Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

1,000 sq ft DLX lower level suite/moorage on priv. deep water wharf

Gaylene

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Gaylene

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
42%
Calendar last updated:
April 1, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

1,000 sq ft DLX lower level suite/moorage on priv. deep water wharf

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

Pender Harbour House Rental Photos and Description

Stay in our beautiful waterfront location and have a great getaway mini-vacation.

Peaceful/private. Lower-level self-contained suite in beautiful house on gorgeous property. No steps to access Deluxe 1000 sq ft lower level suite. 2-BDRM (King master bdrm. Queen bdrm in alcove off the living room). Moorage on 550 sq ft deep-water private wharf. Priv. entrance. Liv. room, kitchen, two BBQ areas (one with gazebo all overlooking ocean). Safety rails in bathroom. 80-foot long covered deck. 200 sq ft open deck. Your private deck is only about 10 feet from where your car is parked. Nestled on mountainside of peninsula. Breathtaking 180° view. 360° tour on website. Minutes to lakes, hikes, parks, beaches. Serene, quiet. Deer, eagles, seals, lots of song birds and possibly even a killer whale or two! Gorgeous sunsets. Fresh clean air. You´re our only guest. Relax & enjoy village charm of Pender Harbour. Parlons français.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Gaylene (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
42%
Calendar last updated:
April 1, 2015

About Gaylene

We (Daniel and Gaylene) moved to the Pender Harbour area permanently in spring 2011 from Langley, BC. Daniel is French-Canadian and grew up in a small town north of Montreal and is an amazing guy regarding anything electrical, electronic and has a great talent for designing and is constantly 'tweaking' our property to make it an interesting place to visit. He enjoys prawn fishing and other fishing and is often out on his boat. Gaylene was born in Vancouver, lived in England for 9 years, then on a sailboat for a year in the Mediterranean before returning to B.C. in 1995, and has travelled extensively. She loves gardening, bird watching, swimming, cooking. Daniel and Gaylene enjoy the wildness and serenity of the Pender Harbour area.

Gaylene purchased this house in 2009

Why Gaylene chose Pender Harbour

We had been visiting Pender Harbour for a few years, and dreamed of having a house on the ocean, and loved the house immediately when we saw it, especially the breathtaking ocean and mountain views. We are so close to the ocean, it is a good stone's throw from the house!

What makes this house unique

It's all about the water view here! ...not to mention the peacefulness of the place. The air is so clean and the water is beautiful and clear. We love to watch all the boats coming and going. There is never a dull moment. Being on a peninsula, the house is very quiet - no traffic noise at all! It is nice to walk, jog or bicycle around our neighbourhood. Deer, eagles and seals can frequently be seen and other wildlife. We extended the wharf to accommodate a 28-foot boat for guests, put a gazebo-like structure on the wharf where it is nice to sit on days if there is a breeze and also enjoy the sunsets or the seals playfully popping up to watch you! You could even throw a line in and fish right from the wharf. Daniel also added a small area in the forest with a small water feature from a natural spring, dripping over a huge boulder...very 'zen-like'! We also added an enclosed flower garden (with herbs that guests may use). There is also another beautiful area on upper level for guests - a gazebo with seating area and wood burning stove that has been modified to double as a great pizza oven - ask us about this! There is also an uncovered 200 sq ft deck that guests never want to leave (a nice addition to the 80-foot long covered deck that guests already enjoy).

Why HomeAway

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

5
based on 7 traveler reviews

Write a Review
1,000 sq ft DLX lower level suite/moorage on priv. deep water wharf
average rating of 5.0 based on 7 reviews
Haliburton Ontario Canada
5

Relaxing and beautiful

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed here for three nights at the end of an Alaskan vacation, not wanting to be in the hustle and bustle of the city before we flew home. What a great decision. The suite is immaculate and was everything we had hoped for. Gaylene and Daniel were gracious hosts who made sure we had everything we needed. The views were spectacular. We loved watching the seals play, all the different birds and a deer swimming out front! We hiked on some local trails (Francis Point Provincial Park) and ate at a nearby pub in Garden Bay (Garden Bay Hotel, restaurant and pub) which had terrific food. There is also a wharf in town where you can get fresh seafood to grill up on the bbq supplied at the suite. It was a great end to a fantastic trip. Thanks again to our hard working hosts who hopefully get a vacation of their own soon.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were extremely flattered that you chose our suite to celebrate your special occasion. We really enjoyed having you both and glad it was all you wanted. And yes, we plan on a vacation in the near future LOL!
5

Wonderful Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at at the Wharf Waterfront Suite and found it to be a very relaxing and comfortable place to be. Gaylene and Daniel were generous hosts who made sure we had everything we needed. They welcomed our daughter and her partner and allowed them to tie up their sailboat at their wharf. Daniel was very helpful in making sure their boat was safely secured. Gaylene persuaded us to go swimming off the dock one day which turned out to be a highlight of the visit. It’s not every day one can paddle around in the water while a curious otter watches from the next dock! The suite was immaculate and the kitchen had everything we needed to cook our meals. Most memorably, the view from the deck was amazing. We will carry memories of the view with us for a long time. We really hope to go back!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you jumped off the wharf and had a nice swim, and yes, the otters were a bonus. It was a delight having you all here to stay and we enjoyed having you all to stay. We love living here and enjoy sharing the property and experiences with our guests. Thanks for taking the time to write a glowing review! Gaylene et Daniel
Vancouver, BC Canada
5

Memories to last a Lifetime!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this suite for 3 nights. It was a special occasion for us and we had a magnificent time. The suite was spotless and had everything we needed to cook all our own food. There was also a BBQ for us to use, and a deck for us to eat our meals on. The view out of every window and the deck was amazingly beautiful.

Our hosts were kind, caring, considerate and couldn't have been more friendly.

The wharf was a great place to go and watch the stars at night.

We were able to get all our groceries from a well equipped grocery store very close to the house. The drive up from Gibson's Landing was very pleasant and the ferry ride from Vancouver is only 40 minutes.

We will go again in the future, hopefully many times.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was wonderful having you to stay, an absolute pleasure and lots of fun...and hopefully you will visit again. It was like having friends to stay! Will miss all of you ladies. Regards Gaylene and Daniel
5

It doesn't get much better than this.

  • 5 of 5

My Wife ,Mom and myself stayed at the Wharf Water Front Suite and we just loved it.My Mom is 92 years old and she could just sit and look at the water view all day long, it was just beautiful.Mom is still talking about how peace full and quite it was.The suite is large, spacious, well decorated ,has a nice kitchen and is very comfortable, it felt like home very fast .One master bedroom facing the water and the second bedroom has a curtain divider which was still private.The view is at the mouth of pender harbor which has a lot of boat traffic so it never gets boring.The sunset view down on the wharf was just gorgeous.I can"t say enough about the owners Gaylene and Daniel they are two very nice people and we enjoyed our talks with them on the deck.The driveway is very steep but easy to manuver in and out of just wear good shoes.This is the best place we have ever stayed at on the sunshine coast and we will for sure go back.Thanks Gaylene and Daniel.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Why thank you very much Bryan and Connie! It was wonderful to have you to visit here as well. We enjoyed your enthusiasm about being here and it was lovely to make your acquaintance. Please do come and visit again...it's beautiful here even in fall and winter! Thanks for taking the time to post a review for us. Regards, Gaylene and Daniel
Ontario, Canada
5

Piece of Paradise

  • 5 of 5

I am from Ontario and had never been to the Sunshine Coast. On planning my family's B.C. trip, I wanted to include this area on our itinerary. After much research on various travel websites, we decided on the Wharf Waterfront Suite. We consider ourselves so fortunate to have discovered this piece of paradise! We have travelled a lot and I must say there are absolutely no disappointments here. The suite is spotless, comfortable, with a well stocked kitchen and outdoor BBQ. There is much attention to detail, even binoculars to view the abundance of wildlife that can be seen from the enormous deck.

The view from the deck is stunning, just like a moving postcard. Gaylene and Daniel are the most gracious hosts; we were made to feel like family during our stay. However, if you prefer privacy, they are always respectful of their guest's preferences.

I would love to return here again and plan on recommending the Wharf Waterfront Suite to our family and friends.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Burnaby, BC
5

If you need a get-away from the city buzz, this is the place to be.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights and regretted not staying longer. We were very pleased with the entire experience. The suite is like a luxury hotel- very clean and has a stunning waterfront view. The beds are comfortable, and the master bedroom has a king-size bed and the view is fantastic- I wake-up always with a smile.

We all enjoyed just staying in the balcony or even just in the living room as the place has 180 degrees of waterfront view. We enjoyed watching the boats and sails go by. No need to hike long distance to explore nature- nature right in the backyard- from small creatures like butterflies, humming birds to eagles, deer, seals, sea otters, and if you're lucky- you might even see whales and dolphins.

Thank you, Gaylene and Daniel for the memories. We always explore Sunshine Coast, and this is the best vacation we had by far. We will definitely recommend your place to friends and relatives. See you next summer.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nena! Thank you so much for writing a review. Daniel and I found it absolutely delightful to have you and your family here to stay. We loved all of your enthusiasm and also enjoyed being spoiled with new ways of cooking! We look forward very much to hopefully having you to stay with us again. Warm regards, Gaylene

Map

Nearest Airport
32 Kilometres
Sechelt
Nearest Barpub
7.3 Kilometres
The Grasshopper Pub
Nearest Ferry
58 Kilometres
Langdale (via Horseshoe Bay)
Nearest Golf
14.1 Kilometres
Pender Harbour Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
5.6 Kilometres
Highway 101 (Sunshine Coast Highway)
Nearest Restaurant
7.3 Miles
The Painted Boat (4.5 Km), 2 cafes, 1 pub/music
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Dakota Ridge
Nearest Beach
2 Kilometres
Car: recommended

Relax at a unique, tranquil, oceanfront hideaway, nestled on the mountainside of a peninsula at the entrance to beautiful Pender Harbour (over 50 km of meandering shoreline). You are our only guest in this secluded paradise! The 1,000 plus sq. ft. suite in the lower level of our house is the ideal base from which to do many trips! We’re only minutes away from many warm lakes. We are only a 3-min. drive away from beautiful Francis Point Marine Park. The walk is a 1-hour easy round-trip from parking area. Eco-sensitive area with many unusual plants. Small trail (through old growth trees) leads to sea and Francis Point Lighthouse – popular area for scuba divers and kayakers. Great views of Vancouver, Texada Island, and some Gulf Islands. Take a day trip to Princess Louisa Inlet (a beautiful, scenic example of a fjord on the west coast. The almost mile-high cliffs rise from quiet waters with over 60 cascading falls (best in about June at snow melt). Chatterbox Falls flows year round. Charter a boat and go prawn/salmon fishing! You might even see a killer whale from the suite...we did today, May 20, 2014 and again in late summer 2014. (By the way, if you stay 7 nights or longer, we would be happy to supply you, free of charge, with a pound of our local spot prawns!

Photos

Rates & Availability

From C$199 Per night

Pender Harbour House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Regular year round rate
Nov 30 2014 - Dec 31 2015
3 night minimum stay
C$199
C$1,194
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$40 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
C$229
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add C$40 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 5.0%
Notes 14 days' notice - $50 admin charge; less than 14 days' notice - 50% of booked rate (excluding taxes) charged; less than one week's notice - full amount charged. STAY ONE WEEK - 1 LB WILD PRAWNS FREE!

No cleaning fee (keeps fees low for guests), but we ask guests leave suite in clean condition they found it (dishes washed, dried, put away, counters wiped down, no damage), or $ put on credit card.
Credit card # via telephone call. 100% of total booking fee upon reservation. If any damage to property over and above usual wear and tear (ie lots of grease everywhere, dishes not done, tears in linen etc), this will be charged to your credit card. We do not charge a cleaning fee and it is over a 1,000 sq ft suite to keep price low for you. Stay 7 days and get one-pound of wild spot prawns free!
Enter dates to see total
Available
Unavailable

Amenities

Pender Harbour House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • shower/bathtub, toilet, sink, cupboards and one drawer and large mirror. Hair dryer for guest use. Small alcove off bathroom has shelves with towels, wicker hamper for picnics, beach towels, plastic ice bucket, wicker hamper and dehumidifier. 2 extra foldaway chairs
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Closet, dresser, night table, other wood table, luggage rack
    Other (See Description) - 1 king , 1 queen , Queen is in alcove off livingroom with curtains
  • King size bed (1) With gorgeous huge headboard, lovely techy style flat screen LED fireplace for ambience, and view of ocean, Queen size Bed (1) with view of ocean
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Short drive away is golf course, swimming pool with small fitness room, supermarkets, liquor store. It is wonderful to sit on either deck and watch the boat traffic go by or watch the seals pop their heads up (usually early in the morning or in early evening), see the eagles soar, listen to the loons and ravens and various other birdlife...we have lots of areas on property to sit and take in the fresh air and just watch nature. You might even see a whale in distance!There is a small staircase above house through a small forest. We even have a tiny natural stream beside driveway going down towards house. If you like to fish you can do so off our wharf or hire a boat for a day and go out into the open ocean or take harbour tour with the SloCat. You can be picked up right off our wharf! It is peaceful and beautiful here...many of our guests say they do not want to leave! I have a small fenced garden and also about 5 or 6 banana trees that luckily the deer so far have not eaten!

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties

$191 - $238 per night
2 night min stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 6
$636 per week
2 night min stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2
$1,852 per week
6 night min stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 10

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote