Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

TEN ACRE VINEYARD ON 500 FEET OF LAKEFRONT

Kristin

Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Contact the Owner

Kristin

Advertiser since: 2012
Speaks: english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

TEN ACRE VINEYARD ON 500 FEET OF LAKEFRONT

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Osoyoos House Rental Photos and Description

VINEYARD ON THE LAKE (Scroll Down for “EXCITING NEWS”)

Enjoy this 10 acre vineyard in the heart of B.C.'s wine country. We are situated on the warmest lake in Canada in South Okanagan's desert country. The property's 500 foot stretch of shallow beach front features a firepit for evening marshmallow roasts, a float to sunbathe or fish on and a buoy to tie your boat to and a dock. Stroll through acres of grape vines. You can also pick your own fruit from the peach, apricot, nectarine, apple and cherry trees surrounding the house.

This comfortable, air conditioned 2600 square foot 'home away from home' on 2 levels (4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms) has PANORAMIC views of the lake and vineyard. The main floor has a spacious livingroom with fireplace and picture window featuring an expansive view of the lake, fully equipped kitchen, full bathroom and diningroom with sliding glass doors to a large wrap around deck where you can BBQ and watch the sunsets.

The master bedroom has a king size bed, walk-in closet, ensuite bathroom and sliding doors to the waterfront deck. The 2nd bedroom has two single beds. The ground floor has a 3rd bedroom with a queen size bed and a 4th bedroom with two single beds. There is an additional queen size bed, futon, 2nd kitchen and wood fireplace in the ground floor recroom also described as a 5th bedroom. Lower level also has a full bathroom and laundry room. Satelitte TV, Wireless High Speed Internet and CD stereo are available for your comfort and convenience.

This is a truly unique country setting. Suitable for one or two families or for the couple that wants a peaceful get-away. The vacation home is located on a quiet country road, about 10-15 minute walking distance from town. It is near excellent restaurants, shops, golf courses and fun activities for children. The Golden Mile award winning wineries are within a 10 minute drive.

Osoyoos is located 5 minutes from the Orville border crossing, 45 minutes from the Penticton Airport and 4 ½ hours from Vancouver.

“EXCITING NEWS”

Please note that over the last year we have installed new laminate floors, resurfaced the large wrap around balcony, made improvement to the beach area and connected the property to the city sewer lines and came off the septic.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Kristin (Owner)
Advertiser since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english

Why HomeAway

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

3.8
based on 8 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Ten Acre Vineyard on 500 Feet of Lakefront
average rating of 3.75 based on 8 reviews
business
Ten Acre Vineyard on 500 Feet of Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423316vb
+1 -604-614-0698
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
4

Our Family Vacation in June

  • 4 of 5
We had a wonderful holiday. We had six adults and three children from 1 - 3 yrs of age. The house was perfect for the family. I was surprised to find there was a highchair and a door at the top of the stairs and a gate on the sun deck. The sundeck was great for the kids and safe. The large living room with a great view of the lake was a nice place for all of us to gather in the evening. The large sundeck with a large table and chairs was also a great place to spend the evening and late afternoon. I loved the warm breeze in the afternoon.

The honor of a visiting deer in the early morning walking past the sundeck and into the vineyards. The bald headed eagle that flew so close to us we thought we could almost touch him and the bird that flew down and caught a fish in front of the Sea Doo were amazing. The fresh cherries on the trees tasted delicious.

The lake was beautiful, when we were on the lake in the Sea Doo's and boat we mostly had the lake to ourselves. The country side is beautiful with all the vineyards and orchards.

We had a wonderful holiday:)
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Christie thank you for your review. So happy you and your family enjoyed your vacation. We can't wait to have you back again soon:)
business
Ten Acre Vineyard on 500 Feet of Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423316vb
+1 -604-614-0698
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
Victoria B. C.
3

Deceiving pictures, but great holiday

  • 3 of 5
When we first got there we were shocked at how misleading the pictures had been. It was quite shabby looking outside. The inside was clean but very outdated. Very roomy and the deck was ideal for kids and our dog. The beach area also did not look like the pictures. My son had to fix the dock once because a plank gave way. Although there is a caretaker on site, we did not expect to take the garbage to the end of the drive or water the lawn if needed. We did, however, thoroughly enjoy our time there, the views were beautiful and the property was very quiet.
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: I’m sorry to hear the pictures were found misleading although, we reviewed all pictures we have posted on VRBO and are uncertain what may have appeared misleading. The house isn’t new but we always ensure to have it maintained and fit to standard. With regards to the dock, our local caretaker, who was doing some maintenance work on the property the entire summer, would have been able to address the dock issue if he were notified. Our previous guests have always commented to us that he is always easily accessible by phone and addresses guest concerns immediately. We always encourage guests to let us know any concerns that arise as soon as possible so that we or our caretaker can assist accordingly.

Regarding the garbage, the following note (in addition to more important notes) is shared with guests much in advance and prior to their arrival:
“Garbage pickup is on Tues. mornings. Please take garbage bins (max. 2) to the street end of the driveway early in the morning. All remaining garbage needs to be removed upon departure. Please drop bags at nearby depot (1 km. north on Hwy 97 turn west past the sign for the Desert Center). Alternatively, arrangement with our caretaker can be made to look after this for you (charge may apply).”

And the following note is shared for watering of the lawn, which is not at all mandatory but greatly appreciated: “If it is at all possible, and not an inconvenience to your stay with us, we would appreciate it if you could turn on the sprinklers if you see the lawns need the water.”

We also don’t like unpleasant surprises and try our best to avoid them for our guests.

We are pleased to hear the size of the house, the securely gated deck and our panoramic views were enjoyed!
business
Ten Acre Vineyard on 500 Feet of Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423316vb
+1 -604-614-0698
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
Vancouver BC
4

Great getaway for large family

  • 4 of 5
We enjoyed our stay on this property for a week. We had a rather large group, and the house was very accommodating, providing enough space for everyone. Having three bathrooms also helped. The caretaker was easy to reach and responded promptly to all our requests. Every interaction with the owners was pleasant and helpful. We really enjoyed having our private beach with the fire pit (the wood was also provided) and the dock to tie our boat to. Having a canoe there for our use was a nice surprise. Wi-Fi worked very well. One of the problems for us was a steep stairway to get to and from the beach, which was a bit difficult for our older parents. The owners though planning to build another pathway to the beach for easier access. Another suggestion for improvement would be getting a new Grill as the exiting one is quite old, would not always start and the heat plates are burned out. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay there and would consider this place in the future.
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review Sergey. I’m so happy to hear that you all felt comfortable in our home and enjoyed your vacation. Thank you for your feedback on how we can improve the property for better enjoyment. Our plan is to create an alternative & easier access to and from the beach. We will also look into a new grill- thank you for pointing this out.

We also enjoyed all our interactions with you and look forward to your next visit:)
business
Ten Acre Vineyard on 500 Feet of Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423316vb
+1 -604-614-0698
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
Alberta
2

Had higher hopes

  • 2 of 5
We had reservations to stay at this house from Saturday, June 29 - Saturday, July 6 but our stay only lasted about 4 hours. The view of the lake and vineyards are beautiful and the house is as described, although we couldn`t get the TV to work and the CD player was so dusty, we doubted it had been used anytime recently. The air conditioning did turn on, but was not blowing cold air. With the forecasted temperatures for the duration of our stay at +40, we were very concerned. It was explained to us later that it was just a fuse that needed to be replaced, but we have a different opinion about that. We found some small pieces of garbage and broken glass inside one of the basement bedrooms and being that we were travelling with 4 children 6 years and under, we had some concerns about what else we might find.

Once we took the steep wooden and gravel stairs down to check out the "beach", we were very disappointed. There was a large green piece of astroturf covering part of the area, as well as overturned chairs, a big pile of garbage (we were told that this was from a replaced dock), and a rolled up tent. In an area best described as a gravel boat launch, there was a long piece of plastic piping sticking horizontally out of the ground. Again, travelling with small children, this was all very concerning. The maintenance man showed up at some point and tidied things up for us. We took the children down to the beach to check it out themselves and 2 of them were immediately stung by wasps. Upon looking under the cement retaining wall, directly beside the stairs to the dock, we did find a nest.

Once we spoke with the owners, they agreed to refund our money as long as we were able to find somewhere else to stay. And so our hunt began at 7 p.m. on the Saturday of the July long weekend. We were successful and our money was refunded.

The owners were accommodating and quick to respond when presented with all of our concerns.
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: When our guests contacted us with their complaints we were very concerned and immediately asked our local caretaker to meet them and address all concerns. Despite all our efforts to accommodate, the guests booked something else and asked for a refund. Without a doubt we provided them a full refund. As we were extremely concerned for the outcome and wish to provide the best hospitality for all our guests, my husband and I got in the car and drove for 5hours to come to the property and address the concerns. Upon thoroughly inspecting the house and property we were confident there was some misunderstanding about some of the brought up complaints.
*Both TV and CD player worked as soon as they were powered on.

*All guests receive instructions to operate the Air conditioning. If the recommended settings are not followed, the breaker may jump out of place. This was the case here. When we simply pushed the breaker back in place and the setting adjusted (as in our instructions) the Air conditioning operated well and blew cold air.

*This is the first time I hear about glass/garbage in the bedroom. When we thoroughly inspected the rooms we didn’t discover any garbage or glass.

*We thoroughly searched the retaining wall and beach for the mentioned wasp nest but didn’t discover any and the guest was unwilling to walk down to the beach to point this out to us.

*Regarding the material left behind on the beach, I sincerely apologize again to the guests. Between bookings, we had a new dock built-in for our guests and some material was still being removed off site when the guests checked in. Our caretaker addressed this immediately and removed all material right away. The garbage referred to are pieces of carton-like material wrapped around the base of the grape vines in the vineyard. Sometimes these are blown around the property and we try to have as much of this material removed for the enjoyment of our guests as physically possible. The remaining pieces break down safely and easily into the soil. Regardless, our caretaker spent much of the afternoon removing more pieces from around the property.

We ask guests to please understand that while our home is comfortable and has character, it is not brand new. We have only acquired this property last year and are truly doing our best in updating it as best as we possibly can in between guest bookings. We have more exciting plans we’d like to execute and are looking forward to sharing them with everyone soon.
business
Ten Acre Vineyard on 500 Feet of Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423316vb
+1 -604-614-0698
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
vancouver
5

Amazing Property on the Lake

  • 5 of 5
The property is an amazing place. The house has plenty of room for big groups. It is very quiet and private. Great views of the lake from the house with a nice private beach perfect for water activities. Caretaker and owner were very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. I will definitely be staying here again. Highly recommend this property.
  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Henny, thank you for your review. I am so thrilled to hear you and your group enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you back soon. We will continue doing further upgrades in between bookings this year and anticipate guests will enjoy their stay even more in the future.
business
Ten Acre Vineyard on 500 Feet of Lakefront
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p423316vb
+1 -604-614-0698
Osoyoos Okanagan Valley
BC, Canada
4

Fun times in Osoyoos

  • 4 of 5
We had a great time at our recent stay in Osoyoos. This place is indeed lake front and has amazing views a great deck and plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms to cater for our group. We had 10 adults and 2 babies stay with us and the accommodations catered for us nicely. This place is old, but we expected that - for the price they charge it meant that we could have more money for wine! We had a few hiccups but the owner and the local handyman were quick to respond. The outdoor area is in need of some work, which would just make this location even better.
  • Submitted: May 25, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Danielle. I'm happy to hear you and your group enjoyed your stay:) Since acquiring this beautiful property last year, we've been taking advantage of every opportunity in between guest bookings to update the house and outdoor space. So far, lots have been done and I’m confident that by your next visit we will have the outdoor area pleasantly updated also as this is on the agenda.
We look forward to having you back again soon!

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

From C$200 Per night

Osoyoos House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
April & May
Apr 1 2015 - May 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
C$200
C$1,200
 
 
June & Sept
Jun 1 2015 - Jun 5 2015
3 night minimum stay
C$225
C$1,400
 
 
June 19- Sept 13/2015
Jun 6 2015 - Sep 13 2015
7 night minimum stay
C$2,750
 
 
Oct & Nov
Oct 1 2015 - Nov 30 2015
3 night minimum stay
C$200
C$1,200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Nov to March Monthly rates available Above rates based on 4 guests. Extra guests & Pets $10/nt. Kids under age 8,Free. Cleaning fees may apply. $1200 to $2750/wk
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Osoyoos House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (4), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 3 garden chairs
  • 3 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Other Vacation Properties

$3,526 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$3,393 per week
3 - 7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 12
$2,462 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 8

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote