LAKE VIEW CABIN- 'HEAVENLY' RETREAT PLUS NEW PLAY CABIN!

Lisa Martin-Eatinger

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps11
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Lisa Martin-Eatinger

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LAKE VIEW CABIN- 'HEAVENLY' RETREAT PLUS NEW PLAY CABIN!

Iowa City House Rental Photos and Description

Sleeps 11! 2 bed, 2 bath, sleeping loft, family room with 3 futons couch/beds.

This incredible property has original beams and flooring from a 1800's church! Renew your spirit with state park hiking trails or a hammock. Walk down the 3 minute path to the Coralville Reservoir and enjoy the beach! Nestled between Lake MacBride State Park and the beautiful Coralville Reservoir, this retreat is a Godsend!

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Lisa Martin-Eatinger

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I grew up in Iowa near here and enjoyed the family picnics at the state park. My extended family is still in the area! We now live in downtown Chicago, and this retreat is a great escape from our hectic lives.

Lisa Martin-Eatinger purchased this house in 2011

My family has been enjoying Lake MacBride since it first opened. My grandmother told me about her experiences growing up and enjoying the lake so she made sure to bring her children. My mother has great stories of Lake MacBride and the Coralville Reservoir and she made sure to bring me and my brothers! Now a fourth generation, my own daughters, are growing up with peace and tranquility because of this fabulous property.

Look at the pictures! Words cannot express the beauty of this home and area.

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.6
based on 20 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Lake View Cabin- 'Heavenly' Retreat plus new play cabin!
average rating of 4.6 based on 20 reviews
business
Lake View Cabin- 'Heavenly' Retreat plus new play cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439096vb
312-622-6920
Iowa City Iowa
Oswego, IL./Midwest, USA
5

Beautiful cabin!!

  • 5 of 5
Beautiful cabin with everything included!! We loved our stay there! When you're sitting outside on the deck, the view of the lake was very nice/peaceful! We saw deer and wild turkey too! The cabin is decorated so nicely!! One night it was even cool enough to have the fireplace lit. It was so cozy and romantic! If you want to bike, go on the trails just about 2 miles away from the cabin. We got to spend lots of time enjoying all of the natural resources surrounding us! It was just a beautiful place!
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lake View Cabin- 'Heavenly' Retreat plus new play cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439096vb
312-622-6920
Iowa City Iowa
Illinois
3

Critters Galore

  • 3 of 5
We 3 sisters took a 4 night stay at this cabin. The deer, chipmunks, rabbits, raccoons and birds were wonderful to watch. The cottage could have been better if it hadn't been quite so full of furniture, especially the downstairs where there were lots of futons....but that wasn't really a problem. The problem we had was having to wash things off before we could eat off of the tables and the porch really needed sweeping. We didn't squabble about the "cleaning charge" but expected the cabin to be clean when we came and really didn't want to do the cleaning AND still pay the fee! We really couldn't unpack our suitcases as the drawers and closets were full. All in all, we had a fine vacation but were slightly disappointed by the cabin's cleanliness.
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: After a storm rolls through, we cannot guarantee the deck and porch will be clean. We get a lot of tree debris due to our location. I am replacing the old table cover hoping this helps. Also, if anyone wishes to use our dressers, the rental agreement states to let us know ahead of time. We aim to please of course!
business
Lake View Cabin- 'Heavenly' Retreat plus new play cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439096vb
312-622-6920
Iowa City Iowa
Sterling, Il
2

Sister Trip

  • 2 of 5
Annual trip for 3 senior sisters. Cabin was much smaller than appeared in photos. Lots of owner's personal items in cabin made me feel somewhat like an I was intruding on their privacy - couldn't unpack as drawers & closets had owners clothing & children's toys. With a cleaning fee for rental in addition to rental fee, would have expected it to be cleaner. Have stayed at many places that have been nicer for a lot less.
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow! 1,600 sq ft is considered large for a cabin and my website says it is a 2 bd/2 bath. We are working on adding a 3rd bathroom on the bottom level. My rental agreement states if you would like to use the dressers, we need to know ahead of time. As far as personal items, pictures of my beautiful daughters will always remain along with my charming knicknacks. Other personal items we have are there to share such as the first aid kit, calamine lotion, cooking spices, etc. It is my first negative review in the 1 1/2 years we've been renting and I keep trying to do my best, for that is all I can do. I hope my future guests are not discouraged. More than 100% of the rental income goes toward the cabin, as we are always in the process of improving the property.
business
Lake View Cabin- 'Heavenly' Retreat plus new play cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439096vb
312-622-6920
Iowa City Iowa
Cedar Falls, IA
5

Wanda's Woodsy Wonderland V

Wanda's Woodsy Wonderland V
  • 5 of 5
Four of us women get together annually for a camp-out and this year decided to treat ourselves to something with indoor plumbing. What a treat! With three levels, there's room for everyone to spread out. The accommodations were lovely: clean, well-stocked with kitchen stuff and plenty of kids' toys for family get-togethers. Deer and chipmunks in view every day. Nice walk to the beach. Screened porch on the lower level, which came in handy when it rained and when the skeeters got bad on the deck. Short drive to town. Nicely secluded from the neighbors. Fishing and canoe put-in not far from the property. Rental details went smoothly and the owner was helpful. We'll be back.
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Lake View Cabin- 'Heavenly' Retreat plus new play cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439096vb
312-622-6920
Iowa City Iowa
Sergeant Bluff, Iowa
4

Plenty of space

  • 4 of 5
We had plenty of space -- staying here for a conference in Iowa City. Nice and private. For our group it would have been nice for the upstairs bathroom to have a shower head. And, we had a :30 drive into downtown. But, we were able to make everything work -- and planned time for the drive.
  • Submitted: May 25, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Lake View Cabin- 'Heavenly' Retreat plus new play cabin!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439096vb
312-622-6920
Iowa City Iowa
Cedar Rapids, IA
5

great getaway

  • 5 of 5
We celebrated a dad/grandpa birthday! We were selfish and had the whole place to ourselves for one night. When all our friends and family showed up the next day they were amazed. We were blessed with a beautiful early spring day and enjoyed the huge yard and deck. The owners provided a book that would answer any question you may have. The property was very clean and well maintained. This was my first experience with this web site service and was very pleased with the quick response I got on all my questions from the owners themselves.
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Cedar Rapids, Eastern Iowa Airport
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
Interstate 80
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Coralville Reservoir, Lake MacBride Beaches
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Solon Station
Nearest Ski
0.25 Miles
Cross Country Trails
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Lake MacBride Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
El Sol
Car: necessary

We are located 15 minutes from Iowa City, right next to Lake MacBride State park. There are hiking and biking trails, public beaches and boat rentals including paddleboats, canoes, kayaks, & pontoons. Enjoy Iowa City nightlife including shopping, Hawkeye football games & shows. Fossil hunting is nearby at the Devonian Fossil Gorge.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Iowa City House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer rates
May 27 2014 - Sep 2 2014
3 night minimum stay
$300
From
$350
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
Hawkeye Football wknds
Sep 3 2014 - Nov 29 2014
3 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$250
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49
Refundable damage deposit $500

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Iowa City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
General:
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Air Conditioning
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Internet
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dishwasher
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • King size beds (1) In top floor bedroom, Double Beds (1) In main floor bedroom, Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (4) 3 futon couches and 1 futon-chair bed that becomes a twin bed.
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • CD Player
  • Video Library
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Golf ...
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Fire pit, hiking & biking trails, beach, lake, snowmobile trails, horseback riding down the road, watercraft rentals
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,299 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$625 per night
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 9
$650 per week
1 - 2 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2