Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

TRUE RIVER EXPERIENCE 550 ft of frontage, San Marcos, Martindale, Staples, Tx

Linda Scudday

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Linda Scudday

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2015
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

TRUE RIVER EXPERIENCE 550 ft of frontage, San Marcos, Martindale, Staples, Tx

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

San Marcos Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Secluded,serene,beautiful river cabin sleeps up to four. Enclosed porch and de

True River experience, Great get away, cabin sitting on the San Marcos River. Over 1,000 square feet of living space including front screened-in porch,open 14x 14 deck and a loft bedroom. Complete kitchen for dining in with grocery store less than five minutes away. Comfortably sleeps four persons.Cable television with flat screen, but the best views are on the outdoor deck looking onto the serene river and wildlife.

GREAT COUPLES get away. Romance is in the air as you enjoy the stars and the moon on the outdoor deck. Secluded, quiet, private and beautiful. Wildlife and birds are abundant on the property. Plus the summer time fireflys light up the river pecan bottom. Entertainment is as close as the bars and great restaurants in San Marcos, Greune and New Braunfels. River entertainment includes the Cool River entertaiment group for music and toobing. The toobing camps of Don's Fish Camp and Texas State toobing, all just 5 minutes away from cabin. Just in case you are looking for a crowd.

Our cabin location is great we are located between Austin and San Antonio with a lot of historical towns between with great antique shopping and the huge Outlet mall 10 minutes from cabin.Amusement Parks are also only a drive away ranging from 15-60 minutes drive. For dining out and shopping pleasures, visit San Marcos 10 minutes away, New Braunfels 20 minutes away, or Austin/San Antonio 45 minutes down I-H 35 either direction. The BBQ Capital of Texas, Lockhart, is 15 minutes away with national recognition for mouth watering ribs, brisket, sausage, chicken, and pork chops. For more water activities and live music check out historical Gruene, TX. Going the opposite direction, Seguin is 15 minutes away with I-H 10 running through for travelers from Houston. Historical Seguin offers antique shopping and dining.

With so much to do, you will never be bored.

For more romance we are located at the tip of the beautiful hill country and the wine country of Texas. Wine tours are available, and there is nothing like sipping wine on the deck of the cabin, enjoying the cool summer night.

FOOTBALL FANS we are only 20 minutes away from the University. A great place to unwind before and after the game. Parents keep us in mind for your weekend visits with your student.

ROMANCE is in the air, a great get away a 14x14 deck to the outside of the screened porch. It is a great addition to our property. Guest will be able to sit out under the stars or soak up the sun with a beautiful view of the property. Very excited about this new addition. I' ll provide the atmosphere you bring the drinks.

Please keep us in mind for your Romantic get away. Great place and atmosphere. We look forward to your visit.

HORSE PEOPLE need a beautiful place to stay and a safe place for your horse. Give me a call. I do have different options for your horse. I am not a riding facility but I can offer shelter for your horses.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Linda Scudday (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2015

Why Linda Scudday chose San Marcos

It's beautiful, serene, and great fun. Great location in Central Texas. On the edge of the Hill country Wine industry. Wine tours are avaiilable thru the tour companies. Major cities are close and small towns surround. You would be 35 minutes from Airport and the Speedway. This is the right choice for any of your get aways.

What makes this cabin unique

Location, location, location right on the San Marcos River. Serene, beautiful, country life within minutes of shopping, movies, groceries, and entertainment. Within minutes you can be in Austin, San Antonio, Tangers Shopping Mall, the Speedway, Lockhart BBQ Capital, historic Gurene, and the water sports of New Braunfels. Come enjoy.

Why HomeAway

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Book with confidence
Book with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.5
based on 18 traveler reviews

Write a Review
TRUE RIVER EXPERIENCE 550 ft of frontage, San Marcos, Martindale, Staples, Tx
average rating of 4.5 based on 18 reviews
Edinburg
5

Peaceful and Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at this wonderful cabin and location, enjoying every moment. First the secenery, the large pecan trees and calm tranquil river was breathtaking upon our arrival. I loved the cabin! The cabin immediately instills you a very warm and cozy feeling, and is well equipped with just about anything you need, comfy bed and great outdoor patio. It was a wonderful weekend, one night sipping on wine out on the patio gazing upon the stars, to having a nice bbq under the trees, enjoying nature, and having a relaxing tube ride down San Marcos river. Only regret not bringing our dogs to enjoy the vast land to roam free and play with cute squirrels:)

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
5

Amazing Property!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing weekend getaway and Linda's property was the perfect place. The cabin is located off of what seems like a private road, so it makes you feel like you are completely secluded. We bought our pup and he had the time of his life running around Linda's ginormous property and swimming in the San Marcos river. We've never seen him so happy. Everything you need is at the cabin and it was very cute and comfortable. My husband and I BBQed both nights and spent the day collecting sticks/wood to burn on the firepit at night. Highly recommend for couples and families looking for a relaxing getaway from busy city life. We will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our place is secluded and with the security gates you are protected from people looking for an entrance to the river. This gives you privacy and security. I strive to give our guest all the comforts of home, along with a true River experience. The property looks like a mini park with lots of running room for everyone and easy acess to the river. Our place is a one cabin property located on a small horse farm, offering guest peace and quiet away from the hustle of city life.
5

Awesome Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights for our anniversary and it was an awesome and relaxing trip. Had all necessary things and great view of the river. We had some scattered rain during are stay but that still did not keep us from having a great time since she has a screened porch overlooking the property and river. We would definitely return with our kids or just keep it as our secret getaway location. The owner, Linda was very respectful towards our privacy and made us feel very comfortable on her property.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to your return. You can do both, bring your family and keep it as your secret getaway. I won't tell!
League City, Texas
4

Cozy Cabin

  • 4 of 5

My little family of three and our dog stayed at this cabin for the long Easter weekend. We had a lovely time roaming the grounds and enjoying the comforts of the cabin. Some things that were good: Comfortable bed & couches, fully stocked kitchen, nicely decorated, expansive grounds, cabin was very clean upon arrival. Needs Improvement: The TV. We had the volume turned completely up and could barely hear it. This didn't bother us too much because we weren't really there to watch TV anyway. Other than that everything at this cabin met our needs perfectly, especially the kitchen which we used a lot for our Easter cooking. Again, we really enjoyed our stay here and if you're looking for somewhere to have a laid-back getaway in the Hill Country don't hesitate to reserve this cabin.

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for letting me know about the TV, I didn't know it wasn't working, I will get on it right away. Thank you for your comments, truly appreciate all of them. This review process is how we as owners learn, what is good and what we need to improve or fix. Your review was a great help to me. You and your family more than met my expectation of a great guest. You left the cabin very clean. My cleaning person went on about how clean you had left it. Good job.
1

Beautiful Property, Terrible Owner

  • 1 of 5

Let me say first that the property is gorgeous. Even though it rained almost the whole weekend I rented it, it was still nice. The cabin was nice also, but it could have used a professional cleaning.

What is not listed on the description is that the owner of the property lives next to the cabin. Although there is distance between them, it isn't far enough.

After reserving the cabin I received no communication from Linda, the owner, until I had paid in full. Then I received a one-page "Welcome Letter" that had vague rules about the property. They included: dogs are allowed on the property as long as they remain on a leash, how to get in the gate, and where to leave the key when leaving. There was no other information given to me, and I did not receive a copy of the lease agreement.

Linda called the cabin the first night of my stay saying there were too many cars on the property (there were 4), and said I was breaking the lease agreement. Her tone was extremely condescending, and threatened to keep my security deposit. We felt as if we were being watched the entire time of our visit, and could see someone looking at the cabin from her house through the windows. She also made it a point to explain to me, several times, that she could see us, and count how many people were on the property.

Although on the listing it says the cabin sleeps 6, what Linda informed me was that that meant there were no more than 6 people allowed on the property at one time. This was not explained to me, nor written on anything I had read or seen. A total of 4 people spent the night at the cabin both nights I was there.

The second day, after I explained to her friends were coming over for a bbq, she yelled at me for over 15 minutes about how she "didn't expect me to understand the responsibilities of an adult land owner, because [I am] only 24." Those were her exact words. I am a land owner.

After our second phone conversation of her yelling and repeating the same threats about the security deposit, she drove on to the property and yelled at me in person. I have never dealt with someone so unprofessional, and have never experienced the level of disrespect and discrimination solely based on my age alone. I asked her to stop speaking to me like a child, after that her tone changed slightly. I asked her if she wanted me to leave the property, and she said "It doesn't matter to me, I get paid either way." I do not recommend this cabin for anyone who wants privacy or respect.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to the negative review from 11376656, first, when you registered on Home Away you indicated that you had read and agreed to the terms of the Rental Agreement, which you could have downloaded if you had wanted a written copy. Accordingly, there was no reason for the Owner to have sent you a written copy of the Rental Agreement. The Rental Agreement clearly limits the number of people staying at the cabin to six, and requires the Registered Guest to notify the Owner as to the actual number of people staying overnight. Knowing this, you falsely stated that only two people were going to be staying there when you obviously intended to have more in violation of the Rental Agreement. In addition, only three vehicles are allowed on the property without prior approval, clearly indicating that the Registered Guest is required to notify the Owner if more than the maximum number of authorized people are going to be on the property. Finally, the Rental Agreement requires prior notice and payment of a pet fee if dogs are going to be present, which you clearly violated by having two dogs on the premises. Your apparent displeasure with the proximity of the Owner’s house to the cabin is due to the fact that your clear violations of the Rental Agreement could be observed by the Owner who proceeded to call you out on them. It cannot be the Owner’s fault that you didn’t enjoy your stay when you clearly intended from the start to use the premises in violation of the terms of the Rental Agreement and got caught doing so.
Mansfield, Tx
4

Family time

  • 4 of 5

We lived the cabin. It was a perfect set up for us and our dogs. My son lives in San marcos and he and some of his friends came out and enjoyed he camp fire. We will definitely come back

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Austin Bergstrom International Airport
Nearest Barpub
15 Miles
Chetham Street Bar ( home of the late Kent Finley)
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Toll Road 130
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Cottonseed Cafe, Martindale Texas
Car: necessary

Looking for a romantic get away? Our cabin is a quiet relaxing vacation home that is centrally located between two metropolis areas, San Antonio and Austin. However, if you like the small town atmosphere, downtown areas in New Braunfels, San Marcos, and Lockhart offer antique shopping, outlet shopping, and. locally established restaurants. All is within an hour drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

From $150 Per night

San Marcos Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer Rates
May 1 2015 - Sep 30 2015
2 night minimum stay
$175
$875
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
July 4th
Jul 3 2015 - Jul 4 2015
2 night minimum stay
$525
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Fri,Sat,Sun
$800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Property Damage Protection $59
Pet Fee $40 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%
Notes 6 GUEST LIMIT on property unless approved by owner.
PETS are only allowed with OWNER APPROVAL.
HORSE STALL avaiable for short term rental. Not a riding facility,just a safe space for your horse. RIDING NOT PERMITED

Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

San Marcos Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Bed 1) Upstairs in loft., 1) Pull-out sleeper, queen size sofa in living room. Two twin, stand high air mattress available to put in living room. Sofa that sleeps one comfortably.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • kayaking
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
The perfect couples get away. Romance is in the air, you and your sweetheart ,under the stars and the moonlite on the open deck. On the cooler nights cozy up in the comfort of the cozy cabin. An electric fireplace waits for your comfort and romantic nights. Entertainment is only 15 minutes away in San Marcos. Austin is about 45 minutes and San Antonio is only about 35 minutes south on I 35. Our new 130 has you in Lockhart the BQ Capital of Texas in 10 minutes. For wine lovers we are on the tip of the wine country. Tours are available in the Texas Hill Country, and there is nothing better than sipping wine on our deck under the stars. For your River adventure there is kayaking,canoeing, and swimming. Only 5 minutes from all the toobing camps in Martindale and 15 minutes from the outlet mall. In case you are looking for a crowd.

Partner Offers

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote