountains. If you enjoy the outdoors this jewel of the rockies is hard to beat. There are countless activities within a one hour drive from the property.


Rates & Availability

From $275 Per night

Durango House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Spring 2015
Feb 12 2015 - May 21 2015
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
Memorial Week 2015
May 22 2015 - May 30 2015
9 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Summer 2015
May 22 2015 - Sep 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
Fourth of July 2015
Jul 2 2015 - Jul 5 2015
4 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Labor Day Week 2015
Sep 4 2015 - Sep 8 2015
5 night minimum stay
Flat fee
Fall/Winter 2015-2016
Sep 16 2015 - Feb 12 2016
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
Christmas 2015
Dec 19 2015 - Dec 27 2015
9 night minimum stay
Flat fee
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $195.00
Refundable damage deposit $1,000.00

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total


Durango House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bath - toilet , tub , shower , Double shower w/bench, soaking tub, double sinks, vanity
    West Suite Bath - toilet , shower , Walk-in shower
    East Suite Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    First Floor Half Bathroom - toilet
    Loft Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom Suite - 1 queen
    East Bedroom Suite - 1 queen
    West Bedroom Suite - 1 queen
    Private Loft - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Other Vacation Properties

$1,800 - $4,373 per week
2 - 5 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$1,200 - $1,700 per week
2 - 3 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 9
$2,362 - $3,685 per week
1 - 5 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 12

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote