COTTAGE, STEPS TO DOWNTOWN & WATERFRONT - SLEEPS 6-8

Amy Pereira

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Amy Pereira

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

COTTAGE, STEPS TO DOWNTOWN & WATERFRONT - SLEEPS 6-8

Grand Haven Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 Suites in 1 Cottage, ea. w/2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleep 6-8)

'Suite Retreat', has two suites, one up and one on the main floor; nearly identical each with their own interior design flavor and totally remodeled in 2012/2013.

This listing is for the main floor suite VRBO listing 450067. (The upper suite can be found at www.vrbo.com/450089).

If we're booked on one level, the other might work equally well for you.

The 1,000 sq. ft. main level suite of this historic Grand Haven Cottage boasts personalized and tasteful decor. Each suite has 2 bedrooms, 1 bath, and sleep 6-8 comfortably. One block to downtown, 2 blocks to Boardwalk, 1 mile walk to Lake Michigan (Grand Haven State Park & City Beach) plus everything you need to make your vacation relaxing... beach chairs, sand toys, umbrella, beach towels and a wagon to take it all there. Indoor and outdoor games, DVDs, HDTV with On Demand, DVR, DVD player, free WiFi, and free local and long-distance calling with so many other amenities. Two shady porches and a grassy side-yard, ample off-street parking, and colorful plantings make your outdoor time pleasant. Newly added courtyard with barbeque and dining space make for memorable evenings. Then cozy up to the generous fire-pit and create some more vacation memories. Two bikes and one adult trike are available for sightseeing and grocery getting. The fully stocked kitchen includes all the large and small appliances you'll need and staples, condiments and paper products so there's no need to haul it or buy it. The well-appointed bath and convenient washer/dryer make your stay here pleasant.

Just steps to restaurants, bars, boutiques, ice cream, The Musical Fountain nightly show, museums, Splash Pad, playground and YMCA not to mention the endless downtown amenities. Seasonal Harbor Transit Trolley stops just across the parking area to take you around town. Beach, Boardwalk, Lighthouse Pier, Ski Hill, marina with sport fishing for hire, library and a myriad of seasonal festivals make this Suite Retreat both a hideaway and a haven. No matter where you want to be in Grand Haven, this is the vantage point for all the action.

With all the extras this really is a Suite Retreat... one you won't want to miss! Book today to assure you'll score the most convenient, indulgent and friendliest accommodation in the Grand Haven area.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • pets not allowed
Guestbook comments from the owner
"Thanks you so very much for your hospitality, thoughtfulness, and all of the time you spent making this place perfect for us! We LOVE your attention to detail and all of the extras in your cottage. We all kept talking about how you remembered what's important to families and provided those things to your guests. This is such a special place and you are a special person! :) We loved the cool coffee maker (Keurig), the enormous beach bag & chairs, the laundry, the super cozy kitchen & bathroom. My daughter (4) loved the toy closet & all of the fun beach toys. Lastly, thank you for all of your suggestions on things to do and places to eat. Your advice made our vacation so much better! We LOVED Ray's Drive-in. YUMMY! We will definitely return here.
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 12

Amy Pereira

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I'm a designer by profession who's turned my passion for beautiful spaces into a new adventure in inn keeping!

In my lifetime I've renovated 5 of my own homes (not counting the ridiculous number of times I rearranged the living room furniture of my childhood home...and drove my mother batty!)

My design business brought me into people's homes right before they were ready to sell. I should rephrase that: they weren't really ready to sell and that was why I was there! Turning around spaces is my specialty.

I also work REALLY hard at my other job: being a mom to 6 year-old boy-girl twins. We live in Grand Haven 5 blocks from the cottage so that makes providing concierge-level service for my guests so easy!

Amy Pereira purchased this cottage in 2012

In January 2012, I purchased this Historic home in downtown Grand Haven, inheriting 2 lovely tenants. In the Spring of 2012, I made a go of converting one of my rental units into a weekly summer cottage and had a surprisingly successful 1st season.

The location is what makes this cottage shine. Nestled on a shady street just a block from the downtown business district, this residential street boast the proximity and privacy you'd look for when purchasing your own home.

Steps from all the great things Grand Haven has to offer and a pleasant walk to the beach (or even more convenient take The Beach-Town Trolley). If you were to stay in a beach property, you are convenient to one thing: the beach. But in Grand Haven that takes you away from all the other activities you need access to many times a day like restaurants, shops, ice cream, and other downtown attractions. When you choose a property like ours that's set away from the beach you avoid the crowds and the noise. I bought this cottage because I live in this neighborhood and I know the amenities it has to offer for families and couples alike! It's the best of both worlds; easy accessibility to the beach when you want it and excellent proximity to where all the other activities happen in Grand Haven.

I LOVE being an ambassador of our little town. I'm here to help you find your best vacation EVER! All my guests rave about the care I've taken to make a great location come alive with charm, conveniences and small luxuries. We added a vine-enclosed courtyard in the Fall of 2012, creating a place to BBQ, dine outdoors and cozy-up to a generous fire pit. What started as a humble year-round unfurnished rental has become Suite Retreat-great amenities, great attention to detail, great value.

This summer we will offer two beautifully designed suites decked out with all the amenities. This is a place where you simply pack a suitcase of your clothes leaving loads of EMPTY SPACE in your car because I've outfitted the cottage suites with everything you'll need to enjoy all that Grand Haven has to offer. Beach gear, games, toys, kitchen staples & condiments and even basic toiletries make this a SUITE RETREAT. I pride myself on providing a concierge-level of service with good value for money.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Cottage, Steps To Downtown & Waterfront - Sleeps 6-8
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 17 reviews
business
Cottage, Steps To Downtown & Waterfront - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450067vb
+1 616-502-6899
Grand Haven Western Michigan
2

Owner Seems intolerable of others

  • 2 of 5
Although the house and location is great, our hostess could have been more gracious when we texted that we had left early. There was a situation at home that needed our attention. Instead of saying hope you had a great time she gave no response. Not even a thanks for your business. I'm disappointed that our money went to someone who showed no gratitude. There are plenty of rentals to choose from.
Also the contract states smoking is permitted in parking lot and in lawn. Well I came to find out that it wasn't. She insisted you sit in a chair behind the house as if to hide you. Everyone has different life choices and to shame someone for theirs is discriminating and intolerable.
Lastly, when we mentioned that we found someone else's dirty undergarments in our daughters bed, she reassured us everything was clean but seemed flippant that we brought it to her attention.
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m pleased my guest found “the location and house… great” and troubled that she had disappointments that were not brought to my attention so that we could resolve them. The smoking policy did change in February, as I decided to offer a smoking area beside the house with a chair and ashtray, and believed it was more respectful to those guests who shared the yard. This is a two-suite property with a shared yard and other guests may not want to be around the smoke or the waste. If my guest had asked about the policy change I would have gladly offered a compromise under the circumstance that the policy changed after she signed her contract. When the guest texted me that “we left early so the main floor is empty. Thanks again” I did not want to pry into what necessitated their leaving the evening before their check out. Finally, with the incident of the undergarments being found in the bed, when I received her text I immediately called the guest to address the situation . She stated that it was clear the sheets were clean but that the undergarment was tucked up under the mattress of the built-in trundle bed and that perhaps our cleaning crew had missed it. I apologized and asked if there was anything I could do to reassure her. She stated that she was just alerting me so I could notify my crew. I thanked her and have addressed this issue with my entire cleaning crew asking them to look for items left behind by guests. It always disappoints me when I have a guest that doesn’t leave 100% satisfied and I will continue to do my utmost to please each of my treasured guests.
business
Cottage, Steps To Downtown & Waterfront - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450067vb
+1 616-502-6899
Grand Haven Western Michigan
Ypsilanti, MI
4

Cute cottage for a weekend away

  • 4 of 5
We came to stay in the lower level of this cottage for the kite festival. The cottage is decorated impeccably! Everything you could even think of needing is provided....definitely more than any other rental we have stayed at in the past. Nothing has been overlooked here! Great location to walk less than a block to downtown. We brought 2 small children and were delighted that the cottage layout was kid friendly, toys stroller and high chair were all available to us. The only downside that I did not think about was that you can hear quite alot from the upstairs unit... as this is a historic home and sometimes floors can be creaky.. it was an issue with us having small children who didn't want to sleep but probably wouldnt bother families with older kids. Other than that we had a very enjoyable stay!
  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Cottage, Steps To Downtown & Waterfront - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450067vb
+1 616-502-6899
Grand Haven Western Michigan
Royal oak, mi
5

Lovely getaway

  • 5 of 5
Was lucky enough to come stay for a few nights at this beautiful cottage/home. Amy was a wonderful hostess and all the amenities you can think of have been provided. My daughter loved the toys that were available and the location was perfect. We can't wait to come back soon! Thanks!
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cottage, Steps To Downtown & Waterfront - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450067vb
+1 616-502-6899
Grand Haven Western Michigan
5

A fun wknd getaway

  • 5 of 5
Great location. Very comfortable and well stocked apmt. Great host.
  • Submitted: May 15, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
business
Cottage, Steps To Downtown & Waterfront - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450067vb
+1 616-502-6899
Grand Haven Western Michigan
Traverse City, MI
5

Cozy and Calm in the Heart of Grand Haven

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I recently celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary. With an 8 month old, we wanted to get away someplace near family who could watch them, so we settled on Grand Haven, a childhood favorite. We needed a weekend of relaxation and zero schedules, and Suite Retreat and Grand Haven both fit the bill.

The home is nicely appointed, comfortable, stylish, and inviting. The linens and bedding were fairly luxurious and we enjoyed lazing around in the king size bed. Great shower head (it's a thing with me) and nice, big bathroom. Didn't really use the kitchen since we were there just two nights, but I imagine with all of the dishes and cookware, it'd be a no brainer to grab some groceries and cook.

Amy was especially helpful, generous, and kind. I'd definitely do business with her in any other capacity! We are so appreciative of the hospitality she extended...

And if you've never been to Grand Haven, don't hesitate to go. Beaching, boating, biking, shopping, eating, drinking, walking, touring...just some of the fun activities. A super cool beach town. (Get a Pronto Pup! Watch the Musical Fountain! Grab a beer at Oddside! Walk the pier at sunset!) Too many things to list...but luckily, there is a fun piece of art in the first floor living room with a list of dozens of things to do while you're there.

A+
  • Submitted: May 8, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Cottage, Steps To Downtown & Waterfront - Sleeps 6-8
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p450067vb
+1 616-502-6899
Grand Haven Western Michigan
St. Louis, MO
5

Loved It!

  • 5 of 5
Thank you for a wonderful wonderful week. Your attention to detail is amazing. You have thought of everything.this was the first time we stayed downtown and loved it! The bikes were a special touch. The kids loved it-riding to the beach was very fun. And in you, Amy, I feel like I've found a new friend. We'll be back for certain because we rebooked for the same week next year, yeah!
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Grand Rapids (Muskegon Municipal-8 miles)
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 31 & (US 96- 6 miles)
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Grand Haven State Park & City Beach
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
All downtown bars incl Theater Bar, Kirby, TipaFew
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Mulligan's Hollow Ski Bowl
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Grand Haven Golf Club (Rated: Top 10 Public Crs)
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Kirby, The Grand, & Snug Harbor
Car: not necessary

Just steps to restaurants, bars, boutiques, ice cream, The Musical Fountain nightly show, museums, Splash Pad, playground and YMCA not to mention the endless downtown amenities. Seasonal Harbor Transit Trolley stops just across the parking area to take you around town. Beach, Boardwalk, Lighthouse Pier, Ski Hill, marina with sport fishing for hire, library and a myriad of seasonal festivals make this Suite Retreat both a hideaway and a haven. No matter where you want to be in Grand Haven, this is the vantage point for all the action.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Grand Haven Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Memorial Day Weekend -3 Nights
May 22 2015 - May 24 2015
3 night minimum stay
$600
Flat fee
 
 
Summer Season Rates
May 31 2015 - Aug 29 2015
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
July 4 Week - 7 nights
Jun 28 2015 - Jul 4 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
Flat fee
 
 
Coast Guard Week - 7 nights
Jul 26 2015 - Aug 1 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
Flat fee
 
 
Off-Season Rates
Aug 30 2015 - May 28 2016
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day Weekend - 3 Nights
Sep 4 2015 - Sep 6 2015
3 night minimum stay
$600
Flat fee
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Summer season stays are Sunday-to-Sunday. Check-in 4pm; check-out 11am. To reserve requires a non-refundable deposited of 1/2 the rent paid by credit card over the phone. Remaining 1/2 of rent is due 3-weeks prior to arrival. $25 additional charge per guest is waived for young children. Please contact owner for seasonal/transitional period rates.
50% of rent as a non-refundable deposit to book.
Balance + $100 housekeeping fee due 3wks prior to arrival.
Secure credit card payment - call to discuss.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Grand Haven Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Oven
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • Child's Highchair
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Tons of storage and fluffy white towels create luxury!
  • Long counter top, ample cabinetry, and a huge linen closet create a bath that lives large. Basic supplies provided including TP, Kleenex, soap, shampoo, conditioner, sunscreen and a hair dryer.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , 2 Inflatable twin beds on platforms are also available.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Video Library ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Games ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • recreation center
  • museums
  • cinemas
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • bird watching
  • antiquing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • fitness center
  • Babysitter
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • roller blading
  • kayaking
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • tennis
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • surfing
  • wind-surfing
  • skiing
  • hiking
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • cycling
  • snowboarding
  • fishing
Notes:
We aim to provide a concierge level of service...if you need a babysitter or restaurant recommendation, just ask. And to organize your stay we provide all the restaurant menus, Grand Haven guides, and tourist maps right in the unit. We can provide a high-chair, Pack 'n Play, double-jogging stroller, and infant toys upon request.
Email Owner Contact Me