TWO BLOCKS FROM BEACH

Tricia Hopper

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Tricia Hopper

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

TWO BLOCKS FROM BEACH

Oceanside Bungalow Rental Photos and Description

Great location, 2 short blocks to the beach yet secluded and quiet in the North redevelopment area. The home is the upstairs unit of a triplex in which all units are owned by me. This 2 bedroom plus large loft, 2 bath unit sleeps 8 comfortably. Open floor plan with everything you will need for your getaway.

Enjoy a glass of wine on your private rooftop deck or have a barbecue on the front patio and enjoy a fire around the patio table. This is a great family unit.

Three block walk to the pier or the downtown area for great restaurants or to catch the coaster to downtown San Diego and other local beach communities in between.

The harbor with fine restaurants is a short walk up the bike path. Enjoy live music or rent a stand up paddle board.

San Diego has lots to offer including LEGOLAND, Wild Animal Park, Del Mar Race Track, La Jolla Playhouse, Sea World, Old Town, Gas Lamp District, Petco Park, San Diego Zoo, and the Balboa Park Museums, casinos and wine country. But Oceanside has the best and biggest sand beaches.

Need more space? You can also rent the the one bedroom downstairs unit. Feel free to inquire.

Always plenty of parking in this neighborhood.

Also included: bicycles, boogies boards, beach chairs...everything you need to truly enjoy beach living.

WIFI INCLUDED

More Details
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Guestbook comments from the owner
My wife and I stayed at Tricia’s Beach Bungalow for two months and enjoyed every minute of it. So did our occasional overnight guests, including our grandchildren. The unit is sunlit and spacious, comfortable and ideally located within easy walking distance of the beach, the Oceanside Pier and the harbor. Access to I-5 is only three blocks away, making it very convenient for trips up and down the coast. We spent a lot of time at the Thursday Farmers Market which is an easy walk and sells mostly agricultural and food items in the morning and fully cooked street food in the evening. Happily, the unit came complete with all that we needed for our visit, including a fully stocked kitchen and beach chairs and toys for kids. We often bicycled from the unit which is located less than two blocks from the bike trail . This was easy since the unit comes equipped with 5 bicycles. Tricia is a very personable and caring host who always made sure we had what we needed and offered tips on local restaurants and places of interest. She responded to our emails very quickly. We’re delighted that we found this rental unit and would definitely consider staying there again.



March 2014
Jan 2014
  • 1 of 1

Tricia Hopper

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2010
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I am a writer, and I enjoy the active life, including cycling and tennis. I grew up at the beach and thoroughly love the lifestyle. I have four kids and all of them still live near and enjoy the ocean.

Tricia Hopper purchased this bungalow in 2012

There are so many great things to do in San Diego. Oceanside has such great beaches. I love this place because I am not restricted by HOA's and I can provide my clients the best possible vacation experience.

Location! Location! Location! Only two blocks from the beach in North Oceanside where all of the surroundings homes are relatively new and the neighborhood is delightful.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.6
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Two Blocks from Beach
average rating of 4.6 based on 10 reviews
business
Two Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428184vb
+1 1234758899
Oceanside San Diego County
1

NIGHTMARE EXPERIENCE

  • 1 of 5
Hi Tricia-
I checked out a day early because there was just one problem after another at this rental. We had a repair person there half of the days that we were there. Besides the furnace pilot light requiring to be lit by my husband the blinds were replaced in a very timely manner. The faucet in the kitchen was replaced the next day. However, the problems kept coming. The microwave is on the fritz. It arches and sparks above the top ceiling panel and smelled like smoke so we, of course, could not use it. There were many spiders in this unit.
The biggest problem is that this unit was filthy. My kids feet were black anytime they went without shoes and socks. The tile flooring was sticky in many spots and there are just filthy spots, including the grout.
The kitchen cabinets have food and other "stuff" splattered on the sides of them and doors. We wiped some off and got sick of cleaning other peoples dirt. The refrigerator handle was sticky and my husband had to clean it. When you open the refrigerator door the bottom of the refrigerator is filthy. The dishwasher is the same with filth on the sides and bottom.
The main bathroom smells so badly of urine that my husband tried several time cleaning it with Clorox clean up that we had to go buy. We removed the two rugs from it and placed them on the front porch to get some air. They smelled so badly of urine.
The master bathroom has caked on filth around the base of the sink. You can tell it has not had a deep cleaning in some time. The rug for it, I assume, is the one we found hanging over the back deck area.
I encourage you to go look at this unit. We have left it in BETTER shape than we found it and it is still filthy. I could not take another day of my kids having black feet from other people's filth.
Deposit was half of what we put down, the sink faucet that broke was taken out of it at $250.00. What a crock. I should not have to be on the phone constantly during my vacation to get things fixed. Also, I do not think that it is acceptable to keep having repair/cleaning people coming and going, which this would have required. The reason we rented this is so we could have a secure area for our belongings.
  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Amber,
I am sorry that you are unhappy that I charged you $250 for the repair and replacement of the kitchen sink faucet that your boys broke.This is the first time in 3 years of doing vacation rental that I have ever had to use some of a client's security deposit.

Regarding the furnace, I apologize that the pilot was not lit. Thank goodness it was not a big deal for your husband to light it. As you know I was ill when you called. In spite of this, when you complained that two of the mini blinds did not work, I paid $650 to a handyman (who I've know for years by the way) to come out and immediately replace them for you. In fact, he replaced 4 of them since he felt 2 others might give out. You and your personal property were never in danger. The faucet was also fixed the next day by a plumber I personally know who was gracious enough to come out on a weekend.

The microwave is not broken. I had guests in the unit the week following you and it worked fine. You may not be aware of this, but if you put metal in a microwave it will arc and spark.

I have never had anyone complain about the cleanliness of my units. The carpeting is only 2 months old, and I would be happy to send you a copy of the bill as proof. I can't possibly see how your kid's feet could be dirty from the carpet.

I would like anyone who reads this to know that I take pride in my units and to please consider my other reviews, which rate my places 5 out of 5.
business
Two Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428184vb
+1 1234758899
Oceanside San Diego County
Brighton, Colorado
5

JAN'S FAMILY REUNION

Jan's Family Reunion
  • 5 of 5
We rented this bungalow plus the one bedroom apartment downstairs. Perfect location -- central to many tourist attractions -- and the beach and pier, as well as many restaurants and shopping) are within a short walking distance. The units are as nice and well maintained as the pictures show, the parking is ample, and the owner is wonderful to work with. We can't wait to go back. Thanks, Tricia!
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Two Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428184vb
+1 1234758899
Oceanside San Diego County
5

LOTS OF SLEEPING SPACE!!!

  • 5 of 5
Tricia was very quick to answer any questions I had regarding the condo. It was easy to get to and close to amenities and the beach.
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Two Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428184vb
+1 1234758899
Oceanside San Diego County
Peoria, AZ
5

FAMILY VACATION

  • 5 of 5
This was the first "Family" vacation that we had done, it included my children and grandchildren. I had never used a website to find a place to stay, but this turned out extremely well. The unit looked exactly like the pictures and description was spot on. Several times during our stay my kids and grandkids walked down to the beach, which is so close, and enjoyed during the early morning hours. The boogy boards were used by all, which made our time at the beach more enjoyable. We were so close to downtown Oceanside and everything else that was needed it was great. We would definetly recommend this unit to our friends and family and would choose to stay here again, the next time we want to be at the beach.
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm thrilled you picked us for your first time and that all was as expected. We love vrbo and use it for our own vacations. Hope you'll be back.
Tricia
business
Two Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428184vb
+1 1234758899
Oceanside San Diego County
5

FABULOUS ACCOMMODATION IN A BRILLIANT LOCATION.

  • 5 of 5
We had a fantastic holiday in Oceanside. I would most definately recommend this rental to everyone. The directions to the property were brilliant and so easy to access. A very spacious property with comfy beds and settees, plenty of towels and equipment. Barbecue and outside space ideal for the hot evenings.The laundry facilities and cooking area took the hassle out of everyday chores. Location really good for all the theme parks, we visited Disney, Universal Studios, San Diego Zoo, Legoland and Sea World. We also ventured across to Mexico which was excellent. Within walking distance of gorgeous beaches and pier, plenty of lovely walks. Thank you Tricia for making our Dream Holiday come true.
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Two Blocks from Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p428184vb
+1 1234758899
Oceanside San Diego County
Bend, oregon
5

OUR FAMILY VACATION IN OCEANSIDE

  • 5 of 5
Tricia was very helpful and available. We had a wonderful stay. The house was just like the photos. It was clean and had everything we needed. I think we could have used one more hand towel in the kitchen though. :) We would highly recommend this property to others. We loved having Pappy's market right down the street. She had boogie boards, chairs, fire pit, wood, bikes, everything we needed! The beach was about 2 and half blocks away. Having the washer and dryer came in very handy! Thanks Tricia. We'd love to stay again.
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Email Owner Email

Map

San Diego Zoo
Gaslamp Quarter
"You can hop on a train downtown Oceanside and go to the Gaslamp Quarter. Great restaurants a..."
Balboa Park
Succulent Cafe
"I love this place for a coffee. Peter the owner has created a beautiful outdoor setting with..."
333 Pacific
"We love going here for happy hour. This is a great upscale restaurant in Oceanside and an ea..."
LEGOLAND California
"I went here last summer for the first time with my grandchildren. What a great place. There ..."
Car: recommended

This property is situated in the ideal location for enjoying everything that San Diego has to offer. Oceanside has beautiful beaches, great restaurants and a train station right downtown to get you to other areas of San Diego.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Oceanside Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 31 2014 - Aug 30 2014
7 night minimum stay
$300
$8,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
$2,065
$2,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning Fee $250
There is a $500 deposit to hold the dates and the balance is due one month before your arrival.
Tax Rate 11.5%
Notes During the summer the minimum stay is 7 days. Saturday to Saturday.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Oceanside Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Wireless Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
Kitchen:
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Pantry Items ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • one 3/4 bath in the master and a full bath in the second bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2) Trundle Bed
Entertainment:
  • Video Library
  • Games
  • Toys ...
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Bicycles
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Balcony
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
  • festivals
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • roller blading
  • golf
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Email Owner Email