Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

One Bedroom Cottage 3 Minutes To Convention Center/downtown

Terry Portwood and Kate Bedwell

Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Terry Portwood and Kate Bedwell

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

One Bedroom Cottage 3 Minutes To Convention Center/downtown

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

San Diego Bungalow Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom + Sleeper Couch, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)

Surrounded by tropical ambiance this cozy and charming bungalow is the perfect place to get away. Located in the heart of the old, unique and beautiful neighborhood of Golden Hill, this is a prime location for a visit to San Diego. Located on a side street there is ample, safe and free parking.

Within just a few blocks you have the choice of a plethora of delicious local eateries. Cook your own steak at the legendary Turf Club, enjoy Humberto’s famous carne asada fries, or have a stone oven pizza while enjoying the outdoor patio of Luigis.

Just 4 minutes away you can visit the baby panda’s at the zoo or take in a museum and a walk through beautiful Balboa Park. Head about 1 1/2 miles straight down Broadway into the lively downtown, Gaslamp or Little Italy, extremely convenient for Convention Center visits. If you are too tuckered after a busy day downtown, grab a bus as it drops you off just 1/2 block from the bungalow. Want to see a spectacular view of the San Diego bay? Hop on the ferry and cross the bay to Coronado for a day on the island. Golden Hill has easy access to all the major San Diego highways, making a trip to most San Diego beaches just 10-20 minutes away.

The bungalow is the perfect home away from home to return to after a funfilled day in San Diego. With granite countertops and stainless steal appliances, the kitchen provides all the amnemities needed to cook your own fish tacos! Pots, pans, cooking utensils, dishes are all provided. Sit under the avocado tree, and enjoy the dual BBQ and charcoal grill on the newly designed patio/lounge area while relaxing in our comfy lounge chairs. Beware of falling avocados! Grab them for some homemade guacamole!

Sit back on the couch and enjoy the flat screen tv with HDTV or hop on the internet with our free WiFi. Did your clothes get sandy at the beach? We have on site laundry with quarters provided.

Each room is decorated with the comforts of home in mind. Sheets, towels and blankets are all provided as well as dish soap, toilet paper and paper towels.

Have pets? We are a pet friendly property and the yard provides a great romp and play area for your dog.

Your safety and peace are our priority and we provide 24hour video survellience for the extra layer of security.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Terry Portwood and Kate Bedwell (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2015

About Terry Portwood and Kate Bedwell

Retired professor. We travel internationally & have two Bichon's. Love to walk on the waterfront and eat the best fresh fish at Mitch's Seafood which is located at the Sport fishing landing. Balboa Park & the Zoo are favorites; Park has the Prado Restaurant which has great happy hour drinks & food; Zoo has Albert's Tree Restaurant which many do not know about; it is breezy & has an African motif.

Terry Portwood and Kate Bedwell purchased this bungalow in 1990

Why Terry Portwood and Kate Bedwell chose San Diego

This one bedroom is centrally located to major attractions in San Diego. Closeness of Convention Center, downtown, Gaslamp, and Balboa Park & Zoo is a major draw for tourists. We live close by to this property so we know first hand how convenient it is.

What makes this bungalow unique

The closeness to the airport makes it easy for travel days. The bus line on the corner insures easy access to great restaurants in the Gaslamp. Taxi fares are not expensive if you don't have a car. Closeness to freeways insures quick access to beaches, whether it be Mission, La Jolla or Del Mar or across the bay to Coronado.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 18 traveler reviews

Write a Review
One Bedroom Cottage 3 Minutes To Convention Center/downtown
average rating of 4.2777777 based on 18 reviews
Albany, NY
5

Great Getaway Home

  • 5 of 5

We are a couple who had a 5 nights stay in this apartment in San Diego.

We were fully satisfied by the property and owners communication.

The whole property contains about 5 rental units that share front entrance, laundry facility, and a backyard. The place is very well maintained.

Street parking is available and we were able to park on the same block except one night when we parked a block away.

The apartment is rather small, especially the bathroom. We expected that however and we weren't disappointed. Bathroom is connected to the bedroom so there is limited privacy if someone sleeps in the kitchen/living room. There is a nice closet. Highchair and playpen are available for travelers with a child. The bed is nice though the mattress was somewhat too soft and squeaky. It wasn't a problem as there were just two of us staying. The kitchen has all new appliances, silverware, pots and pens.

There's a small patio outside of the bedroom. A better place to chill though is a nice fenced backyard shared between residents that has two tables under a canopy of a tree and a gas/coal grill.

We were very happy with the location, just few block away from Balboa park, short drive from the Convention center, reasonable distance from La Jolla and Coronado.

We would definitely come back and would recommend the place to our friends.

Terry and Kate, Thank you very much!

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Albany, NY
5

Great getaway home

  • 5 of 5

We are a couple who had a 5 nights stay in this apartment in San Diego.

We were fully satisfied by the property and owners communication.

The whole property contains about 5 rental units that share front entrance, laundry facility, and a backyard. The place is very well maintained.

Street parking is available and we were able to park on the same block except one night when we parked a block away.

The apartment is rather small, especially the bathroom. We expected that however and we weren't disappointed. Bathroom is connected to the bedroom so there is limited privacy if someone sleeps in the kitchen/living room. There is a nice closet. Highchair and playpen are available for travelers with a child. The bed is nice though the mattress was somewhat too soft and squeaky. It wasn't a problem as there were just two of us staying. The kitchen has all new appliances, silverware, pots and pens.

There's a small patio outside of the bedroom. A better place to chill though is a nice fenced backyard shared between residents that has two tables under a canopy of a tree and a gas/coal grill.

We were very happy with the location, just few block away from Balboa park, short drive from the Convention center, reasonable distance from La Jolla and Coronado.

We would definitely come back and would recommend the place to our friends.

Terry and Kate, Thank you very much!

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Igor and Vicky for taking the time to write us such a lovely review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the lovely ambiance of the property and found all your home away from home comforts. You are welcome back anytime and we hope to see you again Thank you for visiting us Terry and Kate
3

Inconsiderate

  • 3 of 5

We stayed from Sunday to Sunday for our wedding and honeymoon. My mother in law rented one of their units too. When we got there everything was great. The next morning the fridge was not working. So we finally got a fridge on Wednesday and my husband had to help put it in. So we got married on Thursday. About 10:30 at night the power went out. I called the power company and they said it was a scheduled outage and customers were notified in march. When I contacted the owners and they didn't seem to care to much. They said they didn't know about it. Needless to say I'm not happy with my stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. Yes the fridge was replaced, however we could not predict this would happen. Immediately upon discovering your fridge was not working properly Terry responded and came to the home and ordered a new fridge. We had it delivered as soon as was possible. The electricity out for a couple of hours was beyond our control and unfortunately we were unaware that the electricity was going to be shut off for a few hours or we would have notified you. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Thank you Kate and Terry
1

Highly Overrated

  • 1 of 5

Firstly the stool in the bathroom is loose and positioned toward the sidewall so that it nearly impossible to sit or stand without hitting your legs on the wall or your head on the light fixture. The whole bathroom including stool, sink and shower is 25 sq ft. You literally must stand in the shower to open the bathroom door. Of course that isn't too difficult since you are requested to take Navy showers or not run water while brushing your teeth to conserve their water!

Within 24 hours of arrival we called the owner to report the crusted and scorched condition of pots, pans and baking pans. We were promised replacements within 24 hours but none ever arrived.

Sunday across the street we encountered a pediatric cannabis fundraiser at the tattoo shop and the dance studio. The festivities lasted well after 10 PM that night. While walking to the curb to get into our car we were accosted by a panhandler. We did not feel safe in the area and did not venture more than two blocks on foot especially after dark!

We left 3 days early and certainly will not return.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Ernie for taking to time to write us a review. We do respectively disagree with much of your feedback and appreciate the opportunity to respond to each of your noted concerns. Golden Hill is a very safe neighborhood and family friendly. Yes there is a tatoo shop and it is a well established and respected business. We are unfamiliar with what “pediatric cannabis fundraiser” occurred during your stay. We had 5 other guests at the property during your stay and did not receive any feedback about this or concerns from any of our other guests. With regards to “panhandler” San Diego has many homeless individuals and families and you would encounter “panhandlers” at most locations throughout San Diego. Again, this is reputable as a very safe neighborhood. The bathroom is small and as you noted when we spoke, you were aware of this prior to booking as it is on the website and noted in other reviews. We mostly receive feedback that though the bathroom is small, it is far counteracted by the comfortable and clean nature of this cottage and ambiance of the overall property. California is experiencing an extreme drought and the sign on the wall simply asks to please conserve water. We do not ask that you take Navy Showers or brush your teeth without water. If this was your interpretation of our request to “conserve water” we do apologize for your misunderstanding. We did speak with you regarding the pots and pans. Alma brought you the pans we thought you were requesting. There was a misunderstanding on our end that you needed a new full set of pots and pans. Based on your concerns we have purchased a full set of brand new pots and pans. We were quite surprised to read all of your concerns. You did contact us about the pots and pans, however never mentioned any of the other concerns you noted. This was an unusual review for us to receive. We have other vacation rentals at this same property. Between this cottage and our other vacation rentals we receive an enormous amount of positive feedback and reviews about the cottage, property, neighborhood and our responsiveness to guest requests and needs. Thank you for your feedback Kate and Terry
4

Location, location, location

  • 4 of 5

Pros - Very clean and neat accommodation close to many of the main attractions. Excellent restaurants and coffee shops nearby, as well as a grocery store. (This is an older neighbourhood but don't be afraid to try out these little places). Adequate size except (see cons). Comfortable living room and dining/kitchen area. Lovely to find that we did not have to buy tissues, toilet paper, etc. All included.

Cons - very very small bathroom with no place except the floor to put your soap or shampoo on. Kitchen is an adequate size but only includes small fry pan, very thin pots, 1 tea towel, 2 dish cloths, 3 teaspoons, etc. Bed, very soft and creaky.

We are an older couple so the cons did not bother us very much and would not hesitate to return.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Rod and Gail for taking the time write us a great review and for your feedback! The home is cozy and comfortable and the neighborhood is full of secret gems You are welcome back anytime and we hope to see you again. Thank you Kate and Terry
Queensland Australia
5

Superb appartment. We totally recommend it.

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic property in great area. High quality fit out of kitchen and lounge room (and appartment as a whole) with everything you could possibly need in the kitchen, with full size fridge freezer and oven.

Some previous reviews suggested it might be a problem to park but we can assure you there was no issue at all. Yes, it is street parking only but in the whole week we were there, with all the coming and going that we did with the car, there was only one occasion when we had to drive around the little block to look for a space and by the time we came back around to the property there was a space vacant right outside. At no time did we need to park more than 30m from our front door.

The whole property is a very big classy house in a nice inner city suburb that has been broken up into 5 or 6 holiday lets I would say, each of unique layout and style. There is a security code gate that takes you down to the back of the property where there is an amazing large communal patio with several lovely outdoor table settings and a large barbecue for you to use. In this area also is a coin operated laundry with two washers and two dryers. There was also a tiny, cute and private Patio just off the bedroom, enough for an outdoor coffee or wine. Everything was immaculate.

We didn't use the public the transport as we had a car and the city was quiet traffickwise as it was that lull time after new year, but I understand the buses etc are very regular and nearby. There is a cute corner shop about 100m around the corner and a small complex of a 7/11, kebab takeaway/ eat in (we highly commended it) and a proper restaurant etc just a few minutes walk away. We drove to a true supermarket and did a shop for the week and other than the kebab takeaway one night we self catered with such ease as the kitchen was probably better equipped that mine at home.

It was just a few minutes drive to both balboa park and to the city centre and we couldn't be happier with the accomodation. We are a family with 2 kids and were perfectly happy here. We just made up the sofa bed (huge, the kids nearly got lost in it) each night and packed it away each morning. If you were travelling with extended friends and family then you could maybe look into renting 2 or more of these lovely units from the owner? Worth asking them anyway.

Booking was simple and easy and the owners seemed very friendly during the process. All in all a fantastic property and area.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write such an awesome review! Your review is such a wonderful description of our home away from home and the eclectic neighborhood We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and you are welcome back anytime. We hope to see you again Thank you Kate and Terry

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Linbergh Field
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Balboa Golf course just a few blocks away
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Broadway and Kettner Santa Fee station
Nearest Ski
70 Miles
Big bear
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Coronado
Car: recommended

Surrounded by tropical ambiance this cozy and charming bungalow is the perfect place to get away. Located in the heart of the old, unique and beautiful neighborhood of Golden Hill, this is a prime location for a visit to San Diego. Located on a side street there is ample, safe and free parking.

Within just a few blocks you have the choice of a plethora of delicious local eateries. Cook your own steak at the legendary Turf Club, enjoy Humberto’s famous carne asada fries, or have a stone oven pizza while enjoying the outdoor patio of Luigis.

Just 4 minutes away you can visit the baby panda’s at the zoo or take in a museum and a walk through beautiful Balboa Park. Head less than 1 mile straight down Broadway into the lively downtown, Gaslamp or Little Italy, extremely convenient for Convention Center visits. If you are too tuckered after a busy day downtown, grab a bus as it drops you off just 1/2 block from the bungalow. Want to see a spectacular view of the San Diego bay? Hop on the ferry and cross the bay to Coronado for a day on the island. Golden Hill has easy access to all the major San Diego highways, making a trip to most San Diego beaches just 10-20 minutes away.

The bungalow is the perfect home away from home to return to after a funfilled day in San Diego. With granite countertops and stainless steal appliances, the kitchen provides all the amnemities needed to cook your own fish tacos! Pots, pans, cooking utensils, dishes are all provided. Sit under the avocado tree, and enjoy the dual BBQ and charcoal grill on the newly designed patio/lounge area while relaxing in our comfy lounge chairs. Beware of falling avocados! Grab them for some homemade guacamole!

Sit back on the couch and enjoy the flat screen tv with HDTV or hop on the internet with our free WiFi. Did your clothes get sandy at the beach? We have on site laundry with quarters provided.

Each room is decorated with the comforts of home in mind. Sheets, towels and blankets are all provided as well as dish soap, toilet paper and paper towels.

Have pets? We are a pet friendly property and the yard provides a great romp and play area for your dog.

Your safety and peace are our priority and we provide 24hour video survellience for the extra layer of security.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $89 Per night

San Diego Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
summer
Jul 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
2 night minimum stay
$99
$665
$2,700
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$89
$595
$2,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $90.00
Notes We don't charge extra for week ends or time of the year, same price all the time. We do charge a transaction fee for canceled reservations.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

San Diego Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • yes
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Sleeper Couch - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Front Room
  • we can add up to 3 bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility
  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Very Historical Area With Lots to do to many things to list, you can be busy ever day.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote