LOVELY, DEEP WATERFRONT HOME ON THE POSSUM KINGDOM PENINSULA

Anna Blair

Speaks english
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

LOVELY, DEEP WATERFRONT HOME ON THE POSSUM KINGDOM PENINSULA

Possum Kingdom Lake House Rental Photos and Description

Great house, great views, deep water, great East side location!

This waterfront tri-level home was built in 2005. It's a 3 bedroom, 2 bath home, located close to the end of the Peninsula on the east side of Possum Kingdom lake.

This is a private home with a wood burning fireplace, central air and heat, beamed cathedral ceiling, multiple covered decks, and fabulous views of the lake from every room. (We turned the house plans around so the large windows face the lake.)

There are extensive custom stone patios with steps going down to the lake, a fishing pier and over 300 feet of private secluded shoreline. We are the last house on our road, with a wilderness area to the left and there's unlimited shoreline past our 300 feet, to explore.

Mexican saltillo tile floors with rugs are on the second and lower level, two fully tiled baths, central heating and air conditioning, ceiling fans, huge, well equipped kitchen, with microwave, range, dishwasher, washer & dryer, side by side refrigerator with water and ice in the door, and a separate built in icemaker. The living area has flat screen cable TV, dvd player and stereo. There are carpeted bedrooms, (with a king, two queen sized beds and two roll away beds.) The over sized master bedroom has it's own TV, sitting area, huge paladin windows with a panoramic lake view, Master bath with jacuzzi, separate shower, twin sinks and a balcony for relaxing and taking in the views.

Everything you need has been provided to make your stay a pleasant one!

*Ten Good Reasons to Go To Possum Kingdom Lake Any Time of Year;

1.Listed as the best man-made lake in Texas according to Kirk Dooley’s “Book of Texas Best.”

2.The Hell’s Gate/Devils’ Island area is the best party cove in Texas.

3.Mardi Gras on Bourbon Street is the best winter celebration on the Brazos.

4.Trails for hiking, biking, and wildlife observation are all around the lake.

5.Don’t miss the annual Possumfest & BBQ Cook-Off the first weekend of October where almost everything but possum is being cooked!

6.Canoe or kayak along the John Graves Scenic Riverway below the dam or take an airboat ride up the Brazos River.

7.Watch the fireworks waterfall at Hell’s Gate during the Fourth of July celebration.

8.The best view by a dam site is at Observation Point located above the dam.

9.Anglers take your pick! You can fish for all kinds of bass, catfish, crappie, and even rainbow trout below the dam in winter.

10. It’s the Great Lake of Texas!

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
Anna Blair (Owner)
Advertiser since 2012
Speaks english

About Anna Blair

We started renting our home as a 'Vacation Home Rental' last year. We are retired and have a home in Fort Worth. When we are away we thought we would share our home with families that would love and respect our home as we do. Friends and family are what makes life rich, and each of our homes are filled with gatherings from our travels, good food and laughter. We designed the spacious home to utilize the beauty of the lake, the native trees, Palo Pinto mountain surround, and wildlife gathering spot. It's such a treat to see the herds of deer gathering in the evening by Sandy Beach!

Possum Kingdom will bring you back year after year. Noel and Anna Blair

Anna Blair purchased this house in 2005

Why Anna Blair chose Possum Kingdom Lake

This home undoubtedly has the best deep water views on the lake!

We are close to the end of the Peninsula in a secluded area, teaming with wildlife and nature. Our home is located on a point with panoramic views in every direction! We offer covered porch decks, stone patio with adirondack chairs, huge window views of the lake, and a fully equipped, almost new home.

Our waterfront has 350 feet of private shoreline, and unlimited, natural shoreline to the left, since we are the last property. We have a fishing pier and our secluded wooded, hillside lot is 1/2 acre.

You will find peace and relaxation at our place, in comfortable surroundings. Nature lovers will find plenty of wildlife. We have deer, wild turkeys, humming birds and of course, there's lots of fish and water birds!

A new hiking trail was recently put in which goes to Sandy Beach on the left. Just a short hike through the woods to reach deep sand and a playground, picnic tables and the lake. Of course everyone can swim at our place as well.

We are close to several public boat launches and boat rental facilities, if you are into boating, be sure to check out the cliffs of Hell's Gate. The lake offers a vast variety of natural lake views.

This is a great place for a family vacation or a place to unwind, relax and take in the natural beauty!

What makes this house unique

When we built this home in 2005, we turned the back of the house around so it faces the road. The true front faces the lake, and is much more attractive than the back but we did that so most of the windows would face the view. We have arched windows in the master with a beautiful lake view and windows all across the lake side. This is a secluded, quiet, beautiful and relaxing place!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed here in April 2013 and had a great weekend. Anna responded very promptly and professionally to all questions and planning needs. The house was gorgeous and comfortable and very accessible to everything we needed within the area – lake, boat rental, golf, dining, grocery, etc. I would highly recommend.

Recommended for: Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 1

Why HomeAway

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Reviews

4.2
based on 16 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Lovely, Deep Waterfront Home on the Possum Kingdom Peninsula
average rating of 4.25 based on 16 reviews
business
Lovely, Deep Waterfront Home on the Possum Kingdom Peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423720vb
Possum Kingdom Lake Texas Panhandle
dallas, tx
5

Great Weekend

  • 5 of 5
We stayed here in April 2013 and had a great weekend. Anna responded very promptly and professionally to all questions and planning needs. The house was gorgeous and comfortable and very accessible to everything we needed within the area – lake, boat rental, golf, dining, grocery, etc. I would highly recommend.
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you, Zac! Anytime you and your friends feel like a dose of Possum Kingdom, our home is your home.

Best,
Anna
business
Lovely, Deep Waterfront Home on the Possum Kingdom Peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423720vb
Possum Kingdom Lake Texas Panhandle
2

Average

  • 2 of 5
On a positive note the house had plenty of space and you have a great view of the lake but the bad out weighed the good. First there was no WiFi and the phone service is very poor. There was a lack of exterior maintance starting with the neglected yard. I had to duck under the tree to get to the entry way after getting hit with a branch, plants were overgrown and grass was very high which contributed to the large amount of bugs around the house and inside. Not well kept. The deck that overlooked the lake was not in good shape and unsafe in many areas (nails sticking out/stairs loose with rotten steps). The ice machine did not work which was also disappointing since it is advertised. Over all the house is not child friendly. Do not recommend or at least until the lake is up.
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you weren't pleased. All the issues you mentioned have now been taken care of. (Being so far from a major town, sometimes makes it take longer to get things done.) We had to wait for parts on the ice maker, then wait for a service person to schedule repairs. However, we also have a (through the door) ice maker in the refrigerator so I thought that would suffice.

Most people have cellphones so a home phone generally isn't necessary. I thought people would enjoy being at the lake without the distractions of wifi, especially since the only option out there is satellite. Most of the cafe's have internet access with the closest one being just a mile or two down the road. You could enjoy a cup of coffee and check your email. You are welcome to come back and give us another chance- you will find everything's been taken care of. :)
business
Lovely, Deep Waterfront Home on the Possum Kingdom Peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423720vb
Possum Kingdom Lake Texas Panhandle
Bartonville, Tx
1

Not good

  • 1 of 5
The house itself is nice but basic amenities were not. The price listed was misleading - after the required 'insurance', the required charge for cleaning, and taxes, the price was well above the cost per night that was initially quoted. The ice machine did not work, the fire alarm system went off multiple times at night, and the septic tank alarm went off on the second day so guests could only take 1-2 minute showers for fear that the tank would overflow. When notified about the fire alarm, the owner inquired about smokers (no!) and then suggested we turn off the system at the fuse box (not safe!). Cell phone reception was nonexistent except at the very edge of an old dry dock. I understand the lack of cell coverage but there is no phone at all in the house to call 911 if needed. We left a day early because of all this. This information was texted to the owner and she has not bothered to reply at all.
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Joe, your experience at our house was not typical. Granted, there were some issues and we tried to take care of them as best we could given the circumstances. All waterfront properties at P.K. are on septic systems which has to pump up hill (in our case) away from the lake. Our two pump system has to pump to the top of a steep hill (Burma Mountain). Because prior guests flushed inappropriate items, our pump was burned out right before your stay! We hurriedly had the three septic tanks pumped out so everything would be okay for your stay, and had to wait until the service guy could install a new pump. I told you to turn off the alarm because we knew the pump was out, and nothing could happen since the tanks had been pumped.
Because of the hills, we do have poor cell phone service because of the hills. I did not receive a text message from you, which is why it was unanswered, but I did speak with you on the phone a couple times to explain what was happening. It was something we had no control of, and in spite of warnings on the contract (and in the bathrooms) about not flushing anything but toilet paper, someone did. Their thoughtless act cost us three thousand dollars, and you a bad experience at our home.
Insurance ($49) is required of everyone who books and taxes are a part of the total cost. State and local taxes hotel tax amounts to 10%. Cleaning is charged at actual cost and would be the same amount if you stayed two days or two weeks. A local pastor at P.K. owns the cleaning company and does a great job, in my opinion.
We are sorry for your bad experience (and ours as well.)

Best Regards,
Anna
business
Lovely, Deep Waterfront Home on the Possum Kingdom Peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423720vb
Possum Kingdom Lake Texas Panhandle
wylie tx
5

great stay

  • 5 of 5
We stayed here for a guys weekend. Was perfect place to just hang out by the lake. I would not recomwnd for small kids as it is on the side of a cliff. So it would be harder for kids to get to water. Property is really awesome overall.
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, Tommy. You and your friends were the perfect guests! You are always welcome at our place. :)
business
Lovely, Deep Waterfront Home on the Possum Kingdom Peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423720vb
Possum Kingdom Lake Texas Panhandle
Dallas
4

PK

  • 4 of 5
Had a great time! Lovely home with great views.
  • Submitted: May 27, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Lovely, Deep Waterfront Home on the Possum Kingdom Peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423720vb
Possum Kingdom Lake Texas Panhandle
McKinney, TX
5

Relaxing Weekend

  • 5 of 5
Our weekend stay in your property was amazing! The house was just as it was described: clean, spacious, and had an amazing view! Our family of 6 were comfortable in our respective rooms and had plenty of space to relax in the living room as well as on the deck. The spacious kitchen was great since we had lots of cooks! We couldn't get over the view - especially from the master bedroom balcony. Unfortunately the lake is down, but that didn't stop us from spending time on the water. We used the public ramp at the Brazos River Authority area just down the road. We were even able to tie up our boat to some of the trees in the water near the house and wade in. The only issues we had were tiny and not a problem. Water pressure was only an issue if more than one person was showering or if the dish washer was running or a toilet flushed. Otherwise the water pressure was fine and we had plenty of hot water. Our other issue was ants, but ONLY if food wasn't put away or dropped. We only had this issue because our toddler dropped food and we didn't realize it. From that point on we were sure to quickly pick up spills and put all food away before heading out for the day. We would recommend this property to anyone, and hope to come back again someday. Perhaps in the fall when it's not so hot!

Thank you so much!
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Valerie! I'm so glad your family enjoyed your weekend getaway at Chateau Blair! Fall and Spring are amazing, do come back when the weather is milder- it's my favorite time to be at the lake.
Best Regards,
Anna
Email Owner Contact Me

Map

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Landing strip for private planes at Possum Kingdom
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
State Highway 16
Nearest Beach
About 30 feet from our back door
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Rockin S, Bonitaville
Nearest Ski
Water skiing is great on 75 mile long P.K. lake
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
TheCliffs resort- one Texas's finest golf courses.
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Selena's, Rockin S Bar & Grill, Bonitaville
Car: recommended

A network of Hiking trails have been completed, one of which is on our road. Turn right on the trail at the Trail- head and it's a short hike to Sandy Beach. Small children can play on the playground equipment, swim and play in the deep sand and gentle lake slope. Pack a picnic lunch, there are tables and grills.

Lots of deer and other wildlife abound (no hunting). P.K. is a great place to water ski, since the lake is 75 miles long! The Brazos River feeds the lake, and a short distance away are canoe rentals, where you can spend the day on the river.

Golfers can play at The Cliffs- one of the finest and most difficult golf courses in Texas and one of the most beautiful. The view of the cliffs and lake from the cliffs behind the club house is a must-see.

Or just stay at our home and relax, read, fish and/or swim. Watch the sea birds and deer, an occasional fox, wild turkey, etc., etc.

P.K. is still beautiful. Our area wasn't impacted by the fires. Come out and relax- you won't want to go home.

P.K. is approximately 75 miles west of Ft. Worth and the metroplex. Come out, sit under the stars and unwind!

Email Owner Contact Me

Photos

Photos

Email Owner Contact Me

Availability & Rates

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Possum Kingdom Lake House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 8 2014 - Dec 1 2014
2 night minimum stay
$300
$2,000
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 26 2014 - Nov 30 2014
5 night minimum stay
$1,600
Flat fee
 
 
Winter
Dec 2 2014 - Feb 28 2015
2 night minimum stay
$285
 
 
Christmas
Dec 24 2014 - Dec 28 2014
5 night minimum stay
$1,600
Flat fee
 
 
New Year
Dec 31 2014 - Jan 3 2015
4 night minimum stay
$1,600
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $49
cleaning fee $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%
Notes Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. E checks or credit cards preferred. For over 6 guests a fee of $50. pp will be charged.

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Email Owner Contact Me

Amenities

Amenities

Possum Kingdom Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
Location Type:
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Romantic
  • Family
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Parking ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Stove ...
  • Oven
  • Microwave ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • Dining ...
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower , jetted tub , double sinks, fully tilled, separate shower, jetted tub
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , fully tilled. Tile floor.
  • Master tile bath has twin vanities, jacuzzi tub and separate shower off the Master suite. Second tile bath has a tub with shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , two roll away beds in Master Bedroom closet
  • Each bedroom has a great view, with the Master bedroom having Paladin windows, a balcony and Master bath with a jacuzzi. The two lower bedrooms share a hall bath.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
Outside:
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • ATM/bank
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snorkeling/diving
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • freshwater fishing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • snorkeling
  • water tubing
  • swimming
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • golf
  • wind-surfing
  • water skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • cycling
  • fishing
Notes:
350 feet of private waterfront and unlimited natural, secluded waterfront on the left. Wilderness area beyond our house, lots of wildlife and hiking trails.
Email Owner Contact Me

Other Vacation Properties

$2,000 - $2,500 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$1,475 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 2 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 9