Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Cabin Among the Whispering Pines - Peaceful Valley

Katy Lackey

Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Katy Lackey

Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Cabin Among the Whispering Pines - Peaceful Valley

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Ward Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

This one-bedroom cabin is located just up the road from the Peaceful Valley Conference Center in the beautiful Colorado mountains about 40 minutes north and west of Boulder. It is available for rent by the night (2 night minimum), weekend, or week(s).

The one bedroom has a king size bed. In the loft there are 2 full beds and 1 twin. Hiking/snowshoe trails just steps away. Very relaxing.

Located just off Peak to Peak highway, this cabin is about 40 minutes from Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park and 30 minutes to Long's Peak Trail Head.

For specific location, mapquest 78 Peaceful Valley, Lyons, Colorado 80540.

THIS CABIN IS NOT CHILDPROOF! TWO NIGHT MINIMUM STAY

PLEASE NOTE: During the dates of June 28 through July 11, 2015, due to special circumstances, we are seeking one rental occupancy inclusive of all these nights. Check in June 28, check out July 11 - 13 nights. The total for this rental period will be $1560 inclusive of all fees.

Keywords: Cabin

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Katy Lackey (Owner)
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2015

Guestbook comments from the owner

The following are comments left in our guest book at the cabin:



September 4, 2005

"What a wonderful retreat for us! Driving up here for the weekend from Tulsa, OK, and staying in this bit of paradise was just what we needed. This is a wonderful place, and we will be back to visit here again and again......thanks for sharing your space in heaven."



August 28, 2005

"Our three year old son led his first hike today, taking us up the St. Vrain and face-to-face with some moose. a mama and her calf crossed the trail just fifteen yards ahead of us; my closest siting ever of moose. This marks our second weekend here, and we'll be sure to be back."



August 19, 2005

"What a little treasure this place is. I'm glad it found us! We've come up from Boulder on a little honeymoon getaway with our sweet 3-month old son. The screened-in porch was such a treat, no worries about bugs. I loved the kitchen...made all sorts of wonderful delights. We hope to return and experience the valley in a different season."



July 22, 2005

"Many many thanks for allowing us to be a part of your Colorado paradise. The charm and warmth of your cabin has slowed the pace down for our family, a much needed pace. We horseback rode, hiked, fished, and were escorted to some of the most breathtaking views I've ever laid my eyes on. Although the heartrate got pretty fast for us out-of-shape ones, the climb to "three bears" will be a lasting memory for us all. Thank you for all. Hope to see you next year."



October 17, 2005

"No security deposit, no credit card...just like the old days. I went to get some milk at the little convenience store in Raymond...and it was like a trip to the past. So funny that things like that could still amaze me. We loved the cabin stay."
Sep 2005
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.9
based on 37 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Cabin Among the Whispering Pines - Peaceful Valley
average rating of 4.918919 based on 38 reviews
5

This was just what we needed!

  • 5 of 5

We wanted a relaxing anniversary weekend and that was just what we had! The cabin is wonderful, with everything you need. The wood burning stove works very well-we made a nice fire in it the first night and slept very warm. We scaled back on the fire the next nights and slept well. There was lots of snow on the ground and we had lots fall the first day so it was just beautiful. This area is just so pretty! We went into Estes Park and also the Nederlands, took some nice walks and just relaxed at the cabin. I feel like we perfected the art of laziness, which was just what we were hoping to accomplish. It was a great weekend!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your time at the cabin. Come back again soon. It is beautiful all year round. Thanks for your glowing review. Katy and Tom
Boulder, CO
5

Perfect weekend!

  • 5 of 5

Three of my girlfriends and I stayed at this cabin last weekend. It was GREAT! The cabin is easy to get to and set just back from a country road. Surrounded by pretty trees. There are other cabins in the area - looked like most of them are for summer use only, so we felt like we had the 'hood more or less to ourselves. The cabin is cozy small AND incredibly functional and efficient. The kitchen is big enough and equipped with everything you'll need to cook meals in. The wood burning stove is a delight and keeps the cabin warm. The beds are comfortable. We arrived on Friday night - the owners had shoveled the recent snow and left the lights on for us. That was fantastic, considering it was dark and I'm 8 months pregnant. We brought our groceries with us from Boulder, knowing that full grocery stores wouldn't be close by. Our meals were delicious! I thought for sure we would take a drive towards Estes Park and go hiking off Route 7, but it turned out that once we arrived on Fri night, we didn't get in our car again until we left on Sunday. We took two nice hikes right from the cabin (up to the chapel - gorgeous views! and over by Camp Dick) and my friends even went out for a run up and down the road in front of the house. We didn't use the DVD player (we spent our time chatting with each other) but there are plenty of great movies to choose from at the cabin. We even used the screened-in front porch to relax on after our hikes. There was lots of snow on the ground so we didn't take advantage of the outdoor eating/relaxing areas around the cabin but it looks like there are 2-3 different areas you could hang out in, cook, relax, etc.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We hope you can come back soon. It is a wonderful place to visit during all seasons. Thank you!!
Mobile AL
5

Full of Peace Valley

  • 5 of 5

We loved this place! Everything about the property met/exceeded our expectations! The only regret we have is that we didn't allow more time here. The Rockies have so much to offer in views, scenic drives, history, and hiking. We've recommended it to friends, but want to return, too!

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Nancy, for your great review. We are glad you had a nice time. Come back any time. The cabin is beautiful in all seasons and, yes, there is much to do and see. We enjoyed having you stay. Coma back again. -- Katy and Tom
5

cabin in a valley

  • 5 of 5

Relaxing stay at this cozy cabin. Well appointed kitchen gadgets and appliances.

The wood stove is the MOST efficient one I've every seen. Well insulated for wintertime, no noticeable drafts in this windy valley. Wind whistled through pine trees almost non-stop.

Beds were comfortable. King bed down, and more beds upstairs. Tv/dvd player was not dependable, but not issue as we had the radio on most of the visit, a public/college station tuned in fine from Ft Collins. Neighboring cabins are nearby.

We would stay here again without hesitation. Its a great property.

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your response and the note about the dvd player. A new dvd player is going in this week. Come back again soon. Thank you!
5

Great Get Away

  • 5 of 5

We've just finished our 4th visit to this sweet and cozy spot. We always come in November, and are never disappointed. The place was neat and clean with each stay, working with the owners is easy, the photos are right on and it is just as described. The wood burning fire stove heats very well, the king sized bed is comfy. We love the hiking trails near by, that things are quiet this time of year, and how wonderfully relaxing the experience is, even when it's cold and snowy outside. We highly recommend the spot! We've always done long weekends, but could see even longer.

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope you can come back soon. The cabin is beautiful all year round. --Tom and Katy Lackey
4

Just what the doctor ordered.

  • 4 of 5

My wife is an accountant so we always have to wait until after October 15 to take our fall vacation.

We planned all along to go through Boulder and take the Peak to Peak highway (Hwys. 119, 7 & 72) so road closures due to the flooding were not an issue for us. We arrived at the house around 5 pm and immediately knew this was the place for us, however, we did have to backtrack some 20 miles to Nederland to find a grocery store and place for dinner. After stocking up for our stay we never left the house again. Bacon and eggs for breakfast, homemade chile for dinner and a good bottle of wine on the porch. It doesn't get any better. Plenty of places to sit outside (screened-in porch and sun deck).

Quiet private road along a beautiful flowing stream perfect for afternoon walks. No AT&T signal (Verizon was available for the IPad) so we watched 4 movies on their DVD, listen to their music and tuned in to a public broadcast radio station that played some some great oldies and old gospel on Sunday morning. Everything is provided and plenty of hot water. Oven gets really hot so be careful when cooking. Bed is comfortable and we slept with the window open. The mountain air and the sound of the nearby stream made for perfect sleeping. Hated to leave, but we will be back. Thank you Tom and Katy for everything!

Greg & Cindy, Wichita Falls, Texas

"It was majestic in beauty, with it's spreading boughs, for its roots went down to abundant waters."

Ezekiel 31:7

  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of our cabin. We are glad that the recent floods did not deter you from visiting. It takes a bit longer to get there but is worth the trip. Come back soon. We enjoyed having you share our cabin. Katy and Tom

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $120 Per night

Ward Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$120
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59.00
Notes 50% due at booking. Remainder due one week in advance of rental period.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Ward Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • snowmobiling
Notes:
screened front porch, VCR/DVD Player, Pets negotiable, Verizon cell phone tower recently installed in the valley.

Other Vacation Properties

$988 - $1,050 per week
3 - 5 night min stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 3
$1,750 per week
3 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote