THE ULTIMATE KEYS BEACH HOUSE NEWLY RENOVATED

Kim Nava

Speaks english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 28 nights

Contact the Manager

Kim Nava

Speaks english
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

THE ULTIMATE KEYS BEACH HOUSE NEWLY RENOVATED

Duck Key House Rental Photos and Description

Beautiful 3 bedroom, 3 bath house with fantastic water views from every window.

Our home is about a mile from Hawk's Cay resort of the quaint, historical island of Duck Key at mm. 61. This home features a master bedroom upstairs with adjoining bath as well as a bunk room that comfortably sleeps 6. Brand new floors, kitchen and bathrooms. Washer and dryer conveniently located on 2nd floor. Sit outside and enjoy the tropical breezes off the water under the chickee hut. Grab one of the kayaks and discover all that the island of Duck Key has to offer or just put on your mask and fins and jump off the dock. Dockage available for your boat or boats.

Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Kim Nava

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english

My husband and I purchased this home so that our six girls could have the same childhood memories that I had coming to Duck Key with my family. Even though we live in Fort Lauderdale and get plenty of sun there, it is nothing like the keys. This is our paradise and our escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We love to come here, slow down and spend time with each other.

Kim Nava purchased this house in 2007

My parents home is on the same street. I knew from experience that we wanted to enjoy the easterly breezes in our back yard and did not want the heat of the west sun in the afternoon. We are experienced Floridians. This house screams 'beach house'. It is casual, relaxing and simple.

When we bought this house, we knew it had a chickee hut and thought it was like the cherry on top. We were wrong. That chickee hut is the sundae. It is the place we long to be when we are not here. Two hammocks hang at either end, and we have stereo out there as well. There is nothing like taking a nap in the afternoon, with the ocean breezes blowing while swinging in those hammocks. They are rarely empty.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 28 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.7
based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
The Ultimate Keys Beach House newly renovated
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 9 reviews
business
The Ultimate Keys Beach House newly renovated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434079vb
Duck Key Central Florida Keys
Moore, Idaho
5

Great Place Great Location

  • 5 of 5
My wife and I had never been to the Keyes before, staying at this place makes us want to go back. We were there for 17 days. For the first were our daughter and her two daughters stayed there (age 3 and 10). they all loved it. There were small kid games there that the youngest one loved. the 10 yr old got to kayak by herself, caught fish off the dock and snorkeled there. They didn't want to leave. The last ten days my sister and her husband came. they also loved the place. Rented a boat for 4 days. Tricky following all the channels. Make sure you are very familiar using a GPS. This place had everything we needed. Loved sitting on the second deck or under the TICKI hut any time during the day. Loved the BIG Green EGG grill. Would go to a local fish market and for fresh fish and than bring them back TO bbq. This place is in great shape and has everything you need. The main AC unit went out one morning, TXT Kim regarding it. She immediately replied that some one would be out to fix it. Left for a few hours, repaired by the time we got back. Only ate out a few times. Marathon has some good restaurants that are good and reasonably priced. Had fried conch at Key Colony Inn for lunch. Excellent, enough for 2 at about $11. Would recommend this place every time for a great vacation. Kayaks were an added plus.
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We aim to please and are grateful to have a great team of people that we work with should issues come up. So happy to hear that all of your family enjoyed their time at our home on Duck Key. We look forward to your return.
business
The Ultimate Keys Beach House newly renovated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434079vb
Duck Key Central Florida Keys
2

USE A CREDIT CARD and BOOK THROUGH VRBOs Payment Site.

  • 2 of 5
Please make sure you pay with a credit card (preferably through VRBO) and don't mail a check. At least you will have recourse if you disagree with any deductions. The price advertised for a monthly rate is increased significantly for a shorter stay. We were fine with the price increase, but it is deceptive.

The house is advertised as a 3 BR, but is deceptive because you have to go outside and downstairs to get to the 3rd BR, which may not be a problem for some, but being on a different level than our children in the bunk room was completely inconvenient and resulted in our four year old sleeping in our bed (she was too scared to sleep upstairs because she didn't want to go outside to get to our bed if she got up in the middle of the night).

The TV didn't work until we only had 2 days left of our week stay and we had to interrupt a boating trip to come back to the house meet a dish network person who we helped remove palm fronds that were blocking the dish. TV may not have been a big deal on vacation except we missed the basketball Final 4 in which two of our native Kentucky teams were playing. Basically - it was significant to us. The owner didn't get on it immediately and we had to wait through the weekend to get the TV back on and by that time we didn't need it.

In the basement, we found 2 large millipedes in our sheets. I woke up in the middle of the night and one was on my neck. However, the primary issue is concerning the handling of our security deposit. The owner reduced our deposit. Her rational was $50 for an outdoor faucet handle that broke off when I was turning it off. It was on the dock and fell apart in my hand because it was corroded from the salt water. The only reason that she knew this was because I also manage property and have owned vrbos and wanted her to take note of it along with other items that needed attention that I sent to her in an email. The other reduction was because of cleaning issues. We paid a significant non-refundable cleaning fee up front and left the place in good condition. She claims her cleaning person spent 4 additional hours cleaning, which is absurd. The amount of money $XXX (because $ can’t be posted in vrbo reviews) is not that significant given the amount of money we paid to stay there; however, since we paid with a check, we have no recourse, no documentation from the homeowner, and the principle of the matter is enough to warn you in this review. Pay with a credit card through vrbo.
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Thank you for your input regarding the outside stairwell. Many people are aware that this in the norm in the keys. Certainly, we would never intend on deceiving our guests. As a parent, I totally understand the difficulty of having small children sleep on a different floor. The master bedroom and the bunk room on are on the second floor. We are also committed to doing all we can to provided a vacation free from repairs or interruptions. We are committed to responding immediately to any problems and have a wonderful team of local repair people to respond to anything that may come up. Unfortunately, we all are subject to the schedule of cable companies and as you can imagine, the keys has it's challenges due to winds and lack of services. We are getting more choices in the keys and we plan on switching to a service that does not include a dish in order to lessen the interruptions. Hopefully the outdoor activities, like fishing, snorkeling and kayaking keep everyone too busy to notice. As you can see from our reviews, we have the most amazing team that prepare our home for each guest. The most difficult thing to do is to hold back any of the deposit due to severe wear and tear or just plain accidents. Both, thankfully are rare and most of the time our guest have contacted us to suggest that we do so simply because something was broken or stained. Accidents happen. With six children we understand that better than most.
business
The Ultimate Keys Beach House newly renovated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434079vb
Duck Key Central Florida Keys
Allentown
5

Best Vacation!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
Our family just returned from a week long vacation at this wonderful home. The home offered everything you could want. The house was absolutely beautiful inside. We spent most of our time outside enjoying the beautiful weather. We only had one morning of rain,most of the time the temps were in the mid 70's.
My children and their families all said it was the best vacation ever.
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Ultimate Keys Beach House newly renovated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434079vb
Duck Key Central Florida Keys
Cumming Georgia
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5
We have been going to the Keys for years, and this house and its location are the best ever. Duck Key is beautiful and charming. I love to walk and I could take a different walk
every day and it was always pretty. The house is on a small harbor and has a dock. It was perfect for our boat. It is technically oceanfront but the harbor minimizes the effect of the tides and makes having a boat easy. My husband and daughter caught lots of fish, enough for us to eat fresh grilled fish for several nights. After dinner we would sit out on the dock and fish and look at the stars.
The house is as described only better. It surpassed our expectations in every way. It was clean, well maintained and extremely comfortable. The owner was very nice to deal with and answered all my questions.
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
The Ultimate Keys Beach House newly renovated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434079vb
Duck Key Central Florida Keys
Kansas City, Missouri
5

Breathtaking!!!

  • 5 of 5
My husband & I were awed by your gorgeous home on beautiful Duck Key. I honestly don't know how it could have been any nicer! If we are ever lucky enough to have a home in Florida, I would decorate it just like yours. There was one little problem, though....the WEATHER!! We picked the week with colder temperatures. Although, being from Kansas City, where we had just experienced 25" of snow and freezing temps, the Florida weather still seemed wonderful. Just not warm enough for any water activities.

We visited several restaurants and bars while there..many were ones you recommended. It was a great trip and we hope to be able to visit again. Thank you.
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We thought of you often the time that you were down. We really want everything to be perfect for anyone that stays at our home, including the weather. We enjoy this weather year round, so when it is cold or rainy it almost forces us to stop and relax. We know that is not true for visitors. Hopefully, you will come again and the weather will be perfect!It has been a cooler winter here in Florida like much of the country. Whatever happened to "global warming" Ha Ha.
business
The Ultimate Keys Beach House newly renovated
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434079vb
Duck Key Central Florida Keys
Michigan
5

Michigan snow bunnies

  • 5 of 5
There were no disappointments whatsoever in our experience. It was our greatest Key vacation ever, we have loved the Keys for 30 years as a very special place, the owners, the property and location are as good as it gets. The house is very homey and welcoming, impeccably neat and clean and the furnishings more than complete. The only thing negative is that we had to leave.
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Dave,

We are so pleased that your vacation was everything you hoped it would be. I know that feeling about leaving. Since I was a little girl, I would cry as the car would pull off the island. Now my kids look at me and ask, "mom, are you crying?" Usually, I am. We hope return and thanks again for the kind words.

The Nava Family
Email Manager Contact Me

Map

Map

Car: recommended

The Dolphin Research Center is about 5 miles from our home. This is a very popular place to swim with the dolphins and learn more about this wonderful creature.

Email Manager Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Manager Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Duck Key House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Memorial to Labor Day
May 23 2014 - Sep 1 2014
28 night minimum stay
$7,700
 
 
Spring Break
Mar 1 2015 - May 1 2015
28 night minimum stay
$8,400
 
 
My Standard Rate
28 night minimum stay
$6,750
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.5%
Notes Please email or call owner for additional rate specials.
Payment can be made by check.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Email Manager Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Duck Key House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Hair Dryer
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Coffee Maker
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (2), Bunk Beds (2), trundles under bunk beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Gazebo ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • eco tourism
  • walking
  • boating
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving
  • kayaking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • deepsea fishing
  • jet skiing
  • snorkeling
  • water tubing
Notes:
dockage for boat
Email Manager Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,575 - $3,500 per week
2 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 10
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$3,700 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8