Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Breathtaking Oceanview Paradise at Malulani Green Haven in Kona

Josephine

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Josephine

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2015
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Breathtaking Oceanview Paradise at Malulani Green Haven in Kona

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

Kailua Kona House Rental Photos and Description

Welcome to Malulani Green Haven! This private home is located in a gated, quiet cul de sac neighborhood right in the heart of Kailua-Kona. You will enjoy a 180 degree spectacular ocean view from the back lanai and a mountain view on the opposite side. The cool ocean breeze that comes with the elevation makes your stay comfortable. The location is a convenient 10 minutes drive from the airport, five minutes drive to the historic town and the beach, few minutes drive or walk to shopping areas with Safeway, Walmart, Lowes, Costco and numerous restaurants.

You will have the use of three bedrooms and two baths. The master bedroom has a king size bed, a dresser and a walk in closet in the bathroom area. The master bath has a huge jacuzzi and double sink. The second bedroom has a queen size bed and a walk in closet with drawers. The third bedroom has two twin beds and a mirrored closet. Next to it is the second full bath. You will be provided with bath products and linens.

The dining area is large with a glass dining table. The kitchen is fully equipped with small appliances, cooking and eating utensils. Barbeque grill is provided by the lanai next to the outdoor sink. There is a huge refrigerator, a microwave and a dishwasher. Cable TV and free wifi are also available.

The beach such as magic sands is a five minute drive. Hapuna beach, a several hundred yards of white soft sand, is about thirty minutes drive The clear water offers excellent swimming, snorkeling or boogie boarding when the surf picks up. Boogie boards, beach chairs, beach towels, umbrellas and beach toys are provided for your use.

Mahalo!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Josephine (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 28, 2015

About Josephine

Our family loves to travel. Friends who live in Kona introduced us to this wonderful paradise. We were convinced that this will be our retiring place so we decided to find the right home. We did and this is the Malulani Green Haven.

Josephine purchased this house in 2002

Why Josephine chose Kailua Kona

We fell in love with the location of this house. It is on top of rock wall overlooking the most gorgeous panoramic view of the ocean. The house was built for our retirement home in paradise. The master bath was redesigned to fit a jacuzzi. We planted our favorite dwarf mango tree in front. Our first morning was the most exciting since we did not expect to see two cruise ships docked in our view from the lanai. Our family would like to share with you the experience of living in this lovely place and hope you will agree with our choice.

What makes this house unique

Malulani Gardens is a gated neighborhood right in the heart of Kailua-Kona. The location is very convenient to go anywhere whether it is to the beach, getting a quick meal, Starbucks coffee (around the corner) or picking up forgotten items (2 min from Walmart, Safeway). The tourist area of Alii Drive is only two miles away.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.8
based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Breathtaking Oceanview Paradise at Malulani Green Haven in Kona
average rating of 4.8 based on 15 reviews
New England, USA
5

Centrally Located House in Gated Community

  • 5 of 5

The owners were very attentive and responsive, making our vacation logistically flawless. Everything from the check-in process, checking-out, and everything in between was near-perfect. The home was perfect for us (2 adults/ 2 kids). The master BR had a jacuzzi that we took full advantage of; the second BR had two twins for the kids; the third had a large bed that went unused. Proximity-wise, it was very close to Wal-Mart and downtown Kona. The gated nature of the neighborhood made for some very quiet evenings, where we could enjoy the stunning sunset out on the lanai. Wish we could still be there!

Outside of no propane for the grill (minor), everything was great. If we get the opportunity again, we'd jump at the chance to stay there again. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for a great review. We are sorry that the propane ran out during your stay. We will have the tanks refilled again. Please let me know when you are coming back to Kona. Mahalo!
5

Great Location in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful amenities in this clean privately gated home. The view from the lanai is just gorgeous with vistas of the ocean especially at sunset. Full modern kitchen and a gas barbaquer outside. Conveniently located near everything in Kailua-Kona. We had five adults in our party and there was plenty of room for all of us. I would highly recommend this home to my family and friends. There were small issues with the garbage disposal not working but that's very minor.

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us and the wonderful review. I wish we were informed of the issue with the garbage disposal. We are going to have it checked for any trouble. Mahalo!
5

Great home, beautiful neighbourhood!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for us! We had 4 adults and 2 children. Location was a 5 min drive to downtown, Walmart, Safeway so it was very convenient. Pictures and description are accurate. Our only issue was the dryer broke down on our last day, but nobody could have expected that. Some minor repairs are needed but it didn't affect our comfort here. It is a beautiful neighbourhood and home. I would recommend this home.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for review. Be assured that the minor issues you brought up were resolved. We are glad that our guests share the enjoyment we experience staying at our vacation rental.
5

Safe, Clean and Comfortable home with 360 degree views of Pacific Ocean and mountains

  • 5 of 5

Malulani Green Haven is a gated community.

We were two couples sharing this house for two weeks. Layout of bedrooms was very good and allowed full privacy.

Kitchen was well equipped. Internet worked vey well.

Shopping and restaurants were within 5-10 minutes drive. Old Kona Airport Beach was 10 minutes. This beach had a very well laid out jogging/walking path in garden like surroundings.

Josephine was very helpful and prompt in replying to our inquiries. There was no problem in getting refund of the security.

I highly recommend this house to any one looking for a great vacation in Kailua Kona.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Close to everything

  • 5 of 5

What a great place to stay. The house was exactly what we were expecting and then some. It was clean and the layout was nice and spread out which worked out great for us. No one was running into each other. The lanai was great too. Just remember this is a hot climate so there are insects and reptiles. But don't be alarmed, The little Gecko's try to keep the bugs to a minimum. We bought a citrus candle for the lanai that really helped out since we were often out sitting and enjoying the view of the ocean. This is a gated street so it stayed nice and quiet. But if you want some noise you can easily drive less than 5 minutes to the popular downtown Kailua Kona area that has a lot of restaurants and shopping on the water front. You are also minutes away from Starbucks, Walmart and Safeway which kept the fridge stocked up and the coffee filled to to rim. Costco was conveniently on the way from the airport too. Note, try to make time to see the crater at the volcano national park. But only if it's a clear day. Otherwise you won't see much.

We'll be renting this place again. Well worth the price. What a great island!

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Ironman World Championship visit

  • 5 of 5

Malulani Green Haven was my home base for the 2013 Ironman World Championship. Convenient location to the Start/Finish/Expo/Registration.

Everything was comfortable and convenient for my pre-race prep and rest.

Excellent high speed internet.

Low-def TV with Cable but no HDTV.

Owner was fantastic with communication and responsiveness.

House sits atop a steep hill, which provides for a pretty view of Kona and the ocean from the lanai. However, the street/neighborhood is not ideal for bike or run training. More fun to drive down to Ali'i (run) or Queen K (bike) anyway.

Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jim, This review was very constructive. We replaced our old tv with a high def LED smart TV as of this writing. You will surely enjoy it next time you stay at Malulani Haven. :-)

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Kona International Airport (KOA)
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Huggo's
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Queen Kaahumanu Hwy.
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Magic Sands
Car: necessary

Centrally loated in the heart of Kailua-Kona with breathtaking ocean view.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $229 Per night

Kailua Kona House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High season
Jan 16 2015 - Apr 15 2015
4 night minimum stay
$249
 
 
Low season
Apr 16 2015 - Sep 30 2015
4 night minimum stay
$229
 
 
Ironman
Oct 1 2015 - Oct 15 2015
7 night minimum stay
$299
 
 
Low season
Oct 16 2015 - Dec 15 2015
4 night minimum stay
$229
 
 
Holiday
Dec 16 2015 - Jan 15 2016
7 night minimum stay
$279
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $175
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 13.42%
Notes Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Negotiated rates for longer stay. Flexible payment terms upon request.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Mirrored closet, fan
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , View, walk in closet connected to master bath, fan
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , View, walk in closet, fan.
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) 2 Twin size beds, Baby Cribs (1) Upon request
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$2,500 per week
5 - 14 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$450 per night
5 - 10 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$2,275 - $3,115 per week
5 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 6

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote