Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Cozy Lakeview Ski Chalet W/ Fireplace And Amenities

Sandra Clevenstine

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Sandra Clevenstine

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2015
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Cozy Lakeview Ski Chalet W/ Fireplace And Amenities

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Tobyhanna Chalet Rental Photos and Description

Three Bedroom, Two Full Bath, Lake View, 1st And 2nd Story Decks

This chalet has been recently remodeled with all new floors, paint and many new appliances. The master bedroom contains a queen sized bed, the second bedroom has a full/queen hand hewn cedar bed and the third bedroom is known as the kids' room. The third bedroom has tons of videos, board games, nightlights, a bladeless fan and even a stuffed animal on each bed. The chalet is fully equipped with silver ware, cook ware, two coffee pots (one keurig), a washer/dryer, two showers, a large private lower deck, and a full complement of firewood. There is also a small Weber grill outside and a one person kayak can be available upon request. The lake across the street is electric motor or paddle only and the fishing is catch and release as the idea here is to protect the environment. Less than half a mile down the street is a playground, a basketball court, and tennis courts that are included in the rental price. During the summer months, your rental will also include use of the Olympic sized pool only a few blocks away. Plenty of listed amenities as well as the famous Poconos raceway, ski resorts, water parks, golf courses, and tons of scenic hiking and biking. We hope you enjoy our home as much as we do.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Sandra Clevenstine (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2015

About Sandra Clevenstine

We purchased this property last year because we have always wanted a mountain place with a real fireplace that was located in a natural setting. We enjoy geo caching, eating good food, shopping and taking scenic drives. While our main home is in Delaware, we are originally from Pennsylvania and something has been drawing us back home for years. We thought the winter would be our favorite time in the Poconos because we had visions of hitting the slopes, eating at the local brew pub, drying out by the fire, and then getting a relaxing supper at one of the local fine dining locations. The winter was fantastic, but this past summer we also had a blast playing tennis, walking the dog, mountain biking, and exploring lots of local trails. We will probably move up there after we retire, but until then, we would like to share our home with you. We only hope that you enjoy it as much as we have.

Sandra Clevenstine purchased this chalet in 2011

Why Sandra Clevenstine chose Tobyhanna

We first fell in love with this area as we were biking through the nearby Tobyhanna State Park. We loved the lake, the beach the hiking, the biking, the fishing, the bird-watching and the many opportunities to photograph local wildlife.

What makes this chalet unique

The great, private, yet central location is what truly made us fall in love with this property. Our neighbors are friendly, we are smack in the middle of multiple ski resorts and we can take advantage of both the local restaurants as well as take in a Broadway show. The location offers a multitude of options with something for everyone.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great stay here with the kids. We also used the local bus station to go into NYC for a show. The location is scenic with lots of good hiking trails and lakes. The deer came up to the deck every morning and one of them even ate right out of my hand! Will be repeating this vacation.
May 2014
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.7
based on 13 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Cozy Lakeview Ski Chalet W/ Fireplace And Amenities
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 14 reviews
Queens New York
5

Clean, neat and cozy

  • 5 of 5

We spent two nights in one of the coldest days this winter. But rooms were warm enough. Cabin was all set and ready. We made fire in the evening. There were extra blankets, bathroom towels and even DVDs for entertainment. all furniture looked like hand-made product. I'd like to come back again.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Lodi,NJ
5

Kat

  • 5 of 5

I really loved this place and would recommend it to anyone and definitely plan to stay there again. The home was beautiful and very clean and cozy. Perfect for my get away of two. Everything was provided and the price was very reasonable. I was very pleasantly surprise and didn't wanna leave. Wished I could have stay there longer. Next time will definitely plan a longer get away at this wonderful place.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
1

DO NOT RENT! - You will not see the deposit back.

  • 1 of 5

DO NOT rent this cabin unless you don’t care about your security deposit, or are prepared to do extensive manual labor of removing every shred of evidence you were ever there!

This owner has a nice scam going. They don’t charge for cleaning, because this is a “leave as found” cabin, which is very tempting, considering the low price.

Well there is a reason for that: They will charge you “damage deposit” and you will not see it ever again.

We stayed in mid February and the cabin itself was great and we enjoyed the stay. Before leaving we vacuumed, stripped the beds and placed sheets by the washer, sweeped the fireplace washed dishes and left the cabin spotless. We did it not because we had to, but because we like to leave cabins as we found them.

After a week of ignored emails about the security deposit, the owner compiled a list of “violations”. Mind you, we never signed any rental agreement with any rules. I tried reaching out to them asking for a contract and cabin rules repeatedly! We had to contact them three times on the week of our arrival, before they finally provided us with the access instructions and just said on the day of our arrival that everything we need to know is in the cabin handbook.

Here are just a few of the 13 (!!!) most ridiculous accusations I’ve heard in my life:

“There was evidence of a sugar spill on the stove”

“Some animal or person obviously urinated on the Adirondack deck chair”

“Several rolls of toilet paper were left around the house in places that were not designed to hold toilet tissue”

Sugar spilled?? Someone urinated in a -23F weather outside, Really??! And TOILED PAPER WAS LEFT AROUND THE HOUSE!!! My god! Lets charge them the depos for those violations!

We have been renting cabins multiple times a year for several years now and I have never encountered such behavior from an owner before.

We have exchanged emails back and forth, but the owner ignored our explanation to every single one of the accusations. Nor were they able to produce proof of us signing an itemized agreement. They arbitrarily decided to refund us a third of our deposit and that was the end of the story. I am currently disputing the charge with my credit card company and am filing a formal complaint to VRBO.

This owner is greedy and absurd. Instead of charging a cleaning fee like every other owner, they decide to rob people for the full deposit.

It’s a shame that a nice family stay was ruined by this obnoxious behavior.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Great house for a weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

We chose this house for a skiing weekend. It was a great experience. The owner was easily available to answer questions. The house itself was better than expected. We slept 5 comfortably and it could have fit more. The house was fully stocked... we especially appreciated all of the kitchen supplies. The firewood and fireplace was a great treat as well. We saw deer wandering around the house every day. Nice location nearby to the ski resorts but it was great being able to return to a home instead of a hotel. We would definitely like to return. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Queens, NY
5

GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!

  • 5 of 5

The owner of this property is great! I was supposed to go to the cabin over a weekend but unfortunately, there were some family issues that arose within our group and we were not able to go. The owner was able to work around my circumstances and really helped me out! I am planning to book this place again soon as I know that the owner is reliable and trustworthy. Thank you again for all your help!!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My sincerest gratitude - Sandy
5

BEST TIME!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin met all of our expectations and it was much more than we expected. We did not want to leave cabin at all because we had such a a great time inside. The cabin is extremely cozy and has everything that you need. The firewood is a plus! I will never stay anywhere else when I visit the area. I felt very safe because the cabin is in a gated community. The deer visited the cabin on a daily basis. I can go on and on about this place. You have to visit to believe it!!! Can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: HomeAway

Map

This location is prime for relaxation not only with the ski resorts nearby, but this chalet is also close to the Great Wolf water park, outlet stores and a nice complement of both casual and fine dining. The small nearby town of Mount Pocono has all of the living essentials such as banks, drug stores, grocery stores, liquor stores, a movie theater, miniature golf, miniature golf and most importantly, good pizza. This location is well known for deer and turkey sightings. If you like the eating, golfing and excitement that is associated with casinos, both the Mount Airy and the Mohegan Sun casinos are close to your temporary home. The local town also has affordable bus transportation into New York City if you wish to see an enchanting Broadway show. The quaint villages of Jim Thorpe and Shawnee are about 30 miles away and they both contain great pubs, arts, hiking, and whitewater. The Poconos have been a highly sought after vacation spot for generations. Come visit and you will see why our customers come back year after year. Enjoy!

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $200 Per night

Tobyhanna Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$230
From
$200
Fri,Sat
$1,275
$5,120
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Notes Please sign the guest book. It is tucked inside of the knotty pine hutch in the dining room. We would love to hear from you.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Tobyhanna Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard
  • Tennis
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$900 - $950 per week
2 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$1,100 - $1,300 per week
2 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$1,400 - $1,625 per week
2 - 3 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote