Disappointing, dirty, but has potential to be nice
Submitted: September 23, 2012
Stayed: August 2012
Our arrival at Pirate's Mirage was a very disappointing start to our stay in Morocco.
The bottom bedroom was filthy, with what looked like mattress stuffing strewn across the beds. There were dirty surfboard bags on the beds and one rotting in the shower, which had to be removed by us and cleaned in the courtyard to get rid of the smell. The beds were not made, despite us booking a place for 8 people.
We had to wait while the housekeeper cleaned the room and made the beds. He then told us there was no gas in the kitchen and that we would need to buy a new gas bottle - this should have been provided, surely.
We had paid the full rental amount before we arrived, which seemed to annoy the housekeeper, as he said he had not been paid. This was quite shocking and put us in a very difficult position.
The house is very hot and has no ceiling fans or air conditioning. We slept on the roof in the end.
The furniture in the top bedroom was falling apart, so we couldn't even use the wardrobe or chest of drawers.
The phone wasn't even connected, so there is no wifi in this property.
On arrival there were old wetsuits left in corners in the kitchen, hallways and rooms. And old towels hanging from the banisters.
The kitchen is not fit for purpose. Dirty dishes and cutlery. I wouldn't even want to boil water in the kettle. Not to mention, that there was no gas.
The bathrooms are also disappointing. Functional but could do with a proper clean.
It is such a shame, as Pirate's Mirage has the potential to be a lovely place. It seems as if poor management, on behalf of the owner, is letting the place go. All it needs is a fresh lick of paint, proper cleaning and a few mod cons in the kitchen to bring it up to scratch.
It is in a good location, close to a number of surf beaches etc. Quiet neighbourhood, with easy access to airport, Agadir and the road to Essaouira.
Maybe, consider including a welcome pack to help guests find local surf beaches, board hire and good restaurants. It could be a great surf villa, but a lack of basic cleanliness and good service lets it down.
Owner's Response: I am very surprised to see such a negative review. There was no effort on the part of the guest to contact me or otherwise seek an remedy to the alleged problems. Given the challenging nature of Morocco I have a strict policy of offering a complete refund if there guests are not happy with the situation upon arrival. If there was any validity to these complaints; which I seriously doubt, all could have been set right with an email or phone call.
Did you find this review helpful?