ONE BLOCK FROM THE FRENCH QUARTER

Jason Landry

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

ONE BLOCK FROM THE FRENCH QUARTER

New Orleans House Rental Photos and Description

Shotgun House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Bath (Sleeps 2-8)

This private home is in the middle of everything. On Royal St, you are one block from the excitement of Bourbon St, and one block from the 'local's' favorite,Frenchman St. Walk to the French Market, or enjoy a carriage ride through the French Quarter. Between events/tours relax in the courtyard by the fountain. This recently renovated home has all the luxuries of a modern home...Flat screen TV's with cable and WiFi wireless internet. Two bedrooms have king beds, and the sofa is a fold-out queen sleeper. The third bedroom has a queen bed. The front bathroom has a marble shower. The second bathroom is all slate with a rain head shower. All linens and towels are provided. The laundry closet has a stacked washer and dryer if needed.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
Jason Landry (Owner)
Advertiser since 2013
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Jason Landry

Lifelong resident of New Orleans. Although I was raised in the suburbs, my grandfather grew up 4 blocks from my home. I love New Orleans...the history, the food, the climate, and music. I, like so many other 'thirty-somethings' (including my cousin who also lives a few blocks from house) am re-investing in New Orleans. And the Farburg Mariney is where so many of us are calling home.

Jason Landry purchased this house in 2010

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 traveler reviews

Write a Review
One Block from the French Quarter
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews
business
One Block from the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p453606vb
5049139889
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Lovely House

  • 5 of 5
This is a well kept convenient house with a responsible owner. It was perfect for our group. A nice patio in the back completes the house.
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
One Block from the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p453606vb
5049139889
New Orleans Louisiana
San Diego, CA
5

Perfect house for a bachelorette weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
My girlfriends and I rented Jason's property for a bachelorette party this past weekend and we could not have been happier with our stay. Jason is a great guy and awesome 'landlord'. He went above and beyond to make sure our trip was great.

The house exceeded our expectations. It was super clean and very well maintained. To put it in perspective--one of our girls is in the hospitality industry (high-end wedding planner) and she was impressed by how clean the property was. We also took advantage of the well-stocked kitchen, large sized washer and dryer, and back bedroom bar. The house felt like it was "ours" for the few days we were there...and that's not a feeling you always get out of a lot of rental properties.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend the property to anyone and everyone looking for a unique vacation rental!
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
One Block from the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p453606vb
5049139889
New Orleans Louisiana
5

The best time I've had in New Orleans

The best time I've had in New Orleans
  • 5 of 5
This review is long overdue. A group of 5 stayed here during the week of Halloween and had a blast. Having done the bourbon st. thing one too many times, staying here gave us just the true New Orleans feel we were going for. We loved the nightlife on Frenchmen st, and spent our days walking around the quarter, shopping, and eating at different restaurants. We always felt safe walking around the neighborhood, and to and from the quarter even late at night. The home was very clean and comfortble, and had all the basic amenities we needed. The only negative was the street noise in the front room from the morning traffic. I would just put your hard sleepers or early risers in that room and you'll be fine. We actually met Jason on our last day, and he was a really nice guy. You can tell he really cares about his home. We would definitely stay here again.
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
One Block from the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p453606vb
5049139889
New Orleans Louisiana
5

"Landmark place for my landmark birthday"

"Landmark place for my landmark birthday"
  • 5 of 5
My sister-in-law, my niece and I spent three glorious days in this unbelievable typical NOLA "shotgun" style home for my 50th birthday celebration. Let me start off by saying how surprised we were when we walked into Jason's home to find a charming, warm, and meticulous look and feel to the décor and ambiance: the refurbished original wood floors; original doors, and original fireplace and mantels were absolutely lovely. The incongruence of an "end of civil war" style home and the contemporary warmth in the décor was congruent, and made you feel like you were part of history, while living in the 21st century. We didn't know what to expect because we are so use to staying in hotels, and this was the first time I decided to rent. We were so glad we did! We all had our own rooms with very comfortable beds and comfortable living space. We had flat screen TVs in every bedroom and two contemporary styled bathrooms. The Japanese style garden with a calming Zen like feel and a round of cocktails as a preamble before you go out for the evening is perfect. We were out and about most of the time, but we were always happy to get back to the house. It was such a relief to get back into an air conditioned house and get a respite from the typical hot, humid NOLA weather. The house is in a great location: one block from Bourbon street; one block from Frenchman street and straight down Royal Street towards Canal Street. Should you be the adventurous type that likes to walk everywhere, everything is close by; including the French Market. If not, there are a plethora of taxis' everywhere. I can't write about the house and the area without mentioning Jason, the owner of this fine establishment . Jason ..... what a great person and landlord. He was genuinely a nice man, who was always available to answer any questions you had, and was ready to remedy any problems that you might have about the house. He was always available when ever you called and was very quick to answer any questions you might have. The best parts of Jason?..... his attentiveness, and his New Orleans charm and his accent. Thank you Jason for giving me some great memories and moments for my birthday, for bringing me a birthday cake (my favorite: red velvet), and for being available, and opening you beautiful home to me and my family. Being from New York, and everything being fast paced, it was such a pleasure to sit back and relax. I would definitely love to come back to NOLA and stay in your home. Thx
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
One Block from the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p453606vb
5049139889
New Orleans Louisiana
Houston, TX
1

Vacation gone bad

  • 1 of 5
As a native New Orleanian, this is a difficult review for me to write since it pains me to shed an unflattering light on anything in my hometown. That said, this is a summary of my party’s experience at this property from the afternoon of July 4 through the very early morning hours of July 7.

Party of 3 women and two men (two married couples and the younger sister of the wives) planned a family trip for nearly a year and booked in March 2014.

As the only New Orleans native in the group, I really wanted my family to have a tremendous time. After researching, we agreed to pay the premium rate listed for this property during our vacation period (far greater than the prices currently listed).

PROS:

Location – provides an authentic experience of the city’s unique atmosphere and culture

CONS:

Email from Jason a week prior to our vacation date, and after our trip was fully paid, that stated: “Just a heads up, the house that borders the courtyard is home to two one year old twins. Please be respectful and keep late night noise low. Babies need their rest!” We are not rowdy or unruly, but we are not quiet people. Had this been included in the listing, we would not have stayed at this property.

Horrible smell of garbage emanating from the back of the restaurant next door

Many flies inside the home; we purchased Raid from a nearby store to kill the flies inside the house

We observed three mice running around the kitchen. Ladies were no longer comfortable so we left the property. I spoke with Jason several times during rodent ordeal. In those conversations, he was apologetic, accommodating and pleasant. He seemed to understand the situation and offered to refund one night of our stay to compensate for the negative experience and the fact that we felt forced to vacate the property in the middle of the night. The next day, Jason’s tone changed. He refused to attempt to resolve, and ultimately ignored communications.

The issues we experienced were unfortunate, but it was the treatment we received that really ruined things for us. Had Jason handled things as he initially offered, he would have a group of appreciative renters that simply had an unfortunate, yet difficult to control, bad experience. Instead, his lack of compassion and poor customer service completely offended us and irreparably damaged our experience.

Review was significantly truncated due to length restrictions. Full commentary can be made available upon request.
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Well, I just received my first bad review...after a year and a half of 100% great reviews. This group came in for the Essence Festival held in New Orleans two weeks ago. Looking back I should never have rented my place to them because they were relentless in their attempts to get me to lower my prices. I just had that "gut feeling", but I relented and gave them a "deal". Apparently it wasn't enough; because at 3:30AM (the departure date) they awakened me with screams that they, "...had seen a mouse and mouse droppings; so they were checking out early and had procured not one, but three Jr Suites at the Ritz Carlton Hotel. Being awakened from a sound sleep ( not realizing this might be a scam, and also wanting to make sure all of my customers are happy) I immediately offered to pay them for their three suites at the Ritz.....I told them to send me a copy of the bill, and I would send a check. They said that was impossible and they would only take a cash settlement. That's when awakened enough, I "smelled the real rat". My guess is they were tired of partying and wanted to make an early drive back to Houston. Over the next few days I received numerous threatening calls and texts from them trying to extort monies from me. I'm guessing this first negative review is their response to my not allowing myself to be extorted.

For the record, when I went to the property (by 8 the next morning) my home had been"trashed". Also, there was absolutely no evidence of a mouse having been in my home. However, as a precautionary measure I did have my pest control company come out first thing in the morning to investigate. He pulled out all of the furniture and appliances. Not only was there no evidence of a mouse, there was no evidence of any other type of pest. To be sure I set out numerous traps for the past two weeks....all with no "hits". Not to mention I've also had guests staying there for the past two weekends following (since the Essence festival ended) with absolutely no complaints.

My last comment is it is disheartening to know there are people in this world who will take advantage of others if they can. To all my previous guests, and to all my future guests please know I will continue to do my very best to make sure your stay in New Orleans....at my house....is a wonderful stay. Thank you
business
One Block from the French Quarter
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p453606vb
5049139889
New Orleans Louisiana
San Francisco, CA
5

Fabulous NOLA home - close to everything

  • 5 of 5
Our group of 6 (three couples) spent 5 days in this beautiful home. The house itself is fantastic with lots of space, including a lovely courtyard. The location is awesome, one block from Frenchman Street, a block from the French Quarter and walking distance to everything going on in the Marigny-Bywater neighborhood. Jason, the owner, was so helpful and easy to work with in coordinating the rental. All 6 of us loved this house and we had a great time in New Orleans. We will definitely be back and would stay here again!
  • Submitted: May 19, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

New Orleans House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Special Offer
Sep 17 2014 - Sep 23 2014
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Sugar Bowl
Dec 30 2014 - Jan 6 2015
3 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
French Quarter Fest
Apr 8 2015 - Apr 14 2015
3 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
Jazz Fest
Apr 22 2015 - Apr 28 2015
4 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

New Orleans House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Internet
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Living Room
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Microwave
  • Dishwasher
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Ice Maker
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Slate
  • Full Marble
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
Notes:
3rd bedroom has a bar and a beverage center
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$2,000 per week
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$500 per night
3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,650 - $2,000 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10