SILVER PLUME VICTORIAN HOME

Jim Gidley

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Jim Gidley

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SILVER PLUME VICTORIAN HOME

Georgetown House Rental Photos and Description

Mountain victorian with downstairs bedroom, upstairs bedroom,.3 beds, 1 sleeping futon, sleeps 5 comfortably. Living/dining area, kitchen, small refrigerator, microwave, quisinart grill, countertop oven, cooking utinsels, linens and blankets. Walking distance to Georgetown Loop Railway. Town is National Historic Site as is Georgetown(2 miles) due to mining history. Mountain setting with hiking, climbing, skiing. Close to Loveland Ski Area, also Arapaho Basin, Keystone, Breckenridge, Copper Mountain and Winter Park. Interior rehab and all new paint.

Distance to ski areas:

Loveland 10 miles 12 minutes

Arapaho Basin 17 miles 25 minutes

Keystone 28 miles 35 minutes

Breckenridge 35 miles 40 minutes

Copper Mountain 31 miles 35 minutes

Winter Park 33 miles 36 minutes

NOTE- Times may be greater due to weather and traffic conditions.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Jim Gidley (Owner)
Advertiser since 2012
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks english

About Jim Gidley

Retired Air Force pilot began skiing in 1950s at Montana State University. Met wife Terry at Sun Valley and started family skiing while stationed in Germany. Skiied Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Italy in 1960s/70s. After Air Force retirement was a Boy Scout executive and high school teacher. Skiied Portillo, Chile in 2005. Colorado snow is the best in the world! Wife Terry is retired school nurse, son David is photographer/extreme skiier, daughter Kim coaches at Air Force Academy, son Scott is retail manager in Ft Worth. Grandson Lane at the Air Force Academy. Grandaughter Breanna and owners live in Fort Worth/Abilene, Texas. We love the Colorado

mountains.

Jim Gidley purchased this house in 2010

Why Jim Gidley chose Georgetown

We started coming to Colorado when our daughter began coaching at the Air Force Academy in 1998 and Dave was a ski instructor at Keystone. We started the Grandkids skiing and really liked the atmosphere at Loveland. Also like Arapaho Basin and Winter Park but did not like the drive back to Colorado Springs. In 2010 bought the property and reworked the front half for overnight and short term use. Silver Plume is a laid-back, interesting town with National Historic site designation

What makes this house unique

Being in Silver Plume is like returning to post Cival War times. The streets are unpaved, the old store fronts are unique and adjacent Georgetown and Idaho Springs have lots of activities and amenities. Mountain hiking and biking is readily available and skiing runs from October to April.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay nights
Pay with confidence
Pay with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.1
based on 10 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Silver Plume Victorian Home
average rating of 4.1 based on 10 reviews
business
Silver Plume Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426374vb
+ 8176765396
Georgetown Front Range Colorado
5

Our Home Away from Home!

  • 5 of 5
My husband and I have stayed here for our summer trip to Colorado for the last two years in a row, and we look forward to going back next summer. It is very conveniently located next to the historic Georgetown Loop Railroad, in Silver Plume. We enjoy relaxing and having our morning coffee on the front porch looking up at the mountains. David makes sure we have everything we need and always fills us in on all the local happenings. Our favorite hiking place, Guanella Pass, is an easy and beautiful drive from this quaint cottage, and coming “home” always feels so nice. It is stocked with games and movies, which is always fun after a long day in the mountains. We love all of the books that are available for our use; we have learned much about the history of Silver Plume and Georgetown. David also has plenty of stuff to rent if you are into skiing, biking, kayaking, etc. Some of our favorite places in nearby Georgetown include Mountain Buzz Cafe & Pizzaria, Lucha Cantina, and Mad Mike’s Outdoor Gear and Espresso Bar.
We miss our mountains and can’t wait to come back!
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Heather,

Thanks so much for the nice review. We appreciate your returning for the second year. Dave especially enjoys seeing both you and Daniel. Please come back and thanks again.

Sincerely,

Jim Gidley
business
Silver Plume Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426374vb
+ 8176765396
Georgetown Front Range Colorado
Park Ridge, IL
5

Perfect place for active people

  • 5 of 5
This is an unique cabin located in a very quiet place; perfect for everybody who loves outside activities. Hiking trails start just "from a cabin". Dogs are allowed on trails. Close to this town, other historical places are good to see. Although in the town, there are not too many attractions, its geographical location makes itself very attractive. Owner is pet friendly and cares about. his guests. I would recommend this cabin for parents with teenagers, pet owners and adventure seekers.
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Eva,

Thanks for the nice review. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Colorado from Illinois. Dave and I hope you come back again.

Best Wishes,

Jim Gidley
business
Silver Plume Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426374vb
+ 8176765396
Georgetown Front Range Colorado
-
2

Clean and comfortable

  • 2 of 5
The property has alot of character, antique items. The town is quaint and historic. Nothing was open and there were few residents. We went for a convenient place to stay while skiing at Loveland. It might be good for a group of guys. The carpet was very stained. Chairs at the dining table were broken. I almost fell through one chair. The coat hooks were hanging off the wall. We like to cook and there was no stove, but there was a cook plate, toaster oven and microwave (which quit working while we were there). It snowed before we arrived and while we were there and I kept the walk shoveled. The owner was helpful about area information and rented skis to us.
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review. My intention is to provide clean, comfortable lodging at a reasonable price. My son relayed to you on your arrival that there was regretfully some renter damage that he had not repaired due to heavy rentals during March. I apologize for this. Regarding carpet, we had installed new area rugs above areas where stain could not be removed. In the future I may remove downstairs carpet and refinish the wood floor as a solution. Cooking facilities are accurately stated in the web page and regarding the microwave, it was replaced the day after you told us it was broken. I am looking at purchasing additional cooking appliances but not putting in a range and oven due to lack of space. Thanks again for calling problems to our attention.
business
Silver Plume Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426374vb
+ 8176765396
Georgetown Front Range Colorado
Oberlin, KS
4

Great family lodging!

  • 4 of 5
This historical home in Silver Plume is just right for a family of five! We were pleased that it had one double bed, two single beds, and a futon. There was so much room! It was decorated tastefully too. The only reason I rated it with 4 stars instead of 5 is that the hot water heater seems to be a small tank, so showers had to be short in length. There was a huge assortment of DVDs to watch movies. That was nice for a relaxing evening after a day of skiing. The house is in an excellent location! It was a short ten minute drive to ski at Loveland and only about two miles to Georgetown. The owner has excellent communication via email. We will definitely be going back to stay at this historical gem of a house in Silver Plume!
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay. In regard to the water heater, I am looking at installing a tankless electric water heater which should solve our hot water problem. Thanks again.
business
Silver Plume Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426374vb
+ 8176765396
Georgetown Front Range Colorado
4

Great little place for "home base"

Great little place for "home base"
  • 4 of 5
I found this place while looking for a last minute place to stay as part of my husband's surprise Christmas gift. It's exactly as listed. It was a great home base for us for a couple days. Not the best choice if you want somewhere to cook large meals for your entire stay as there's no oven or dishwasher; nothing wrong with that at all, but sometimes we choose VRBO's specifically so we can cook and all eat where we're staying, which wouldn't have been easy here. The house was easy to find and get to. It was really good for us driving from Denver and going on the train that evening, then driving the rest of the way to Breck the next day, then the next day driving back to Denver. It seemed to break up the drive perfectly.

We brought our small dog who stayed in his crate while we were gone. He did just fine with the small front yard; it was cold so he didn't want to be outside long and we just picked up after his messes.

The only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is that it was difficult to keep the living room warm enough for our personal preferences. If it had just been the 2 of us it would have been fine to just add layers, but was more of a pain with a 1-year old.

While there we went on the Georgetown Loop train (that was the Christmas surprise for my husband), which was fun. We sat in the parlor car that's enclosed and heated and had cookies and drinks. We always go to the Alpine restaurant for pizza when we drive through Georgetown, so we were happy to be so close. The next day we went snowshoeing in Breckenridge up Boreas Pass (good for us as beginners). We wanted to go see the ice castles in Breck but completely forgot.
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: Adrienne,

Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed the stay and the Georgetown train. Hope to see you again in the future.

Jim Gidley
business
Silver Plume Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p426374vb
+ 8176765396
Georgetown Front Range Colorado
5

Great home in a wonderful town

  • 5 of 5
We loved staying here and had a great weekend in Silver Plume. This historic home was beautiful and was close to many fun Colorado activities. We had a great time exploring the old mining town, going on hikes, and taking day trips to several nearby towns. This would be a wonderful place to stay both in summer and winter. The owners were very helpful and we would definitely stay here again.
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Berkely,

Thanks for your nice review. We are glad you had a nice stay and hope to see you again in the Colorado mountains. Best wishes and thanks again.

Jim Gidley

Map

Map

Georgetown Loop Railway schedules runs from the Silver Plume station to Georgetown and return

Many restaurants, antique shopping and activities located in Georgetown (2 miles)

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Georgetown House Rental Rates

Notes

  • $100 per day, $600 per week
  • US Dollars
  • $100 per day (4-5 persons)
  • $600 per week (4-5 persons)
  • Discount for active and retired military
  • Fully refundable deposit required
  • Cleaning fee of $50 will apply for rentyal of 7 days or more

Amenities

Amenities

Georgetown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Budget
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Living Room
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Toilet, vanity, shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Upstairs bedroom has 2 beds, closet, built-in drawers Downstairs bedroom has one double bed, closet, dresser
Entertainment:
  • Television ...
  • DVD Player
  • Video Library
  • Books
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • wildlife viewing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • shopping
  • antiquing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • snowboarding
  • cross country skiing
  • rock climbing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
Notes:
Please clean dishes, utinsels and kitchen when cooking. Normal check-in/out is 4 PM & 11AM.

Other Vacation Properties

$650 - $800 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,015 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 7
$180 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4