GRACIOUS PRIVATE HILLSIDE RETREAT

From
$199
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Bodhi Kroll

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GRACIOUS PRIVATE HILLSIDE RETREAT

Berkeley House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 1.5 Baths (Sleeps 6-8) Beautiful private home in Hills

This is a large 2600 sq. foot 2 bed home with a King in the Master and a queen sized in the 2nd bed and a separate nursery area with a bunk bed for kids or adults! Large front and backyard areas. Very lovely mature garden. Long driveway takes you well off the street when you enter the gracious vaulted ceiling living room. It is priced below market per night. We are 2 blocks to a bus stop which will take you to UC Berkeley and the BART train. We are 3 blocks to restaurants, shops and Grocery store. We are 1 mile to the entrance of Tilden Park which is full of trails and rivers and lakes a petting zoo and much much more. You can find amusement parks within 20 minutes and Hang Gliding within 60 minutes. Sailing fishing on the bay. Its a 20 minute drive to San Francisco.

Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • smoking allowed
  • pets considered
  • alternative lifestyle

Bodhi Kroll

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2002
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

We bought this home almost 8 years ago and have loved every minute in i! We are now slowly moving to the Russian River area our other favorite area so while we are in transition we are making our lovely home available to you!

Bodhi Kroll purchased this house in 2005

This is a super deal per night. Its a large space on a private lot with a mature garden and lots of trees. Yet lots of sunny outdoor space. Beautiful inside and out.

Close to everything. 2.5 miles to UC Berkeley and 20 minutes to SF.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Gracious Private Hillside Retreat
average rating of 2.6666667 based on 6 reviews
business
Gracious Private Hillside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434856vbi
+ (510) 390-2571
Berkeley The Bay Area
4

Berkeley house for USC/Cal game

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We rented this house with a group of friends when we came in town for the USC vs. Cal game. It was the perfect place for us. We had two couples, two single guys and two small dogs and had plenty of space. The house was so much more affordable than a hotel and allowed us all to stay together. We had a great time.

The owner was very responsive both by phone and email, and we had no issues with payment or access to the house. If I had to find downsides: the decor is quirky, and we had to go buy shampoo and extra soap (but the store is close and we really didn't mind). The place was comfortable and clean and had everything we needed for cooking a few meals at home. This house was by far the best option we found in the area, and we'd certainly return if we made the trip again.
business
Gracious Private Hillside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434856vbi
+ (510) 390-2571
Berkeley The Bay Area
Fort Worth, Texas
2

Nice place badly maintained

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The house is a fantastic place, very large rooms, beautiful gardens, really quiet and superb views. It could be a really awesome place for a holiday. However, there are a few things that I believe would highly improve the experience.

The worst thing is that we found bed linen to be stained and badly kept. We had to look for replacements and even those were stained too, and kept almost in budles (definitelly not ironed). All towels were clean.

In general, we found the whole place was quite dirty, with dust and spiders all over, and things that are totally unacceptable like a pair of old shoes (sandals) in the master bedroom main wardrobe, 3 used soaps in the shower, 2 used shaving razors in the bathroom, dirty trash bins, ...

I know the rent is a good deal, but I think that is no excuse to keep it badly maintained, with electric plugs without covers, knobs missing in drawers, a cabinet door missing in the kitchen, some drawers just about to fall apart, extremelly old pots and pans in not very clean condition, budles of cables for the TV and internet that prevented cabinets in the second room and kitchen to close, etc... Most things are not major issues to resolve nor it takes a large sum to fix them, and the house would feel a lot better.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Gracious Private Hillside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434856vbi
+ (510) 390-2571
Berkeley The Bay Area
Pennsylvania
2

First Timers

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was our first experience using on-line service to rent a home. This home was selected because it looked gorgeous and priced cheap. It met our need for location, size and price. We stayed in the "Main House" unit. We loved the house. The day-light is wonderful, the space is easy to live in, a quiet area, easy driving access to BART station, restaurants, and stores. Also, when learning your way around you can find wonderful views of the bay.
There were some challenges renting; no detailed instructions in the house regarding recycling and trash, TV set-up, heating/air conditioning unit and using a gas cooktop. Other amenities that were lacking, no window treatments/blinds for nighttime or low lights for evening such as table stand lights in bedrooms or family room.
There were instances where we needed to contact the owner/manager and response to us was immediate.
The rental unit needs a lot of TLC (tender loving care).
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Gracious Private Hillside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434856vbi
+ (510) 390-2571
Berkeley The Bay Area
Oregon
1

Very disappointing

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
If you are looking for a party house, this is your place. If you are looking for a family rental, I might look elsewhere. Upon entering the house, at the check in time, the woman cleaning was still finishing up from the last renters (who had apparently been there for a significant amount of time given the amount of trash and empty "containers"). The pine-sol fumes were so pungent that we could feel the burn on the inside of our noses - I wouldn't let my baby inside until the house was aired out - and when those dissipated much later, the place smelled like an ashtray. The cleaner stayed an extra hour trying to get everything done but still ran out of time. I don't want to know what she didn't get to. The owner didn't seem to care when he was contacted. The house/floors were so dingy that I wouldn't let my baby on the ground. A lot was broken and no dishwasher in the kitchen. No dish soap so we bought some. Kitchen cabinets broken/in disrepair. Not enough dishware for 8 people, when occupancy is 8. Not enough blankets for all the beds. Shower curtain so moldy we washed it before using. Ew.
Owner's Response: Due to the fact that you showed up early the cleaner was not done. That was exacerbated by a tardy departure of the last quests. The home is supposed to be a non smoking home and the last guests didn't respect that and that is why the heavy cleaning and pin-sol smell to correct for that. I only wish you had alerted me if the cleaner left something undone. As she and you both told me she felt pressured to leave before the place was 100% cleaned. However, had you told me there was mold on the shower curtain we would have washed and bleached it. Had I realized that so many dishes were broken I would have brought extra replacements as we have to do that several times a year. Know that if there is a problem we are but a phone call away and are always response. We do feel that for 199.00 a night it is the best value in the city.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Gracious Private Hillside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434856vbi
+ (510) 390-2571
Berkeley The Bay Area
Orem, Utah
5

Lovely secluded home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We really enjoyed this vacation home. It gave us a great place to stay while going into San Francisco. The "bunk room" is just off the master bedroom (through sliding glass door or curtains). So we decided to have our kids in the master bedroom and bunkroom, and we took the 2nd bedroom (queen bed) downstairs. We also did this because we were worried that they would be too loud and bother the renters in the smaller unit (adjacent to this unit). No problem for the kids (the master & bunkroom are upstairs), but we were surprised one night to discover that the hall light next to the 2nd bedroom must share a light-switch with the other unit (we woke up to see that it was on - my wife got up and turned it off, and then it was on again 20 minutes later). A small annoyance in an otherwise wonderful rental.
We also really enjoyed the small, fenced front yard. The playset in the driveway isn't new, but the kids loved it anyway.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Oakland
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Berkeley
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Bart
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
80
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Albany
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Circus Pub
Nearest Ski
100 Miles
Tahoe
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Tilden
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
The Arlington
Car: not necessary
Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Berkeley House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Minimum Stay
 
My Standard Rate
$199
$1,351
$4,440
1 night
 
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Berkeley House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Garage ...
  • Broadband Access ...
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) Master has a king, Queen size Beds (1) 2nd Bed has queen, Child Beds (1) Bunk bed, Baby Cribs (1) Crib available.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Video Library
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Music Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • smoking allowed ...
  • pets considered
  • alternative lifestyle
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hot air ballooning
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$770 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4