Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

'THE CABIN' at Ruedi Shores **A 1ST CLASS ROCKY MTN RETREAT**

Dan Guggenheim

Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Contact the Owner

Dan Guggenheim

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 23, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

'THE CABIN' at Ruedi Shores **A 1ST CLASS ROCKY MTN RETREAT**

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

Basalt Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description

Extraordinary 3 Bedroom 3 Bath Log Home With Fabulous Views And Amenities

You have found a 'True Diamond in The Rough'. 'THE CABIN' at Ruedi shores offers everything you would expect in a 1st class fully furnished 2200sq' rustic log mountain home. This is not your ordinary cabin. Nothing was compromised when designing this fully furnished, short or long term, vacation rental. Built in 2006, the home offers brand new furnishings. It was meticulously constructed of hand-hewn Montana timber logs. The 1200sq' Brazilian hardwood deck wraps around the main floor level providing an extraordinary spread for gathering with family and friends while being surrounded by national forest that offers wonderful views of the mountains above and the valley below. The kitchen is complimented by granite counter tops and new stainless steel appliances including a duel fuel Viking gas range. There are two gas fireplaces, one located in the living area and the other in the recreation room on the lower level. The Recreation room is divided between a beautiful mahogany pool table on one side a 55 inch HD flat screen on the other. The Cabin is also outfitted with WI-FI and DIRECT TV. The home is fully supplied with new quality bedding and linens. The laundry area is equipped with a new pair of Electrolux, large capacity front load washer and dryer.

The surrounding area is a mecca for 'year round' outdoor recreation. If you're looking to get away from it all or simply seeking an area that offers a true Rocky Mountain recreational experience, then you have found it. 'The Cabin' at Ruedi Shores is a '1st class rental' that sits conveniently above the head waters of the 'Gold Medal' Frying Pan river and Ruedi Reservoir. All personal watercraft are welcome. There is plenty of parking space for multiple vehicles and trailers at the cabin. Ruedi Reservoir offers more then 220 square miles of boating and open water recreation in the summer. While these two highlights are two of the more obvious area attractions, it doesn't stop there. The fall season offers some of the best elk and deer hunting in the state. In addition, the winter months invite world class snowmobiling, cross country skiing and any outdoor winter activity that you can imagine, including ice fishing on Ruedi for that dedicated angler. All of this is conveniently nestled in the tranquil and majestic White River National Forest. Best of all 'The Cabin' is located only 20 minutes from the town of Basalt for quick trips to stock up on everyday necessities including groceries, great dining options and the newly constructed Whole Foods market in El Jebel. If your inclined, Aspen/Snowmass resorts are only a 45 minute drive away.

Once you have discovered this true 'Diamond in the Rough' and what the Ruedi/Frying Pan valley have to offer, we are confident you will return year after year to create lasting memory's with friends and family.

****our Goal Is To Provide Everything You Would Expect To Make This One Of The Best Fully Furnished 3 Bedroom 3 Bath Vacation Rentals In The Valley. We Will Make Every Effort To Accommodate Your Needs.****

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Dan Guggenheim (Owner)
Member since: 2008
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 23, 2015

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
'THE CABIN' at Ruedi Shores **A 1ST CLASS ROCKY MTN RETREAT**
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 17 reviews
San Antonio, Texas
5

Great Log Cabin Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

This is such a lovely setting above Ruedi Lake, great views from the living areas and the large deck. Upon our arrival, we were delighted to see a full rainbow over the mountains. The owner was so helpful. The cabin was in perfect order, with many amenities, tasteful decor and comfortable furnishings. We grilled steaks our first night. Our grand kids loved the pool table! The guys enjoyed terrific fishing on the Frying Pan River close by. We saw water skiers on the lake. We enjoyed an excursion to the town of Basalt, less than half hour drive on the scenic Frying Pan Road. There is a new Whole Foods Market in the area. Once the kitchen is stocked, there's no need to leave the cabin! This is a perfect place to relax and renew, in a majestic setting.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Really Liked this Place

  • 5 of 5

All four of us really enjoyed staying at the cabin. It was even better than I expected. Dan is a very nice person to deal with on the phone and he's done a great job outfitting the cabin. Unlike normal vacation rentals, he had the kitchen really well appointed. Also, the master bed is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on.

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Huntersville, NC
5

Awesome Rocky Mountain Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We were headed out for the X Games 2015 but wanted a place away from all the business of the resorts and event. This place is amazing!! The drive up from Basalt along the Frying Pan Road is incredible and each day delivered different views depending on the time of day and the clarity of the sky. The cabin is precise to the images on the VRBO site. (not always the case from past experience) With bedrooms on all three levels of the cabin, there was privacy/quiet when needed. The views from the deck were awesome both in the morning and at sunset. Nicely appointed, and well equipped for any length of stay. Really enjoyed the nice sound systems in the cabin which added a nice layer to the environment. Hot tub got lots of use each night we returned from snowmobiling, tubing and X Games. Perfect location that gets you away but is close to everything you need. We will definitely be coming back to visit 'the Cabin' at Ruedi Shores. A big thanks to Dan for his attentiveness both prior to and during the stay. One of the best owners we've worked with through VRBO. If you're looking for a beautiful, comfortable place in the mountains of the Aspen area this IS your place!

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

THE Perfect Rocky Mountain Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Was looking for a romantic getaway and this cabin was absolutely perfect. Booked this place in the winter and it had snowed just before we arrived and then snowed a little on and off while we were there. There is nothing like getting the full snowy mountain experience. Simply put, the view is amazing. We used both fireplaces and they added to the winter experience at the cabin. Also got to use the hot tub in the middle of the snow and it was amazing. Being there during the holiday season, there was a Christmas tree setup on the top floor, which made for a nice added touch. The entire cabin is decorated nicely and has wonderful finishes throughout. The pictures make is look nice, but it looks even better in person. It has everything you would want in a luxury cabin retreat in the rockies. Stayed for 2 days and would've loved to stay longer. It made for a wonderful mini-vacation that we will never forget.

Dan, the owner, was very friendly and helpful throughout the entire rental process and made sure everything was to our liking. Every vrbo owner should be this nice and professional.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Lisle, IL
2

Don't Judge this

  • 2 of 5

As the picture indicates, this is a beautiful cabin with a beautiful view! Unfortunately, and to our surprise, there were at least 3 camera's that seemed to be recording our every move; the walls and floors do not provide ANY sound barrier, so footsteps, speaking and any type of sounds is broadcast throughout the cabin. We had to wash all of our dishes prior to using them and there were dirty clothes left in one of the rooms from prior occupants. We made special effort to leave the cabin in excellent order and even video taped our efforts prior to leaving. Rather than return our full damage deposit, we received extra cleaning charge. This was very disappointing and ridiculous. The owner was not a pleasant fellow, so good luck if you choose to stay at the Cabin at Ruedi Shores** not such a 1st Class Rocky Mtn Retreat!

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are disappointed to learn that your stay at the Cabin at Ruedi Shores did not live up to your expectations. It is very important to us, as a family owned business, that all of our guest leave with a positive and refreshing experience while staying at the property. Our guest reviews and suggestions over the years are always taken into consideration are very much appreciated. However, I think it is imperative to clarify a few items that you give mention to in your less than favorable review, and also give mention to the issues that we you have neglected to disclose. You arrived with multiple vehicles, including two motorcycle trailers and 4 Harley-Davidsons road bikes. Although we are not opposed to multiple vehicles, or any variety of motor vehicles for that matter, it would be a common courtesy for a renter to disclose, prior to booking, that they plan on parking multiple vehicles on a homeowners property. Although our property offers plenty of room for parking, there are HOA’s that would not allow a scenario such as this for many reasons. A day or two after your arrival, additional vehicles and individuals started showing up. After 24hrs I contacted you to clarify the situation. You indicated to me that you planned on letting me know and that your plans had changed. You indicated that you now have 3 additional persons joining your group for a total of 9 persons. As stated in both the rental agreement and VRBO, the max overnight occupancy of the property is 8. The 3 security camera’s on the property are specifically directed at the driveway and entryway only. Other then for the obvious security reasons when the property is unoccupied, the camera’s primary purpose is to confirm when housekeepers, landscapers, snowplow services arrive, wildlife encounters etc. It’s unfortunate that cameras limited to the driveway and entryway gave you the sense that your every move was being monitored. Our cleaning crew has serviced our properties for over 15 years. We know them well, they are consistent, reliable and honest. When we get an invoice after a cleaning and extra time has been applied to get the property up to standards for our next guest, then there should be a valid reason. In your case there was an extraordinary amount of laundry and all surfaces were filthy. Furthermore, the hot tub needed to be drained and refilled due to misuse. The icing on the cake were the cigarette butts your group left scattered around the property. Highly disrespectful.
Denver, CO
5

What an amazing place!

  • 5 of 5

Beautifully decorated, excellent amenities, perfect setting! What more can a vacationer ask for? I recommend the cabin at Ruedi without reservation. Even the drive to the cabin was highlighted with a herd of elk and even some foxes. I cannot wait to come back as this location has instantly become an annual family vacation based on the breathtaking scenery and incredible accommodations.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
34 Miles
Aspen Pitkin County
Nearest Barpub
16 Miles
Basalt
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
Roaring Fork Club
Nearest Train
45 Miles
Glenwwod Springs
Nearest Motorway
18 Miles
Highway 82
Nearest Restaurant
15 Miles
Basalt
Nearest Ski
35 Miles
Aspen,Aspen Highlands, Buttermilk, Snowmass
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Ruedi Reservoir
Car: necessary

'The Cabin' is located in a small sprawled out mountain side community backed up to the White River National Forest. This beautiful rustic mountain retreat is conveniently located and just minutes away from Ruedi Reservoir and the gold medal waters of the Frying Pan river which is surrounded by thousands of square miles pristine Rocky Mountain wilderness. World class fishing, water sports on Ruedi reservoir, unlimited hiking trials, and off road motoring are just a few local attractions that make this area so unique and inviting for those outdoor enthusiast.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $349 Per night

Basalt Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter/Spring season
Jan 3 2015 - May 22 2015
2 night minimum stay
$349
$2,195
$5,495
 
 
Summer/Fall
May 23 2015 - Dec 18 2015
2 night minimum stay
$399
$2,443
$7,495
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 19 2015 - Jan 3 2016
5 night minimum stay
$449
$2,795
$6,495
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$399
$2,443
$7,495
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $50 + Tax
Cleaning fee <10 days $180
Tax Rate 7.2%
Notes 6 persons or more the nightly rate is $449.00. 2 night rental rate is $449 per night. An additional $200 charge applies to the weekly rate for 6 persons or more (Dec. 20th thru Jan. 2nd excluded). Max 8 persons.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Basalt Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master bathroom - toilet , shower , Steam shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • All beds are fitted with new quality linens.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • marina
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$1,500 - $2,500 per week
4 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$2,100 per week
7 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$1,850 - $2,175 per week
6 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 7

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote