WATER FUN AND LEISURE DESTINATION!

Tom DePoy

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Tom DePoy

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

WATER FUN AND LEISURE DESTINATION!

Shoreham Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom/1 Bath Cottages With Lake And Mountain Views (Sleeps 8)

Our property is at the end of a private road with 20 acres sitting right on Lake Champlain. We have about 2000' of stone beach which is very nice to take long walks on. The views right from your cottage are fabulous and the evening sunsets breathtaking! Right out your door is 7 miles of lake that you can see and another 100 miles of lake to the north and south all navigable by boat. Our swimming areas are all zero entry with gentle slope which is ideal for families with young children. We have a large deck on our property which sits right on the water which can be used for small events including family parties and weddings!! Our dock is built to accommodate up to 4-20' ski boats or smaller fishing boats. A row boat is available for use with your rental. The owners have a 20' ski boat and would be happy to take anyone for a scenic ride or for some water skiing or tubing. Summer fun is truly just outside your door!

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • children welcome
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets considered
Tom DePoy (Owner)
Advertiser since 2013
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Tom DePoy

This family owned property is in its 3rd generation of ownership. Mother, son, and daughter have lived at and been a part of this property for over 60 years! A great deal of work has been done to the lands and to the cottages in the last few years to get them to where our guests will love them as much as we do!! We consider ourselves very lucky to call Watch Point home! We believe that you will feel at home from the moment you arrive to the time you say, 'goodbye, see ya next year!!'

Tom DePoy purchased this cottage in 1951

Why Tom DePoy chose Shoreham

Watch Point is as easy to get to as it is secluded. A mere 3 miles to the village of Shoreham, VT where you can find a bank, country store with deli and gas, restaurant, post office, and Catholic and Protestant churches. Back at Watch Point, you have the seclusion of being at the end of a private road and the luxury to use Lake Champlain in any way you see fit. Take a ride in a boat and fish, tube, ski, or just enjoy the 100 miles of lake that is accessible from Watch Point. There are 3 cottages to choose from and each has its own special charm!

What makes this cottage unique

Watch Point is one of the oldest historical properties in the State of Vermont. Lake Champlain was critical during the Revolutionary War. Fort Ticonderoga was a major fortress in the region and whoever held the fort essentially controlled the southern end of the lake. Watch Point was critical to the defense of the fort as it served as a lookout and warning station for any enemy ships which might be approaching from the north. The warning sent from Watch Point would give the Fort time to prepare for an ensuing attack. We have a light house on our point and the main house (Inn) is over 200 years old! We are rich in history and tradition here at Watch Point. You will be happy when you make it part of your tradition!

Guestbook comments from the owner

I was born and raised in Vermont and ended up in Austin, Texas as a firefighter. I wanted to show my 12 year old daughter my roots and decided to rent a cottage at Watch Point. The 4th of July week was so much fun for me and my daughter and the 4th of July party was the best I have ever been to! The Watch Point owners really care about making the experience fun and relaxing for everyone who visits!! The property and the lake are so large that if you want to be alone, you can be. However, if you want to have fun with others and meet new friends, there is plenty of fun to be had with some really great people!



Visit if you can! You will always want to go back! I will be there for 4th of July week again next summer!!
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4
based on 4 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Water Fun and Leisure Destination!
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
business
Water Fun and Leisure Destination!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451397vb
Shoreham Lake Champlain Valley
Burlington, VT
5

Beautiful Property Right On Lake Champlain

  • 5 of 5
I live in Vermont and have traveled all over the Lake Champlain Valley and have to say this is one of the nicest properties I have seen. It is on a private point that juts out into the lake and has amazing Northerly, Southerly & Western views across the lake (and yes as some other reviews have pointed out there is a paper mill across the lake, but it is about 2 miles away and I never found it to be bothersome) . We stayed in the Eagle's Nest cottage which was recently renovated with a beautiful hardwood interior and had all the amenities needed for a short or extended stay, including a fully equiped kitchen, satellite TV, BBQ, firepit and so much more. We were able to launch our boat right from the property and keep it at a floating dock just off the lawn which was an added bonus. I even caught several bass while fishing right from the beach next to the cottage. The family that owns and maintains this property were extremely gracious hosts. I have nothing but good things to say about this place.
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Water Fun and Leisure Destination!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451397vb
Shoreham Lake Champlain Valley
5

Perfect Vacation

  • 5 of 5
We couldn't have asked for a better vacation destination for our family! The cozy lake cottage was perfect for our family of four with the addition of my mother making it five total. The owner of the cottage, Tom, was extremely accomodating in every possible way. This is a family owned group of cottages and every single member is extremely friendly and gracious. My son thoroughly enjoyed the tubing that was provided and we enjoyed the boat ride to the new Lake Champlain bridge. We also enjoyed some of the most breathtaking sunsets over the lake. The family gave wonderful recommendations for eating out along with things to see and do during our week stay. At the end of the week the owners had a cookout for the guests with some outstanding food. If you are looking for a vacation that pretty much has it all this is the place.
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Water Fun and Leisure Destination!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451397vb
Shoreham Lake Champlain Valley
4

Rented property for LCI fishing derby

  • 4 of 5
I was searching for a property to accommodate 11 of my family members to fish in the LCI derby. My search was very challenging until I sent a message to Tom D through Home Away. Tom responded quickly to my request and within a couple weeks we had established how he could accommodate us at this property.
Six of us stayed in the newly refurbished cottage and the other 5 slept in rooms in the Inn. We were on the water at 6 AM and fished until 9:30 PM coming in for lunch or dinner. We were able to prepare meals in the cottage for everyone and one night Tom and his family had a barbeque for us. The amenities were very good especially the new large screen HD TV in the cottage.
We had 5 bass boats and the dock was able to accommodate them all. It was a great benefit docking the boats rather than pulling them in and out of the water each day. There was electricity supplied to the dock where we were able to charge trolling motor batteries. For any fisherman this property is set up perfectly.
Yes the paper mill is across the lake but we were not bothered by it. Some of the best fishing was right in front of the plant. We are planning to fish the 2014 LCI and look forward to renting two cottages next year. Thanks to Tom and his family for their hospitality.
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Water Fun and Leisure Destination!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p451397vb
Shoreham Lake Champlain Valley
Pittsburgh
2

Look closely at the photos

  • 2 of 5
Renters - review the photos on this site CLOSELY. Hidden behind the tree of the one photo is a large Paper Mill that is on the New York side of Lake Champlain - this mill is NOT mentioned in the description of this property.
We understand the mill is not the fault of the landlord - but believe it should be mentioned in the description as it is unavoidable. Unfortunately the first thing you will see, from the front porch of this rental, is the mill. Granted, there are many other beautiful views of the lake at this site - but you will need to take a short walk to the property at the tip of the property & place your chair just so to enjoy the amazing beauty of Lake Champlain.The slight hum and the smoke from the mill is constant & the lights from the mill are on all through the night - but we did not notice an odor.
Also, ask the owner if the amenities listed are hooked up and working - the washer & dryer listed were on the property, but not ready for use. (We had the impression the landlord advertised this property with good intentions, but before having it ready for renters.) The landlord's mother, who also has a rental on this property, offered us use of her washer & dryer - which we greatly appreciated. She and her husband were extremely helpful and kind to us this week.
If you plan on using the master loft bedroom know that the access to the room is via ladder-type steps: difficult for elderly or folks with knee problems & perhaps unsafe for small children.
On the positive side: the reception for the large newer TV was excellent and the kitchen & bathroom are newly remodeled. Rose bushes surround the cabin. We were hoping for privacy and this rental property is rather secluded. Fish were plentiful and there are many types of birds flying around. This would be a great rental for fisherman as there are places to dock your boats.
Shoreham is a cute little town - close to Middlebury, a little over an hour from Burlington.
We were not aware of the view of the paper mill or of the washer & dryer not being hooked up until we reached our destination - a huge disappointment after driving for almost 12 hours & after months of looking forward to this vacation. The landlord of this rental did agree to giving us a refund - however, he did not refund us the agreed upon amount.
We are sorry to write such a poor review - but believe folks who work hard, save their money and plan a much needed vacation deserve the truth about the properties they are renting.
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I do not regard this review in a negative way. Our guest points out the allure of this property; it is secluded, at the end of a private road, and has amazing views!

She is correct, the washer and dryer are not in the cottage, they are located in the Inn which she did have access to and used. I gave her a partial refund because of her objection to the amenity not being in the cottage. I did not agree, however, to give her any money back for the paper mill which is over a mile away in the state of New York. It's there and we cannot help that. It does not define our property, nor does it affect the fun and relaxation that many people have on this property. We have worked very hard to allow for the many positives this property has to shine through. The views are amazing in nearly every direction as our pictures prove.

The loft is not easily accessible for those who may have leg ailments. Most lofts have a ladder to access them. Kids love it! It has a queen sized log set bed with an incredibly comfortable memory foam mattress on it. Satellite tv is also in the loft to catch a late night game or movie, or just fall asleep to. There are 2 other bedrooms in the cottage. Our guest did not have to sleep in the loft. She could have slept in the master bedroom on the main level which has 2 full sized beds. The main level is very friendly to our disabled guests. It is an at grade entry. There are no stairs to access it at the front door. It is very accommodating to someone who needs to use a walker or wheelchair.

The cottage and property really are top notch. Every effort has been made with the intent to attract guests who will be able see the abundance of positives that we and it has to offer! I hope our guests decide to return in the future!
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Burlington International Airport
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Shoreham, VT
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Castleton, VT
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
VT Rt 22a
Nearest Barpub
15 Miles
The Wheel Inn Benson, VT
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Middlebury Snow Bowl
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Middlebury, VT
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
The Shoreham Inn
Car: recommended

Our property is at the end of a private road and sits right on Lake Champlain. We have about 2000' of shale stone beach which is very nice to take long walks on. The views right from your cottage are fabulous and the evening sunsets breathtaking! Right out your door is 7 miles of lake that you can see and another 100 miles of lake to the north and south all navigable by boat. Our swimming areas are all zero entry with gentle slope which is ideal for families with young children. We have a large deck on our property which sits right on the water which can be used for small events including family parties and small weddings. Our dock is built to accommodate up to 4-20' ski boats or smaller fishing boats. The owners have a 20' ski boat and would be happy to take anyone for a scenic ride or for some water skiing or tubing. Summer fun is truly just outside your door!

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Shoreham Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Summer/Early Fall
Aug 31 2014 - Sep 28 2014
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
Fall Foliage
Sep 29 2014 - Oct 26 2014
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $0
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Shoreham Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Fireplace
  • Living Room
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Kitchen
  • Dishes & Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk bed
    Living Room Sleep Sofa - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Bedroom #2 is a lofted bedroom accessed by ladder stairs.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio
  • Water Sports Gear
  • Boat ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • 5 garden chairs
  • 5 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • children welcome
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • ruins
  • restaurants
  • museums
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • wildlife viewing
  • horseshoes
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • freshwater fishing
  • water tubing
  • kayaking
  • water skiing
  • swimming
  • fishing
Email Owner Contact Me