Speaks english
Bedrooms 6
Property type barn
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner


Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


Haycock Township Barn Rental Photos and Description

Awesome Barn On A 10 Acre Horse Farm With 6 Bedrooms With Views Of The Pastures

An awesome converted barn on a 10 acre horse farm , gourmet kitchen, game room, large living room w/wood burning stove, library, large dining room, with 5 bedrooms ( and a loft area) all with private baths and entrances to decks or patios, TV'S, and AC that will sleep 18 people. Beautiful gardens and a swimming pool, with views of the horses in the pastures. The five bedrooms and loft area sleep eighteen people. Our barn is handicapped accessible with a handicapped accessible room.

  • wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • pets considered


This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english

I have owned this property for 28 years and converted the barn for a Bed & Breakfast which I have operated for 13 years. It has been very popular and has enjoyed a good reputation as well run and a unique property for a weekend stays. But now is the time for me to retire from the daily work of a B & B and this outstanding historic barn is being offered for rent as a vacation rental to families and friends.

sa purchased this barn in 1984

We bought this property because of the historic significance of the barn and being located in the heart of Bucks County, PA. where we could stable our horses and enjoy a country life and take in all the activities of the area.

The setting of this property is beautiful and in addition to the barn it has a very nice stable for our horses and an 1800 stone farmhouse, all on the same property. Staying here gives one the feeling of a true farm with its outbuildings and pastures.

Bedrooms 6
Property type barn
Minimum Stay nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
6 Bedroom Converted Barn On Horse Farm Near New Hope
average rating of 4.4 based on 10 reviews
6 Bedroom Converted Barn On Horse Farm Near New Hope
Haycock Township Bucks County
Vienna, VA, USA


  • 5 of 5
This six bedroom converted barn house is just perfect for a large group. Highly recommend.

We were a group of six families, each family with 1-2 kids ranging from 3 yo to 7 yo. The whole trip started with emailing back and forth and Jackie, the owner, was very prompt and helpful on her responses. Few days before the trip, I got a call from Jackie asking if we could check in slightly later than our earlier committed time. Unfortunately we couldn't readjust our check-in time, but fortunately for us, Jackie was gracious and readjusted her schedule to keep the committed schedule.

The rooms are good size. There are six rooms, four in the top floor and two in the lower level. The lower two rooms are actually really 1.5 rooms as the second room is small and doesn't have its own bathroom etc; it does have two twin beds. Bathroom downstair is huge. The rooms over all were very well kept and gave the homely feeling. The best part is the long balcony accessible from each four rooms on top floor. Lower level has few more rooms and one of them was being rented by somebody else. While we didn't know there will be somebody else staying, we didn't mind the company at all as it almost felt like there was nobody there.

It was May but Jackie still opened the swimming pool for us. Kids enjoyed the pool while we lounged on chairs. Another huge plus is the living room with tall ceilings and extra play rooms up top (almost like attic but bigger). So it actually has more than 5.5 (or 6) rooms, one more person can actually sleep in the attic room. The best part could potentially be kitchen and dining area. The owners used to run B&B so there is restaurant like tables/chairs in dining area. The smaller dining area next to kitchen actually accommodated our whole group.

The land behind the house has tall grasses so you really cannot play/run there, but we didn't mind it much. The owner wasn't around during our stay but the care taker (also named Jackie) was there to help us with anything we need, just a phone call away. She recommended we go to the local kids part; there also is Sesame Street place within 45 minutes of driving.

All in all, a great pleasant time. Totally recommended.
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
6 Bedroom Converted Barn On Horse Farm Near New Hope
Haycock Township Bucks County


  • 3 of 5
I rented the barn for a reunion with classmates and our family. I had stayed here when the property was a guesthouse years ago and had good memories. We rented this property because it could accommodate our large group (12 adults + 5 kids). The essentials are there, good bedding, A/C, well-equipped kitchen, an extra bed in most rooms, clean. The pool is small but does the job. However, what detracted from our summer vacation in the countryside...the owner's manner is gruff, not welcoming. We were scolded for arriving too early, reminded repeatedly of what not to do, what time we had to leave. As the person representing the group, I actually found it stressful to know she was around. There is no outdoor set-up...no yard to run around, no table to eat outside. We asked about a barbecue and were told there was no room to put one. She had two at her own house. We cooked and ate inside the whole time. There are no basic pantry items apart salt and pepper. I rent a houseboat and own a guesthouse and our constant worry is the happiness of our guests. I cannot say we felt that way here.
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always look forward to our guests arriving but when guests arrive early (5 hours in this case) it can cause many problems, the main one is that we are not done cleaning the accomodations. This guest was informed that we had people checking out at 11 AM and she would have to wait until 5 PM to check in. SHE ARRIVED AT 12 NOON! We had to tell her that we could not check her in as we had just started cleaning. It takes a good 6-7 hours to clean for arriving guests.(the space is 5,000 suare feet) As this guest said "everything was clean with good bedding and a full kitchen'. That is what we want to provide and we need the time to do it. They also had a dog that was left loose and running all over the property , up on my private porch, etc. and they were asked to keep the dog on a leash. As to the grills, we do not provide them as the only place to grill would be on the decks and they are wooden. The township does not allow fires on the wood decks. It is not something we can provide. What is at my house is used by the household only and not for public use. No outdoor table? There is one on the patio off Rooms 5 & 6 and there are seven tables with umbrellas on the large patio by the studio building. Many other guests have used them for dinners. Sometimes when there are five children we need to give some directions so that we have gates shut at the pool (a Sate law) , etc. We are sorry that this guest was not as happy as the previous time but the circumstances were different as this was an entire family and friends instead of just one couple. She enjoyed herself prviously and was well aware of the pool, the yards, etc. We want all our guests to have a good time and enjoy themselves and we will do everything to make it fun and safe.

Following is the email to Cathy and her response to it regarding the check in time:
On Jul 5, 2013, at 9:56 AM, Cathy wrote:

Thanks, Jackie. I've received your email. I'll let you know if I have any more questions.


On Jul 5, 2013, at 3:42 AM, Jackie wrote:

Hello: We want to let you know that we will not be able to check you in until 5-6 PM as we have someone checking out at 11 AM and we need to get the barn cleaned and ready for you and it takes a good six hours. I hope you understand. Please email us back so we know you received this message(there are many things to do in Bucks County to keep you busy until 6PM. ) Regards, Jackie
6 Bedroom Converted Barn On Horse Farm Near New Hope
Haycock Township Bucks County
Naples, FL


  • 5 of 5
Our family of nine (grandparents, children & grandchildren) rented Stone Ridge Farm for a week in July 2013. The Web pictures are accurate, but it’s far more awesome in real life. The renovation of the 1818 dairy barn is truly impressive. The spaces were comfortable, especially the library loft and the game loft for the teenagers. The owner, Jackie Walker, lives in an adjacent farmhouse and has an office in the barn. She alerted us when she needed to come into the office while we were there. She chatted with us almost every day, sometimes as she worked in her beautiful gardens.

Included in our rental were four en suite bedrooms on the same level as the kitchen and two downstairs bedrooms with a shared bath. The downstairs bedrooms worked out well for the girls because they could share the bathroom, although one girl had to walk through the other bedroom to get to it. We found there were other guests we did not know in rental rooms downstairs with an unlocked door into our lower level. We also found an outside door on the lower level that was often unlocked. If our girls were younger, we would have been uneasy with their being isolated in the downstairs bedrooms. Shampoo and hair dryers were provided, but not hand soap.

We found the kitchen extremely well equipped with modern appliances and more than enough dishes, etc. Salt, pepper, and sugar were supplied but not spices. We used the large table in the kitchen area that could easily seat 10 for a meal.

We want to add something about the booking of Stone Ridge Farm. One afternoon in early February we inquired about the rental via email on VRBO. Later that same day Jackie called us *twice* to make the arrangements – from Mexico! After that all communication was handled precisely via email. Since Jackie no longer accepts credit cards, we mailed personal checks for our deposit and balance to her bank, following her emailed instructions. Our security deposit was returned within one week. We were pleased with how clearly and efficiently these transactions were handled.

We had lived in Bucks County for many years and raised our children there, so we have family and life-long friends in the area. Although the Web site prohibits guests, Jackie graciously permitted us to have day guests. That made our stay even more special and created enduring memories. This is a winning rental for family reunions like ours and we highly recommend Stone Ridge Farm.
  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
6 Bedroom Converted Barn On Horse Farm Near New Hope
Haycock Township Bucks County


  • 5 of 5
The website is absolutely accurate; this place is a charming, well-appointed and comfy retreat...not a single unwelcome surprise. All 10 of our family from across the country agreed it was a fabulous place to gather. And the foodies among us appreciated the well-supplied kitchen which afforded us the luxury of preparing gourmet meals every night. Days were spent exploring quaint villages like Frenchtown, tubing down the Delaware, roaming the Pearl Buck estate nearby, or whiling away the afternoon by the pool watching the horses and sheep graze. The setting is idyllic, and the house lovely and welcoming. I can't imagine a more perfect spot for a family reunion. How often does something turn out just the way you hoped? This did!
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for all the nice comments. It is greatly appreciated. We work hard to make the barn a great get-a-way for families and friends. This family came from far distances and it was wonderful to see them have such a good time. We would love to have them come back again as they were delightful people and so much fun! Jackie Walker
6 Bedroom Converted Barn On Horse Farm Near New Hope
Haycock Township Bucks County
New York, NY


  • 5 of 5
Stone Ridge Farm completely surpassed even my highest hopes. I rented the barn for a leadership retreat for myself and my teammates. There were 13 of us, and we were pleasantly surprised to find that we had ample space for working and hanging out -- we could have fit several more people, actually. The converted barn is absolutely gorgeous and so inviting. We cooked every meal in the large, open kitchen. There's a little farm shop just up the road where you can buy fresh milk, ice cream, and eggs. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable, and it was nice to have en suite bathrooms. I can't even think of one thing I would change about this house or this trip -- it was perfect! I wish we could have stayed for an entire week. I definitely hope to bring this group and other groups from our company to Stone Ridge again in the future.
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words. We greatly appreciate it. It is our goal to have guests have a wonderful time and want to come back. We will look forward to having you again and will do everything possible to ensure that you and your group have a wonderful time again!
6 Bedroom Converted Barn On Horse Farm Near New Hope
Haycock Township Bucks County


  • 1 of 5
My online reviews are generally quite positive so it is with great remorse that I have to post such a negative review. I have rented many houses from VRBO and other online house rental companies and never before have I been treated so poorly. I should have followed VRBO's guidelines about getting a contract (in this case one that specifies what is covered by cleaning fee) and renting from people who accept credit cards.

When we shut the door after renting this facility for the weekend, I was satisfied with the rental but subsequent dealings with the owner and (indirectly) her onsite assistant completely ruined the experience. Be aware that even though the VRBO ad says the proprietor accepts credit cards, she does not. You have to make a direct deposit to her bank account. That was the first warning flag. Second, there was no written contract. Another flag. Third, the first of our party to arrive were met by an unwelcoming and unhelpful onsite assistant who verbally conveyed instructions that conflicted with what was written down in the Owner's manual for the house concerning cleaning and conflicted with what the owner later communicated by email. The coffee machine had not been cleaned and the grounds had been in the machine growing mold for 2 months and was clogged. The owner subsequently told me that it couldn't have been clogged because she had left grounds in it before.

I was happy to pay for cleaning in the belief that we could just leave the house neat and tidy. After we left, the onsite assistant claims we left crumbs on the counters and floor and we had excessive trash. They never gave us the information about where to dump the trash so what were we supposed to do with 15 people's trash for a family reunion? Crumbs on the counters and floors? Apparently they do not believe that their cleaning fee covers cleaning the kitchen or vacuuming the floors. What DOES it cover? So we were charged a large amount extra for basically leaving crumbs, which I find outrageous.

Then we were accused of breaking a lamp simply because it was on a counter rather than its original position. We did not break the lamp and had only moved it to see better. They charged us another outrageous amount for a lamp we didn't break (and which undoubtedly was worth far less than what they charged us).

When I objected, the owner (who was never on site) accused me of not being able to follow instructions. My worst VRBO rental experience ever.
  • Submitted: May 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First: This woman received an acknowledgement of her reservation with the rates, her deposit, her final payment, and the policies of the rental. Everything was spelled out. We informed her that we no longer take charge cards. She did not have to book, but decided to do so.
She was not there at check in and not there at check out. So, she has no idea what was told to her contact person and she has no idea how her family left the rental. She probably doesn't even realize that they broke a lamp(it was so damaged it could not be fixed).
The kitchen was left dirty. The coffee bar was left dirty. There were dirty dishes and pots. The sink was left dirty. The were messes left throughout the common areas. The cleaning fee is to clean the premises for the guests so when they arrive it is spotless. We clean it, we do not clean up after guests. It is their responsiblity to leave it as they found it. It was explained to her contact person how to leave the kitchen and the common rooms when they departed. It was also spelled out in the acknowledgement/invoice. I would advise prospective renters to read all the other reviews that rate us five stars and keep in mind this was the only family we have had that left the house in such poor condition and broke a very nice lamp. She was charged for it and now she is mad about it. We did everything to make her family's stay pleasant and we are sorry her family left a mess and broke something. We always want guests to have an enjoyable stay and we do everything possible to insure this. We upheld our responsiblities in this case , unfortunately these guests did not abide by our policies as our other guests have done. So, please read all the other five star reviews to make your decision.This is a wonderful awesome property and you, and your family and friends will have a very enjoyable time here. Regards, Jackie Walker, owner


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Philadelphia, PA
Nearest Train
7 Miles
Doylestown, PA
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Route 313
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Blue Mountain Ski Area
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Doylestown Country Club
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Car: necessary

Located on a 10 acre horse farm, the historic converted 1818 barn was once the dairy farm of author Pearl S. Buck., whose estate is just around the corner. Close to Doylestown with its four museums,Peddler's Village with over 100 fine shops, Lake Galena/ Peace Valley Park and Nockamixon State Park , both with water activities, hiking trails. It is just a short drive to the Delaware River, New Hope & Lambertville, with their fine restaurants, shops, galleries and county theater.

We do not rent for weddings or any other event of any size. The accommodations are for eighteen guests, including the children. No other guests or friends of the renters will be allowed on the property at anytime. There is a caretaker living on the property.


Availability & Rates


Haycock Township Barn Rental Rates


  • $769 PER NIGHT


Haycock Township Barn Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • barn
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Kitchen
  • Cooking Utensils
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Queen size Beds (1) Queen beds are in all the rooms, Twin or Single Beds (1) Rooms #1, #2, #3 have twin beds in additon to the queen beds
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Other Vacation Properties

$1,300 - $1,500 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 15
$350 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 14
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6