DO NOT STAY HERE
Submitted: December 20, 2012
Stayed: November 2012
While proximity and price of the apartment were great, I would not recommend anyone to stay at this place. There were many small things wrong about this apartment that really added up. Additionally, we felt the the owner just really didn't care about the patrons who stayed there. The garbage was halfway full when we arrived, there were no paper towels or napkins, no extra TP, no beach towels or mats, there was only one key to the apartment and the keypad on the front door was not operational.
Most notably was the issue and hassle to receive the full return of our security deposit. We were extremely respectful tenants, and cleaned up after ourselves before we left and even donated our purchased beach towels for the next tenants. Yet, when we checked out an hour past the 10:30a checkout time (we had simply skipped over the very early checkout time in the rental agreement) the landlord decided to withhold part of our security deposit (which is for damages, and there's no mention of late fees anywhere in the agreement.) Weeks later and and a lengthy email thread later, we still have not received a refund. The landlord has done an awful job at communicating and responding, let alone understanding where we are coming from. If I had known what I was about to deal with, I would not have stayed here. period.
There are lots of nice places in Waikiki, do not deal with the hassle of this place. Stay away!!!
Owner's Response: I don't leave paper towels in the condo. I do leave 1 roll of TP on the holder and one on the cabinet for each bathroom. I usually leave 2 beach towels in the condo. I am not sure why they were not found. I did receive a call from these guests because they could not find the second key and I told them it was in the kitchen cabinet and they did find it in there when I was on the phone with them.
I returned $350 of the $400 security deposit back when it was due. These guests checked out at noon and I guess they had not read the check out time was 1030am. The cleaning company charged me an extra $50 which was taken out of the security deposit. The last email that I sent to them said "If you really want the late check out fee refunded to you, I can refund it to you." Unfortunately, I have not had an email from them since this. ..
Helpful votes: 7/7
Did you find this review helpful?