Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Ocean front Prop & View, 40 yrds to the Ocean. Large 2bed 1 Bath

Kory Skolnick

Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Contact the Manager

Kory Skolnick

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2015
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Ocean front Prop & View, 40 yrds to the Ocean. Large 2bed 1 Bath

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

Honokowai Condo Rental Photos and Description

Large 2 bed 1 bath 40 yrds from ocean with an ocean view.

See the recent video and slide show for exact details of Maui Sands 3K.

Maui Sands is a direct ocean front property overlooking the islands of Lanai and Molokai. This unit is a 2 bed 1 bath unit with AC and it has an ocean view. It's a very quiet unit located on the 2nd floor in building 3 which is in the middle of the property. It's about 40 yards from the ocean and is far enough away from the street to NOT hear traffic yet close enough to hear the soothing sounds of the ocean waves. Wireless internet and TVs in each bedroom this unit will sleep 5 comfortably on beds. The pull out sofa sleeper is a double sized sofa sleeper and could sleep two people but 1 is recommended.

This unit has been owned by the same couple for the last 20 years and while it is a very comfortable unit and has recently been painted and has all new carpeting as of Dec 2012. Although this unit has been upgraded, this unit is not a modern unit with granite countertops and new furniture. This unit is a little dated but everything works and it has been priced accordingly.

King and queen beds as well as a pull out sofa sleeper. This unit has a very large living and dining room and seats six comfortably in the living room and dining room.

Maui Sands Resort Location:

On the ocean in west Maui, Lahaina side of the island

Very end of North Kaanapali Beach (Honokowai area)

Between the Papakea and Paki Maui Resorts

3559 Lower Honoapiilani Road

2 minutes drive to Kaanapali, 7 minutes to Lahaina

Next door to the Honokowai beach park

Best property feature...

Walking on the beach from our property down to Kaanapali.

Maui Sands Resort is actually the very last unit that you can walk on the beach for miles all the way down to Black Rock in Kaanapali. “Walk on the beach” being the key words! Other properties might boast they have a private beach or a little cove or something but you won’t be able to take a long sunset or morning strolls more than 100 yards in either direction on the beach. It would just be too dangerous to walk on the lava rocks and cliffs from one cove to the next.

Kaanapali Beach was voted nicest beach in the US and Black Rock is one of the top three “must snorkel” places to on Maui! I personally have seen eagle rays, turtles, Hawaiian monk seals and dolphins right in front of our property. Other properties north of Maui Sands you have to actually walk on the road onto our property then walk on the beach to Kaanapali. Were talking about a 2–3 mile stretch of beach and your at one end.

Maui Sands Property Highlights:

Direct on the ocean facing the islands of Lanai and Molokai

1 assigned parking spot. NO resort or parking FEES

Four acres of impeccably maintained grounds

Large grass areas with tropical foliage and lush tropical gardens

Unheated freshwater pool (90% of pools in Hawaii are unheated)

2 BBQs and large laundry facility

Sunset views directly over the ocean. (See the green flash!)

Quiet and peaceful old Hawaiian property

Lots of open space and older tropical trees

No need to drive anywhere to snorkel swim!

2 tropical reefs right out front of property

Surf, kayak, snorkel and swim right at Maui Sands

The reefs provide a great baby beach for small kids at low tide

Walk from our property on the beach for miles towards Kaanapali

Walking distance to world class restaurants (Dukes, Roy’s, Hula Grill)

2 BBQ grills, large pool, soda machines, restrooms

Turtles eat every morning right off our reefs!

Our Beach: It moves!

Since were at the very end of a 3 mile long stretch of beach, our shoreline changes drastically depending on currents and storm systems far away. If you're staying right in the middle of middle of the 3 mile stretch of sandy beach, you're probably NOT going to notice the movement and you'll have a sandy beach all year around. But at the very end of any beach, you’ll notice the changes. By the way, right in the middle of Kaanapali Beach is Kaanapali Resort, which is a very expensive area of the island and that’s where you’ll find the Hyatt, Sheraton and Westin Resorts.

Typically during the summer months the ocean currents move the sand north towards our property and our beach grows. This is due to the increased tropical activity south of the islands. During the winter months the Alaskan storm systems push the current and the sand south towards Kaanapali and our beach comes and goes. But, a sandy beach to plant your towel down on is never more than say the property next door. Don’t’ bother asking if it’s sandy when you plan on coming because it can change drastically just overnight! It all depends on the currents and storm systems around the islands and sometimes we get effects from storm systems or hurricanes as far away as Australia and Fiji!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Kory Skolnick (Property Manager)
Member since: 2009
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2015

About Kory Skolnick

Ben Vonkleinschmid. I was the former president of this property and lived in this unit 6 months a year till a couple of years ago. I always had family and friends rent it out while my wife and I stayed in California but recently we've had health issues and have not come to Maui the last couple years. Please enjoy our 2nd home for us! My friend Kory is managing the unit for me in his rental program. Please enjoy our unit.

Kory Skolnick purchased this condo in 1988

Why Kory Skolnick chose Honokowai

We loved golf and the west side of Maui. Maui Sands was always a very quiet and peaceful place directly on the ocean. Old Hawaii!

What makes this condo unique

Walk to Kaanapali from our property ON THE BEACH.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.3
based on 3 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Ocean front Prop & View, 40 yrds to the Ocean. Large 2bed 1 Bath
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 3 reviews
Oceanside, CA
4

Loved it

  • 4 of 5

My family and I stayed here for several days in July. We could not have had a better time. The location was perfect with plenty to do within walking distance. We did have a car which we used to explore other areas of Maui. The unit was much larger than we thought it would be. It accommodated my son, daughter, 2 grandbabies and myself. The condo within the complex was in a wonderful spot. Close to the pool, beach, parking and laundry. We did not have any noise issues. My granddaughter called this her "beach house" and cried when we had to leave. We had such a great time she wanted to hide in the bathroom so we could stay longer. Definitely want to stay again and looking at February 2015.

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
4

highly recommend

  • 4 of 5

Absolutely great location. I found the property quiet. When I first arrived I worried about the bedrooms location and how noisy it would be but it wasn't. People who were there were considerate of others so this was not an issue. I found the air conditioner did not work properly, and the T.V. remote was not working either. Within 3 hours of me complaining there was a new air conditioner and a brand new T.V I was very impressed with the quick response. I noticed the other complaint of it being dirty I did not find an issue with this. so it must have been cleaned since. My only complaint is that it is dated.and the tub, shower valve needs to be fixed it still works but could be better. I would stay at this property again and recommend it. I was even told they would drive over and help me carry my luggage down to the car. Very nice people to deal with. I can't wait to return.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad it worked out well for you! it was a pleasure meeting you and your son! See you next year!
2

You don't always get what you pay for!

  • 2 of 5

Being on a budget, I figured that this is a great condo for its price, because your in Maui right? You have beauty all around you outside, so u don't necessarily need beauty inside. But beauty is one thing, clean and functional is another. I don't what to be a Negative Nancy right off the bat so here are some positives: the grounds are beautiful, location is great, beds are comfy and clean, view from the Lani is nice, and air conditioner works well. However, this unit needs some serious TLC, such as: a deep cleaning (curtains need a washing, walls need a scrubbing). A fix it day (replace missing shutter, resolve shower issue, repair garbage can). Updates would also be a plus but not necessary if everything worked and was clean. This unit isn't very quiet, I imagine all the units aren't. The bedrooms are located by the walkway and people come and go at all hours. In addition we lacked amenities: things like extra towels, extra comforter, not enough garbage bags or dishwasher detergent. But I do have to say the owner responded quickly when we contacted him about the towels, more towels were delivered to us that day. This unit has so much potential and would be a great place to stay if it was just maintained a little better.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This unit was in escrow to another vacation rental owner and it just fell through. We didn't want to spend money fixing up but we realize it's not selling for what we want and we have to upgrade the unit right away. Unit is still for sale and the new owners would have to honor all future rental reservations. That's the law in Hawaii. WE JUSRT made all the changes this past guest suggested and a few more. We did a deep cleaning, replaced the curtains instead of washing them, fixed the missing shutter window and replaced the shower head. We also bought all new towels and many extras including a new extra comforter. Regarding the supplies, we fired the cleaning company and the new company we hired will provide enough paper towels, toilet paper, garbage bags, dish soap and dishwasher washer soap so that this NEVER happens again. Sorry and thank you for bringing this to our attention. once again, the unit is still for sale, and has been for a year and a half and the new owners would have to honor all future rental reservations.

Map

Car: not necessary

10 minutes from Lahaina, 5 from Kaanapali

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $139 Per night

Honokowai Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
April 15 - May
Apr 16 2015 - May 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$139
 
 
June
Jun 1 2015 - Jun 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
$149
 
 
July
Jul 1 2015 - Jul 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$159
 
 
August
Aug 1 2015 - Sep 6 2015
2 night minimum stay
$149
 
 
Sept 6 - Dec 17
Sep 7 2015 - Dec 17 2015
3 night minimum stay
$139
 
 
Holiday Season
Dec 18 2015 - Jan 4 2016
5 night minimum stay
$249
 
 
Jan 5 - April 15
Jan 5 2016 - Apr 15 2016
3 night minimum stay
$199
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$149
From
$149
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,043
$4,470
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.75%

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting manager when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Honokowai Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , This unit has 1 bathroom but there is a door separating the
  • unit has 1 bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , This unit has only 1 bath room.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote