Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Magical Mapleton Corner Home - Central Downtown - Woodland Setting

Whitney Sinclair

Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 30 nights

Whitney Sinclair

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 19, 2015
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Magical Mapleton Corner Home - Central Downtown - Woodland Setting

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 30 nights

Overview

Boulder House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedroom, 2 bathroom home with big garden

This charming, inviting home is nestled on a premier corner in downtown Boulder’s hip and historic Whittier neighborhood. The property’s mature broadleaf trees, fruit trees, and whimsical landscaping evoke the feeling of an enchanted forest in the heart of the city.

Stroll to the Pearl Street Pedestrian Mall, CU/Folsom Field, Boulder Farmers’ Market, Spruce Pool, Whole Foods Market, McGuckin Hardware, and 29th Street Mall (Apple Store, Sephora, Target, Victoria’s Secret, Ann Taylor, Sur La Table, Home Depot). Take advantage of Boulder’s world-renowned bike path system, clean and punctual public transportation, and B-cycle public bike share program. You don’t need a car when you stay here! (Although there is plenty of off-street parking at the house.)

All 4 bedrooms are appointed with brand new pillow-top mattresses with natural bamboo ticking and the highest quality mattress protectors. Downstairs there are 2 queen bedrooms. Upstairs there is 1 king bedroom and 1 bedroom with 2 twin beds. There is also a travel crib available for your baby. PLEASE NOTE: THERE IS NO LONGER A FUTON IN THE LIVING ROOM. WE REPLACED IT WITH A COUCH AND OTTOMAN!

There are 2 full bathrooms, 1 downstairs and 1 upstairs. Step stool and potty provided for children. The laundry room off of the kitchen has a high efficiency washer and dryer.

The sweet kitchen is fully outfitted for cooking meals with pots & pans, small kitchen appliances (blender, coffee maker, toaster, etc), kettle, mixing bowls, cooking utensils, baking dishes, serving dishes, measuring cups and spoons, etc. Dishes, flatware, glasses, mugs, salt & pepper mills, creamer & sugar bowl, and placemats are also furnished. We provide kids’ plates, cups, cutlery and a high chair so it will be easy to take care of little ones. Enjoy peek-a-boo views of the foothills through the kitchen sink window box, a nice view to gaze at while cooking and cleaning up.

The living/dining room is the most historic part of the house and is full of character with its wood trim and original pine wide plank floors. It is outfitted with a new Samsung LED HDTV with Premium HD Cable including HBO and Apple TV with Netflix. There is also secure high-speed wireless internet.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Whitney Sinclair (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 19, 2015

About Whitney Sinclair

Oliver is from New York City but grew up in Boulder while Whitney is from LA. We met at CU where we both graduated from the Film School. We enjoy travel, real estate, interior design, photography, cooking, gardening, hiking, biking, swimming, delicious restaurants, family, friends, and film!

Why Whitney Sinclair chose Boulder

This home is a wonderful choice for your visit to Boulder for many reasons. It's proximity to the downtown Pearl Street Mall area and the new 29th St Mall is ideal, just walk 5 blocks East or West to be in the heart of either district. Our Mapleton home is on a generous corner lot with lots of trees so you have a feeling of being surrounded by nature while you're staying right downtown. It exudes Colorado charm and character with original wood plank floors and custom pine trim throughout. The original part of the home was first a miner's cabin in the late 1800s, so the house is an authentic part of Colorado history, and really feels quintessentially Rocky Mountain.

What makes this house unique

One of the best things about this house is how it is quiet and peaceful, yet right in the middle of the best that Boulder has to offer. It's so easy to walk to lunch, dinner, the coffee shop, grocery store, or farmers market because it is directly between the Historic Pearl Street Mall and the new 29th Street Mall where the Apple Store, Whole Foods, Traders Joe's (April 2014), Sephora, Lululemon, the Century movie theater and more are.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the house. Wonderful location in downtown Boulder area with ample amenities for our entire crew of older and younger adults.
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 2

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 30 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 17 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Magical Mapleton Corner Home - Central Downtown - Woodland Setting
average rating of 4.2941175 based on 19 reviews
5

great house, nice location

  • 5 of 5

We found Whitney to be a great source of information and very friendly. Our group enjoyed our stay and found out very easy to walk or take uber to nearby attractions. Comfortable house and well stocked with basic supplies.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Denver, CO
1

Nice place but not a great experience

  • 1 of 5

I booked this house for my visiting family. They came out to Colorado for the first time for my wedding! We got married in Lyons so this was a great location for family to be near downtown boulder and close enough to the venue.

I will start by saying that the house is nice. It's cozy, kept clean and stocked.

With that said the overall experience of working with the property managers was not great. I found the property manager (hired by the homeowner) to be non responsive and overall not very pleasant. In addition to that on the very first night of my family visiting Colorado my sister feel into an 8 inch hole in the ground that was not visible to her because the house's porch light was out. She broker her ankle on her first night of a week of visiting!! Not to mention that she now had a cast and was in a wheel chair for the entire wedding. After informing the property manager of the issue the next morning, they did come out and replace the light and fill in the hole. But at this point it was too late. My parents had so many extra expenses (wheelchair rental, emergency room visit) and we couldn't do half of the things we wanted to that week (one whole day was spent in the hospital). Instead of having my sister to run around with me to get ready for the wedding she was stuck on the couch.

So again, nice house but overall a terrible experience.

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Emily, We are so incredibly sorry that you didn't have a great experience staying at our house. Our guests' comfort and happiness is immensely important to us and I feel devastated by your review. When my husband came over to fill the hole in the sidewalk median and met your family, he truly thought that everything had been resolved, so we were surprised to see your 1-star rating and are very sorry that we misunderstood. The city had recently taken out a small tree in the sidewalk median in front of the house and the dirt they filled the hole with had settled a little where the tree had been. We're really sorry we didn't notice it, and had hoped that the flowers we sent your sister communicated how sorry we were about her accident. We would be so grateful for the opportunity to make this right with you. Since receiving this review, I've tried reaching out to you by email and phone (twice) but I haven't been able to get in touch with you. Please feel welcome to get in touch with me any time to work this out. Sincerely, Whitney
4

Perfect spot for our girls trip

  • 4 of 5

The house set up was perfect for our women's retreat. Close to downtown was important to us. It was 10 blocks or so, but we enjoyed walking the neighborhoods every day.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Tina! I'm so happy that you and your friends enjoyed our house. Please come visit us again :-)
Sydney, Australia
2

Not Great!

  • 2 of 5

Not sure where the other people who reviewed this property were staying but our experience was a lot different.....

The furniture was serviceable but shabby and old. The carpets upstairs were stained and grubby. The waterproof (?) sheeting on the main bed had strange burnt plastic patches that created lumpy spiky bits under the sheet that were impossible to sleep on. The toilet overflowed into the laundry on the second day we were there and although the owners sorted it out promptly, they did imply that we had used the incorrect washing soap and therefore been responsible for the overflow. The house is also on an extremely busy road and so the sound of traffic was a constant intrusion. Although the house sleeps 8 the living area is extremely small for 8 people and the dining table was small and round with only 4 chairs.

My sister booked the house for 7 days and then later added an additional 2 days on to the booking. Early on the morning of the 8th day, the owners knocked on the door, and then proceeded to enter the house while my husband and I were upstairs in the bathroom and hollered at us to come downstairs. They demanded to know why we were still there and stated that our booking had expired the previous day. It seems a massive oversight to me that they should not know the booking had been extended and we were legitimately staying there. A pretty rude awakening for us.

Fortunately for us we spent most of our time at my sister's house in Mapleton and just came to the house to sleep, but I thought it worth reviewing for those potentially thinking of staying here in the future.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Gail, I'm so sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay at our house. It's a rustic house, and so we chose furniture to go with that rustic feel. We ask guests to remove their shoes, and we have the carpets cleaned every 8-10 weeks, but still carpets get a lot of wear and tear in vacation rental properties. It sounds like a previous guest damaged the waterproof mattress protector which I'm really sorry about. Unfortunately, guests often don't let us know about damage, or even try to hide it, to avoid loosing their security deposit. I wish you would have let me know when we spoke so that I could have replaced it for you immediately which would have been super easy to take care of. Without telling anything to our plumber, he deduced by looking at the pipes with a camera scope that the problem happened because our guests had been putting too much soap in the high-effeciency washing machine. This created so much sudsy gas in the pipes that the water from the toilet had nowhere to go and thus backed up. We have never had this problem before, and once we let the guests know not to use so much detergent, they didn't have any more plumbing problems. I think this was an honest mistake, but I regret that this guest is implying that I made this up. Regarding the street, I gave this guest's sister (a Boulder local) the address so that she could know the exact location before finalizing her reservation. It's on the corner of Folsom (2 lanes each way) and Mapleton (literally the best street in Boulder). The house is pretty peaceful anyway, with a bit of pick-up in traffic in the morning and at about 5pm. As a historic home, the original part of the house is a miner's cabin from the 1860s, so the living/dining area is on the small side, but that is just part of this property. What you loose in modern, open spaces, you gain in charm, character, and history. I am truly sorry about the mix-up with the extension of your reservation, but when your sister called to add 2 more nights, I was in the car, on a road trip with my family. When I asked her to submit a new reservation request for the 2 addt'l nights, she told me that she is also a vrbo owner, and couldn't I just add a payment request so that she didn't have to submit a new inquiry. I obliged her, but this is precisely why the reservation didn't get recorded properly. Even so, we instantly sent you a $100 credit on the morning of the booking mix-up, which I hope you used to enjoy your time here in Boulder.
Jacksonville, Fl
5

Wedding Oasis!!

  • 5 of 5

Our home away from home! We spent 10 glorious days in this very upscale property when our son was married to his longtime girlfriend in Lyons. They have a smaller condo in Boulder so this was the absolute perfect place for our extended east coast family to stay. The home is stocked with all the consumable toiletry items you would expect from a large hotel. The large kitchen/food prep area was more than outstanding with all the comforts of home. With such a large group (8) we cooked many meals, most of them outside on the grill. The large backyard area, picnic table and all the chairs made for a great social gathering of friends from out of town and the brides family. The home internet/technology suite was beyond expectation! With apple tv we were able to view the wedding photos from our phones and ipad. I even was able to keep up with the Braves on MLB-TV via apple tv. The owners were more than accommodating to our every request!! Also the evaporative cooler/fan keep us in total comfort during some of the warmer Colorado summer days!!! In summation a very stellar return on our investment! We'd love to stay there again!!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: John, thank you so much for taking the time to write us this wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your time at our house and would love to have you back! Thanks again for choosing our place :-)
Maine
5

Boulder Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5

Nice house, conveniently located near the Pearl Street area. Easy access to stores and highways to additional interesting sightseeing locations (Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park, for example). Whitney was attentive to our needs and was very helpful. All in all, the house and Boulder was a great experience.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Alvin, it was such a pleasure hosting you and your family. Thank you for choosing our place. We're delighted that you enjoyed it so much. Please do visit us again :-)

Map

Car: not necessary

This house is centrally located on a large corner lot right between the Pearl Street Mall, CU, and the new 29th Street Mall where there are larger chains like Whole Foods, Target, Apple, Sephora, California Pizza Kithcen, and many, many more shops and restaurants. You can walk to Pearl Street in 10 mins, CU in 10-15 mins, and 29th Street in 10 mins. A car is not necessary, but there are 2 private parking spaces in the alley behind the house.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $133 Per night

Boulder House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 11 2015 - Sep 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$300
From
$500
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Fall
Sep 16 2015 - Nov 23 2015
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$400
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 24 2015 - Nov 30 2015
5 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Fall
Dec 1 2015 - Dec 19 2015
3 night minimum stay
$200
From
$400
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Christmas
Dec 20 2015 - Dec 31 2015
6 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
2016
Jan 6 2016 - Dec 31 2016
30 night minimum stay
$4,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150.00
Refundable damage deposit $500.00
Notes We have a 1 week (6 night) minimum for reservations more than about 60 days in advance, particularly for April through December bookings. We welcome all inquiries, and are more flexible in the Winter (January-March), but generally prefer to accept reservations that are at least 6 nights if the reservation is more than 6-8 weeks away.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Boulder House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Other Vacation Properties

$4,450 per week
3 - 4 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10
$2,500 - $3,250 per week
3 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 14
$3,000 per week
14 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 7

Contact the Manager

Tell the manager when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote