FISHING & SUNSET PARADISE ON BAYFRONT PROPERTY

Michele Claiborne

Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

FISHING & SUNSET PARADISE ON BAYFRONT PROPERTY

Grand Isle House Rental Photos and Description

Magnificent bay view, watch the wildlife & amazing sunsets

Fishing & Sunset Paradise on Bayfront Property

Watch the dolphins, walk the 8 mile beach, watch the sunset and wildlife of the Bay on the porch, bring your horses (stables below) and ride the beach or use the kayak. Fish or crab right on the beach or off the pier or go out on the numerous fishing boats and be amazed with your catch. Trout, Flounder and Redfish are more than plentiful. Take yourself away from the bustle of city life and enjoy island living only 2 hours away from New Orleans. Ideal space to have retreats, Bring your students and teach art, yoga or meditation or just book it for a fun week or month with friends or family. Book summer months early June July August to avoid disapointment. Available all year round.

The Island is aprox. 8 miles long and 1 mile wide.

Fully furnished 2 Bedrooms, one with bunks and Queen bed, and master with Queen bed and fireplace. I bathroom and large spacious living/kitchen with panoramic windows all around. Enjoy the large deck to lounge or the covered balcony and watch the amazing birdlife, sunsets and Bay waters. Walk to the beach in 1 minute over the dune, and bring your fishing rods or deck chairs provided

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters

Michele Claiborne

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks spanish, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Fishing & Sunset Paradise on Bayfront Property
average rating of 4.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Fishing & Sunset Paradise on Bayfront Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445457vb
(504) 330-8380
Grand Isle Louisiana
5

SOMMER SIMON

  • 5 of 5
We wanted to thank you for letting us stay there last minute. We enjoyed our stay. Very relaxing, and loved how you had everything we needed there. Just need ourselves and personal belongings. I would definitely recommend anyone booking with you. Thanks again for letting us stay at your place. Can't wait until next time!
The Simon's
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fishing & Sunset Paradise on Bayfront Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445457vb
(504) 330-8380
Grand Isle Louisiana
5

AMAZING PROPERTY!

  • 5 of 5
I can't say enough about our stay in Grand Isle or the accommodations. My boyfriend and I went with some friends and their two children and we had such a great time. The house itself was clean and well kept and cute as can be, not to mention the view from the deck over looking the bay was to die for. Brad and I took advantage of the short walk to the beach and enjoyed the sunrise while the dolphins swam right up to us. It was such an amazing site that we all woke up early the next morning to take the kids out so that they could see the dolphins and the men could get some fishing in. The children had so much fun playing on the beach (I believe they were a little rough on a pail and shovel) and the beaches are so pretty and so clean that I never wanted to leave! Usually when I come back from vacations I'm more stressed out than when I left, but there is something magical about Grand Isle because even the 5 hour trip back with the kids couldn't stress me out. I think I speak for us all when I say that this was by far the most relaxing vacation that we have ever been on. I can't thank Michele enough for allowing us into her home and giving us the chance to make such wonderful memories. We are already planning our return trip.
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Samantha, so thrilled you could see the magic of Grand Isle and our little camp and share it with others, thank you
business
Fishing & Sunset Paradise on Bayfront Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445457vb
(504) 330-8380
Grand Isle Louisiana
Mississippi
4

SUMMER RENTAL

  • 4 of 5
We enjoyed our week in June at your place. Watching for dolphins, swimming, crabbing, walking on beach, fishing at pier, relaxing on the porch. The 'beach cart' was handy to bring everything as I rather walk over than drive the short distance. The place was very clean and household items already there was unexpected plus. Another plus is neighbor only on one side. The other side is open bay. Maybe 'coolaroo' sun shades would help afternoon glare/heat, but we'd rent it again.
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Denise for your review and it was a pleasure to meet you all and look forward to seeing you again next year!
business
Fishing & Sunset Paradise on Bayfront Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445457vb
(504) 330-8380
Grand Isle Louisiana
Tiburon, CA
5

FANTASTIC!

  • 5 of 5
Seems like the other reviewers had their cranky pants on.

This is a lovely rental and the owner was very accommodating and communicative. The kitchen was surprisingly well stocked with cooking gear and pantry staples - a rare treat. Very clean too - you could tell that the owner really took the care to maintain it.

The sunset view from the deck was nothing short of spectacular, we appreciated the unique marsh-side view. Sandy beach was a short walk away, and Cisco's Cajun Cantina was too if you're looking for some local color.

Wish we could have stayed longer!
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fishing & Sunset Paradise on Bayfront Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445457vb
(504) 330-8380
Grand Isle Louisiana
4

MY REVIEW

  • 4 of 5
I enjoyed staying here. My children loved playing outside in the large fenced in yard. I tried to use the small BBQ grill under cabin and it fell apart. I bought one and left there so the next group can use it. I did not mind leaving the grill behind, the owner helped me out by going out her way to accommodate me and my family. All in all the camp was clean and comfortable for me and my family. I will consider renting this camp again. Thanks for everything Michele.


Thanks
Norah
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Nora for your review and for the BBQ pit! Grand Isle eats metal in no time, so we are constantly replacing things, its the combination of salt water humidity and wind. It was a delight having your family, hope to see you next year :-) kindly Michele
business
Fishing & Sunset Paradise on Bayfront Property
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445457vb
(504) 330-8380
Grand Isle Louisiana
4

STAY FROM MAY 28-MAY 31, 2013

  • 4 of 5
We were a bit disappointed. While we were there, it was very warm, the air conditioner ran the whole time and did not get the heat below 82 degrees. I would have liked to be able to open windows in the evening as there was a brisk wind the whole time we were there. The house faces away from the ocean, so there is no breeze on the porch if the wind is blowing that way, and it was too hot during the day to sit in that heat. Also, nothing you can do about this but the ocean and beach were very dirty the whole time we were there and no thoughts of swimming were had by any of us. The boys had fun fishing but had to go to the pier down the street as there was not a passable path to the bay behind. Overall we had a good time, but wouldn't come for longer than the 3 days that we were here. House was clean and owner was very accommodating.
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for mentioning that the house was clean and we are accommodating, we really do try to be! If you had mentioned the AC problem while you were texting us about the fabulous view, we could have explained how to simply push a reset button as all ACs were working well when I came after you,except the bedroom where it simply needed a push of a Button - so sorry that you got hot unnecessarily. As for other comments I don't wish anyone to be disappointed so the path to the Bay (and we do face the Bay, not the. Beach) is not suitable for very young children but everyone uses it all the time - you will get wet ankles! We bought the camp because of the huge panoramic windows allowing a fantastic view everywhere and they do not open but there is such a short spell that you don't need either AC or heating that we felt its a small price to pay for such great views and when these times occur we open the bedroom window that faces direction of the beach and the front door (leaving the screen) and we get a hearty breeze through the camp. You can also walk out the front door to the lower deck at night and lay in the beach recliners to watch the stars with a cool breeze As for beach, it is not Blue/green water like Florida because of the silt from the big rivers - but it is the same water and the beaches do get cleaned every day but when it is rough it does need clearing more than once perhaps but most the time we have 8 Miles of amazing beach, again not pure white sand like Florida but still pretty. Grand Isle is a place you have to enjoy the simple pleasures of sun basking, fishing, ( there are a few poles for use now) swimming (there is a boogie board) crabbing, (there is a cage, pot and propane for use) boating and kayaking (have one) and just chilling out watching dolphins and sunsets and making your own entertainment. We have some firewood to cook some s'mores on a camp fire. We want want everyone to enjoy their holiday here in Grand Isle as it is a unique and special rustic place.

We are truly sorry when someones stay is not satisfying. We want our guests to feel,' hey this was fun and we had a great time' no one likes to hear that guests left unhappy, so hope this honest reply helps others to choose if this is for them.Most of our past guests were truly satisfied and left wonderful letters in our camp guest book, it would have been nice if they would have wrote their thoughts in the V.R.B.O. reviews for everyone to read how happy they left.
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
New Orleans International
Nearest Ferry
100 Miles
New Orleans Port
Nearest Train
100 Miles
New Orleans
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Highway 1
Nearest Beach
8 miles of it
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Ciscos
Nearest Golf
24 Miles
Golf and Country club
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Starfish
Car: necessary

Watch the dolphins, walk the 8 mile beach, watch the sunset and wildlife of the Bay on the porch, bring your horses (stables below) and ride the beach or rent a kayak. Fish or crab right on the beach or off the pier or go out on the numerous fishing boats and be amazed with your catch. Trout, Flounder and Redfish are more than plentiful. Take yourself away from the bustle of city life and enjoy island living only 2 hours away from New Orleans. Ideal space to have retreats, Bring your students and teach art, yoga or meditation or just book it for a fun week or month with friends or family. Book summer months early June July August to avoid disappointment. Available all year round.

The Island is approx. 8 miles long and 1 mile wide.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Grand Isle House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Tapon Rodeo
Jul 24 2014 - Jul 27 2014
4 night minimum stay
$700
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$800
$2,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $45.00
cleaning $75.00

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Grand Isle House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Hair Dryer
  • Living Room ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Stove
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , Bunkbeds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Toys ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Balcony
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Attractions:
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • botanical garden
  • churches
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • kayaking
  • swimming
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • water skiing
Notes:
A unique opportunity to have somewhere you can bring your horses to ride on the beach, spend time relaxing, fishing or bring some friends or use as a yoga/art retreat.
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$1,400 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 16
$3,500 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 6 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 22