Listing description accurate, but incomplete
We are 3 adults in their mid 60s, two of us in very good shape (just came back from a Mayan expedition off the beaten paths).We rented the house for 3 weeks in Feb 2013. This house was not for us.The house is beautiful, high quality furnishings, good taste, efficient air conditioning, but :walls in dining room and service wash room need a new paint, kitchen utensil need an update (sharper knives, citrus squeezer,placemates, or a table cloth - we bought one,etc).The house also lacks the good hostess manners. From our prior experience with vacation rentals, we expected a minimum courtesy welcome, with some coffee/ tea and sugar to fix our first coffee.We found none of these. Fortunately, we arrived early enough to go shopping.We were unpleasantly surprised that the house did not offer any complimentary beach stuff (ex. chairs), particularly because the beaches around us did not provide these. Saoia, the contact person that helped us rent the place, and greeted us on arrival was splendid; she went out of her way to assist us.Unfortunately,next day she disappeared with no trace.From the very first days we asked the manager(?) to find for us another house (his company manages probably a dozen of other rentals), we also asked him to arrange for an airport transportation. He was very slow in answering, so we gave up expecting any help from him.The view is breathtaking, and the dozens of birds made our day every morning.Pool was great, but it takes all the backyard. The house is on top of a hill, with very unfriendly surroundings, hard to walk or jog.The access to the house is difficult (about 6 km of upward winding ,very dusty, dirt road).We had a 4WD ,absolutely a must for those roads.With the exception of Playa Flamingo, all the other beaches were unkept, with no amenities.The only grocery store at North American standards was AutoMarket, at about 20 Km.Restaurants in the area were mediocre, and they tried to garnish our bills by about 20%.(One very good exception : the restaurant at Sugar Beach Hotel).To conclude :the description of the listing is accurate by what it says, but it does not say a lot of very important things : difficult access, far from everything, etc. I am surprised that none of the other renters were not bothered by any of the negatives.This vacation was our worst in a long time..
Owner's Response: This luxury ocean view villa is exactly what the VRBO web page says it is according to this and all other reviews. The clients were thrilled with the house for a week then they wanted to move to a beach front house. I did not have any homes near the beach to move them to. We do not supply beach towels, chairs, etc. As they all disappear in a short period of time. We do supply Lounges, chairs and towels for the pool.
The utensils in the house are in very good condition and do not need to be changed. The clients were advised in advance that the house does not come with coffee or tea...
No, you will have to buy the tea, coffee, salt etc..
The house has paper towels.
The house comes with a maid and caretaker. The maid will cook breakfast and lunch at no cost.
According to this review the clients enjoyed the house but did not like the location. I have never had this problem with other clients as they love the house and the spectacular views.
Did you find this review helpful?