Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

LUXURY HYDRA VILLA, 300 M FROM SEAFRONT

GreekIslandVillas

Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, greek
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

GreekIslandVillas

Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks: english, greek
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LUXURY HYDRA VILLA, 300 M FROM SEAFRONT

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Hydra Island Villa Rental Photos and Description

4 bedroom 3 bathroom to sleep 8

This villa, built in the 1800s, is a fine example of Hydra’s unique and traditional architecture, with expansive views from the large shaded veranda of the picturesque houses on the surrounding hillsides.

The old villa was originally built for a wealthy sea captain, in early 2000 it was extensively restored and it is now one of the most comfortable homes on the island. The interior has contemporary functionality with all modern amenities but maintains the island’s traditional building style, including marble floors embellished with engravings on the ground floor and veranda and wooden floors on the first floor and high, beamed wooden ceilings.

It is fully air-conditioned, has sat TV, Hi-fi .The kitchen provides all modern facilities.

The villa is tastefully decorated with original antique furniture and original artwork.

It is located at the edge of Hydra town, a mere 300 metres from the sea front within easy walking distance on a gentle cobble stone road without steep steps

For further details view our own home site www.greekislandvillas.com

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
GreekIslandVillas (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, greek

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Luxury Hydra villa, 300 m from seafront
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
business
Luxury Hydra villa, 300 m from seafront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441068
+44 -789 9067181
Hydra Island Saronic Islands
5

Proud history with modern luxury.

  • 5 of 5
Villa Lydia is a perfectly located historic villa fully updated to accommodate expectations of today's demanding travelers. Located along one of Hydra's main roads following a canyon's floor, it offers beautiful views of the hillsides, which can be enjoyed in the most sacred-like tranquility.

The Villa is located a very easy walk from Hydra Port, walking along a smooth and only gently sloping road. All excursions from here are easily initiated whether simply to go down to harbor for coffee, visiting one of Hydra's museums or galleries, walking to one of the many bays for a swim in the exquisitely beautiful Aegean Sea or walking to the top of one of Hydra's peaks to enjoy remarkable views or visit one of the island's monasteries.

The mornings on the generously sized terrace can be enjoyed in the shades of the surrounding hills, and during the afternoons the sun elaborately covers the terrace.

The thickness of the walls of this beautiful Villa reminds of its age and history. Never have we occupied a home with such muscular and impressive walls. While Villa Lydia's history is a constant and welcome - but discrete - reminder, the comfort of living with the Villa's present day's accommodations, like expresso coffee and Internet access, are simultaneously present to remind of the unique luxury of this home.

Lovers of walking have so many opportunities to find satisfaction for their passion on Hydra. Not only is the island's nature stunning, but the lack of motor transportation on the island allow walkers peace and quiet. Even during the colder months of the year, where few might be tempted to go for a swim, walking on Hydra is a terrific way to exercise and observe. The level of strain walkers can expose themselves to is nearly unlimited with the many steep inclines available on Hydra. Simply climbing the streets and walkways of Hydra is fascinating, while observing the extraordinary architecture of the village. Particularly the beauty and variation of the doors to the houses on Hydra is very special.

Restaurants on Hydra a plentiful and the food is generally very good. The small family run restaurants are wonderful with their offering of fresh fish and fresh produce salads.

This home is more than it is described to be. It has soul with history and luxury. The property is clean and exceptionally maintained and serviced by its owner. This is truly a luxury home, and we would happily recommend it to our friends and relatives.
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Luxury Hydra villa, 300 m from seafront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441068
+44 -789 9067181
Hydra Island Saronic Islands
5

A perfect world

  • 5 of 5
Our stay was delightful.The house was spotless, and complete with every appliance and accessory you could wish for (especially the high quality cappucino machine that gave us the best brew to relax with up on the patio). The atmosphere is enchanting, combining old-world design (we loved how one of the bedrooms is built into the rock!) with the comforts of modern living, The owners have managed blend it all into a perfect world, and a delightful stroll from everything on the island. We look forward to staying here again.
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope you come again !
business
Luxury Hydra villa, 300 m from seafront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441068
+44 -789 9067181
Hydra Island Saronic Islands
5

Lovely villa in a convenient location

  • 5 of 5
We had a great stay at the house. It is light and airy, tastefully decorated, clean and well appointed. The owners were very attentive. We have stayed on Hydra many times. We have small children now and the hills are tough. Villa Lydia is close enough to the port for this not to be an issue and you can easily go back for the things you forget!
The upstairs terrace is particularly nice for lunch and dinner and the kitchen is well appointed and placed for dining on the terrace. In fact, the lay out generally is good for families. I would not hesitate to recommend.

Pauline and Glen and kids.
  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you next year !
business
Luxury Hydra villa, 300 m from seafront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441068
+44 -789 9067181
Hydra Island Saronic Islands
5

Lovely house on a beautiful island

  • 5 of 5
In October 2011 we were four mature couples who rented Villa Lydia for a week. We had a great time: going for walks in the mountains, walking to the beaches, swimming from the town rocks, dining out, as well as cooking at "home", eating on the terrace in the warm evenings/nights. (We moved the dining room table outside. And back in again:)) The house is centrally located, large, beautifully furnished, clean, well kept, and well equipped. No working cableTV or internet though. We had great weather, but no need for the airconditioning. The peace and quiet on Hydra is wonderful (some dogs did bark...) A fifth couple stayed in a hotel, a steep walk from the house. Wish we had checked and found that the nice hotel Angelica (with a c, not k, there seem to be two hotels?) was across the street from the house. It would be easier/feel better if the final cleaning were included in the rental price. Families with small children will probably want to take taxi-boats to the beaches, but Hydra is great for people who think walking is ok, so bring good shoes. In contact with the owner everything functioned well, and was as described. We were met a the boat, etc. Villa Lydia hereby comes highly recommended.
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for the review,
Please note:
The house is equipped with a free view sat which enables you view News and other information channels only, the system is fully functional and was not damaged by the gale winds which hit the island a few days prior to your arrival. However the phone/internet lines were affected.
business
Luxury Hydra villa, 300 m from seafront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441068
+44 -789 9067181
Hydra Island Saronic Islands
Chigwell
5

Villa Lydia was everything we expected and more !

  • 5 of 5
Not unfamiliar with Greek islands , we were excited to visit Hydra as it was one of the few we were yet to discover. So pleased we left the best til last. Wonderful! Pretty white washed houses lined cobbled streets, unencumbered by motor vehicles (fantastic ! ) . There was something for every taste in the beautiful restaurants, bars and terraces, all very competitively priced and for those looking for a little culture , galleries , museums and monasteries were easily accessible.
Villa Lydia was everything and more that the website described. Cool (air conditioning ) clean, spacious living areas and bedrooms were a
welcome retreat from the midday sun. The clean, fully equipped kitchen
lead onto a fabulous veranda which looked out over the village, only a short stroll to the centre and harbour. We would recommend this
property to any traveller who enjoys luxury and our reservation for next
year has already been confirmed. One week was simply not enough.
  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Luxury Hydra villa, 300 m from seafront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441068
+44 -789 9067181
Hydra Island Saronic Islands
uk
3

Lydia -pity it's not looked after properly.

Lydia -pity it's not looked after properly.
  • 3 of 5
Lovely house but not up to standard of cleanliness when we visited. Also tv not working for international programes as promised(unpaid subscription?) and cd player not working. Shower fixtures broken or not working. Cleaning charge beware is 150 euros extra which we did not pay but left it cleaner than when we arrived. Get all the booking details in full before you book. Nice roof terrace and position with great view.
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: From the beginning of this booking we tried to accomodate a number of additional requests from these clients including a price reduction for early booking, four separate down payments and final payments in different currencies (which produced extra admin and exchange problems for us) and additional keys (not in fact provided in the end).

With respect to the cleanliness, specifically they complained about the level of dust in the house on arrival, but there was no other complaint about any other items of cleanliness during their stay. We had left the windows open in order to air the house, but the clients did not appreciate that the wind in Greece brings red dust from the Sahara and within a short space of time dust accumulates. If we had not opened the windows in advance no doubt we would have received complaints that the house was stuffy! However, in future we will ensure that the house is cleaned a maximum of 24 hours prior to arrival of clients in order that any dust will be reduced.
With respect to the tv, we have a fully operating satellite tv which was working for the previous tenants, and after, when we inspected the property (and which is free view so no subscription is necessary) . Possibly these clients did not understand the t.v operation (they also found the microwave difficult, as they indicated by annotating the contract!). The shower attachment (low level flexible hose attachment ) was broken during their stay and we have now fixed this. There is a permanent fixed shower head above which was working at all times.
With respect to cleaning, we were disappointed that the clients did not contribute even to the laundry cost (even if they felt actual cleaning should not be paid for, the linen was in immaculate condition on arrival). This was fully stipulated on the website . Although we could have deducted this cleaning cost from the damage deposit in the interests of goodwill we chose not to.
On the positive side, we thank the ladies for appreciating the quality of the villa and the lovely view.

O

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Athens
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Many
Nearest Ferry
300 Metres
Hydra
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Many
Nearest Beach
400 Metres
Kanoni
Car: not necessary

Though small in size, the island is huge in terms of beauty, charming scenery and the very friendly and warm locals. The island is perfect for those who are seeking a very relaxed and enjoyable holiday.

Simply taking a stroll around the harbour is an activity so simple yet so special. The hill above the harbour provides some magical views out towards the sea, and is ideal for enjoying a wonderful sunset.

Scattered all over Hydra are about 300 small churches, and 6 monasteries. These are well worth visiting if you have the chance, and offer a wonderful insight into the religious history and traditions of the island.

Hydra has some excellent beaches that are ideal for the summer months. These include the popular beaches of Spilia, Ydroneta, Avlaki, Kamini and Vlihos.

There is easy access to Hydra by ferry boat and flying dolphins to Pireaus. There is also a taxi boat service that can take you across to the charming area of Ermionin in the Peloponnese county of Argolida.

Other Activities: Excursions to mainland e.g Epidavros ancient theatre

Photos

Rates & Availability

From €1,500 Per week

Hydra Island Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off peak
Oct 1 2014 - Dec 23 2014
7 night minimum stay
€1,500
 
 
Christmas
Dec 24 2014 - Jan 6 2015
7 night minimum stay
€2,200
 
 
Off peak
Jan 7 2015 - Apr 1 2015
7 night minimum stay
€1,500
 
 
Easter
Apr 2 2015 - Apr 14 2015
7 night minimum stay
€2,500
 
 
Off peak
Apr 15 2015 - Apr 30 2015
7 night minimum stay
€1,500
 
 
Early summer
May 1 2015 - May 31 2015
7 night minimum stay
€1,800
 
 
Mid Summer
Jun 1 2015 - Jun 30 2015
7 night minimum stay
€2,000
 
 
Summer
Jul 1 2015 - Jul 31 2015
7 night minimum stay
€2,500
 
 
Peak
Aug 1 2015 - Aug 31 2015
7 night minimum stay
€2,900
 
 
Summer
Sep 1 2015 - Sep 15 2015
7 night minimum stay
€2,400
 
 
Late summer
Sep 16 2015 - Sep 30 2015
7 night minimum stay
€1,800
 
 
Off peak
Oct 1 2015 - Dec 23 2015
7 night minimum stay
€1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
€1,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit €500
Notes Damage deposit of 500 Euro required, paid in cash on arrival, and refundable at end of stay. Visitors are responsible for paying for all damages.
Note there is no dry cleaning available in Hydra and no cleaning services are provided during te stay.
40 % on booking and remaining 60 % six weeks prior to arrival
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Book It Now or updated calendars.

Amenities

Hydra Island Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 220 m²
Location Type:
  • Town
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • The two double bed bedrooms share one bathroom/toilet/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming

Other Vacation Properties

$2,609 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$3,479 - $4,162 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$3,479 - $4,349 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote