AFFORDABLE OCEANFRONT COTTAGE

Lizz Taylor

Advertiser since 2012
Speaks english
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Contact the Owner

Lizz Taylor

Advertiser since 2012
Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

AFFORDABLE OCEANFRONT COTTAGE

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights

Overview

Overview

Folly Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Bathroom RENOVATION coming December, 2014!!!!!

PLEASE READ THE RATES SECTION BEFORE CONTACTING ME! Located minutes from the Morris Island Light House, come escape to this cozy, yet peaceful cottage tucked away at the east end of Folly Beach. With your own private walkway out to the sand, you will lose track of time while bathing in the sunshine! This property is 800 sq ft and is ideal for 2 couples vacationing together, just one couple or a family of 3-4. Wifi and HD cable are available. The two bedrooms are side by side. They are not extremely spacious, but more than adequate for a week at the beach. Both bedrooms have a closet with coat hangers and a chest of drawers. Linens and bath towels/wash cloths are provided. The kitchen is stocked with plates, bowls, cups, silverware, pots and pans. Cleaning supplies are available for daily 'tidying up.' There is a comfy hammock on the deck looking out onto the Atlantic Ocean. My family has owned this beach house since the 1970's and this is our first attempt at renting to vacationers. We hope to accommodate all of our guests, and since we are local, we are willing to go out of our way to do so.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Lizz Taylor (Owner)
Advertiser since 2012
Speaks english

What makes this cottage unique

Wifi, HD cable, private beach walkway, on the 'quiet' end of the Island, ample parking and OCEANFRONT!

Why HomeAway

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.8
based on 18 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Affordable Oceanfront Cottage
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 18 reviews
business
Affordable Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424927vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
spartanburg, sc
4

We had a fantastic time.

  • 4 of 5
The house and location exceeded our expectations. We particularly enjoyed the 1/2 mile strolls to view the lighthouse and the wildlife in the surrounding bay. The owners were very helpful and accommodating. The only problem we had was unique to our circumstances. We had 2 young children and the thin sliding doors to the bedrooms didn't provide much of a sound barrier so if one child was awake it was likely that both were awake. All things considered a very minor issue. Thank you for having us Elizabeth and we hope to be back soon!

P.S. Thank you for replacing the towels from the previous reviewer.
  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You're very welcome. We are glad you had a great time! Sorry about the bedrooms doors. I will brainstorm on that one.
business
Affordable Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424927vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Midway, Ohio
2

Did not feel welcome

  • 2 of 5
While the view is good (once you look through the tunnel of other houses to the beach). The house could use some updating. They have you sign an agreement which is good except the detailed inventory list which only had about half of the items actually at the house. And beside that all of the don't do this/that signs make you feel as if you cannot be trusted to understanding the agreement. Did not feel welcome or able to relax for fear of loosing deposit if any sand was in the house. All of the dresser drawers were taken up so had to live out of suitcases as well. Only 5 towels so make sure to bring your own. And they are white, make sure not to get any dirt close to them or you will pay. Street was quiet and away from the center of town and bar noise. I have used VBRO many times and this is the worst experience. All others were 5 stars.
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: This review comes as a shock to us since everyone else has thoroughly enjoyed their stay. Please read our other numerous positive reviews. As for the view, there is plenty of it! Our photos speak for themselves. We do not keep any portion of your deposit if there is a little sand here and there. We understand it's a beach house. However, we do keep a small portion ($20 in this case) of your deposit when you email us and admit to getting blood on several towels. They had to be replaced. Basic hygiene must be addressed. The signage is only there to serve as a friendly reminder. We provide free linens and towels, but there is no maid service so bringing extra towels is always a great idea! There is plenty of room in both dressers so I am confused by this comment. The inventory list, although ever-changing, on the rental contract is up to date. We are constantly updating the house as finances allow, as the house was built in the 70s. Once again we are truly sorry you had such a stressful experience (all over $20) and we wish you nothing but the best!
business
Affordable Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424927vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
Pawleys Island, SC
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5
My wife an I stayed at "Gramps Getaway" for the week leading up to our wedding. The location of the house was perfect because it allowed us to have some much needed relaxation time. The beach was so nice and wasn't crowded at all like some of the other areas on Folly. Lizz and her family made this an amazing vacation for us. There were no hassles of having to deal with a large rental company. We truly enjoyed our stay and hope to stay again soon.
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! Congratulations again and we hope you come back soon:)
business
Affordable Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424927vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
5

Great vacation!

  • 5 of 5
My Husband and I loved Gramps getaway. Lizz was great to work with. She made everything easy. The cottage is much bigger than I thought. We had plenty of room to spread out and relax. We had our St. Poodle with us and He loved walking the beach every morning and heading into town during the day. There are tons of pet friendly restaurants in Folly and we ended up taking him to Magnolia Mansion where he was allowed to do EVERYTHING with us. Even the pontoon boat ride through the rice fields.
Lizz's cottage had a lovely deck area and screened in porch with huge new doors all around. We sat out there every evening enjoying the waves and the stars. We really hope to come back some day.
We didn't cook much because we wanted eat at all the fantastic restaurants in Folly but we did find everything we needed in the kitchen.
Gramps Getaway has everything you need to enjoy a nice beach getaway and Lizz welcomes you to anything she has is yours. She was a very gracious hostess. Thank you!!
  • Submitted: May 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Stay tuned for improvements and upgrades! You're welcome back anytime! Thank you for the lovely review.
business
Affordable Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424927vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
5

Loved It!

  • 5 of 5
Loved the relaxing setting. Watched the sunrise, walked the beach and collected shells, read some good books while lounging on the deck, did some body surfing at the pier, enjoyed lunch at the local cafes (Lost Dog Café was particularly delicious) and took pictures of the Morris Island Lighthouse at sunset. Gramps Getaway was a perfect spot for my husband and I and our teenage daughter to spend Easter Break.
  • Submitted: May 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again.
business
Affordable Oceanfront Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424927vb
Folly Beach Charleston Area
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
My family absolutely loved our vacation in this cottage. Everything was as described so there were no surprises. It was VERY comfortable and relaxing. Lizz was very attentive to answering questions prior to renting. We would definitely stay here again!!
Thanks for everything
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Visit the Morris Island Light House! If you continue east down the beach, it's just a few minutes walk from our property.

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Rates & Availability

Rates & Availability

From $250 Per night

Folly Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter
Sep 15 2014 - Mar 15 2015
3 night minimum stay
$250
$1,320
$5,280
 
 
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
$300
$1,650
$6,600
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Pet Fee $150
Cleaning fee $100
Notes Beginning in 2015, we will only be accepting reservations for a minimum of one week during peak season (March-September). The check-in/out day will be Friday. Please be patient as we have been experiencing difficulties since Vrbo changed their website layout/format! Do not hesitate to email us with questions.
We accept personal checks, money orders and cashier's checks unless another method has been approved. Your deposit is due when you return your rental agreement in the mail. Your rental fee needs to get to me at least 10 days prior to your check in.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Folly Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , No tub. Just a stand up shower, sink and toilet.
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Sunroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Practically outside. Glass door porch.
  • Double Beds (2), Sectional couch, floor room for air mattresses
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$1,050 per week
3 - 4 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$795 - $995 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 5
$1,001 - $2,205 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote