CHARMING MULLHAVEN COTTAGE ACCOMMODATION IN SPACIOUS TROPICAL GARDENS WITH POOL

Karin

Speaks german, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay nights

Contact the Owner

Karin

Speaks german, english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

CHARMING MULLHAVEN COTTAGE ACCOMMODATION IN SPACIOUS TROPICAL GARDENS WITH POOL

Mullins Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, Patio, 5 mins. to Mullins Beach

Mullhaven Cottage is situated in the grounds of the main house in a large tropical garden - just minutes to Mullins Beach and has a large swimming pool.The cottage has 2 double bedrooms (Air conditioning is available for UK£7 per night). 2 Bathrooms, Living and Dining Area. You also have a Patio and a Terrace for dining outdoors.

Fully furnished and decorated to a high standard.Fully furnished kitchen with Fridge, Freezer, Oven & Hob/Grill.

Bath and Beach towels, Hairdryer, TV, Radio, CD Player.Mullins Beach is a short 5 minute walk down the Road from the property and is one of the most popular Beaches on the west coast.Holetown is 10 min drive (or a short bus drive away) also where you will find the Banks, Supermarket, Post Office. In the other direction 5 min drive away there is the quaint village of Speightstown.

All major Attractions of Barbados, are within easy reach from Highway 2 A which is located at the top of the road. Public transport is also within a few minutes stroll

Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • children welcome
Karin (Owner)
Advertiser since 2009
Show Phone Number
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks german, english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Karin - Thank you for helping make our Barbados stay as warm and wonderful as is the island itself! Your advice was spot on each and every time and the arrangements made on our behalf were priceless1 See you again soon!

Ted and Deb, Vince and Laureen



Ted Vescio, Canada



I like to say thank you for coming and it would be nice to see you again. Karin
Mar 2012
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.2
based on 12 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Charming Mullhaven Cottage Accommodation in Spacious Tropical Gardens with Pool
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews
business
Charming Mullhaven Cottage Accommodation in Spacious Tropical Gardens with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423756
+1246 2563872
Mullins Beach St. Peter
5

Tranquil tropical bliss

  • 5 of 5
What a delightful property. Peaceful lovely spacious gardens just a few minutes walk from Mullins and - even better - Gibbs Beaches. Cooling swims in the super pool, Choice of patios or gardens for relaxing in or out of the sun. Fresh mangoes, avocados, limes and golden apples straight from the tree and occasional visits from entertaining local Green Monkeys. A veritable - and affordable - Paradise in which to escape the northern Winter. Thank you - will be back - again and again and again.
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Mullhaven Cottage Accommodation in Spacious Tropical Gardens with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423756
+1246 2563872
Mullins Beach St. Peter
5

Wonderful, peaceful, relaxing

  • 5 of 5
What can I say...we were so very impressed by this lovely property, Karin and Neil could not have been more accommodating..wish we could spend more time at this lovely cottage. We were made to feel like family or old friends,,we did not want for anything. I actually sprained my ankle and Karin took incredible care of me.....cannot wait to go back. Great location..you can walk to the beach or just enjoy the beautifully landscaped yard and pool.
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Charming Mullhaven Cottage Accommodation in Spacious Tropical Gardens with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423756
+1246 2563872
Mullins Beach St. Peter
5

Perfektni dovolena

  • 5 of 5
Cht?li jsme dovolenou v bungalovu blízko pláže. Veškerá o?ekávání byla nejen spln?na, ale dovolím si ?íci, že i p?ekonána.Toto byla zatím po všech stránkách asi naše nejlepší dovolená. Karin nam se vsim ochotne vypomohla. Domecek byl prostorny, cisty, utulne zarizeny: 2 pokoje s 2 koupelnami, kuchyn spojena s obyvakem, prostorna terasa, gril. Opravdu jsme byli moc spokojeni a urcite se na Barbados zase vypravime!
Karin: thank you very much for your "Gastfreundschaflichkeit". Many greeting from your guests from Czech Republic! ;-)
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Charming Mullhaven Cottage Accommodation in Spacious Tropical Gardens with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423756
+1246 2563872
Mullins Beach St. Peter
4

Wonderfully relaxing 2 week Break

  • 4 of 5
Firstly I wish to thank the owners, Karin and Neil for all the help given to us, both before our arrival and while we were staying at the cottage. They couldn't have done more to make us welcome and we found them both friendly and warm. Karin was always happy to help us arrange trips and taxis and Neil very kindly took my son to play golf at his club several times.
The cottage is joined to the main house which surprised us at first, but we experienced no problems with this throughout the two weeks. It was very peaceful and the garden was private to us. It was delightful to sit on the veranda watching the birds, of which there are many, and the monkeys, coming in for their daily helping of fruit!! Only once were we disturbed by a gardener but this is to be expected if the garden is to be kept to such a beautiful standard.
Thank you again for a wonderful two weeks. It was our first taste of Barbados and we were not disappointed. The people are warm and friendly and the area of mullins delightful. Both Speightstown and Holetown provided many eating and drinking places and wherever we went on the Island we were always happy to get back to this area and especially the cottage. Maybe see you both in Scotland sometime!!
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a pleasure having you as guests and Neil enjoyedgolf with a PGA pro! Look forward to renewing friendship ere long. The nice thing about letting our cottage is the new friends we make each year as well as catching up with our many repeat guests. Equally it is so pleasing when people are enthusiastic about our charming property including gardens, flora and fauna and lovely tropical ambience.
business
Charming Mullhaven Cottage Accommodation in Spacious Tropical Gardens with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423756
+1246 2563872
Mullins Beach St. Peter
5

Everything you need and more for a dream getaway

  • 5 of 5
2012 was our third visit in a row to Barbados and our second to Mullhaven. If you are looking for an immaculately kept, peaceful, safe retreat, then this is the place for you.

Karin ensures you want for nothing during your stay and has a genuine interest in making sure you experience no stresses during your holiday, no matter how big or small. The ground of the cottage are beautifully kept and the property is cleaned frequently during your stay. It has great access to the beaches on the west coast and 5 minutes walk to the main bus routes.

The location of the cottage couldn't be better in our opinion. Far enough away from the main roads that you have no noise disturbances, but close enough for access to other parts of the island. The veranda at the back is perfect throughout the day and evening. You can catch the last of the sun there in the afternoon and enjoy a Carib (or Banks!!). The monkeys will entertain you in the mornings along with the occasional mango falling - no need for tv...

The pool is very clean and perfect for sunbathing all day. We were entertained by 'Ernest' the baby heron for our two weeks this year. We were quite happy stationing ourselves by the pool most days as the beaches were busier that usual with it being the Easter holidays.

The new local resteraunt 'bumbas' a little further up the coast from Mullins is fabulous. Much more relaxed than a lot of the resteraunts on the coast, but the food is equally as good. If you go and like fish, be sure to have the tuna steak if some has been caught that day...so good!

On that note, I will be booking my flights for 2013 ASAP and look forward to seeing both Karin and Neil again. Mullhaven feels like a home from home

E & E xx
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
business
Charming Mullhaven Cottage Accommodation in Spacious Tropical Gardens with Pool
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423756
+1246 2563872
Mullins Beach St. Peter
1

A MUST READ – A RENTAL NIGHTMARE!

  • 1 of 5
I’m a 52-yr-old professional & my 3rd time to Barbados. I went to relax only to return more stressed. As space is limited, only the key issues are noted.
The cottage is nice but needs a little TLC. It’s very secure-gated with 2 layers of razor wire around the property & Karin wants the cottage chained/locked at all times.
Karin has strict rules not posted or discussed before collecting your non-returnable deposit or arriving. I suggest you have a signed contract even before a deposit is made.
She allows no guests/absolutely no locals which she told us was illegal & threatened her husband was a retired lawyer. After much negotiating; we ended up paying needlessly for 2 additional people for 3 wks. I told Karin my friend would be over only a few times & not once did he spend the night, use the shower or pool. She does not post a check-out time either. She told us 2 wks into our stay we had to be out by 10:00am knowing 10 months in advance our flight left at 4:05pm.
As her home & the cottage are attached, the lack of privacy is a very big issue. People are around constantly for the lawn/garden/bugs/maid & Karin herself giving them orders. I did appreciate the maid service, but it’s 3 times a wk for 2 hrs usually around 4:30pm which is when you are home to shower/change or just to sit/relax. She encourages open windows as she doesn’t mind the talking/music, but this is not the case. You hear her opera music & smell her cigarettes.
The pillows aren’t great so I used one off the other bed. 2 days later it disappeared. 2 rolls of toilet paper were taken, I assume to replace the few strands on her rolls but it is not acceptable to just go into our belongings & take things. It concerns me a great deal knowing on a number of occasions Karin was in the cottage while we were out & makes you wonder what else she went thru. I tied a string on the door one day to prove it.
We paid in advance to use the A/C & on a couple of occasions Karin was outside my window shutting it off. Wi-Fi/internet access didn’t work. The phone is an ext to the main house-you listen to it ring all day starting at 8:00am. After screening the call if it was for us, she would instruct the person to call back & then come over or yell thru the closed window.
You need a checklist dated/signed on arrival as Karin has no file of the issues within the cottage. You are responsible for anything damaged even just general wear/tear. Add everything no matter how small as it is her word against yours.
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is very upsetting and bears little relationship to the truth. It is so clearly malevolent that I am reluctant to dignify it with a response. On one thing, however, we are agreed - these guests were a nightmare. One has to ask, not least when one considers the many, many satisfied regular return guests I welcome each year, as well as the positive reviews posted on this site, why this odious, nasty and deliberately harmful review?

The guests had booked for 2 persons. On their first night my husband and I were out for dinner. We were puzzled on our return around 11p.m. to see a strange old car parked right at our gate. As the cottage was in darkness, in view of the hour we deferred enquiry till the following day though we had our suspicions as to impropriety. These proved well-founded as it transpired that each guest had a local man visiting overnight. That is strictly against the rules of our establishment, as at most hotels, boarding houses etc on the island. The guests approached me about their transgression and asserted that they had been unaware of the rule! More likely thay had not originally perceived that the proximity of the cottage to our house made it impossible to have "secret" overnight guests! Be that as it may it was an unpleasant situation and when the guests pleaded with me to let them stay and unsolicitedly offered to pay for 2 more guests, against my better judgment, not wanting to spoil their vacation, I rather foolishly agreed.

That was soon regretted! Later that same day while my maid was doing one of the bedrooms she came across a used condom amongst the bedsheets. A serious health-risk issue was thereby added to the previous rules breach. My maid was extremely upset and I had to console her greatly to avoid losing her services. It was, indeed, a horrid experience for her and simply should not have occurred. My dilemma was, however, that I had agreed with the guests to permit their number to be increased from 2 to 4 and while I was uncomfortable with the arrangement I felt I had to abide by it. Nonetheless I felt that the reputation of my establishment was compromised.

As a result of all this, as well as the blatant immorality of the behaviour of these guests, there was considerable tension between us for the duration of their stay. This has clearly caused their unfair and wounding review. I run a respectable establishment and will continue to maintain my standards as appreciated by my many satisfied repeat guests.

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
beach
Car: not necessary

Mullhaven Cottage is located at Mullins Road and it is max. 5 minutes to walk down to the beach.

Photos

Photos

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Mullins Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Notes

  • Rental rates per week
    Low season: 15th. April - 14th. December

    GBP 400 for 2 person
    GBP 500 for 4 person

    Special summer offer!!

    GBP 350 for 2 guest
    GBP 450 for 4 guest
  • Rental rates per week
    High season: 15th.December - 14th. of April

    GBP 500 for 2 person
    GBP 600 for 4 person
  • A non-returnable deposit of 50% of total rental secures your booking with the remaining 50% payable no later than 4 weeks before commencement of the holiday let.

Amenities

Amenities

Mullins Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Accommodation Type:
  • Guest House
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 70 m²
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Mosquito Magnet
  • Parking Off Street
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Local Maps
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking
  • Safe
  • Wireless Internet
  • Internet
  • ISDN Access
  • Air Conditioning
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchenette
  • Refrigerator
  • Freezer
  • Stove
  • Oven
  • Microwave
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Each Bedroom is served by its own bathroom both with shower etc
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 child bed , the childbed at request
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • Both of the bedrooms have Air conditioning available at a cost of £7 per night.
Entertainment:
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
Outside:
  • Beach Towels
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Small Cooler
  • Porch / Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • children welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • zoo
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • marina
  • museums
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • coin laundry
  • library
Leisure Activities:
  • paddle boating
  • walking
  • sight seeing
  • scenic drives
  • horseback riding
  • bird watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • medical services
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • fitness center
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • snorkeling
  • golf privileges optional
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • paragliding
  • jet skiing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • sailing
  • fishing
  • golf
Notes:
The property is 1/2 acre. and totally closed and private. The Beach is around a 5 minute walk from the property. There is an outside shower for use after swimming, beach etc Maid service twice a week. Bed linen included and will be changed once a week. Towels will be changed twice a week. Internet access is available. The cost for 1 week will be BBD$ 50.00

Other Vacation Properties

$237 - $270 per night
1 - 2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$2,005 per week
5 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8