THE TREE HOUSE NEAR DOWNTOWN ASHEVILLE

From
$91
Enter your travel dates

Pete Kuehne

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

This manager accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

THE TREE HOUSE NEAR DOWNTOWN ASHEVILLE

Asheville Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Beautiful two bedroom apartment. Bring your pets and walk downtown. Upstairs in a huge 1920s home.

A perfect location for exploring downtown Asheville! This beautiful two bedroom apartment is located in the upstairs of a huge home built in 1920. The upstairs location and the surrounding trees are the reason our guests have named it the Tree House. A charming, roomy studio is the centerpiece of this attractive space.

If you like walking, you can get to the civic center for a show in about 10 minutes, or walk downtown in about 12 to 15 minutes. There are three state-of-the-art grocery stores within about a five minute walk. Trader Joe's, Harris Teeter and Greenlife Grocery are all just up the block. The Montford neighborhood just across Broadway has some gorgeous homes and a nice park, and the Visitor's Center is within easy walking distance. You could even stroll over to UNC Asheville if you feel so inclined, it's right down the street.

The studio has a large window at the end so you have lots of light. One guest stayed about a month and used it as a yoga and massage room. There is a futon sofa in the studio that can be opened out to a full size futon bed. An open floor plan leads to the kitchen, so you can enjoy your family and friends while you cook. We recently updated the kitchen floor from vinyl tile to laminate and it makes a huge difference.

The front bedroom faces Chestnut Street and you can see some of downtown Asheville from the window. It's a good sized room with hardwood floors, and an old fireplace (it's out of service but still adds character). There is a nice dresser and a closet so you will have plenty of storage for your clothes. It is very cheery and bright. There's a super comfortable queen size bed that has been described by one guest as "the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in".

The middle bedroom is a bit smaller. and also features the same kind of bed. These beds are fairly new, purchased in September 2012. We have received a lot of great feedback about them and we bought identical ones for all our properties. There is a dresser and a closet in this bedroom as well, and the window overlooks the side yard, the downstairs porch and Fulton Street down below.

The bathroom is spacious and well lit by a large window and two light fixtures. It has a tub with tiled in shower and a shower curtain.

Please note that this is an old house, and it's located on a fairly busy street. There is no off-street parking, so during busy times you may have a bit of a walk. There are a lot of steps to navigate. The downstairs residents keep a well appointed and very clean chicken pen in the side yard. The home has been restored in the old style, and improvements are ongoing. Most of our guest find it charming, but it is not for everyone so please consider these facors before you rent. We want our guests to be happy and have a great experience, so if you have questions or concerns please feel free to email or call.

IMPORTANT: This is an upstairs apartment, and the caretakers live downstairs. They are available to answer questions, address your concerns, and help make your stay more enjoyable. They have three young children, so please no loud noise late at night. Thanks and enjoy your stay in Asheville!

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Pete Kuehne

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I am a real estate investor and real estate agent in the Asheville area. I love creating spaces where people can feel at home while they are enjoying their vacation.

Pete Kuehne purchased this apartment in 2007

This home is in THE perfect location, very close to downtown. This particular house is unique because of its original 1920s architecture. It was restored with authentic hardware and remains true to its design. It is located in a neighborhood where many homes are being restored to their former glory. The entire area is seeing an influx of commerce as well, with a flagship Harris Teeter grocery store and a Trader Joe's market coming soon within easy walking distance. Also within easy walking distance is the popular Greenlife Grocery store, where you will see a pageant of Asheville's diverse lifestyles. A strip of greenway is soon to be developed along the river on Broadway. This park will provide biking and walking trails and will be a welcome addition to the neighborhood.

You can walk to the Convention Center in about ten minutes from this location. Pack Square is about twelve minutes by foot. The home is also very close to the historic Montford district, which is a very beautiful collection of grand homes. Despite the proximity to downtown, this house is very private because it is set back from the street by a stone retaining wall and a gate.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

This manager accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

17 Reviews Write a Review
The Tree House near Downtown Asheville
average rating of 4.647059 based on 17 reviews
business
The Tree House near Downtown Asheville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431991vb
+1 828 337-8749
Asheville Asheville Area
cornelius, North Carolina
5

Great place! Great location! Simple and clean.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved staying here. We were attending a yoga workshop and it was a 5 minute walk there. There were plenty of places nearby to get groceries. We parked the car across the street and didn't use it at all. Downtown was walkable as well but we are in good shape and don't mind the walk.The apartment was high up so you could look out at the trees. The place really grew on me. We will be back to stay here.
business
The Tree House near Downtown Asheville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431991vb
+1 828 337-8749
Asheville Asheville Area
NC
4

As described

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We just left the property today. I had read the reviews and was a bit worried about the cleanliness of it. The place was fairly clean. I can tell that the owner is continuing to make improvements.

It was extremely windy and cold on the first night. Wind could be felt through the windows. we struggled to find a good compromise on the temp due to 3 generations of women and all kinds of different body temperatures. there is a gas heater in the den area and I slept on the futon. Very comfortable but had to turn the heat down, it was too warm. One bedroom with the heater was like a sauna. The other one was a bit colder. But all the beds were comfortable.

We had invited family over for Thanksgiving lunch. Luckily I had pre-prepared most of the food. I needed the oven to heat it all up. I didn't realize that the oven wasn't heating until it was too late. I didn't call the owner because I didn't think anything could be done. Thank goodness broil worked. We were able to make it happen.

12 sat in the den easily and we had a great meal.

Location is only 1 block to Harris Teeter and Trader Joes.

When the owner says hot water, they are not joking. Be careful, you could get a slight burn with the hot water.

The only thing I would recommend is some updated extra linens for when people need to use the futon. Oh, and maybe a floor fan for the heater room to blow some of that really hot air out to the other rooms.

If you cannot do stairs, do not reserve this spot.

Overall, it was fun and charming.

Thanks for supplying this in Asheville.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the feedback...we will be making an adjustment to the water heater and the heating system. Linens for the futon coming up! Your comments really do help us improve. Please come back and visit us any time!
business
The Tree House near Downtown Asheville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431991vb
+1 828 337-8749
Asheville Asheville Area
5

Amazing location - will use again!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a great stay in this spacious upstairs apartment! It was walking distance to 3 grocery stores and downtown Asheville. We didn't have to use our cars the entire stay which was great. The apartment was the perfect size for 2 couples and we could have had one more on the futon. The upstairs apartment was separate from the owners living space. The ability to walk to downtown asheville restaurants, shops and bars was one of the most fabulous features of this place. We hope to use this apartment again for any upcoming travels to Asheville! Thanks for a great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for visiting...we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us again any time!
business
The Tree House near Downtown Asheville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431991vb
+1 828 337-8749
Asheville Asheville Area
3

Close to town, an average rental in a "transitional" neighborhood

Close to town, an average rental in a "transitional" neighborhood
  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
After reading all the previous 5 star ratings I really expected more. Five stars would need to be very special and very clean. I rated it a “3” because I was turned off by the dirty stove burners, dirty black bathtub grout and found underwear and a lot of dust balls under my bed when I looked for an earring I had dropped. There was also a collection of clothes in a drawer from a previous tenant which indicated to me that someone was remiss in a thorough cleaning. The owner, Pete, indicated a walking route to town. Our error was that we took a right turn, instead of left out of the unit and walked by graffiti-marked buildings and under an overpass where we were approached three times by aggressive homeless people. That said, it is a very “transitional” neighborhood, which wasn’t mentioned in the original description, and needs to be noted because the surrounding area looks rundown. East Chestnut is VERY busy and street parking will not always be conveniently close. If you drive to town, there is a large pay lot on the corner of Walnut and Lexington, which is convenient for walking to all the shops and restaurants. It is an old home and the apt has only window AC units, which accounts for the pervasive, strong musty smell that we found bothersome. These old AC window units may not, in my opinion, be adequate for cooling during the hotter summer months. Although the kitchen is adequately stocked with frig, stove, microwave, cookware, plates, etc., only salt and pepper are available. One bedroom faces East Chestnut and will have more noise. Only three single, wrinkled window curtain panels cover the front window, and are not adequate for privacy. The wrap-around porch featured in the photos is misleading because one part is gated for the caretaker’s dog, and the other side is littered with toys and a baby swing, so you can’t sit in these areas. You can sit on the bench outside the front door, but it won’t offer any ambiance. Both apt keys were sticky in the lock, and one didn’t work at all. This was reported immediately to the caretaker who neglected to pass info on to Pete during our stay. Hopefully this issue will be resolved. I consider this a “bohemian” rental which may suit college-level, early-20’s, or young families with children who need the extra space, and definitely not for the elderly (too many steep stairs). We did like the view of the trees through the large living room windows. Next time I plan to stay downtown.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the thoughtful comments. We do our best to use our feedback to improve our rentals, and you have made so many great suggestions!

Our caretakers found a really cute table and chairs, and placed them on the front porch by the front door. This has created a nice outdoor space to sit. We have already fixed the lock, and the new keys work great.

We did a "deep clean" after we got your feedback, and we plan to regrout the tile and replace the caulk around the bath. You are right...they needed attention! Thanks for the heads-up.

The map we provided clearly marks the best route to walk downtown. Too bad you decided to make your own way because you definitely could have avoided that experience!

A couple of points where we must agree to disagree...the window AC units are amazing and will absolutely freeze you if you turn them to a low setting. And we felt that the request for spices, cooking oil and condiments was a bit excessive.

It is fair to describe the neighborhood as transitional. The downtown seems to be moving in our direction, especially with the recent opening of the Harris Teeter Mother Ship and the Trader Joe's (just down the street within easy walking distance). People are fixing up their houses and making a lot of improvements.

"Bohemian" is defined as being informal or socially unconventional. Welcome to Asheville!
business
The Tree House near Downtown Asheville
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p431991vb
+1 828 337-8749
Asheville Asheville Area
Huntington Woods, MI
4

Great close to downtown Asheville upstairs flat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Clean and roomy! Within a 10 minute walk to downtown Asheville.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children

Map

Car: not necessary

Great Asheville vacation rental! Walk to downtown Asheville! Easy access to the Civic Center, restaurants, festival activities and shopping!

Photos

Availability & Rates

Asheville Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
US Dollar
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
Seasonal Min
Mar 1 2014 - May 31 2014
$91
$116
$486
$1,851
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Max
Mar 1 2014 - May 31 2014
$178
$178
$910
$2,289
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Min
Jun 1 2014 - Aug 31 2014
$132
$154
$815
$3,015
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Max
Jun 1 2014 - Aug 31 2014
$178
$178
$891
$3,091
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Min
Sep 1 2014 - Nov 30 2014
$120
$139
$675
$2,716
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Max
Sep 1 2014 - Nov 30 2014
$178
$178
$870
$3,015
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Min
Dec 1 2014 - Feb 28 2015
$106
$124
$584
$2,145
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Max
Dec 1 2014 - Feb 28 2015
$178
$178
$948
$3,087
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Min
Mar 1 2015 - May 31 2015
$106
$124
$584
$2,497
2 nights
 
 
Seasonal Max
Mar 1 2015 - May 31 2015
$178
$178
$910
$2,863
2 nights
 

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

Amenities

Asheville Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
General:
  • Linens Provided
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Internet
  • Air Conditioning
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • This bathroom has a lot of space! Great water pressure for the shower and a large sink and vanity. The outlet only works when the light switch is on, so consider charging your razor and electric toothbrush at another spot.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • One Queen size bed in each bedroom, Futon sofa (Full size) in studio can be pulled out and used for sleeping.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Games
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • walking
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • rafting
  • hot air ballooning
  • kayaking
  • hiking
  • hunting big game
  • hunting small game
  • water tubing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hunting
  • skiing
  • golf
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • mountain climbing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
This beautiful Asheville vacation rental is in the heart of it all, just minutes from downtown. It is in a historic district in an area where many homes are being restored to their former glory. This particular home is one of the largest and most beautiful in the neighborhood, and really stands out as an example of fine 1920s architecture.