BEST VALUE FOR MONEY IN KONA AREA VACATION LODGING

Larry Gahagan

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BEST VALUE FOR MONEY IN KONA AREA VACATION LODGING

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4 max, Close To Beach

State of Hawaii Tax ID is W59731387-01. This studio sleeps normally 2 and up to 4 (extra fee may apply). Check in is not earlier than 4:00PM and check out is not later than 12 Noon.

Special event periods during the year will have significant cost changes.

The Kona Islander Inn has the best location in the village - across Ali'i Drive from the ocean in the heart of the village. It's only a short walk to restaurants, shopping, night life, attractions, and the Farmers Market, where there are fresh fruit, flowers, Kona coffee, and local souvenirs.

This condo is on the second floor above the lobby area in the Hawai'i Building (main). It has been recently remodeled. Everything is in great shape. It is not handicap accessible. There are limited parking places at the condo, available first come first served.

Free local and long distance phone service within the USA and Canada. Unit has secure Wi-Fi with new high speed router.

A patio table and chairs are on the lanai, for enjoying your meals with a view of the garden. The complex is secure, a key operates the pool area and the large clean laundry room.

No personal care products are provided. Other amenities are subject to availability and may change without notice.

I have private WiFi in the unit for you to use. Large gas fired grills help with a great BBQ. On premise laundry facilities are available all the time. A functional kitchenette with handmade cabinets and stainless steel sinks is included. Also find a refrigerator/ freezer, water filtration, microwave, convection oven, blender, coffee maker and grinder rice cooker, toaster, and dishes. Plenty of towels are ready for you in our updated shower area.

The unit easily sleeps 2, and up to 4 persons can sleep with use of the included extra bed. We do not charge additionally for air conditioning use but encourage you to 'Think Green' and use power wisely. Other amenities include cable, flat screen TV, DVD player, and art adorning the walls.

A reminder: the County of Hawaii no longer allows plastic 'one use' shopping bags, so we provide you with a reusable tote as a reminder of your stay.

I live on the island, and my local caretaker are only a phone call away. Check-in and check-out are a snap.

Our clean and well maintained condo located in the heart of Kailua-Kona village is convenient to all its activities. It is accessible by walking, cycling, motorcycle, or car.

I offer you great value for your vacation money. No hidden fees or add-ons.

Great amenities to enhance your stay include:

* Fresh tropical flowers in your condo.

* Free private WiFi

* Free telephone use to U.S. and Canada.

* Prepaid parking on first come first served basis.

* No extra charge for using the air conditioner.

These amenities alone make the listed price very affordable. Add the location, convenience, cleanliness and utility of the unit, and you get a very great deal. The owner reserves the right to change the amenities offered without notice.

Prices include combined 13.62% Hawaii General Excise and Transient Accommodations taxes. Hawaii taxation information:

On-Island Point of Contact: Larry Gahagan.

ID:W 5 9 7 3 1 3 3 8 7 - 0 1

Prices vary based on the time of year. Discounts are offered for returning guests, company accounts, and special promotions.

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Larry Gahagan (Owner)
Advertiser since 2013
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Larry Gahagan

My daughter loves to come visit the Island to visit me. I live on the Hilo side of the island. I am a happy, down to earth guy with a welcoming sense of life and living. I am always interested in travel and discovery and trying something new. I enjoy meeting open minded people who enjoy exploring new places and trying new things.

Photography is my passion. If you'd like recommendations on places to shoot on the Big Island, ask me!

Anyone who is easy-going, sociable, and loves to laugh will get along great with me.

I have one daughter living on the mainland. She is a great young professional woman.

I look forward to your stay on the Big Island. I travel the world and love to discover new places and revisit my favorite 'old' places, too.

Larry Gahagan purchased this condo in 1996

Why Larry Gahagan chose Kailua Kona

My condo is a reminder of the earlier years in Hawaiian tourism. Immaculate gardens and pool area are the best in the village. You are within walking distance to village services, shops and numerous restaurants. One of only three royal palaces in the U.S. is just a couple blocks away.

Located in a lush tropical setting, the condo reminds us of old Hawaiian territorial style. Enjoy basking in the Hawaiian sun at the pool or hot tub, or just across the street at the beach areas. There is also a spa on site. Full laundry facilities are located on site for your convenience. The property is centrally located and is a great starting/ ending location for all your site seeing trips. You can buy great Hawaiian fresh fruits at the near by farmers market.

What makes this condo unique

Cleaning service is done at your checkout. If you desire additional cleanings please inform us for availability and the costs.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.5
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Best Value For Money In Kona Area Vacation Lodging
average rating of 4.5 based on 4 reviews
business
Best Value For Money In Kona Area Vacation Lodging
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p456215vb
+1 3034347175
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
North Bend, Oregon
4

30th anniversary

  • 4 of 5
We LOVED this condo! The view from the balcony was excellent and felt private! The unit was very tastefully done, very clean, the colors in the room (greens) perfect for the Hawaii weather...cooler colors. The A/C works very well. Plenty of towels, washcloths, kitchen cleaning supplies. It would have been nice to have a hot plate (and not bother with the convection tabletop oven), expandable clothes rack for drying swimsuits, etc. We ended up just using the Microwave and coffee pot. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were good quality. Details like matching the bed linens, table linens, furnishings...I really liked that. There are two bbq out by the pool which we used for steaks several times. The laundry facility was great and clean. $1.50 to wash. $1.50 to dry.
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We love to make the details important. Our guests want a great experience, and we aim to help them. This feedback is useful, and we will address the hot plate issue.
business
Best Value For Money In Kona Area Vacation Lodging
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p456215vb
+1 3034347175
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Canada
5

Great condo

  • 5 of 5
We found the condo to be as advertised and just what we were expecting.

Before getting there I was a bit concerned because the complex overall has some poor reviews, but Larry's unit had none of those issues. It was clean and had everything in the description. As we had no issues with the complex common areas, like the laundry and pool.

For half our stay we didn't even have a car nor was one needed. It was an easy walk to restaurants, stores, and the downtown beach. The restaurant Lava Java a block away was great, and we tried some others Larry suggested in his welcome pack. The pizza at the Kona brewing company was fantastic.

I would stay here again and recommend it to others.
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I want our guests to enjoy their stay. We treat visitors like we want to be treated. Aloha
business
Best Value For Money In Kona Area Vacation Lodging
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p456215vb
+1 3034347175
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Kona Islander Inn

  • 5 of 5
Everything stated in the rental description was true. We were three of us sharing this studio and it wasn't crowded because of the layout. I was grateful for the air conditioning because temps were in the 90's.

The property was well-maintained; the pool was cleaned every morning as were the grounds.

I did not speak to the owner. I didn't have to. I would highly recommend this unit to my friends. The shops, restaurants, farmers market was within walking distance. Our dining experience was great.
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I enjoy making sure the condo is clean and comfortable for all guests.It is a great property in a very nice village. You will like the pool area too. We look forward to seeing new and returning friends in the future.
business
Best Value For Money In Kona Area Vacation Lodging
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p456215vb
+1 3034347175
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
high river alberta canada
4

condo in kona

  • 4 of 5
not sure why i got this - did not use this service!??? very cute, cosy, well appointed, upgraded condo - comfy bed , unit nicely kept & clean - larry very helpful - convenient to everything in kona
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We strive to make the condo clean and neat. We want all our guests to be welcome and comfortable. We will continue to provide up to the minute information about the local area. The condo will always be clean and ready for your next stay.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Kona International Airport (KOA)
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Queen Ka'ahumanu HIghway
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Kailua Bay
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Kona Inn
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Lava Java
Car: not necessary

The Big Island of Hawai'i is known for adventure ranging from whale watching to mountain climbing, and there are gorgeous beaches where you can soak up some sun too. The Kona Coast stretches for more than 60 miles on the western side of the island. Beyond its historical significance, special coffee, and opportunities for water sports, there are also some great beaches that will make you want to put your feet up and stay awhile.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Ironman
Oct 1 2014 - Oct 15 2014
15 night minimum stay
$1,800
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$80
$495
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $55 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $49
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes Cleaning: $50 per stay.
Taxes are collected in addition to base room rate.
Hawaii taxation information:
On-Island Point of Contact: Larry Gahagan. ID:W 5 9 7 3 1 3 8 7-0 1.
We collect Hawaii General Excise Tax (4.0%) and Transient Accommodations Tax (9.25% of gross rents).

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Kailua Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Village ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Telephone ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Garage ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Standup Shower and toilet enclosed in the bathroom. Tiled floor. Linen storage available there, too. No personal care products are provided. Other amenities are subject to availability and may change without notice.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sleeps up to 4
  • Clean efficient STUDIO layout with queen size bed. Also, a queen size fold up bed in a sofa is also available.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Books ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • ruins
  • restaurants
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • photography
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • shelling
  • wildlife viewing
  • antiquing
  • horseshoes
  • horseback riding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • pier fishing
  • deepsea fishing
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • golf
  • tennis
  • rafting
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • parasailing
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • wind-surfing
  • cycling
  • mountain biking
  • hiking
  • fishing
  • rock climbing
  • basketball court
Email Owner Contact Me