WHISPERING GRASS LAKE HOUSE ON THE GREAT SACANDAGA LAKE

Crystal or Rick

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn more

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

WHISPERING GRASS LAKE HOUSE ON THE GREAT SACANDAGA LAKE

Mayfield House Rental Photos and Description

Modern Lake Home-Lake Access, Lake Views, Dock, Deck, Beautiful Yard, Camp Fire

Whispering Grass Sacandaga Lake House.

Email for a quote and availability. We have other vacation homes available as well that are nearby in this lake community. Our calendar may show as available because we don’t want to miss your inquiry! If this home is booked for your requested dates, we will propose another comfortable and clean similar vacation lake home to you in the same Great Sacandaga Lake area! Email is best for inquiries or try the 'book it now' feature. We always respond quickly and provide links for you to easily view our homes. We look forward to hearing from you!

There’s a lot to love here in our completely furnished modern lake house with 2 queen beds, one in each bedroom, twin bed in the loft, a daybed on the enclosed front porch, full bed in the partially finished garage. There's a Family Room with comfortable couch and the Wii, a sitting / dining room with lake views and a slider to the deck with views of the bay/water.

Two full baths, one offers a comfortable warm soaking tub, the other a steam shower with body jets. The Living Room has a slider to the side deck with views of the lake. There’s a Family Room with surround sound for movies, a Kitchen with stainless steel appliances and Adirondack décor.

If visiting in the winter for snowmobiling, we have Adirondack trails all around us and direct access onto the lake. There's a warm cozy gas fireplace in the sitting room / dining room.

There’s a washer and dryer, Outdoor grill, dock to swim off (docking rent applied if you need dock space for a motor boat), fireplace in the yard and by the lake. 30 minutes from Saratoga Rack Track.

The spring delivers beautiful months of flora. The air is warm and the lake is ready for boat rides. In June, the lake activities begin! The July fireworks on the lake are very impressive. Lake activities are in full swing in July, August, & September. You can enjoy swimming, motor boating, kayaking, canoeing, water skiing, tubing, fishing, and sunning. Take a day trip to the Saratoga Race Track to watch the horse races or other nearby hiking trails or Adirondack lakes (Lake George. Etc…). Our lake is has a nice sandy bottom and is not crowded with commercial activity. It is very peaceful and life is good at the lake!

Reserve a Spring/Summer Sunny Lake Vacation get away, a Fall Escape or a Cozy Snowy get away now! Perfect southern adirondack lake with a nice sandy bottom! This location is also perfect for leaf lovers and snowmobiling/skiing. Guests that are interested in more than one summer week are suggested to book by January. They fill up quickly and it becomes hard to get two or more weeks together if you are looking for the extended get away!

The Great Sacandaga Lake is 29 miles long with 125 miles of shoreline, located a short 45 minutes northwest of Albany on the southeastern edge of Adirondack State Park. It is a full use, clean, sandy bottom lake in a rural, unspoiled setting. The house is 25 minutes drive from the New York State Thruway/I90 exit 27, and a 25 minute drive from Saratoga. Located on the southwest part of the lake in Mayfield Bay.

If Boating, Canoeing, Kayaking, Fishing, Snowmobiling, Hiking, Biking, Skiing, Golfing, Swimming or Relaxing by an Adirondack Campfire is something you enjoy, then this is the home for you.

Additional guest fees and holiday rate may apply. Email for a quote.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome

Crystal or Rick

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn more

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 5 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Whispering Grass Lake House on The Great Sacandaga Lake
average rating of 4.6 based on 5 reviews
business
Whispering Grass Lake House on The Great Sacandaga Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438335vb
518-421-5028
Mayfield Great Sacandaga Lake
Germantown, New York
5

WONDERFUL HOUSE, GREAT LOCATION

  • 5 of 5
We have stayed here in both Winter and summer and the house is lovely, even better than described with tons of amenities. The property is great for family and pets. Right near the trails in the winter and great lake access with dock in the summer. The public launch is right nearby and the fees are very reasonable. If you do not have a boat there is a great rental place about half an hour away. There is shopping and dining nearby. Love this place and can not wait to go back!
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Whispering Grass Lake House on The Great Sacandaga Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438335vb
518-421-5028
Mayfield Great Sacandaga Lake
Wellsboro, PA
3

NICE HOUSE BUT NOT WORTH THE HASSLE I WAS GIVEN

  • 3 of 5
This is a very nice house to stay in. Clean and comfortable, but you better make sure everything is EXACTLY where you found it, because the owner won't ask you if you know where it is, will simply tell you she is charging your credit card. She accused us of taking a set of full size sheets and told us she was charging us $70!!!!! We hadn't even used the sheets they had simply been put in a drawer but she never bothered to ask. I contacted her two times but she would not respond. She did not charge me the $70 but I was extremely put off by her unprofessional approach in this matter. A simple apology goes a long way. We also went above and beyond what was called for by washing, drying and putting the sheets we had used back but apparently that didn't make a difference in her opinion of us. The house is very nice and clean, the electronics were a pain in the butt to get to work and we had to read the instructions every time. The First half of the dock sank 2 days into our trip and you were up to your thighs in water to get to the other half of the dock. The neighbors dock was not tethered at the end and hit into our boat multiple times scratching it. Nice location and clean house but be extremely cautious if you use anything that is theirs and if she falsely accuses you of something don't expect an apology or even any reply at all. We had spot cleaned the couch with my own cleaner that I brought and she even complained about leaving a damp spot. Well at least it was clean when it dried. Apparently there is no pleasing this owner. I would say stay at your own risk and we are certainly never renting off of this owner again.
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate feedback & take it constructively. This stay included 2 families, 4 adults w/6 kids. This is a review from one Mom. The other Mom handled the missing sheet matter with me right away. I never heard from her friend who wrote this review even though I included both on the email. It was nice to hear her say how nice the home was, however any displeasure that she noted after the stay was simply due to miscommunication via email. We emailed to notify them of the missing sheets and that a fee would need to be charged, totaling $69 (sheets & card processing fee). I also noted that we dried the wet spot on the couch w/out penalty & that they wouldn’t be penalized for moving the grill to the deck, 1.5 ft from siding. Additionally, I thanked them for taking good care of the home.” We did search for the sheets while cleaning before the next arrival but ran out of search time. When the one Mom emailed me back right away indicating that she thought the sheets were in the dresser. I thanked her right away & told her that I would be able to check the following Sat. I did just that & confirmed that I found them. Regarding the dock, the lake levels fluctuate. Our dock is secured by poles & there’s a platform leading to dock, which rests on land. There’s no way possible for the dock to be under water as it is held afloat by barrels. We did receive notice by a friend that a neighboring dock became unsecured. We notified the regulating district & it was secured the next day. I would never ever be unprofessional. We are very proud of our homes & businesses. We want each guest to be so impressed w/the home & so happy w/the experience that they can’t wait to return. We strive to go above & beyond & find it unfortunate that this guest decided to make such comments. As a matter of fact, this is a list of items that we went beyond w/for them:
-We allowed an early check in on holiday wk.
-We processed 2 cards to split their payment btwn 2 families. More administrative work & fee to us.
-We didn't charge to dry the couch. We do appreciate them cleaning the sticky spot though. We had to ensure that the next guests didn't have a wet couch & pillow (placed over wet spot)
-We didn't charge a penalty for moving the grill to the deck, 1.5 ft from the home, which could have caused the siding to ripple.
-We allowed them to have more than the max. # of overnight guests.
We love sharing our homes & know our guests will appreciate how well we care for them!
business
Whispering Grass Lake House on The Great Sacandaga Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438335vb
518-421-5028
Mayfield Great Sacandaga Lake
Harding, PA
5

EXCELLENT PET FRIENDLY RENTAL !!

  • 5 of 5
The two of us and our two dogs were delighted when we arrived to find such an excellent vacation rental! Very dog friendly ~ a doggie door, doggie food bowls, an extra leash and a very large dog crate.

The WiFi, flat screen TV's and other electronics worked well. A large enclosed porch welcomed us as we walked in, followed by a living/dining area with a seperate family room, a large kitchen and a very large downstairs bathroom.

Would suggest this rental to family, friends, pet lovers and anyone who enjoys boating, fishing, and/or likes hiking the adirondacks.
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Whispering Grass Lake House on The Great Sacandaga Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438335vb
518-421-5028
Mayfield Great Sacandaga Lake
Harding, PA
5

EXCELLENT PET FRIENDLY RENTAL !!

  • 5 of 5
The two of us and are two dogs were delighted when we arrived to find such an excellent vacation rental! Very dog friendly ~ a doggie door, doggie food bowls, an extra leash and a very large dog crate.

The WiFi, flat screen TV's and other electronics worked well. A large enclosed porch welcomed us as we walked in, followed by a living/dining area with a seperate family room, a large kitchen and a very large downstairs bathroom.

Would suggest this rental to family, friends, pet lovers and anyone who enjoys boating, fishing, and/or likes hiking the adirondacks.
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Whispering Grass Lake House on The Great Sacandaga Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438335vb
518-421-5028
Mayfield Great Sacandaga Lake
Tampa, FL
5

FUN HOLIDAY VACATION SPOT

  • 5 of 5
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Sacandaga Lake home. The weather and location were perfect for enjoying two closeby ski resorts and the house was even nicer than the photos. The house was clean, comfortable, very roomy and had all the ammenities of home including a very nice media room for games and movies.
I would highly recommend this rental.
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Albany
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Amsterdam
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
I90
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Mayfield Town Beach
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Mayfield Grill, Pour Jims, Lanzis on the Lake
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Royal Mountain, Oak, Gore
Nearest Golf
Northville
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Lanzis on the Lake
Car: recommended

The Great Sacandaga Lake and surrounding areas offer much to do. If Boating, Canoeing, Kayaking, Fishing, Snowmobiling, Hiking, Biking, Skiing, Golfing, Swimming or Relaxing by an Adirondack Campfire is something you enjoy, then this is the home for you. Enjoy the quaint villages of Northville and Mayfield for shopping. Animal Land is a place to bring the family to see all sorts of wildlife. There are scenic views, mountains to climb, a lake to enjoy all seasons and restaurants and bars all around. Visit our website to plan your stay. Boat Rentals at area Marinas can be found on the website.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Mayfield House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
May 24 2014 - Sep 13 2014
7 night minimum stay
$225
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

1 extra guest over 4 $25.00
1 extra guest over 4 $25.00
Pet Fee $50.00
1 extra guest over 4 $25.00
Cleaning $75.00
1 extra guest over 4 $25.00
Notes Major Credit Card Required as Security for Rental. Checks are accepted. $50 return check fee applies for insufficient funds.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Mayfield House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Garage ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Internet ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Living Room
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Partially Finished Garage - 1 double , Full Size in Garage for use in warmer months only
    Enclosed Front Porch - 2 twin/ single , Trundle Day Bed
    Loft Bedroom - 1 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds- one in each bedroom (one on 1st floor and one on 2nd floor), Twin Bed in loft area, Full size bed in garage for use in warmer months only and 2 twins on enclosed porch, for use in warmer months only; Couches in FR are comfortable to sleep on and recline into laying area
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • Video Games
  • Games
  • Toys
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Video Library
  • Video Game Console ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

  • 3 BR,
  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$300 per night
3 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 9