WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF BEACHES. MINUTES FROM DOWNTOWN NEWPORT AND MANSIONS

Stephen DelRoss

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF BEACHES. MINUTES FROM DOWNTOWN NEWPORT AND MANSIONS

Easton's Point House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

THIS IS A NON SMOKING HOUSE. Three bedroom ranch with front and rear patios. Rear patio has outdoor sitting area, bar, fireplace, and above ground pool. The living space of the basement is finished with tv, foosball, pool table, and air hockey. There are several mattresses and a cot for use as an 'extra' sleeping area (mostly suitable for children). The laundry room is located off of the workroom or unfinished area. This is our full time home that we rent out in the summer. We are a modest family of 4 with family pets with a clean and cozy home in a prime Rhode Island location! If you are looking for a comfortable and relaxing location this is the place to be. We would love to share our space with you and yours. Middletown and Newport are beautiful, especially in the summer. Come and enjoy!

Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Stephen DelRoss (Owner)
Advertiser since 2013
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

Within Walking Distance Of Beaches. Minutes From Downtown Newport And Mansions
average rating of 1.0 based on 1 reviews
business
Within Walking Distance Of Beaches. Minutes From Downtown Newport And Mansions
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p455370vb
4018474682
Easton's Point Newport and Aquidneck Island
1

Close to beach, but disappointing house

  • 1 of 5
We have rented many private homes and were never disappointed until now. VRBO is primarily for vacation/second homes; this rental is the owners’ FT home, which is not noted in listing.

Great outside space & location. There is a well-kept above ground pool, spacious patio, fantastic bar, and house is beach walking distance.

On surface, house appeared clean but many odd/messy things made us uncomfortable:
- Outside fridge marked private & filled with beer; we couldn’t use it
- Outside grill caked with grease- looked like it hadn’t been cleaned in years- very unappetizing
- Strong pet odor in home- renters can’t bring pets, but listing should have noted that pets live there for allergy sufferers
- Felt like we were invading owners’ space- tchotchkes everywhere and bedroom hallway filled with family photos
- Refrigerator/freezer not empty- difficult to store our food
- Kitchen not well stocked- finding knife that could cut was difficult- everything was shabby
- We could use drawers marked "empty." Other drawers, closets & space under beds were filled with owners’ possessions- not locked/hidden away. In one closet, left side marked private & top shelf on right side also marked private but items on shelf were hanging over edge of the shelf & closet floor was cluttered with messy pile of clothes
- A bedside lamp flickered and a scalp massager was stuck upside down in the lamp- gross
- Kitchen table centerpiece filled with vitamin bottles
- Opened a kitchen cabinet looking for utensils but found massive, messy pile of receipts
- Underside of kitchen cabinet filled with dozens of old fruit stickers- unsightly & added to unclean feeling
- Basement listed as game room with extra beds which we were counting on. But like most old basements, it was dark and musty and unsuitable for anyone with allergies/asthma. Although functional, it was not a comfy, enjoyable space.

At this price point the home should have been immaculate and devoid of personal belongings. VRBO’s cleaning checklist was not adhered to. The house was not in appropriate condition for a rental; it felt as though owners left in a hurry. Owners are friendly and responded quickly when we couldn’t enter the house & when wifi was down. Given the great location, with extensive cleaning, decluttering and upgrades, this could be a nice rental. But in its current condition it is not worth the hefty price tag. We had to make do, but we were very uncomfortable and disappointed in this rental.
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to the review from the renters of 8/9/14...We had spoken to renters several times before their arrival date. They did know that this was our full time home and not just a rental property. They assured us that they would respect our home and treat it as their own. The fridge outside was filled with our stuff and marked private rather than move it. In the future, since this seemed to be an issue, we will empty it and leave it for renters' use. We had tenants in prior and when the house was cleaned in between renters, the grill may have gotten overlooked. It certainly is cleaned on a regular basis. We have family pets and they are not allowed on furniture and our carpets are cleaned several times a year. As to the tchotchkes everywhere, I am not sure what they are referring to. There are decorations such as wall art, but the personal things were taken down and stored in the garage. We mostly emptied the refrigerator, however, we did leave such things as condiments and dressings. The kitchen is well stocked for a normal home complete with a knife sharpener. We emptied several drawers in each dresser and covered with plastic the drawers that remained full. Closets were emptied on one half and "cut off" from the other side that remained full. The bedside lamp does flicker, but that we will fix. The kitchen table lazy susan held such things as napkins, salt, pepper, mrs. dash, and cinnamon, and I think maybe one bottle of vitamins that mistakenly got left behind. The "cabinet" that they looked in for utensils is a broom closet and houses such things as cleaning supplies and a 3 hole punch. The underside of one kitchen cabinet does have fruit stickers, something my daughter started when she was 4 (they don't touch or bother anything) The house is listed as a 3 bedroom ranch. The basement is listed as a gameroom, not as a bedroom. There are 2 dehumidifiers down there for the dampness that any basement has. There are several mattresses and bedding down there for use if needed, but is not part of the price. We were here several times during their stay to assist in a few issues that they had. Each time, we asked if any other problems or concerns came up, to please let us know and we would take care of them, they said nothing. We are in a fabulous location and have a clean and comfy home.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
29.1 Miles
TF green airport, post road, warwick ,RI
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Newport RI to Block Island
Nearest Train
21.6 Miles
Amtrak, kingston Rhode Island
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Route 138
Nearest Beach
1.2 Miles
Second beach,sachuest point road,RI
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
K J's Pub
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Yawgoo Valley Ski Area
Nearest Golf
4.5 Miles
Newport National Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Atlantic Beach Club
Car: recommended

Minutes from Newport mansions.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Easton's Point House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
From
$500
Fri,Sat
$3,080
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $89

Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Easton's Point House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • One 1/2 bath and 2 full baths.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • 3 bedrooms on main floor. Master bedroom has kingsize waterbed and bathroom. Two other bedrooms have queensize beds. Additional sleeping area in basement if needed.
Entertainment:
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Video Library
  • Video Games
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • live theater
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • gambling casinos
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • scenic drives
  • antiquing
  • whale watching
  • boating
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • racquetball
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • surfing
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • equestrian events
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$2,100 - $3,150 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8