LARGE STUDIO APARTMENT - OCEAN VIEWS - VERY CLOSE TO WORLDS #8 BEACH

Chris and Donna

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Contact the Owner

Chris and Donna

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LARGE STUDIO APARTMENT - OCEAN VIEWS - VERY CLOSE TO WORLDS #8 BEACH

Bermuda Studio Rental Photos and Description

Fully contained studio apartment with full size kitchen and renovated bathroom

Beautiful newly renovated 650 square foot apartment with full size kitchen over looking the turquoise waters of south shore in Bermuda. Within 500 meters of Bermuda best beach for snorkeling, Church Bay, the apartment is literally across the road from the Reefs hotel, (restaurants, bars and amazing spa). On major bus routes (#7 bus stop at the end of the drive), moped rentals are available next door. There are 9 restaurants within walking distance as well as a golf course, bars and water sports (diving, kayaking, snorkeling etc). Rates are $180 from 29 March to 31 October 2014 ($170 for 14+ days), $145 for November 2014 and $130 from 29 November 2014 to 28 March 2015 ($120pn for 21+ days off season). There are no additional taxes or fees. 2nd detached bedroom to studio available w/ king bed, sitting area, bathroom, laundry and private patio. 2nd bedroom is available for rent as a 2nd bedroom to the studio only and has a fridge and coffee maker but no kitchen facilities and is available at $135 pn in season or $105 from 29 Nov to 28 March 2015.

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • not suitable for children
  • limited accessibility

Chris and Donna

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We are a husband and wife who were both involved in the hotel industry in Bermuda for over 20 years. We want you to be our guests and get to know the island we love so much.

Chris and Donna purchased this studio in 2011

We bought Rock Sound in 2011 after looking at dozens of homes. As soon as we saw Rock Sound we fell in love with it as it is in a wonderful neighbourhood with amazing views and lots to do nearby. We believe as soon as you see it you will also fall in love.

Rock Sound is literally across the road from the famous Reefs Hotel with its restaurants, bars, beach and spa. Within a mile is the Fairmont Southampton hotel with numerous restaurants, beach, bars, watersports, tennis and golf. But what really makes this a special place to stay is the proximity of beaches, restaurants, Gibbs Hill lighthouse and public transportation. You could not find a place to stay with all of this without paying hotel resort costs!

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.9
based on 27 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
average rating of 4.9259257 based on 27 reviews
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
5

30th wedding anniversary 2013

  • 5 of 5
Chris & Donna sorry for the delay to say the least. We had the most wonderful 2 week stay with you. We are planning to come and stay another 2 weeks. So here goes to all of you who are searching for the perfect place, you can look no further. We flew US air which had the best rates except for the extra charge for baggage. Of course Roslyn picked us up and we loved her. The best price for liquor is at the airport. We arrived to find a bowl of fruit and a bottle of wine which was very thoughtful. The apartment was perfect in every way. The people before us had bought the monthly bus pass which was left for us. Thank you that saved us over 100. clean and plenty enough room. I mean what more do you need than a beautiful huge pool all to yourself, comfortable bed and couch, large tv, a complete kitchen and a shower built for 2. It is an incredible property and location. Did I say location... Walk down the hill to the bus stop which takes you everywhere. We chose to get hybrid pedal bikes which we only used 4 days. The spokes break and there is only 1 place left to get them Elbow beach rental. Get there early they are a bit unorganized but have the best prices for pedal bikes, hybrids and scooters and nice people just breath and enjoy the koi pond while you wait. They delivered us a scooter for the rest of the 2 weeks when enough spokes broke. We did our grocery shopping at all the different markets and side stands for fresh veggies. There is a great organic market a few miles away with organic meat. Try the sausage Watson farms. But remember you can't take any home. Make your reservation early at Cocunuts (Reefs Hotel) at the bottom of the hill. Get a table down to the left. The walls are all cut into the rock and the ocean is so beautiful. They have just enough lighting. We had a private dance with our music on my husbands phone very romantic and worth the money. The food was good. We found Henry the VIII was our favorite night spot. To each their own but we liked the food and dancing. Excellent roasted veggies, sea food and soup. The walk home was only a few blocks and very safe. Bring a good flash light. We renewed our vows and the top of Gibbs lighthouse. This is also the very best place to get your trinkets for the grandchildren etc. Very reasonable!!! check out all the beaches but try to go a bit later when the cruise ships leave, you will have it ALL to yourself. Bring a good sun hat, water, sunscreen. See you 2016
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
Glen Gardner
5

Wonderful Studio Apartment and Fantastic Owners!

  • 5 of 5
This is our second year staying at Chris and Donna's Rock Sound apartment. They are such nice people and they always make sure that we are comfortable and made to feel welcome.

The apartment is very clean and includes all that you will need for your stay. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes, pots, silverware, etc. We usually grill our diner on the private patio which we enjoy - and it's very cost efficient. The Wi-Fi is great for logging in to check email or access the internet and the laundry facilities are very helpful to have.

The location is fantastic! We love that we can walk to the bottom of the driveway to rent our scooters for the week. Also, there are many public beaches within walking distance. We don't use the bus system since we rent scooters but we understand that the bus stop is also very close by. Also close to food shopping, restaurants, ice cream and take out.

We just love everything about this place and we plan to return every year that we can. We highly recommend choosing this apartment for your Bermuda vacation.

Lisa & Tom R.
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
United Kingdom
5

Vacation

  • 5 of 5
lovely studio accommodation beautiful views. Would recommend. Owners very very nice people.
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
St. Louis, MO
5

Wonderful Rental, Peaceful, Quiet, Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I loved our vacation to Bermuda. We couldn't have asked for a better location, the apartment was nice and had everything we needed. Chris and Donna are also very pleasant and were so helpful. The location is wonderful, in walking distance to Church Bay. The Reefs resort down the short driveway was also nice to have close by restaurants. We would like to return to Bermuda in the near future and will seek out Rock Sound again when we do!
  • Submitted: May 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
3

The good and bad...

  • 3 of 5
First the good: The location is right across the street from the Reefs, within walking distance to Church Bay, which was really nice and quiet! The apartment is quiet and sitting by the pool is also nice as there are no other tourists in the area. It was a nice asset to have a washer and dryer available since nothing seemed to dry in Bermuda... The scooter rental place is right near the apartment (if you're comfortable on those things...) Bus stop is also right there. We were there in the off season, so I assume the buses would run more often during the high season. It is about 30 minutes into Hamilton or switching buses to get further out east, so you need to plan accordingly to get around.

The bad: Unfortunately we had to work a bit and use the internet access. It was not working inside the apartment. It did work fine if you went out on patio. The owner was made aware of this and offered for us to work in extra room to use the internet. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great while we were there and it was a pain to go out in the rain to get to the other internet access area. We liked having a kitchen available to cook some of our meals. I just wish there were more utensils, maybe measuring cups, and a pitcher for making iced tea. There also was a bit of an ant problem in the apartment. I never left any food out since a friend warned me of the ants... but we did find them amongst are clothes in the suitcase on occasion during the trip.
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Hi Dee:

We are so sorry to learn from the review that you were not completely happy with your stay - our goal is 100% guest satisfaction, so this is of course very disappointing. The weather was appalling with wind and rain, so we did feel badly for you. We tried to assist by giving you free bus passes for the week and offering to drive your husband to work, but we know that you had hoped to do outdoor activities that we had looked into like paddle boarding.

We do try to make ourselves completely accessible to our guests by providing our cell numbers and asking to let us know if you need anything. We would have been happy to have provided you with measuring cups and a pitcher and have now put those in the apartment.

We have not had guests advise us that there are ants and we have not seen any, but again, would have been happy to provide Pest Control if we had known there was a problem.

The internet in the apartment is 8 mb, which is a high standard of service for homes in Bermuda. We installed the 2nd system to compliment that, but understand the Net Gear did not work well. As we knew you wanted to do some work, we also provided the 2nd apartment to you to use throughout your stay since the internet connection is better there.

We are glad that you enjoyed the pool, laundry facilities, location and quiet of the apartment, and we hope that the weather will be better if you have the opportunity to travel to Bermuda in the future.

Regards
Donna and Chris
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
5

Location,location,location!

  • 5 of 5
Just returned from the trip of a lifetime...We have travelled extensively in the Caribbean, but now have a new #1 destination....Bermuda!....Our accommodations were excellent, actually exceeding what we expected from the pics,....so, so close to fabulous restaurants, wonderful beaches(the best in the world)and transportation. The south road in Southampton is the central hub for all adventure seekers & enables very short trips to all parts of the island...We spent many a late day enjoying a drink by the pool & admiring the grounds of Rock Sound! This apartment itself is well equipped with everything one needs for a beach holiday & if help is needed Chris & Donna answer their cells immediately. The island is beautiful...no words can express the beauty of waking up each morning with the view of tropical waters & gorgeous vegetation.....We were able to accomplish so much in our 10 day visit.....which for us is amazing as we are beach goers. Thank you Chris & Donna for sharing your home & your island.
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Henry VIII Restaurant
The Reefs
Church Bay
Horseshoe Bay
The Dining Room
"Located at Gibbs Hill Lighthouse. Excellent food (best pizza in Bermuda) and service at a re..."
Warwick Long Bay
Coconuts
"Great "tree house" style restaurant at the Reefs Hotel open air with thatched roof over look..."
Nearest Airport
16 Miles
LF Wade International
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles
Church Bay
Nearest Barpub
0.2 Miles
The Reefs Hotel and Henry VIII Pub
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Fairmont Southampton
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Coconuts and Ocean Echo at the Reefs
Car: not necessary

The apartment is located on the South Shore Road over looking the ocean. Major bus route (#7 bus stop at the end of the driveway). Two resort hotels within walking distance with 2 spas, golf, 9 restaurants, water sports, etc. Moped rental available within 100 meters at The Reefs. Church Bay beach 500 meters away, Horseshoe Bay beach 1 mile away. A second detached large bedroom/sitting room/bathroom is also available with a private entrance/porch and can be rented as a second bedroom to the studio.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Bermuda Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
1 to 29 November 2014
Nov 1 2014 - Nov 29 2014
4 night minimum stay
$145
 
 
29 Nov 2014 to 28 March 2015
Nov 30 2014 - Mar 28 2015
4 night minimum stay
$130
$910
$3,600
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$180
$1,260
$5,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Min 5 nts. Maid service on check in & then once a week.
A 50% deposit is due when booked. If cancelled 30+ days before arrival, the deposit is refundable less $150. If cancelled within 30 days before arrival, the deposit is not refundable.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Bermuda Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Adventure
General:
  • Telephone ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Freezer ...
  • Stove ...
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Studio bathroom
  • Newly renovated including plumbing, shower enclosure, tiling, sink, toilet, lighting, etc. 2nd bedroom has bathroom with shower and a laundry room.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Studio queen size Bed (1), 2nd bedroom has king bed and a separate detached entrance to the studio. 2nd bedroom sold only as 2nd bedroom with the studio and is not available in December 2014 or 9 March to 18 April 2015.
Entertainment:
  • Games ...
  • DVD Player
  • Video Library ...
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • not suitable for children
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • jet skiing
  • golf privileges optional
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • fishing
  • golf
  • snorkeling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
A bottle of wine on arrival
Email Owner Contact Me