LARGE STUDIO APARTMENT - OCEAN VIEWS - VERY CLOSE TO WORLDS #8 BEACH

Chris and Donna

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Contact the Owner

Chris and Donna

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LARGE STUDIO APARTMENT - OCEAN VIEWS - VERY CLOSE TO WORLDS #8 BEACH

Bermuda Studio Rental Photos and Description

Fully contained studio apartment with full size kitchen and renovated bathroom

Beautiful newly renovated 650 square foot apartment with full size kitchen over looking the turquoise waters of south shore in Bermuda. Within 500 meters of Bermuda best beach for snorkeling, Church Bay, the apartment is literally across the road from the Reefs hotel, (restaurants, bars and amazing spa). On major bus routes (#7 bus stop at the end of the drive), moped rentals are available next door. There are 9 restaurants within walking distance as well as a golf course, bars and water sports (diving, kayaking, snorkeling etc). Rates are $180 from 29 March to 31 October 2014 ($170 for 14+ days), $145 for November 2014 and $130 from 29 November 2014 to 28 March 2015 ($120pn for 21+ days off season). There are no additional taxes or fees. 2nd detached bedroom to studio available w/ king bed, sitting area, bathroom, laundry and private patio. 2nd bedroom is available for rent as a 2nd bedroom to the studio only and has a fridge and coffee maker but no kitchen facilities and is available at $135 pn in season or $105 from 29 Nov to 28 March 2015.

More Details
Suitability:
  • not suitable for children
  • limited accessibility
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome

Chris and Donna

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We are a husband and wife who were both involved in the hotel industry in Bermuda for over 20 years. We want you to be our guests and get to know the island we love so much.

Chris and Donna purchased this studio in 2011

We bought Rock Sound in 2011 after looking at dozens of homes. As soon as we saw Rock Sound we fell in love with it as it is in a wonderful neighbourhood with amazing views and lots to do nearby. We believe as soon as you see it you will also fall in love.

Rock Sound is literally across the road from the famous Reefs Hotel with its restaurants, bars, beach and spa. Within a mile is the Fairmont Southampton hotel with numerous restaurants, beach, bars, watersports, tennis and golf. But what really makes this a special place to stay is the proximity of beaches, restaurants, Gibbs Hill lighthouse and public transportation. You could not find a place to stay with all of this without paying hotel resort costs!

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 25 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
average rating of 4.92 based on 25 reviews
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
United Kingdom
5

VACATION

  • 5 of 5
lovely studio accommodation beautiful views. Would recommend. Owners very very nice people.
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
St. Louis, MO
5

WONDERFUL RENTAL, PEACEFUL, QUIET, RELAXING

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I loved our vacation to Bermuda. We couldn't have asked for a better location, the apartment was nice and had everything we needed. Chris and Donna are also very pleasant and were so helpful. The location is wonderful, in walking distance to Church Bay. The Reefs resort down the short driveway was also nice to have close by restaurants. We would like to return to Bermuda in the near future and will seek out Rock Sound again when we do!
  • Submitted: May 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
3

THE GOOD AND BAD...

  • 3 of 5
First the good: The location is right across the street from the Reefs, within walking distance to Church Bay, which was really nice and quiet! The apartment is quiet and sitting by the pool is also nice as there are no other tourists in the area. It was a nice asset to have a washer and dryer available since nothing seemed to dry in Bermuda... The scooter rental place is right near the apartment (if you're comfortable on those things...) Bus stop is also right there. We were there in the off season, so I assume the buses would run more often during the high season. It is about 30 minutes into Hamilton or switching buses to get further out east, so you need to plan accordingly to get around.

The bad: Unfortunately we had to work a bit and use the internet access. It was not working inside the apartment. It did work fine if you went out on patio. The owner was made aware of this and offered for us to work in extra room to use the internet. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great while we were there and it was a pain to go out in the rain to get to the other internet access area. We liked having a kitchen available to cook some of our meals. I just wish there were more utensils, maybe measuring cups, and a pitcher for making iced tea. There also was a bit of an ant problem in the apartment. I never left any food out since a friend warned me of the ants... but we did find them amongst are clothes in the suitcase on occasion during the trip.
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Hi Dee:

We are so sorry to learn from the review that you were not completely happy with your stay - our goal is 100% guest satisfaction, so this is of course very disappointing. The weather was appalling with wind and rain, so we did feel badly for you. We tried to assist by giving you free bus passes for the week and offering to drive your husband to work, but we know that you had hoped to do outdoor activities that we had looked into like paddle boarding.

We do try to make ourselves completely accessible to our guests by providing our cell numbers and asking to let us know if you need anything. We would have been happy to have provided you with measuring cups and a pitcher and have now put those in the apartment.

We have not had guests advise us that there are ants and we have not seen any, but again, would have been happy to provide Pest Control if we had known there was a problem.

The internet in the apartment is 8 mb, which is a high standard of service for homes in Bermuda. We installed the 2nd system to compliment that, but understand the Net Gear did not work well. As we knew you wanted to do some work, we also provided the 2nd apartment to you to use throughout your stay since the internet connection is better there.

We are glad that you enjoyed the pool, laundry facilities, location and quiet of the apartment, and we hope that the weather will be better if you have the opportunity to travel to Bermuda in the future.

Regards
Donna and Chris
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
5

LOCATION,LOCATION,LOCATION!

  • 5 of 5
Just returned from the trip of a lifetime...We have travelled extensively in the Caribbean, but now have a new #1 destination....Bermuda!....Our accommodations were excellent, actually exceeding what we expected from the pics,....so, so close to fabulous restaurants, wonderful beaches(the best in the world)and transportation. The south road in Southampton is the central hub for all adventure seekers & enables very short trips to all parts of the island...We spent many a late day enjoying a drink by the pool & admiring the grounds of Rock Sound! This apartment itself is well equipped with everything one needs for a beach holiday & if help is needed Chris & Donna answer their cells immediately. The island is beautiful...no words can express the beauty of waking up each morning with the view of tropical waters & gorgeous vegetation.....We were able to accomplish so much in our 10 day visit.....which for us is amazing as we are beach goers. Thank you Chris & Donna for sharing your home & your island.
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
Durham NC
5

LOVELY, RESTFUL VISIT

  • 5 of 5
We loved our stay at Rock Sound while in Bermuda. Chris and Donna were gracious, helpful and welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed including a new blender for the apartment so we could make fruit smoothies. Being met at the airport by taxi driver, Roslyn, was so easy and helpful. The bus stop was at the bottom of the driveway and the scooter rental shop right next door. What a great place!
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
5

RELAXING!

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I just spent 5 nights at Donna and Chris' beautiful getaway. I echo the last review. The weather was dynamic with lots of wind and great surf on the beaches. Best of all, it was about 21, not MINUS 21 like it was back in Ontario!
Donna and Chris are friendly and accommodating and had everything arranged as requested. They were there if we needed anything. There are great restaurants within walking distance. At night, it is dark and quiet! What a great place to go to get away from the city lights and noise.
The pool was a great place for a morning "wake up" dip and coffee. The warm morning sun comes up on the pool deck. Good place to sit and plan the day. Thanks, Donna and Chris. We'll be back!
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Henry VIII Restaurant
The Reefs
Church Bay
Horseshoe Bay
The Dining Room
"Located at Gibbs Hill Lighthouse. Excellent food (best pizza in Bermuda) and service at a re..."
Warwick Long Bay
Coconuts
"Great "tree house" style restaurant at the Reefs Hotel open air with thatched roof over look..."
Nearest Airport
16 Miles
LF Wade International
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles
Church Bay
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
The Reefs Hotel and Henry VIII Pub
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Fairmont Southampton
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Coconuts and Ocean Echo at the Reefs
Car: not necessary

The apartment is located on the South Shore Road over looking the ocean. Major bus route (#7 bus stop at the end of the driveway). Two resort hotels within walking distance with 2 spas, golf, 9 restaurants, water sports, etc. Moped rental available within 100 meters at The Reefs. Church Bay beach 500 meters away, Horseshoe Bay beach 1 mile away. A second detached large bedroom/sitting room/bathroom is also available with a private entrance/porch and can be rented as a second bedroom to the studio.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Bermuda Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
1 to 29 November 2014
Nov 1 2014 - Nov 29 2014
4 night minimum stay
$145
 
 
29 Nov 2014 to 28 March 2015
Nov 30 2014 - Mar 28 2015
4 night minimum stay
$130
$910
$3,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$180
$1,260
$5,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

A 50% deposit is due when booked. If cancelled 30+ days before arrival, the deposit is refundable less $150. If cancelled within 30 days before arrival, the deposit is not refundable.
Notes Min 5 nts. Maid service on check in & then once a week.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Bermuda Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Adventure
General:
  • Iron & Board
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Internet ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Telephone ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Freezer ...
  • Stove ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Toaster
  • Kitchen ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Refrigerator ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Studio bathroom
  • Newly renovated including plumbing, shower enclosure, tiling, sink, toilet, lighting, etc. 2nd bedroom has bathroom with shower and a laundry room.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Studio queen size Bed (1), 2nd bedroom has king bed and a separate detached entrance to the studio. 2nd bedroom sold only as 2nd bedroom with the studio and is not available in August 2014.
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • DVD Player
  • Video Library ...
  • Games ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • not suitable for children
  • limited accessibility
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • jet skiing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • snorkeling
  • golf privileges optional
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
A bottle of wine on arrival
Email Owner Email