'ERNEST HEMINGWAY RETREAT', OCEAN FRONT, HUGE 1 BEDROOM CORNER END

Janna MacDowall

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Janna MacDowall

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2007
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

'ERNEST HEMINGWAY RETREAT', OCEAN FRONT, HUGE 1 BEDROOM CORNER END

Waikiki Condo Rental Photos and Description

One Huge Bedroom, One lovely Bath, Sleeps 4

Newly Remodeled Aug 2012, Designer Decor, Ocean Front Condo in Ilikai Marina 10th floor. Largest condo in the building, offering 2 lanai's, 850 SF of luxury. City and Mountain Views. 2 Flat Screen TV's with surround sound, Designer Kitchen and bath with Granite counter tops and stainless appliances to prepare those gourmet meals or just pour a lovely cocktail to relax and enjoy.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible
  • pets not allowed

Janna MacDowall

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2007
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

PARKING:

'Ilikai Marina Parking' located at 1765 Ala Moana Blvd next door to the Ilikai Hotel offers a privately owned parking structure attached to 6 of my condo's, charging a daily rate of $20, the Yacht Harbor public parking is $10 per day (no in or out's) or $1 per hour. I offer a Parking Pass that I offer to my guests at $10 per day (complete stay only) with an advanced reservation. I have one pass so if interested you will need to reserve it. Ilikai Hotel offers valet parking for $30 per day.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 13 traveler reviews

Write a Review
'Ernest Hemingway Retreat', Ocean Front, HUGE 1 Bedroom Corner End
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 13 reviews
business
'Ernest Hemingway Retreat', Ocean Front, HUGE 1 Bedroom Corner End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430370vb
+1 949 463-0890
Waikiki Oahu
5

PAINTER'S PARADISE

Painter's Paradise
  • 5 of 5
We enjoyed our stay at the condo. Close to the beach, the Ala Moana shopping mall, bus stops and restaurants. We went with some friends to the Shore Bird restaurant one evening. We barbequed our own steak which was great fun and the salad bar was so good. After you have your steak, remember to take some pieces of pineapple from the salad bar and throw it on the barbeque. So delicious. Now back to the condo. Cupboards were well stocked. Felt like home. The condo is in a quiet location close to the marina. Would definitely stay here again. Janna is very helpful. We had to leave the condo by 11a.m. on the day we were leaving and our flight wasn't until evening. I didn't know what to do with my suitcase so I wrote Janna. She told us to leave the suitcase at the Ilikia Hotel. They look after your suitcase for $1.00 and a tip is appreciated. Thank you Janna. We had a wonderful time in Hawaii.
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
'Ernest Hemingway Retreat', Ocean Front, HUGE 1 Bedroom Corner End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430370vb
+1 949 463-0890
Waikiki Oahu
3

ILIKAI CONDO

  • 3 of 5
In general the condo was comfortable, clean & as represented in the promotional material online. If you look at the description on VRBO it mentions the mountain/city view, but if you go on the You Found Paradise website it states that it is overlooking the Waikiki Yacht Harbor & this is not correct. As for having 2 Lanai's, this is a correct statement but there is no real practical way of sitting on them as they are too small to even have the chairs facing out. They are for standing on & leaning on the railing. The vertical blinds need to be completely replaced as there was a slat laying on the floor when we walked in and another one fell off when I tried to open the living room ones & the tracks do not operate very well anymore. There are numerous other slats rolled up & in the closet. As for the carpet I guess it is clean but it is certainly showing its age & should be replaced. If we were to go back to Honolulu we would likely look for a different property to stay in. The location is good & is close to transportation for the side trips further from the area.
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Well I guess I set myself up for this negative review because this guest read the prior comments about my kindness in offering the previous reviewer an upgrade to an ocean view for free. This guest called me upon arrival requesting an upgrade to an ocean view (what a coincidence). In regards to slats in the closet, they are for a reason; guests unfamiliar with how they work break them all the time, hence spare ones in the closet. I'm very appreciative that this guest said the condo was represented exactly like the VRBO website described and it was very comfortable and clean. In regard to the carpet, this condo was gutted 17 months ago and remodeled from top to bottom including new carpet so I disagree that it needs to be replaced. I really appreciate constructive criticism and pride myself on representing my properties accurately. I provide a video so that my guests can see a true representation of the condo and view. If available my guests are invited to upgrade to an ocean view at the prevailing rate for that condo.
business
'Ernest Hemingway Retreat', Ocean Front, HUGE 1 Bedroom Corner End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430370vb
+1 949 463-0890
Waikiki Oahu
4

WAIKIKI CONO

  • 4 of 5
Condo was lovely, clean and well equipped. Very comfortable. Bed linens were thin, but bed and pillows comfortable. The condo view was disappointing as it overlooked the roof of a 6 story car garage. Also the condo did not have a pool nor an outside patio and with very small balconies, there was no convenient outside are to enjoy. Carpents were quite soiled in places. Owner was very accommodating .
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Actually I'm shocked at this review, as this guest called me upon there arrival saying where's the ocean view, which I asked them to review the VRBO website that states a mountain city view. Because I wanted them to have a wonderful holiday, I offered to upgrade them to a ocean front condo for free, which they declined because they loved the homey feeling of the "Earnest Hemingway Retreat". I appreciate the comment on how clean and well supplied the condo was but never in our many communications did they ever say they saw a spot on the carpet. I would have had it cleaned immediately! This condo is huge and has 2 lanai's one has 2 chairs and a table. This condo is on the 10th floor yes if you look down you will see the 6th floor parking structure but if you look out and up you will see the gorgeous skyline and city lights and mountain range behind them. I have a condo next door at the Ilikai Hotel that has a pool, I offer my Ilikai Marina guests pool passes to enjoy that pool. I'm very disappointed in this review, I try so hard to deliver an awesome vacation experience and have been accused of caring to much. This condo is gorgeous and guests love it and so do I.
business
'Ernest Hemingway Retreat', Ocean Front, HUGE 1 Bedroom Corner End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430370vb
+1 949 463-0890
Waikiki Oahu
Vallejo, CA
5

WONDERFUL CONDO

  • 5 of 5
When me and my boyfriend first walked in, we thought there were still people staying in there because both of the tv's were on. But I guess the cleaners left those on for us. Anyway, I love this condo! First off, Janna was very helpful before and during our stay. The listing description and photos are very accurate. Janna was kind enough to provide beach mats, umbrellas, boogie boards, beach chairs, etc. This condo was fully loaded! It even had a vanity and a mirror with lights for you to do your make up which I always used every morning so I'm glad that was there. Also, the iPod Dock with the speakers were great for our use being that we are only 21 yrs old and we like to listen to music while we eat breakfast and get ready. So that was convenient for us. My boyfriend and I went here for his cousin's wedding. Coincidentally, the wedding reception was at the Hawaiian Prince Hotel which you can see from our balcony. We could just walk there. Additionally, his families had "okay" condos/hotels (most had cockroaches) but ours were more clean and modern which I loved most. It was a good price staying for 8 days. This condo has exceeded our expectations. Oh, I would recommend you to get the parking pass. That was very useful to us. Anyway, we are planning to go back next year maybe around May or June and we will definitely stay here again if it's available. All in all, I recommend this to condo to anyone of age.
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
'Ernest Hemingway Retreat', Ocean Front, HUGE 1 Bedroom Corner End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430370vb
+1 949 463-0890
Waikiki Oahu
5

WONDERFUL CONDO!

  • 5 of 5
Location was super as all the tour buses pick up next door to us. Condo was spotless and well- maintained. Lanai space was more like a ledge than an open space and we had to squeeze out onto it. View wasn't ocean view in that direction so didn't spend much time out there anyway. Interior of the condo was perfect, well stocked and as presented. Close to attractions, shopping etc. We had a great time here.
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
'Ernest Hemingway Retreat', Ocean Front, HUGE 1 Bedroom Corner End
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p430370vb
+1 949 463-0890
Waikiki Oahu
California
5

ILIKAI CONDO

  • 5 of 5
This was an excellent location, very nice condo and very comfortable! I highly recommend it.
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Hwy 1
Nearest Beach
Waikiki Beach
Nearest Barpub
Sorento, The Modern, Chart House, Outback, Red Lob
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Many
Nearest Restaurant
Sorento, Mirimoto, Chart House, Outback, Red Lobst
Car: not necessary

Nearest Airport : Honolulu International Airport at 7Miles

Nearest Motorway : Hwy 1 at 4 Miles

Nearest Beach : Waikiki

Nearest Barpub : In the building 4 separate bars

Nearest Golf : Waialae Country Club at 4 Miles

Lobby Level: Chart House, Red Lobster, Outback Steak House +4

Car: not necessary

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Waikiki Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jun 6 2014 - Sep 7 2014
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
$5,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
Sep 8 2014 - Nov 30 2014
3 night minimum stay
$155
$1,085
$4,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
High Season Winter
Dec 1 2014 - Mar 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$175
$1,225
$5,300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
Apr 1 2015 - May 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
$155
$1,085
$4,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$155
$1,085
$4,700
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $135.00 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $49.00
Tax Rate 14.0%
Notes Rates =2 people, extra guest + $15 per per person, per night to a maximum of 4
Less than a 5 night booking must back up to another reservation
All funds collected are 100% refundable if canceled 30 days prior to your arrival
Holidays minimum stay of 7 nights required

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Waikiki Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 10
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 850 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Beachfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Elevator
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Kitchen ...
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Shower/Tub combination
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1)in master bedroom, 2 twin Beds (1) Frontgage EZ bed see video here www.vimeo.com/27071521 other bed is a Double high Blow up bed.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Stereo
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVR
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • boating
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
*Floor Area: 850 sq. ft *Theme: activity; adventure
Email Owner Email