Jean Chappell

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Jean Chappell

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

BLUE DOLPHIN

Manasota Key House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 4)

Enjoy breathtaking views of the Gulf of Mexico from this 2Bed/1Bath beach front duplex unit located on beautiful Manasota Key. Fully equipped with updated bathroom, screened lanai, washer/dryer & cable TV. Beautiful wide, sandy beach excellent for shell & shark tooth collecting. Close to island shopping and restaurants.

There's something for everyone here. Sit back and relax in the sun or on the screened lanai listening to the gentle waves or reading the latest book. Hunt for beautiful shells or sharks' teeth. Fish in the surf for your dinner. Rent a kayak, jet-ski, boat, or even a bicycle for touring the island. We hope you'll enjoy our place as much as we do.

Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only

Jean Chappell

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

Blue Dolphin
average rating of 4.0 based on 1 reviews
business
Blue Dolphin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436969vb
941-475-1036
Manasota Key Florida South Central Gulf Coast
4

Great location, sleepy little beach town.

  • 4 of 5
We booked this based on the pictures alone, there were no previous reviews, which was scary. The thing that hooked us was that it was not a high rise- just a normal house on the beach, so we thought it would be much less crowded.

First off, it is that close to the beach! It is a very spacious property, bigger than we needed it seemed. It is easy to access, plenty of parking, private, clean, and overall well-kept and quite charming. I felt safe and never locked the doors.

We found 100's of shark teeth and nice shells right in front of the place. The snorkeling, paddleboarding, fishing, swimming, etc. is first rate. We caught a bunch of large whiting and saw tons of snook and other fish in the water. The only real bummer was the weather when we were there- which the owners can't help of course! A HARD blow from the west made the water dirty and sloppy, but was perfect on the day we left. Rained only one day. Again, not their fault!

The home was well decorated and pretty much had everything we needed, except a blender- for Pina Coladas!

The cons are more picky than anything else. A TV in the master bedroom would have been nice. There is no internet, and an older DVD player plus TV. The TV only got 5 channels, two shopping channels and three Spanish! Ole! The ceiling fans were not balanced in either room, and had to be left on low or else they would have flown off the ceiling- they were not secured properly either- safety issue easily remedied. The worst part was that it was advertised to have a futon/pull-out couch. It does not. This greatly upset my 11 year old son, who had to 'couch it' for a week, and hurt his back. The daughter got the 2nd bedroom. Lastly, it is right on a public walkway to the beach, so there are people walking past the house at all hours, though none were loud or anything. There were a lot more people on the beach than I thought there would be- but at least it wasn't some 'picked over' high rise beachfront. Lots of shells and sharks teeth.

To do? Well, since the beach was turbulent and dirty (algae bloom) we rented boats and went to Stump Pass State Park. A must! Lots of good fishing, snorkeling, etc. Kids had a blast. Good bait shops in the area, lots of boat rentals.

Restaurants? Flounders was...not the greatest....and there were not that many places on the 'island', but lots inland. I was shocked that not a single restaurant had LOCAL fresh seafood- all imports or frozen.
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad to finally have a review for this beach front duplex. It is a nice place to relax with the family on the beach. And I'm glad that over all you had a nice time. I would like to say, however, that you did not stay on the advertised-side of the duplex because it was already reserved. The side where you stayed is not identical to the advertised-side, and you are correct -it did not have a sleeper-sofa (very sorry if you were lead to believe there was). Also the TV gets lots of stations; wish you had called the office to get that corrected while you were here. I hope you'll come back again for your next vacation.
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Sarasota, FL
Nearest Motorway
13 Miles
Interstate 75
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Stump Pass Beach
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Boca Royale Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Flounders
Car: necessary
Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Manasota Key House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
May 1 - Sept 6, 2014
May 1 2014 - Sep 6 2014
7 night minimum stay
$895
$2,900
 
 
Sept 7 - Dec 19, 2014
Sep 7 2014 - Dec 19 2014
7 night minimum stay
$825
$2,600
 
 
Dec 20 - April 30, 2015
Dec 20 2014 - Apr 30 2015
7 night minimum stay
$1,065
$3,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49
Departure Cleaning fee $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.0%
Notes 25% down-payment due at bookiing; 75% balance due at least 1 month prior to the scheduled arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Manasota Key House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Washing Machine
  • Linens Provided
  • Clothes Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • synagogues
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • surf fishing
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Fully equipped with updated bathroom, screened lanai, washer/dryer & cable TV. Beautiful wide, sandy beach excellent for shell & shark tooth collecting. Close to island shopping and restaurants.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 3
$745 - $795 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4