Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

WEST KENSINGTON APARTMENT WITH PERIOD FEATURES NEAR SHOPS AND MUSEUMS

Sarah Green

Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Sarah Green

Advertiser since: 2009
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
85%
Calendar last updated:
October 27, 2014
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

WEST KENSINGTON APARTMENT WITH PERIOD FEATURES NEAR SHOPS AND MUSEUMS

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

Hammersmith & Fulham Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 bedroom apartment to sleep 4 in central West London, near shops and museums

Our apartment is located in the W14 district, and is an excellent base to explore London. Set in a leafy quiet residential street, you have numerous local restaurants and pubs a few minutes walk away. The area is also known as Brook Green. Within 10 minutes walk you can be exploring shopping districts like Westfield and High Street Kensington. The famous Portobello market and Notting Hill area are also a short walk or tube ride away.

The property has two bedrooms with double beds overlooking gardens at the back; the bathroom has a shower and bath and plenty of storage; the lounge has beautiful period features, an open fire and a large bay window looking out onto the street; the kitchen is located off the lounge and offers a dishwasher, washing/dryer machine, gas cooker with oven and microwave.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Sarah Green (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2009
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
85%
Calendar last updated:
October 27, 2014

About Sarah Green

Ive been living in the area for 12 years now and we love it. We have two small children and the area is great for parks and for walking into the city via Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens.

Sarah Green purchased this apartment in 2000

Guestbook comments from the owner

We enjoyed the location a great deal with its peaceful surrounds yet convenience. The flat's quirks made it more homey. For other guests we recommend the Waitrose at Westfiled for groceries over Tesco. Also there is a coin-operated laundry on Shepherds Bush Road near the Tesco if you want to dry clothes quickly. For food we found Karma to be very good and Pizza Express to be very bad. Some other things we discovered; The people at the tube station were very helpful in getting us the right transportation solution. If you're here a week consider the zone 1 & 2 travel card. In the flat we discovered (a little late) that there is a binder in the cupboard above the refrigerator with manuals for the appliances. WE also tripped a circuit breaker and learned that they are in the closet in the small bedroom.
Jul 2014
  • 1 of 13

Why HomeAway

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 11 traveler reviews

Write a Review
West Kensington apartment with period features near shops and museums
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 24 reviews
business
West Kensington apartment with period features near shops and museums
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424007
+44 -(0)7832 212505
Hammersmith & Fulham London
2

Nice compact unit, needs some upkeep

  • 2 of 5
This is a 1st floor unit with large bay windows overlooking a pleasant, quiet residential street. Shepard's Bush and Hammersmith tube stations are a short walk away and there are convenient grocery, restaurants, cafes, pubs, etc. nearby.

The unit was comfortable enough but of the 5 properties we rented in Paris/Edinburgh and London, this was the most expensive and the least clean well maintained. The owner is pleasant and helpful with a "red book" of travel tips and information.

There are some oddities in the property operation including the fact that there is no hot water during the afternoon/early evening except by prior arrangement. This can be challenging if you are going out for the night or arrive late in the day.

Overall, we made this unit work, but recommend the owner consider re-painting the unit, replacing the worn carpets, getting matching dishes and silverware,and clean out the cabinets and closets from odds and ends left by prior occupants, and do a thorough cleaning of the unit.
  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your valuable feedback and we are sorry you didnt have our usual 5 star experience. We have been hosting guests at Fielding Road since 2009 and we strive to give visitors the best 'home from home' experience we can in our apartment. We have recently taken on board a new cleaner and will continue to monitor their work; the yearly refurb is scheduled. Evidently we need to make it much clearer where the immersion heater switch is to provide guests with (almost) immediate hot water top ups.
business
West Kensington apartment with period features near shops and museums
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424007
+44 -(0)7832 212505
Hammersmith & Fulham London
5

Very good location. Nice neighborhood.

  • 5 of 5
Took a shuttle right from Heathrow. First thing to do is read the big red book of instructions. Nice neighborhood. Quiet neighbors. Bright cheery and clean. Character room. Love the ceiling. Took 3 or 4 days to find things we needed. Pub, Central at Bush Court. Groceries, Morrisons same place. Tube station, shepards bush, 5 min walk. Grocery stores will deliver. Had a great 28 days. Watch for the foxes in the back yard.
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
West Kensington apartment with period features near shops and museums
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424007
+44 -(0)7832 212505
Hammersmith & Fulham London
2

Not the cleanest.....

  • 2 of 5
The flat was in a nice area.....but....was not clean (except the sheets). Especially after reading the rules and instructions, one of the rules being no outside shoes, we were very surprised to find a dirty flat. The carpet was filthy, and didn't look like the vacuum had been run in a while. The walls and the floor in the kitchen were dirty and sticky, especially around the trash can. Not somewhere we felt comfortable going barefoot! Also, we needed to use the pull-out couch for one of the travelers and there were NO sheets left out. We had to scrounge in a closet for sheets and only found 1 extra blanket that looked like it was used in a picnic by some other guest! Didn't expect the Taj Mahal, but for the price we paid, we did expect more a clean flat!
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear that you did not find the condition of the flat acceptable. If we had known at the time we could have taken action (e.g. conducted another clean when it was convenient to you) to make your stay more enjoyable. We have since hired a new cleaning company as this kind of experience is not acceptable for our visitors. We note your feedback about the missing sheet and make sure that it is clear that these are to be found under the main bed in the large draw with the duvet.
business
West Kensington apartment with period features near shops and museums
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424007
+44 -(0)7832 212505
Hammersmith & Fulham London
5

Good and well mantained apartment & Location

Good and well mantained apartment & Location
  • 5 of 5
the apartment was great, comfortable and in a good location, we surely recommend your apartment to friends and family, thanks for the hospitality and all the efforts to make our stay in London so wonderful.
in the apartment is everything you need including WIFI for a family stay in London , also is walk closed to the Olympia station where you can easy catch the train to central London.
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
business
West Kensington apartment with period features near shops and museums
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424007
+44 -(0)7832 212505
Hammersmith & Fulham London
4

A beautiful week in London!

  • 4 of 5
The apartment is well equipped, the kitchen has all you need for cooking. In the lounge there is a large sofa-bed. Just the bedrooms n°2 is a bit small to contain a double-bed because there is no space for luggages nor a wardrobe for clothes. At only 5 minutes of walk there are two stations, Sheppard Bush and Kensington Olympia, so you can go everywhere you want to visit London. The neighborhood is nice and safe, we often walked around to get to Tesco (near Sheppard Bush Station) to buy some foods or to Pizza express, 5 min of walk around the corner. We never met Sarah, we didn't need to make a call 'cause we didn't have issues in the flat. We were 5 people, but I think the apartment is comfortable for 4. We enjoyed our stay there and surely we would recommend it.
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
West Kensington apartment with period features near shops and museums
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p424007
+44 -(0)7832 212505
Hammersmith & Fulham London
5

Quiet and charming flat and perfect place to stay

  • 5 of 5
We had a great time in London. The typical London flat is very nice and well equipped. The area is very quiet and safe. We appreciated the convenient location…close to the tube, many buses, shops, restaurants... After days of intensive visits, we return with pleasure in our apartment in this quiet neighbourhood.

We enjoyed the experience of the west Kensington neighborhood. If we get a chance to return to London, we would like to stay in this apartment again where we felt very comfortable.

Highly recommended! ;))
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Heathrow
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Metres
Bird in Hand
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Kensington Olympia
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
M4
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Bird in Hand
Car: not necessary

W14 is a beautiful location in West London. You get the best of both worlds as it is a short journey to the hustle and bustle of Oxford Circus and Bond Street whilst being a short walk from the River Thames and the leafy spaces of Holland Park; you can jump on a bus to South Kensington to visit the Natural History Museum or Victoria and Albert Museum; or you can stroll down High Street Kensington to check out some shops and cafes which follows into Kensington Gardens and into Knightsbridge. Locally, there are some great restaurants and cafes for breakfast or a leisurely coffee or you can visit some of our well known local gastropubs. We are a 15 minute walk to the River Thames where you can enjoy a drink whilst watching the world pass by. The latest addition to the area is 'Westfield' which is 10 minutes walk towards Shepherds Bush - this is currently Europe's largest shopping centre.

Other Activities: Shopping, visiting the sights of London

Photos

Rates & Availability

From £140 Per night

Hammersmith & Fulham Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£140
From
£180
Fri,Sat,Sun
£770
£3,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

End of stay clean £100
Refundable damage deposit £100
Notes These rates include all tax.

Cancellation Policy

Policy available by contacting owner when booking.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Hammersmith & Fulham Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
Forms of Payment:
  • accept credit card
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 60 m²
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The bathroom is up to date with a power shower over the bath and mirrors along the two main walls. There are shelves behind the toilet to store all your items and a towel rail on the back of the door. Towels are provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Lounge - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Both bedrooms are at the back of the property giving you even more peace and quiet. Bedroom one is the largest of the two bedrooms and has floor to ceiling sliding wardrobes with full length mirrors. There is a selection of books on the shelves to keep you occupied in case you forget to bring your own. Bedroom two is smaller and is kitted with some shelves and a walk in cupboard to hang your clothes.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
As you enter the property, you come into a small hall area with the doors to the bedrooms, lounge and bathroom. The lounge door opens into a large high ceiling room with period features such as light fittings and cornices. There is a large sofa and two 'tub' style chairs to relax in whilst you watch TV on the flat screen TV. There is a DVD player for your entertainment. In the bay window, there is a period round wooden table with four seats. The lounge window looks out onto the leafy residential street and is framed by a delightful cherry tree. The kitchen is situated off the lounge and gives you all the usual amenities as listed; the bathroom has been recently decorated with large limestone tiles and has a power shower over the bath; towels are provided. The bedrooms are at the back of the property and the larger of the two bedrooms has lots of storage and hanging space with floor to ceiling mirrors. The smaller double bedroom does have some storage space to hang clothes.

Other Vacation Properties

$1,506 - $1,586 per week
4 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
$301 per night
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$2,878 per week
4 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote