|Minimum Stay||6 nights|
This is a very nice, clean 3 bedroom rustic cabin/cottage on Seneca Lake right next to a waterfall !! The falls are wonderful to sleep next to they lull you to sleep. The house has full kitchen, living room, full view of the lake and mountains, washer/dryer, pellet stove, full bath and amazing sunsets. Upstairs is a master bedroom with flat TV/cable & skylights. The full bathroom also has high ceiling and skylights, and looks out over the falls. The other 2 rooms also have skylights, one with a full bed and the other with a single bed. Downstairs is a futon that can sleep 2 as well. This cabin/cottage has an overall rustic feel with rustic/distressed furniture and some new furniture, along with full window views of the lake. It has an eclectic feel with some antique furniture and new mixed in. It is cleaned in between renters. **The front yard is a flat walkout all the way to the lake which is about 40 yards. **PET friendly with an enclosed area to the back. Pets must be approved and proof of rabies, etc. Extra PET fee is $50 for the stay.
I've owned this property for over 10 years and have rented it out during the spring/summer/fall months when I am traveling. It is comfortable and homey.
Vicky purchased this house in 2001
This is so peaceful and next to the waterfall and ON SENECA LAKE with your own dock to sit on or tie your boat too. You have your own beachfront and its the best spot in the Finger Lakes !
The waterfall will make you want to stay ..... and come back over and over again
Me and my family came to stay and what a gorgeous place !! Its right next to the Hector waterfall and right on the lake and we love the rustic cabin its got a cozy wood pellet fireplace and room enough for us to feel relaxed. We loved the rustic furniture and also the new flat tv's and the the kitchen sooooo nice. Its colorful and cozy and we were able to bring our doggy and he had his own little fenced in yard. We loved it and will definitely come back again. You can see the whole lake from the windows and has a wonderful flat front yard all the way to the lake. Our kids loved it.
The yard, dock and lake area were perfect for our 1 year old daughter and our dog. They enjoyed the play area. We did bring our boat and it would be nice to note the driveway is VERY steep and narrow and you should not bring a trailer down it; launch the boat before you get to the house. The dock does not have access to a hoist so make sure you bring lots of bumpers for the boat; we had to run to walmart to purchase a few more.
The house itself was sufficient but the floor was dirty when we got there and I ran the vacuum so our 1 year old could crawl around. There were random things that were broken, lights out, toilet seat cover, garbage lid, but none really affected our stay; just would have been nice if they were all fixed. The house is definately a budget stay for the money compared to others around.
The waterfall was nice and it was great to have the town so close. We went hiking at 2 state parks since they were so close.
The property was nice, but not sure if I would stay there again. I have yet to get my security deposit back after numerous attempts at communication with the owner. It has been 2 months.
I think the last (somewhat) critical review was very fair and that the owner response came across as more than a bit defensive. When other lakeside properties are renting for $2k or more a week, this is a very attractive rental for the price. The property is great, the private dock is fantastic, but the cottage itself is less than overwhelming.
We were very happy with the full-size Weber grill in the backyard, the kitchen was acceptable and the master bedroom was spacious. The other two bedrooms were small but functional. The bathroom was adequate, but the seat (not lid) wouldn't stay up. A minor annoyance. On-site laundry was a huge plus and the dishwasher was very nice to have. No complaints with the towels or linens, which were functional, if not luxurious.
All of that said, I was very satisfied with the property for the price. If you want a luxury cottage, this is not for you, but I think it was an excellent value. I would definitely rent this property again.
Our family had the best time being here at this little cottage. Its one of the most unique places we've traveled to and incredibly beautiful to be here on such a lovely piece of property on Seneca Lake. We loved the falls, and the flat yard all the way to the lake. The cabin was homey and clean and the perfect size for us. We enjoyed the fireplace, and the outdoor grill, and loved sitting on the dock and being out here where there are so many wineries and beautiful places to hike and visit. Next time we want to bring our boat, the dock and beach are great. And our dog had the best time too. We will definitely visit again.
The cottage is a bargain compared to others in the area but there is a reason for that and more than 4 people need to double up or sleep in sleeping bags. There is only one wired internet connection (no wifi) but strong Verizon cell service - not sure about other networks. The following, however, aren’t really clear from the listing:
Not only is the cabin rustic, it is decorated in shabby chic/thrift store. Not bad on the whole but two destroyed cushions on the sofa and the only living room chair make them uncomfortable for sitting even though slip covers mask the damage. The window AC on the first floor was not in place when we arrived on a warm and very humid day with 92 degree weather predicted for several days. The second floor doesn’t have AC. The windows on the enclosed front don’t open so only the small side windows opened to let in air circulation downstairs . Other windows worked fine and were screened upstairs and down. On the cold night of the week, however, there weren’t enough blankets for the number of beds but Walmart was nearby.
The king size bed upstairs was firm but excellent. All bed linens were clean but pilly and some towels had holes in them. If we had known, we could have brought our own. The owner is obviously trying to upgrade as she goes along (lots of improvements are underway but not completed). The kitchen has been upgraded but I didn’t like finding someone else’s food in the fridge and cabinets even though we were told that everything was fresh and that we should feel free to help ourselves. The washer, dryer, and dishwasher were a bonus.
The waterfall is pretty but fenced off at the rear of the cabin. The lake front is as shown and the dock is good for fishing but the algae on the lake bottom interferes with good swimming. There was little privacy due to the closer proximity of the neighbors than represented by the pictures but everyone was friendly. There is only an easement for the cottage to the lakefront dock but if you have a boat, canoe, or kayak, this would be a great place to use them. If we go back to the finger lakes, we will definitely consider staying here again - the place “grew” on us.
This property is located on Seneca Lake beneath Hector Falls. There is a beachfront with a dock, and it is located next to the waterfall.
|Rate Period||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
|Refundable damage deposit||$100|
|Notes||I prefer to rent by the week|
* Approximate monthly rate. Actual rate will depend on the days of the month you stay.
Payment is usually accepted in the quoted currency (USD) unless the currency and the amount is specifically agreed in advance with the owner / advertiser.