PRIVATE STUDIO IN MONUMENTAL HOUSE, IN THE HEART OF AMSTERDAM

Hazenberg

Speaks dutch, french, german, italian, english
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

PRIVATE STUDIO IN MONUMENTAL HOUSE, IN THE HEART OF AMSTERDAM

Old Center Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Completely renovated studio with brand-new kitchen, bathroom, fully serviced

For those looking for a comfortable place to stay in the centre of Amsterdam, you have found the right spot! In our own 17th century house in the canal area we have a friendly and spacious studio for rent. Completely renovated in 2010, it is very convenient for your time in Amsterdam, also for longer periods.

We live in one of the most beautiful parts of the historic city centre. All major tourist attractions that Amsterdam has to offer, are within walking distance, such as the Van Gogh en the Rijksmuseum, but also the brand-new Hermitage Museum, the Rembrandt Square, Dam, Leidse Square, the Vondelpark and the Skinny Bridge.

If you want to grab a bite, the excellent Utrechtsestraat is just around the corner which is full of restaurants, from exquisite to low-budget. For those preferring to eat at home, we have installed a comfortable kitchen with stove, oven, fridge and freezer.

Bikes are for rent at the neighbour's bike shop and (paid) parking is available in our street.

Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Guestbook comments from the owner
I wrote a great review for your apartment, but the system would not accept it because of some problem with "nickname" feature.



We really enjoyed our stay, and thank you for your hospitality. We would definitely come back again, we love your neighborhood!
Apr 2010
  • 1 of 3

Hazenberg

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks dutch, french, german, italian, english
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Private studio in monumental house, in the heart of Amsterdam
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 17 reviews
business
Private studio in monumental house, in the heart of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p452241
Old Center Amsterdam
Various
5

Great location as described.

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I stayed here for a week while traveling Europe. This studio is in a wonderful area. It's a quiet residential street but with the tram and the rest of Amsterdam around the corner.
Our hosts were very helpful with recommendations. It's a nice touch to find some pantry essentials when you arrive.
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Private studio in monumental house, in the heart of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p452241
Old Center Amsterdam
5

Perfect for a couple!

  • 5 of 5
This apartment was perfect for a couple on a budget! I have stayed in Amsterdam before and always paid much more for a small hotel room that didn't offer the charm and convenience this property did. Joop and Tom were wonderful! We found a bottle of wine and a bit of food - cheese, bread and crackers - left in the fridge for us (Tom even did our laundry the last night we were there!) The location put us within walking distance of almost everything we wanted to see and do. In addition, it was less than a block from the tram and the whole neighborhood was filled with quaint shops and restaurants filled with wonderful local people who always seemed ready to help out a visitor.
It was clean, quiet, and altogether pleasant. We didn't get a chance to enjoy the small garden in back very much, but it added to the ambiance just seeing it. We cannot recommend this property highly enough for a couple looking for the charm of 'Amsterdam living' on a budget.
If you're used to the Hyatt or the Hilton, be prepared to spend much more and not get the feel and flavor of being a "local" in Holland.
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
business
Private studio in monumental house, in the heart of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p452241
Old Center Amsterdam
3

Needs TLC

  • 3 of 5
We read all the reviews, and thought that this would be the ideal place to stay for our second visit to wonderful Amsterdam. We had good e mail contact with Joop, and knew he would be away for a few days, no problem. His partner was to be there until thursday.
We arrived in the cold, wet conditions, and had been notified as to where to find the key, again, no problem.
First impressions were disappointing, as the few steps down into the apartment had not been swept in a long time. The apartment seemed quite OK , not sparkling, and we unpacked and went out for the rest of the day.
Provisions that were left for us were really good, but the microwave oven was very dirty, even some food debris left in there, and I didn't clean it, so never used it. The bed is comfy, but it was unseasonably cold, and the one slightly small duvet was inadequate.
A kettle and toaster would have been very welcome, for warm snacks, particularly in the cold weather.
The location is really very good, and we walked almost everywhere.
Unfortunately the weather was bad for our stay, which can't be helped, so we went on several trips-(the kind on a bus, not in a coffee shop).
We will not be returning to that apartment, nor recommending it to friends.
We left on Sunday morning, having never met Joop or Tom.
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Elspeth,

We are very sorry to hear your stay wasn't satisfactory. I'd like to respond to your points. Regarding the steps and the microwave: we have put an emphasis on this now for the cleaning instructions. The steps are swept weekly, by the way, but they get dirty because the street sweepers blow rubbish on the steps. Regarding the duvet: we could have provided you with another duvet right away if you had asked us. When it comes to not having met us, this is actually the first time this happened and we are sorry about that. When we have guests we always talk to them, give them tips, and we make sure one of us is around. Because of business trips and urgent things in Brussels, both us were unable to host you personally.
business
Private studio in monumental house, in the heart of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p452241
Old Center Amsterdam
Scotland
5

Very comfortable studio in an excellent location

  • 5 of 5
This studio felt spacious, cosy, was well equipped and was a very peaceful place to come back to after a full day of sightseeing. Just round the corner is a street which offers shops,eating places and best of all the brown cafes/ bars which are full of atmosphere,chilled and where the locals go too. Being in the canal area made us feel we really did experience Amsterdam away from the more busy touristy spots. From the studio you can easily walk or take a tram to all the central areas in Amsterdam.
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Private studio in monumental house, in the heart of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p452241
Old Center Amsterdam
5

Wonderful cozy apartment

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I recently stayed in this apartment. The owners were very welcoming. The apartment is nicely situated in an area close to public transportation and many good restaurants. This was one of our best rentals in the many years we have been using HomeAway (cyberrentals). We highly recommend this apartment.
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Private studio in monumental house, in the heart of Amsterdam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p452241
Old Center Amsterdam
5

Tourist Friendly Apartment

  • 5 of 5
We spent a wonderfull week at Tom and Joops great apartment which is well located for restaurants, canal walks, and sight seeing, The apartment was well provided for (except for a hair dryer) and Tom and Joop even had the fridge full of wonderfull goodies, which was greatly appreciated. They were both great hosts who made us feel really welcome and were always available to assist with directions and assistance when required.

The best feature of this apartment, apart from its location, is that it only has 6 steps down to it. So many Amsterdam apartments are located up steep staircases, which can be a problem if carrying luggage. The location was central to everything with the tram stop just a short walk away, but was away from the busy traffic and crowds.

We would happily return again and will certainly recommend to family and friends visiting Amsterdam.
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Amsterdam Schiphol
Nearest Ferry
40 Kilometres
IJmuiden
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Amsterdam Central Station
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
A10
Nearest Beach
30 Kilometres
Zandvoort
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
De Huyschkaemer
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Beddington's
Car: not necessary

This beautiful city has found its old self – quirky, creative and open-minded. The city’s gorgeous looks haven’t faded either. The moments you spend ogling the old merchants’ villas, the Jordaan’s charming lanes or the lush Vondelpark are as magical now as in centuries past. The cafés are full, the museums are littered with Golden Age art and everyone still parties like there’s no tomorrow. Amsterdam is a delight to visit any time of year, but it’s hard to trump Queen’s Day, the world’s biggest party-cum–garage sale. In summer there’s an endless parade of festivals and events such as the Holland Festival, the Roots Music Festival and the outrageous Gay Pride parade, as well as delightful concerts on canal stages.

This city is too relaxed to stop being fun. To join in, all you need to pack is a few days’ attitude.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Old Center Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring and Summer 2014
Apr 1 2014 - Oct 31 2014
3 night minimum stay
€100
€600
€1,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
€100
€600
€1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Notes Minimal stay 3 nights, as you are provided with a welcome package (food, beverages, clean linen and towels).

The advertised rate is the total rate

Bikes are for rent at the neighbour's bike shop and (paid) parking is available in our street. We advise you to use one the P+R facilities as parking in the city centre is very expensive.
Minimal stay 3 nights, as you are provided with a welcome pack

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Old Center Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 35 m²
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Town
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Hair Dryer
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking On Street
  • Local Maps
  • Toilet Paper
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • On request, an extra mattress can be provided for.
Entertainment:
  • Books for Adults
  • Television
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • pond
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
- Upon arrival, your a welcomed with a package containing food and beverages, as well as linnen, towels and flowers! - Bikes are for rent at the shop next to our house. - Free high-speed internet access - (paid) parking is available in our street, we advise you to use one of the P+R locations as parking is very expensive! - Access to our garden and use of seating area - Land line telephone available upon request
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$176 - $441 per night
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$240 - $267 per night
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$321 per night
3 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • Sleeps 3