Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Oceanview Tuscan Farmhouse (1) Bedroom Rental

Verlinda Richardson

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Verlinda Richardson

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 6, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Oceanview Tuscan Farmhouse (1) Bedroom Rental

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Summerland House Rental Photos and Description

Panoramic Ocean View 1 Bedroom Summerland Rental

Dramatic in every way, this unique Summerland 'Tuscan' home with ocean views from every room, features (1) Bedroom with Queen Bed and stone/gas fireplace, walk-in closet, ceiling fan, Ocean views, 48' Flat Screen, DVR, A/C, Bathroom with Shower and Jacuzzi Tub, Granite and Heated Stone floors. Livingroom has wood-burning fireplace, TV/Stereo, Glass and Wrought Iron Door with views to Front Gardens and Fountain. While on the other Side, Views of the Ocean and Islands beyond. Kitchen and Dining Area feature Designer Accoutrements. Upscale Dishes and Serveware fill an Antique Carved Pine Buffet. New Stainless Appliances and an Ocean View add to the glamor. The Ocean View Deck features a 7 foot long Antique Pine Dining Table with (8) Chairs and Overhead Lighted Chandelier for Outdoor Dining. A Stainless Bar-B-Que and (2) Padded Chaises.

WiFi Throughout

While we have done everything to make this Rental the perfect vacation setting, Summerland is located next to the 101 Freeway and the Train Rails, and from the deck there will be traffic noise and a few trains do pass by every day. From the Inside of the house, it is minimal and in the bedroom, hardly heard. We have adjusted our Rates given this distraction. Yet the Next Door 4-Diamond Rated Inn, has repeat Guests who don't mind the noise, given the location and views offered. We do the same, but with more amenities and size, and less cost.

Ask about our SPECIAL WINTER DISCOUNTS for WEEK stays(January through April).

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Verlinda Richardson (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 6, 2015

About Verlinda Richardson

Raised in the Santa Barbara Area, I moved to Summerland in 1997 to settle in a small, tight knit community with a beach within walking distance. As an Interior Designer and with a love of landscaping, I was challenged at the opportunity to transform an ugly ducking eye-sore into a show property. Having won the Santa Barbara Beautiful Award for our previous home, my husband and I took one look and fell in love with not only Summerland, but the prospects of changing a dull looking cement block rectangle with white walls and a red tile roof, into a 'Tuscan' Styled Dream Home. We hope you like our transformation.

Verlinda Richardson purchased this house in 1997

Why Verlinda Richardson chose Summerland

With captivating ocean views, perfect year round weather, walking distance to the beach and charming downtown Summerland, we fell in love with this ideal property to renovate. It's 'bones' just called out to us to 'make me beautiful'... and so we did, one pain staking year after another, until 2011, when the deck was finished and backyard landscaped.

What makes this house unique

From the Italian Stonework around the Windows, to the exterior covered with Ivy. The Wrought Iron and Cherub Fountain, Sunsets setting in the ocean and Moon radiating on the water, this is a property to envelop the senses. To put oneself in a 'taste of Italy' yet closer to home.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Oceanview Tuscan Farmhouse (1) Bedroom Rental
average rating of 4.0 based on 7 reviews
2

10 day vacation rental

  • 2 of 5

Very nice property. However, grumpy neighbor wants outdoor lights off before 10:00 pm. Property also has a downstairs tenant who complained about excessive noise above him at 7:30 on a Friday evening. I had my two sons and family for dinner; everyone left by 9:30 pm. There was not excessive noise, just normal foot traffic.

This is a well equipped property; comfortable and well decorated. Great for a couple that wants very quiet time with no sociability. Tenant and neighbor make it uncomfortable for a vacation rental if you plan to entertain. The emails from owner regarding lights being on and "excessive noise" stressed me out during what should be relaxing vacation time.

The noise from freeway is louder than I expected. It is not intolerable but makes use of front porch very limited.

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing stay in this property, it was perfectly presented with a real home from home feel, fabulous views and romantic sunsets. Summerland is a hidden gem and we look forward to returning.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
4

Summerland Tuscan Villa

  • 4 of 5

The house was lovely and comfortable. Very clean. The view was perfect - a 180 degree view of the water. Summerland was a quaint town with nice restaurants, a good grocery with prepared foods, and the beach is a short walk away. It is a short drive to Santa Barbara and not far from the wine country. We drove to The Hearst Castle one day and it was about a 2.5 hour drive. We stopped in wine country for dinner on the way back to the house. The noise from the highway, which is significant, was the only negative. The noise was not a problems from the bedroom, which is in the back of the house. And the sounds heard while watching the sunset from the beach was only that of nature.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
United States
5

Second Stay--EVEN BETTER..!

  • 5 of 5

Having previously stayed in the smaller apt. on the lower floor for 5 months some years ago, I longed to return for at least a short stay. But this time I had the pleasure of staying on the TOP floor. What a treat...! Beyond its obvious Tuscany charm, I was pleased with many other little things, e.g., the unimposing jetted bathtub surprised me with its super POWERFUL jets, & its slanted back-rest made it very comfortable for my 5'8" body to relax & enjoy the small TV attached to the wall just above it. Lyn has exquisite taste & is always a pleasure to deal with.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed your SECOND stay, and got to experience Villa Bella - I. You are a joy to Host.
5

Visiting from LA

  • 5 of 5

This place is amazing!! It is so much prettier in person than the pictures. The kitchen has everything I need and it is very large for a one bedroom house. The noise has not bothered me at all and I have been here all week. The occasional train sound is nostalgic. I even slept with the windows open and the noise was minimal. I would highly recommend this place for anyone wanting a quiet getaway.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Austin, Tx
3

Nice Summerland rental home (excessive road noise when on deck) - good price

  • 3 of 5

Home interior is well done with high end finishes as described. Large for a one bedroom with well appointed kitchen, and a large covered deck with grill. Road noise was more intrusive (deck only) than described but we still considered the house a bargain for the price. Enjoyed our stay except for the last day when the owners husband came to the door to inform us the downstairs tenant complained about our walking around the house making excessive noise. Should we have tiptoed? My husband & I were there for our son's graduation and we only had the kids and a few friends over 2 nights for dinner. We were in bed by 11:00pm every night and were respectful guests, leaving the house spotless. Seems the tenant is the one who should be told to find another place to live if he is not comfortable with part time renters upstairs. Would have given 4 stars except for the rude ending to an otherwise nice rental. Oh yeah, couldn't ride the bicycles as one had a flat tire, but we didn't even bother to complain to the owner. Too trivial.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: 'Villa Bella' is very well constructed, and while the Renters here describe they only had a small party (according to them) there were 7 empty boxes left of multiple grilling meats, which would constitute a LARGER party than indicated here, and caused the cleaning crew to take 3 hours to clean the Grill back to it's usual meticulous state. According to the Renters in the lower 'Villa Bella-II Unit, they were up past-Midnite with loud speaking and very intrusive noise to both the lower 'Villa Bella-II' Renters and the Neighbors. The bicycle tire issue would have been immediately addressed, as there was a telephone cell number to call with any and all concerns.

Map

Nearest Airport
13 Miles
Santa Barbara Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
The Nugget
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Santa Barbara Area Courses
Nearest Train
3.5 Miles
Carpinteria, CA
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
101 Freeway
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
The Nugget
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Summerland Beach

Walking distance to one of the Santa Barbara Areas most beautiful beaches. Summerland Beach and Beach Park, offers Kids Playground, Volleyball, Bar-B-Que Area with Tables and breathtaking Beach with Santa Cruz Island on the Horizon. Walks on the Beach, offer beach-combing at it's best. Search for Shells or wallow in the warmth of a Sunset, then take a casual walk and stop for dinner or Wine Tasting on your way home. Appropriately titled 'The Mediterranean of the Pacific', Santa Barbara, Montecito and our Storybook, Summerland, offer unparalled architectural beauty from the backdrop of our Mountains to the Ocean Vistas from these communities. Both Spanish and Mediteranean influences capture your senses while visiting Montecito and Santa Barbara. While Summerland features an eclectic mix of Bohemian and New England residences, our Property is a One of a Kind in the Area. The only 'Tuscan' rental property in Summerland and a winner of the Summerland Beautiful Award and featured on the Home Tour.

A walk down our MAIN street, only a minute from our property, will offer several casual restaurants, a Spa, Fitness/Gym, Deli/Market with Garden Eating, Multiple Antique Shops, Ocean Overlook Park with tables for lunch or dinner, Hair Dresser and Nail Bar, Wine Tasting at Summerland Vintners, Upscale Clothing, Furniture, Baby and Floral Boutiques, all within 5 minutes of your rental.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $250 Per night

Summerland House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 1 - Sep 8
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,575
$5,850
 
 
Fall-Winter
Sep 9 - Dec 15
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,365
$4,500
 
 
Christmas-New Years
Dec 16 - Jan 1
3 night minimum stay
$275
$1,575
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$250
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,575
$5,850
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes You confirm with your reservation that you understand there will be Freeway Noise when Outside of the Property on the Decks and Patios, but minimal inside the home.
Also, please note. Villa Bella is a Two Story House with Villa Bella - I Rented as the TOP Floor and Villa Bella-II as a much smaller unit downstairs.

$125.00 Cleaning Fee with Rental + $49.00 Damage Waiver Fee

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Summerland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
  • Chandelier over Tub, Stone Vessel Lighted Sink, Jacuzzi Tub, Stone Floors and Granite Counter
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Gas Fireplace, Ceiling Fan, LED Remote Ceiling Lights for Each Side of Bed, 48' Flat Screen TV, French Doors with Italian Wrought Iron Balcony and Ocean View, Down Comforter and Pillows (Allergic Renters please notify Owner to Change)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Masseuse and Housekeeper Available on Request

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote