GRAND LODGE STYLE HOME WITH AMAZING VIEWS, 2 MASTER SUITES PLUS 3 BR

Gail Smart

Speaks english
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Manager

Gail Smart

Speaks english
Tell the manager when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GRAND LODGE STYLE HOME WITH AMAZING VIEWS, 2 MASTER SUITES PLUS 3 BR

Blowing Rock Lodge Rental Photos and Description

Astounding views and a home to match! Privately situated overlooking John's River Gorge and Pisgah National Forest, this beautiful home offers all the creature comforts and ample room for a group of family/friends or plenty of room for 2 or 3 couples to spread out and share this retreat setting. Located about 5 miles from downtown Blowing Rock, you are only 10 minutes away from most everything--Price Lake, Blue Ridge Parkway, the village shops and restaurants, Grandfather Mountain. . .

From the loft library overlooking the two story great room to the dual dishwashers in the kitchen and a dining table that seats 10, the home is set up for guests/friends to enjoy. Upstairs, in addition to a private office, there is a very private bedroom with double bed and private bath with shower.

On the main level, the massive double sided stone fireplace anchors the 2 story great room which overlooks the gorgeous views and opens to the deck/porches. The first master suite has both large shower and spa tub and deck access. The kitchen is fully equipped with wall oven, microwave and gas cooktop. There is a powder room on this floor also.

The lower level has a spacious den with built in large screen TV, bar and second stone fireplace. The second master suite is on one end of the den and on the other side down the hall is a large shared bath and two more bedrooms--one with queen bed and the other 2 twins. Laundry facilities are on this level.

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Gail Smart (Property Manager)
Advertiser since 2007
Speaks english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

3.5
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
GRAND LODGE STYLE HOME WITH AMAZING VIEWS, 2 master suites plus 3 BR
average rating of 3.5 based on 6 reviews
business
GRAND LODGE STYLE HOME WITH AMAZING VIEWS, 2 master suites plus 3 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428468vb
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
4

Nice, but news updating

  • 4 of 5
Took five couples for a working retreat. Broker was very efficient and had no trouble booking or reserving with rapid communication turn around. Spectacular views. The one criticism is that the place needs some updating and a good cleaning. Very dusty (so bad that one lady had an allergic reaction and had to go home early), dirt in the corners, hair in the showers, etc... Porch furniture is very weathered and aging-to-unstable. Not enough towels out. Linens were thin. Went to use two glasses that were cracked and knicked my lip on one of them. The house is beautiful and spacious, but just needs some TLC especially in light of the healthy rental fee. Nothing so bad that we felt the need to demand immediate action, but definitely an opportunity for improvement.
  • Submitted: May 29, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dan, thank you for taking the time to review Bellavista and for the 4 stars. I have spoken with the owner, and, while the home is booked for the season by one couple and they are quite content there, we will go in once they leave and thoroughly evaluate the home's condition and replace items that are in need of replacing, including new porch/deck furniture as needed. Hopefully you will return and allow us the opportunity to receive 5 stars on your next visit! As you mentioned, the views are spectacular and the house is spacious and handles a larger group well and only 10 minutes from Blowing Rock with all paved access and adequate parking, a rare combination for our area!
business
GRAND LODGE STYLE HOME WITH AMAZING VIEWS, 2 master suites plus 3 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428468vb
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Raleigh, NC
2

Friendly Getaway

  • 2 of 5
We had previously stayed at this wonderful home a year prior to this stay and our experience is what led us back. Unfortunately a lot had changed over the course of a year. The view from this home is second to none. The spacious style was exactly what we were looking for considering our large party. Aside from these things the home was very much unremarkable in terms of positives.

Last year we had a hot tub, this year the tub was out of commission. This of course was no longer on the listing so we take responsibility for having that as an expectation that wasn't met.

The cleaning of this home was less than stellar. The bathrooms were poorly kept. The linens on the beds we actually had to clean before we slept in them. Two of them had stains on them and smelled of stale cigarettes. This was a major turn off, however we were determined to have a good time and in our eyes was a fairly easy fix.

The fireplace on the main level works great it just takes a little time to learn how to properly work it. The lower level fireplace I would highly advise against using. Having grown up in a home that has a fireplace and a properly working flue, the flue in this home clearly doesn't work properly (poor design) or it just hasn't been cleaned...ever. The smoke actually prolapsed back into the home and before we knew it and could put the fire out it had filled the lower level rooms with smoke. This was a poor design. I would suggest focusing on the upper level fireplace that is gas.

Generally speaking we were dissatisfied with the home with our second go around. The home could really use some TLC. There were several minor repairs that could be performed to bring this home back to the beauty we felt it had held a year ago. For the price and size I would also recommend a better cleaning service. Also, we do take responsibility for it, the hot tub was a major let down. Most homes this size and price point offer hot tubs.

To the point, we will not be renting this home again. My hope is that new management can take over and clean things up, fix the small problems that are expected on an overly used rental property. Thanks for letting us stay in your home for two years in a row. I hope is that this home can become the jewel that it had once been.
  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Alice, it is most disheartening to receive such a negative review when we were never even contacted during your stay regarding any issues at all and have to hear of your dissatisfaction with a property that you were already familiar with several weeks later and in a public forum. We do take our responsibilities seriously, and would have wanted to know as soon as possible if you found the home unsatisfactory in any way that we could remedy, such as sending the cleaning service out immediately or having a technician look at the fireplace. Other than the hot tub, which was not offered as an amenity any longer, the home is in substantially the same condition as one year ago. If the hot tub was so vital to your enjoyment of a property, then we wish that you had verified that it was still available when you saw that it was no longer listed as an amenity rather than have the lack of a hot tub negatively impact your stay. We do our best to take care of any minor maintenance items promptly and the owner has planned for some more major renovations (new exterior doors on view side of the house) to be done the first of the year. Most guests who stay here are happy with the home and love the views and great location.
business
GRAND LODGE STYLE HOME WITH AMAZING VIEWS, 2 master suites plus 3 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428468vb
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Florida
2

October Suprise

  • 2 of 5
The home has been neglected and allowed to run down. Lights are burned out drapes and rods are broken and do not work. The grounds and home have not had a deep cleaning and there is dust and dirt through out the home. All in all an unhappy experience. I called the property manager but was not satisfied with their excuses. The view is a good one but overshadowed by the total lack of upkeep and deferred maintenance. I will not rent from the agency again or this home.
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is hard sometimes to respond to a review that is meant to harm. This home had a very thorough 3 day cleaning prior to the rental season beginning, including cleaning all area rugs professionally. The guest who wrote this review never said a thing until mid way through the stay, at which time we sent the maid out to clean whatever they needed. The lights in the house were all checked prior to their arrival--they do work including lamps but are controlled by wall switches. The house is thoroughly cleaned after each guest leaves and routine maintenance is regularly performed. We do our best to insure that all our homes are as good as they can be prior to our guests arrival, but realize the old adage is true, you cannot please everyone, no matter how hard you might try. Perhaps a more productive path for this guest would have been to call us immediately upon checking in if they felt the home was unsatisfactory in any way and given us a chance to remedy it or even move them to another home.
business
GRAND LODGE STYLE HOME WITH AMAZING VIEWS, 2 master suites plus 3 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428468vb
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
High Point, N.C.
4

Gorgeous View!

  • 4 of 5
The house is beautiful. View out back is amazing!
Multi-leveled so lots of stairs.
Beautifully decorated.
Houses a lot of people well.
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
GRAND LODGE STYLE HOME WITH AMAZING VIEWS, 2 master suites plus 3 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428468vb
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Monroe, NC
4

Thanksgiving 2012

  • 4 of 5
This place has a million $ view for sure! The house itself we found to be elegant but tired and less than sparkling. The towels were threadbare, there was no soap, the gas fireplace needed to be worked on, the thermostats were set off site to bizarre temp changes - 80 degrees downstairs and 50 upstairs. The main floor master had no containing area around the shower which caused major water incursion into the master bath. We found that some of the wall switches were mysteriously set to turn off sockets and caused us to curse the darkness! On the plus side, their were some children's books and toys to entertain the children among us and - did I mention that the view was wonderful!! For future rental, we suggest a booklet of info for the renter that would address some of the electrical problems as well as instructions for the fireplace, etc. Did we have a wonderful time - yes! Was the view wonderful - yes! Would I consider this place again - um, do not think so.
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: This home is fairly new to vacation rentals and the two reviews we have received are quite different but all agree that the views are wonderful! One guest loved the home and the other "not so much" but we appreciate all feedback and continually strive to maintain and update the home as it finds its niche as a vacation rental. We do have an instruction book at the home but will check to make sure it is still complete as pages do get moved around, etc. I am "in the dark" as far as your problem with the electrical outlets or the thermostats, but will of course have them checked out. It is difficult being in a strange home for just a few days and figuring out how everything works and what controls what--perhaps we can put little labels on the electrical switches to make it easier.
business
GRAND LODGE STYLE HOME WITH AMAZING VIEWS, 2 master suites plus 3 BR
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428468vb
Blowing Rock High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Kernersville, NC
5

Birthday Celebration

  • 5 of 5
I cannot say enough wonderful things about this home! We had a crew of nine women and there was more than enough room for ALL of us! The house is elegantly appointed (in a cabin/mountain retreat atmosphere). The views were absolutely breathtaking! We came to shop and party for a birthday celebration and never wanted to leave the house! It was perfect! The home owner certainly knew what they were doing when they built this home. Four floors for all to spread out on; dens in the main and lower levels; gas and log fireplaces, wrap-around deck. It was perfect!!! Can't wait to go back!!
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Terri, thanks for the 5 star review--this home is pretty new to vacation rental so glad that everything was to your liking and we would love for you to return anytime it suits you!

Map

Map

Located just outside the charming village of Blowing Rock, NC and close to Blue Ridge Parkway, hiking, Price Lake, Moses Cone Park, restaurants, Grandfather Mountain and all High Country activities/amenities. Tweetsie Railroad is just a few minutes away yet you are completely private in this grand mountain lodge with gorgeous views to the south.

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Blowing Rock Lodge Rental Rates

Notes

  • $475--$575 per night
  • US dollars
  • $475--$575 per night
  • $2850--$3450 per week
  • discount for monthly rentals

Amenities

Amenities

Blowing Rock Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Telephone
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Broadband Access
  • Wireless Internet
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Covered Parking
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4.5
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1) Two King master suites, Queen size Beds (1) Queen bedroom on lower level features antiques and shares a large hall bath with twin BR, Double Beds (1) Charming upstairs bedroom with private bath, Twin or Single Beds (1) two twin beds in 5th bedroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • theme parks
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • live theater
  • health/beauty spa
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • wildlife viewing
  • shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • antiquing
  • outlet shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • snowboarding
  • rafting
  • hiking
  • hunting small game
  • ice skating
  • spelunking
  • tennis
  • skiing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • cycling
  • hunting

Other Vacation Properties

$1,750 - $3,000 per week
  • 5 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 14
$2,340 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 15
$1,200 - $2,400 per week
3 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 5 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10