CHARMING PET-FRIENDLY COTTAGE, HOT-TUB, SHORT WALK TO BEACH

Richard & Katie Topping

Speaks english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CHARMING PET-FRIENDLY COTTAGE, HOT-TUB, SHORT WALK TO BEACH

Lincoln City House Rental Photos and Description

Our calendar is 100% up to date, please refer to it if you are interested!

LOCATED right next to the delightful Olivia Beach neighborhood, this charming cottage is a four minute walk to Nelscott Beach. The house features a wrap-around porch and an enclosed deck with 6 PERSON HOT-TUB, picnic table, and grill. In addition to the fenced, private deck a second fenced area is ideal for keeping your four-legged friends safe and contained.

The home has WIRELESS INTERNET for Facebook and work addicts. Our UNLIMITED HOT WATER SYSTEM means no-one gets a cold shower (unless they want one!)

The large open-plan first floor offers BEAUTIFUL CONTEMPORARY DESIGN AND FURNISHINGS. The property has a gas fire place, large flat-screen TV in the living area, sound-bar, Blu-Ray DVD player with an extensive DVD collection for the whole family. We also have Nintendo Wii, iPod dock, board games, cards, and books.

The kitchen has granite counter-tops, bar-seating for four and an eight-seater dining table. Expect plenty of cooking, baking and serving dishes for your party; and for the creative cooks we have an ice-cream and waffle cone maker, a large pressure cooker, plus electric grill, coffee percolator and of course a microwave, oven, stove-top, fridge and freezer.

The downstairs utility room has a washer and dryer, and ½ bathroom. There is off-street parking for three vehicles (or two vehicles and a boat trailer).

The UPSTAIRS MASTER SUITE has a beautiful queen sleigh bed, high ceilings and en-suite bathroom with tub/shower and duel sinks (plus great water pressure!). Plenty of floor space and blow-up beds for big sleep-overs.

The second bedroom has a TWIN bed and a super-comfortable self-inflating Double bed (just plug it in and up it goes). The room also offers a small color TV and DVD player.

Our third bedroom has a TWIN bed and double futon, as well as a small wall mounted flat-screen TV and DVD player.

In the second bathroom you’ll find another sink and tub/shower along with more of that high pressure, unlimited hot water.

Finally, our goal is for your party to have a relaxing, wonderful break. We provide plenty of towels and bedding as well as kitchen staples (cooking oil, seasonings, sugar, salt etc.). Feel free to use our kites, hula hoops, soccer and volley balls to your hearts content - just be sure to leave them for others to enjoy!

More Details
Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters

Richard & Katie Topping

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english

My husband and I live in Portland with our son and daughter. I am a 5th grade teacher and he's a writer/actor and now getting his chemistry degree at Portland State.

We love to travel, spend time with friends and family and are starting to get into hiking.

We bought the beach house a couple of years ago and love going there. Renting it was a hard decision, but we have truly enjoyed talking to our guests and doing our best to ensure that everything is lovely for them. It's actually been fun!

Richard & Katie Topping purchased this house in 2010

We looked at hundreds of houses once we decided to buy a beach home. But this one felt different. We loved the porch, the open plan and how close it was to the beach. We've enjoyed building the deck, putting in the fence and planting. It was also so fun to decorate! Of course, it did help that it was a new house!

We've tried to make the our beach house comfortable, clean and homey -without all the clutter we have in our full-time house!

It's wonderful to sit on the porch or in the hot tub at the end of the day and just enjoy being in a place where we can totally relax.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 19 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Charming pet-friendly cottage, hot-tub, short walk to beach
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 19 reviews
business
Charming pet-friendly cottage, hot-tub, short walk to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426387vb
Lincoln City Coastal Oregon
5

Excellent home, great value

  • 5 of 5
We stayed in this lovely home in July and had a wonderful time. We found the house to be as described and even better. The owners were great to work with and very responsive when we managed to lock ourselves out!

The kitchen was well stocked (even with an ice cream maker!). The beds were comfortable with plenty of extra pillows and blankets. We enjoyed the wide selection of DVDs and especially our evenings out on the porch watching the world go by.

It was a lovely week and only marred by the fact that we had to leave. Thanks to Katie and Richard for sharing your beautiful home!

The Jones Family
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming pet-friendly cottage, hot-tub, short walk to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426387vb
Lincoln City Coastal Oregon
Washington
1

Not happy

  • 1 of 5
I rented this house for the Fourth of July and was very disappointed. First there was a least of rules on the house in a notebook, which I was not even told to read or aware of it till I was cleaning the kitchen counter. There was dirty towels in the washer, a kitchen cleaning towel down in the garbage disposal and the microwave was disgusting! It was so dirty. Next they advertised a futon in one of the rooms which did not work. I was counting on 3 bed areas for 3 couples to use and one couple had to share a twin or sleep on the floor. The owners were VERY unprofessional. The didn't care about any of my complaints and only talked to me via text, which is not acceptable as a rented/ owner in my opinion. After all the trouble I had and all the time I spent via text with them they finally gave me all the cleaning deposit back. They even lost my address to be able to send back my deposits. One would think if you are in the business of renting you would keep files of the people you rent to. And the hot tub was locked up like ft. Knox. I understand when you are not expecting a renter in your home to lock it up, but when you are everything should be ready to use for your stay. I would not rent this property again.
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you did not enjoy our home and that you believe you received unprofessional service from us. My husband spoke to you about your issues and given the news I had received about my father's death that weekend, I hoped that you would understand my desire to communicate via text.

I would like to address your specific issues:

-Yes, there is a list of rules – most of which are in place due to Lincoln City regulations. This is standard procedure for any rental house. The file was left in the middle of the kitchen counter ready for your arrival. These were also e-mailed to you prior to your stay at your request (you even e-mailed back asking them to be sent again - which we did). I’m sorry you didn’t read the e-mails or see the guest book until you were cleaning up.

- As you rightly said, the interior of the microwave had not been cleaned, and from the photo you sent there were indeed some spots on the inside. This was unacceptable, and we immediately offered to return your $120 cleaning fee in full. Regarding the single, small hand-towel in the washing machine, your arrival was a turn day, and our housekeeper used the towel to dry her hands after cleaning the house (which was spotless incidentally). Quite how a tiny towel, in the washing machine with the lid closed, qualifies as ‘disgusting’ I’m not sure.

- We never had your address because you paid the security deposit with an anonymous banker’s check. I did e-mail you to ask your address and when I didn't get a response, texted you. I then promptly sent you the $120 cleaning refund.

- You said the sleeping arrangements were inadequate for six adults and a child. You rented the cottage for four adults and a child. If you had informed us that you had more people, we could have been more explicit about the futon and blow-up beds.

- The hot-tub is required – by law – to be secured with a lock. This is to stop children from climbing in and drowning. Removing the lock involves putting the key into the padlock, turning it, and pulling the cable. We will note this for future renters.

We have been renting our cottage for nearly three years and without fail every single renter has commented on its cleanliness, its beauty, its good value for money, and how helpful and easy we are as owners. We want our guests to have a lovely experience and are fortunate that this is the first time we've had an unsatisfied guest. We hope that your next experience is a better one.
business
Charming pet-friendly cottage, hot-tub, short walk to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426387vb
Lincoln City Coastal Oregon
5

Relaxing Get Away

  • 5 of 5
The house was just as described. It is located in a quiet neighborhood. The back yard and deck provided a safe place for our two labs. It was extremely nice to be able to have our 4-legged friends with us. The hot tub was warm and inviting even in the rain. We were able to fix all the meals just like we were at home. The living room heated nicely with the gas fireplace. There was plenty of room upstairs for the five adults. The house was a short walk to the beach. The nearby stairs down to the beach were not marked so it wasn't apparent where they were located at first. People out walking pointed us in the right direction. We chose to walk a bit further and use one of the city access points just a few blocks away. The home was clean and well maintained. Overall, this was a very pleasing option for staying at the beach.
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming pet-friendly cottage, hot-tub, short walk to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426387vb
Lincoln City Coastal Oregon
Pacific Northwest
5

Turkey Day getaway

  • 5 of 5
The house was as described and previous reviews were spot on. We had no rain until the day we left so had great beach walks. Getting down to the beach was surprisingly easy. Great amenities and having a driveway for 3 cars was great. Six adults had plenty of room. The fireplace was used constantly as was the dishwasher....The only issue was access to the downstairs half-bath which was quite a squeeze due to placement of its entry door---something to bear in mind if that particular room bodes large in your lifestyle! I would recommend this home away from home to anyone. The Toppings were easy to work with via email.
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Charming pet-friendly cottage, hot-tub, short walk to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426387vb
Lincoln City Coastal Oregon
Bend
5

Amazing, comfortable and relaxing

  • 5 of 5
We had such a fabulous time, the house was awesome and pretty much home away from home! The only draw back was the closet space not avail to hang clothing items up. Nothing that we couldnt work with though! Great location, quiet and relaxing. A great way to end a crazy active summer.
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words and great review!

Re. The wardrobe space, it sounds like you might have missed the built-in closet in the back bedroom (easy to do if you're not using all the rooms). We'll make a point of mentioning it in the check-in information so future guests know where to hang their clothes!

Best regards
R & K
business
Charming pet-friendly cottage, hot-tub, short walk to beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426387vb
Lincoln City Coastal Oregon
USA
5

Best R and R for escaping AZ heat

  • 5 of 5
We were able to spend almost three weeks at this lovely house this past august, and loved every minute of it! One of our fav things were the number of great sitting areas to have conversations: front porch, tv area/fireplace, dinning table (huge!), back deck picnic table, hot-tub, "cook's delight" kitchen/bar counter (best VRBO kitchen-and I've rented alot around the world). Loved the close beach. Just a great place to hang out. Did wish for double beds upstairs instead of one twin in each of smaller bedrooms. We managed though, and never once locked ourselves out! Owners super helpful, and pics don't do justice.
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Set one block away from the delightful Olivia Beach neighborhood, this charming cottage is a four minute walk from access to Nelscott Beach. The house features a wrap-around porch, an enclosed deck with hot tub and picnic table, a large open-plan first floor and three bedrooms on the second floor (one en-suite).

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Lincoln City House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
High Season
Jun 23 2014 - Sep 1 2014
4 night minimum stay
$195
$1,300
 
 
Low season
Sep 2 2014 - Nov 25 2014
2 night minimum stay
$150
$975
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 26 2014 - Nov 30 2014
3 night minimum stay
$195
 
 
Low season
Dec 1 2014 - Dec 18 2014
2 night minimum stay
$150
$975
 
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 19 2014 - Jan 1 2015
3 night minimum stay
$195
$1,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
$1,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $80
Pet Fee $40
Tax Rate 4.0%
Notes Dog owners will be subject to an additional $40 fee to cover additional cleaning. The "tax" is actually a credit fee which the credit company does not allow us to specify!

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Lincoln City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Living Room
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Telephone ...
  • Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Oven
  • Dishwasher
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2) Two double beds are available - one blow-up (electric, self-inflating) and one futon (the futon needs to be used on the floor), Twin or Single Beds (3) Two new single beds and one single blow-up (self inflating, electric)
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Games ...
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Video Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Game Console ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • health/beauty spa
  • recreation center
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
  • massage therapist
  • fitness center
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • kayaking
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • surfing
Email Owner Contact Me