Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Charming, Economical, 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath Home Away From Home.

Karen Hall

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Karen Hall

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 16, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Charming, Economical, 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath Home Away From Home.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Biloxi House Rental Photos and Description

Family Friendly, Two Miles From The Gulf and a short drive to 7 Biloxi casinos

We have 3 Bedrooms and 2 Bathrooms. Sleeps 6. Pond with goldfish, large flower filled property. Just a few short miles from the artsy community of Ocean Springs or the beautiful Biloxi & Ocean Springs beaches. Centrally located, just an hours drive to New Orleans or Mobile, Alabama. Lots of charter fishing, 11 casinos, 18 golf courses and within minutes from many restaurants, theaters, and museums.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Karen Hall (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 16, 2015

About Karen Hall

In 1965, our father transferred to Keesler Air Force Base from Amarillo, Texas where I was born and raised. I was in High School, my brother in college. Our parents had our home, Vaneaton Place built in 1965. It was one of the first built in the whole subdivision. The coast looked a lot different back then. It was considered the hot spot for vacation and weekend get away. Lots of nightclubs, beach, amusement park, miniature golf.... underground slot machines and gambling. My parents had fallen in love with the Mississippi Coast while on a vacation trip a few years earlier. Hurricane Betsy hit the first month we moved to the coast! What a greeting and what a mess along the beach. Nothing compared to 1969, Hurricane Camille. That really wiped out the coastline. It gave us lots of stories to tell and lots of rebuilding to do. Our home, Vaneaton Place, had no damage. Just trees uprooted. We stayed in the house during the storm. The glass sliding door buckled back and forth from the pressure of the storm. It passed during the night hours and the darkness during the eye of the storm was so eerie that I'll never forget it. Many lots along the scenic beach drive stayed empty for years and years.

Life went on. The coast built back. We grew up, had families and moved away but Biloxi, Mississippi remained home for our parents. Hurricane Katrina came along in 2005 and really devastated our beautiful coast all the way from Alabama to Louisiana. Our home actually had about 1 foot of water come in so we lost almost everything. Our Mom never was able to move back in but she did pick out all the colors that you see painted throughout the home. Some of the furnishings are the original. They are all special memories for us. Our Mom loved her home and yard. It is a very special place to us and to our children who have always had it in their lives. A place full of wonderful memories.

Karen Hall purchased this house in 1965

Why Karen Hall chose Biloxi

We wanted to keep the house in our family because it is such a part of us. A place we can go to and visit and a place that we can open up and share to travelers who understand how much it mean to us. A place we still call home.

What makes this house unique

We are in a quiet area but just 10 min drive to the beach. There are so many places to shop and eat within minutes of the house including a large movie theatre. There are 7 casinos within a 10 to 15 min drive. Of course fishing and golfing all over the place... Who could ask for a more relaxing place to go.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 13 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Charming, Economical, 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath Home Away From Home.
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 13 reviews
4

Great home away!!!

  • 4 of 5

This was truly a home away from home. The house was clean and thoroughly stocked for your needs. We enjoyed everything except the rain. We did manage to get one day of fishing and of course we visited the casino s which were not far away. We would definitely visit again.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Athens, OH
5

Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5

We feel like we have found our home away from home when visiting family in Mississippi. The home is exactly as advertised. We are already making plans for a trip home for Christmas in the next year or two. Shopping, casinos, and I-10 are close and make it easy to get around. With 2 teenagers staying in a home is much more enjoyable than the close quarters of a hotel room. Coffee on the back patio in the mornings, a place to barbecue and visit with family in the evenings, and space for everyone to escape when needed. We were looking for a place that would seem like home and we found it here.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us at VanEaton Place. I am so glad that you and your family found our home to be just what you needed and hope you will plan to visit again soon.
Farmington, AR
5

Perfect Place for a Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5

My family met here to have a mini family reunion and we were very pleased with the home that awaited us. The home was absolutely perfect for our needs. The 3 bedrooms / 2Baths were spacious and had plenty of storage. The kitchen was well stocked with all the cooking utensils and pots/pans we needed to fix our meals and the 5 burns gas stove was a dream to cook on. The den was a great place for all of the younger cousins (15-8) who had never met each other to sit, talk and play games. There were TV’s in every room (den, living and bedrooms) so, everyone could watch what they wanted if they wanted to. The washer and dryer was a definite added plus! The location to the beach and shopping was very convenient.

We hated to see our short time here come to an end but when we go back I would definitely stay here again. The owner was very easy to work with and returned our deposit the very next evening after we left the home.

I would highly recommend this property to anyone who is visiting the Biloxi area.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Weeks vacation with family and friends/daughters 21 birthday.

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for a week and enjoyed it, thoroughly. Daughter turned 21. She uses a wheelchair. House was accessible throughout. Five minute drive to Ocean Springs beach where I walked every morning. Friendliest folks found walking that beach. I walked the neighborhood one morning. Quiet neighborhood area. Nice that the gas station/convenience store within walking distance. House was fresh and clean inside. Nice tiled floors and kitchen counters. Newer kitchen cabinets. Open floor plan. Used the master bedroom/bathroom which was very comfortable. Sheets/pillows all fresh and clean. Daughter used den with pull out sofa bed where she was comfortable. Appliances newer. Oven cooked biscuits perfect in the a.m. Coffee/tea made available for guests. Most kitchen items needed for cooking readily available. We cooked a seafood boil one evening. Had a cooking pot deep enough for that. We buy our fresh seafood from Quality Seafood and Poultry in Biloxi which we love. Outside of house front yard was neatly kept. Backyard was nice with fish pond and large covered patio. Trash day is only once a week on Tuesdays early morning. This is important to know if you have seafood pickins to go out to trash which you don't want sitting around on a warm June week. Convenient having the washer/dryer, cable tv and wifi. Karen was very nice to speak with on all occasions. Prompt in communicating via phone or email. We visit Biloxi about twice a year and just love the area. Some things we did this time were eat birthday dinner at Bubba Gump in the Golden Nugget, took the Shrimp Train Biloxi historic tour downtown, gambled at several casinos, walked downtown Ocean Springs, ate donuts from TatoNut in downtown Ocean Springs. Ate dinner at the Hook Up with their beautiful sunset view on the water of the back bay. Also ate appetizer and drinks at the newer restaurant, The Crabhouse on Hwy 90. Also a beautiful ocean view. Enjoyed every minute and can't wait to come back. Would definitely stay here again for the three of us or with 2-3 additional friends/guests. There is plenty of room with the three bedrooms and den.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Marianne for your kind review. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I know you come down pretty often and we will be looking forward to your staying with us again. I am happy that your daughter was comfortable and that the house worked our for her.
2

Biloxi home

  • 2 of 5

The house was a bit different than the pictures. The immediate backyard off the dilapidated carport/patio was basically a weed patch surrounding the koi pond. The pond itself was mostly filled with aquatic weeds, thought we did see a couple frogs. Patio furniture was pretty much too dirty to use , as were the two grills. The interior was spacious and pretty well appointed.

We had to contact the owner on the day before our arrival because we had no information on how to get in the house, although we paid our deposit and balance as soon as requested. The neighborhood was OK, except for the loud music from cars that seemed to congregate on the side street near the bedroom. Sorry, but this one would not receive a recommendation from me.

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry that you were disappointed with our fenced back yard area and pond. We had an unusually cold winter with several hard freezes and it wiped out all the palms, banana trees, bird of paradise plants, etc. It also affected the azaleas and flowering trees that were in the photos. Those pictures were taken last year. The weeds seemed to have come up all at once as soon as warm weather hit. Our yard maintance man was behind due to several weeks with heavy rain storms. We power wash all the outdoor furnishings every few months during the spring/summer. As for the pond, there are plenty of goldfish hiding in it. We have more pond vegetation during the winter season to protect them from the cold and they also feed from it. We have been removing it now that it is warm. I normally email the welcome letter a few days before tenants arrive, with their new lock box code. This is for security purposes. I furnish the physical address earlier if requested. I hope that you did find the house clean and comfortable and that you and your wife enjoyed our extras such as coffee, tea, hot chocolate, popcorn, spices for cooking, soap for laundry, etc. We do make an effort to have all the little extras on hand to make our visitors comfortable. I have not had any complaints on music from cars before. We are in a residential neighborhood and the neighbors usually do not tolerate noise problems. Sorry for any inconvenience that it may have caused you.
5

my stay

  • 5 of 5

I had a business reason to extend my stay in the biloxi area for 10 days and a hotel is too small. The house was perfect, from having coffee available, fast high speed internet, fully equipped kitchen and very pleasing decor. The separate office space with a pullout bed in the loveseat was an extra I did not expect. I will be returning here for any stay over two days in the future

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying with us. We are so glad that you had a comfortable visit and look forward to having you come again.

Map

Nearest Airport
18.9 Miles
Gulfport/Biloxi
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Several
Nearest Golf
2.7 Miles
Gulf Hills Golf Course
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Ocean Springs
Nearest Motorway
2.7 Miles
Interstate 10
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Sicily's Pizza walking distance
Nearest Beach
4.6 Miles
Biloxi/Ocean Springs
Car: recommended

The Van Eaton home is conveniently located 2 miles from Biloxi Back Bay. There are 7 casinos between 3 and 7 miles from the home, including The Hard Rock, Beau Rivage, Palace, Imperial palace, Boomtown, Golden Nugget, and Margaritaville. The famous Walter Anderson Museum of Art is 4.6 miles and the new Ohr O'Keefe museum of Art is 6.7 miles. The Gulf Hills golf course and Interstate 10 are both 2.7 miles. There are aprox 18 golf courses along the Gulf Coast! If you're looking for deep sea fishing, you can find charter boats at the small craft harbors in Ocean Springs and Biloxi, both just 5 miles from the house.

The Grand 18 D'Iberville movie theater is 2.6 miles. There's a Walmart, Target, Dicks Sporting Goods, Cole's, Logans, Starbucks, 5 Guys Burgers & Fries, Chili's, Denny's, Olive Garden, Red Lobster, Outback, Bejing Chinese Buffet, Newks, Moes, Ruby Tuesday, and Applebee's ...all within three miles of the house. If you like beautiful old cars, you may want to come during the week of our famous Crusin' The Coast, Oct. 6-13th, 2013. If you enjoy street festivals, don't miss the Peter Anderson Fest, in Ocean Springs, Nov. 2 & 3rd. If you come Jan-Feb, be sure to catch one of the 23 Mardi Gras parades, one of which passes by the home.

The home is a comfortable brick, 3 bedroom, two bath, one level, decorated in a cool, beach cottage style. There is an office with a line for your computer or the room could be used as an additional bedroom. Central air conditioning/heat with ceiling fans in every room. Copies of original artwork thruout the home, photographed /created by the owners, can be purchased. Call owners for details.

There is a lovely pond outside with goldfish and the yard is filled with trees, plants, and flowers.

The pictures posted were all taken in the house and yard.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $125 Per night

Biloxi House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
summer rates
Jun 1 2015 - Jul 2 2015
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,000
 
 
Fourth of July Weekend
Jul 3 2015 - Jul 5 2015
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,400
 
 
19TH ANNUAL CRUSIN' THE COAST
Oct 4 2015 - Oct 10 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,250
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$135
Fri,Sat,Sun
$850
$2,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
additional housekeeping $100
Notes Check the calendar for availability. Prices do not include security deposit and cleaning fee. Prices vary depending on amount of guests and pets.
Please request a price quote.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Biloxi House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom (#2) - toilet , shower
    Hall Bathroom (#1) - toilet , combination tub/shower , Accessible from the hall and services bedrooms 2 and 3.
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Loveseat/sleeper in office/den area
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
VanEaton Place is only a short 90 mile trip to the famous New Orleans French Quarter. (aprox 1 1/2 hour) and less that an hour to beautiful Mobile, Al. The Family Fun Center in Biloxi and Barnacle Bill's in Waveland now offer miniature golf for the whole family. Other family attractions include Gulf Islands Water Park, the Lynn Meadows Discovery Center, Biloxi Shrimping Trip, Ship Island Excursions, just to name a few for you to enjoy during your stay.

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$900 per week
2 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$125 per night
3 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,150 per week
7 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote