SECLUDED 5-ACRE, MINNETONKA FAMILY RETREAT IN WEST METRO AREA

From
$195
Enter dates to see total
Email Manager Email

Florence Dunkel

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

SECLUDED 5-ACRE, MINNETONKA FAMILY RETREAT IN WEST METRO AREA

Excelsior House Rental Photos and Description

Minnetonka retreat home nestled in Lone Lake Park Reserve on its own cul-de-sac on 5 acres, partly wooded, partly spacious lawn. First floor split entry invites one into a cozy library or up several wide carpeted steps to a grand living room with ceiling to floor stone and brick fireplace, The dining room opens to a screen porch and a breakfast room with fireplace and updated kitchen with double ovens, refrigerator, and 5 burner cook-top. Up several more stairs are 4 bedrooms, a full bath plus large separate shower. The master bedroom suite opens into a spacious sitting room with bay window and picture windows on 3 walls. First floor has a half bath, access to the laundry room, garage. Down several more stairs is a large family room with ceiling to floor brick fireplace, TV, wet bar, and game area leading out to a stone patio. Each room has picture windows ideal for viewing wildlife: deer, pileated woodpeckers, wild turkeys, barred owls.

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • limited accessibility
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters

Florence Dunkel

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I am an Entomology professor at Montana State University (MSU) and live in Bozeman, Montana. I raised all my children here and taught freshwater ecology at Lone Lake adjacent to this vacation home when we lived there. My husband is a retired instructor in the MSU College of Business and we were married on the grounds of our home. It is an ideal location for a wedding and reception. Together with our children and the neighbors we have been exploring this area through skiing, wildlife observation, including birdwatching for 35 years. This was the first house on the road and the home where Doug and Lynn grew up, hence the road name Douglynn. We bought the home from the parents of Doug and Lynn.

Florence Dunkel purchased this house in 1977

We chose this property because we wanted the feeling of being in the wilderness. In fact one step inside of our south facing woods on the property and you feel like you are in a natural cathedral. Proceed a little farther and you are at the edge of a lake bordered in the summer with the magnificent lotus leaves and flowers. The woods are always changing and will share its beauty with those who explore. It is peaceful, relaxing, and a joyous place to be. You can enjoy the warmth of a fireplace while in the cozy eating area watching wildlife or in the great room. You can relax inside the home, in the screened porch area, patio, or outside on the lawn. For the active family there is a level playing field for badminton, croquet, bocce, touch football or soccer. Most of the rooms have been furnished in earth tones to keep the rustic feel. The home has a serene, natural feel where there is a continuity between the outside and the inside. The home is away from it all, yet close to everything. We would like to welcome families and groups of no more than 12 enjoy our home. This is a peaceful neighborhood and we want to keep our neighbors happy. Therefore, we will not accept requests for events such as weddings, receptions, batchlorette parties, etc.

This clearing in the woods is nestled in Lone Lake Park Reserve with miles of hiking, cross-country, and interpreted nature, trails, tennis courts, picnic pavilion and children's jungle gym. The property is located within 20 minutes of Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, Mall of America, and downtown Minneapolis, and Lake Minnetonka by car. We are within walking distance of Shady Oak Beach which is a kid-friendly, life-guarded lake with a mini-water park, concession stand, volleyball, and changing rooms. Bryant Lake is a 5 minute drive and offers free entrance, parking, and beach. Kayaks, canoes, paddleboats, just to name a few, are available to rent. There are concession stands, restrooms, and an indoor pavilion to rent for entertaining large groups,

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Secluded 5-acre, Minnetonka Family Retreat in West Metro Area
average rating of 4.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Secluded 5-acre, Minnetonka Family Retreat in West Metro Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420203vb
4064519343
Excelsior Lake Minnetonka
4

A Pleasant Stay in Minnesota

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We recently rented this home for a family gathering in the Minneapolis area. Our group included 3 girls under the age of 4, so the downstairs "play area" was very convenient. The home was comfortable for the "grown ups" too, and we appreciated that it was a relatively quick drive to/from the airport. The home was well-maintained and clean, but for those that are looking for something that is "chic" or "updated," this may not be your place. The layout works well for family gatherings; there multiple areas to gather, including a screened porch, dining area, breakfast nook, and living room. Overall, we enjoyed out stay and would certainly consider staying here again -- a very strong value for the price.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Secluded 5-acre, Minnetonka Family Retreat in West Metro Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420203vb
4064519343
Excelsior Lake Minnetonka
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Beautiful clean home with everything that we needed for our visit. We had 2 families with a total of 4 adults and 5 children ages 2,4,6,10 and 15, there was plenty of room for all of us. Very close to Mall of America and 2 lakes less than 5 mins away. We saw an abundance of wildlife without ever having to leave the house. We woke to bunnies every morning saw racoons, deer and even a turtle in the front yard. If we ever go back to Minnesota we would definetely be staying here and would reccomend it to anyone who needed a place to stay. The owner has been wonderful with communication answered any and all questions we had.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Secluded 5-acre, Minnetonka Family Retreat in West Metro Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420203vb
4064519343
Excelsior Lake Minnetonka
Sarasota, FL
4

Great location; house a little dated

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We stayed at this house with our five children and found the location perfect for our needs - very secluded on a great piece of property on a cul de sac but close to downtown Hopkins. The neighborhood is quiet and right between Shady Oak Beach and Lone Lake Park, so there were nice hiking/walking options, which we took advantage of daily, despite the persistent rain.

The house was big enough for our kids to spread out - a key feature when dealing with teenagers. The basement is huge and a great place for entertaining. While we were very comfortable in the house, other renters may find the amenities dated; it's clear the house hasn't been lived in for several years. There are only two TVs with very limited cable (another key issue with teenagers) and to plug in the DVD player, we had to unplug the cable box. We also had an issue with the smoke alarm in the kitchen; it was so sensitive, it would go off if we heated up the oven or made toast.

But our kids were happy with the broken-in furniture and we enjoyed our stay. Just wish the weather had been better.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Secluded 5-acre, Minnetonka Family Retreat in West Metro Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420203vb
4064519343
Excelsior Lake Minnetonka
5

Extended Family Wedding Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was a great place for 10 out-of-town family members to stay for a wedding in downtown Minneapolis. The house was spotless, plenty of linens, ample living space. We loved the screened in porch and the quiet (except for the birds!) My favorite room was the sitting room off the master bedroom -- like a tree house! We hosted a post-wedding brunch for 25 people and had a great time. There is wi-fi (used a lot) and cable (watched one program), maps of the regional trails and plenty of books for adults and children. It would be a wonderful place for a family with kids to stay, especially with a beach close-by. Only drawback would be for people who have trouble with stairs as it is a split-level.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Secluded 5-acre, Minnetonka Family Retreat in West Metro Area
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p420203vb
4064519343
Excelsior Lake Minnetonka
Minneapolis
1

Terrible experience - Owner and Manager are unresponsive and unreasonable

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
DO NOT RENT THIS PROPERTY. The owner lives out of state and is unable to provide quality service to her visitors. She relies on personal friends and "managers" to manage the property, but unfortunately during our stay, the manager was also out of state and we were bounced between several people to get keys and have questions answered. It was very confusing, unprofessional, and frustrating, considering this was supposed to be a relaxing weekend, and especially difficult when we had questions about getting into the house or where to find things. While the house is large enough for a big group (we were there for a girl's weekend), it is not in an optimal location, and you have to have a car to get anywhere (drugstore, gas station, restaurants, lake, other entertainment, etc.). The house was minimally stocked. We had to purchase our own cleaning supplies for basic sanitation in the kitchen and bathroom as the owner did not provide us with anything to clean up after ourselves. However, she did expect the house to be clean when we left, even though this was not mentioned in the contract and we had nothing to clean with. The owner and manager were unresponsive the week after we left so it was difficult to get information about receiving our security deposit back. When I was finally able to get in touch with her, she accused my group of stealing things from her home (they were simply in a different location so we could make room in the kitchen) and wanted to charge us for damages that had NOT been incurred by our group and were already in the house. The owner also seemed upset that we used her kitchen supplies and was surprised that we produced garbage. I don't think the owner has much experience in hosting or providing for small or large groups. This owner should NOT be renting out her house and I highly recommend that people look elsewhere for a rental property. This was supposed to be a fun weekend for all of us to spend together before my friend got married, and the disorganized and unprofessional service we received from the owner and manager absolutely ruined the experience for my friends and I. I am highly disappointed in the way we were treated, will NEVER rent from VRBO again, and will think twice about ever renting a property from any other source.
Owner's Response: HOME OWNERS RESPONSE. We learned many useful lessons from these guests. Most important is: a group of 12 girls in their twenties who say they are having a 'girls getaway' may actually be having a bachelorette party. Had we known this was the intent, we would have declined their request. Bachelorette parties are not bridal showers. The fact that this group baulked at the idea of a security deposit as being unnecessary should have been a red flag to us. We also learned if we do not want to have parties where there is excessive use of alcohol, we need to be firm (require proof of age) about the age limit of 25 years unless accompanied by their parent. Our contract with these guests, and all our guests, clearly states that. We provide starter supplies, toilet tissue, hand soap, dish soap, clothes washing detergent, dishwasher detergent, etc. We DO NOT supply any carpet stain remover (which is what this guest was referring to as cleaning products). Our carpets are professionally cleaned and we do not want guests putting chemicals on the carpet. We don't ask guests to clean the house, we ask guests to leave the home as they found it, not taking any items from the home. We have a professional cleaning company clean after all guests. If there were needs for sanitation and extra cleaning supplies, this indicates that some activity was going on in our home that was not expected and specifically not desired. Although this guest did admit to most of the damage, she did not want to be financially responsible for any of it. This guest left on February 24 and received her deposit back March 6. We don't believe that is 'unresponsive' considering we have 30 days to return damage deposits. Our home is a family retreat nestled in a park reserve it is not a cabin in the woods for wild parties. Guests find short walks (10-15 minutes) to our two neighborhood lakes, gas station, restaurants, tennis courts, beach, FedEx Office, etc., quite pleasant and often don't use cars. We began renting our home June 2012 and we have met some wonderful groups of people, some of whom are returning this summer. Unfortunately, this guest was the most disrespectful we have encountered and hopefully will be the last such guest. This is a relaxing family home on 5 acres encompassing an entire cul de sac and woods. Groups like this are neither wanted nor welcome.
Helpful votes: 8/10
Email Manager Email

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Minneapolis St. Paul International Airport
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highways 7, 494 and 62
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Shady Oak Beach
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Mainstreet Bar
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Hyland Ski
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Glen Lake Golf
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Scoreboard Bar & Grill
Car: recommended
Email Manager Email

Photos

Email Manager Email

Availability & Rates

Excelsior House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Minimum Stay
 
Apr May Jun Rates 2014
Apr 1 - Jun 30
$250
$275
Fri,Sat,Sun
3 nights
 
 
July 4th holiday Rates 2014
Jul 1 - Jul 6
$315
$315
Fri,Sat,Sun
3 nights
 
 
July Aug Sept Rates 2014
Jul 7 - Jul 31
$250
$275
Fri,Sat,Sun
3 nights
 
 
Thanksgiving Rates 2013
Nov 26 - Nov 30
$295
$295
Fri,Sat,Sun
3 nights
 
 
Winter Holiday Rate 2013
Dec 22 - Jan 3
$295
$295
Fri,Sat,Sun
3 nights
 
 
Jan Feb Mar Rates 2014
Jan 4 - Mar 31
$195
$235
Fri,Sat,Sun
3 nights
 
 
My Standard Rate
$195
$235
Fri,Sat,Sun
3 nights
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $225.00 + Tax
Pet Fee $250.00
Refundable damage deposit $750.00
Tax Rate 7.26%
Notes Dates will remain open until signed contract and all deposits are received. Pet and/or damage deposit is refundable.

Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Email Manager Email

Amenities

Excelsior House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4400 sq. ft.
  • 4 stories
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Internet
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Pantry Items
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Stove ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Upper Level Hall Bath - toilet , tub , shower
    Main Floor - Toilet and sink only
    Master Bath - toilet , shower , Shower only (no tub), with his/her sinks
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Master bedroom - 1 king , Master has private bath
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , Lower level family room, queen sofa bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 bunk bed , 1 double , bunk bed with double bed underneath
    Sitting room - 1 twin/ single , room is attached to master, pocket doors can be closed.
  • 4 bedrooms on upper level: Bedroom 1 - Full size, Bedroom 2 - Twin (loft bed) over full size - Bedroom 3 -Two twin beds, Bedroom 4 - King bed with twin in attached sitting room. Lower level family room - Queen sofa bed.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Toys ...
  • Television ...
  • DVD Player ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • limited accessibility
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • wildlife viewing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
  • fitness center
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • pier fishing
  • basketball court
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • racquetball
  • cross country skiing
  • kayaking
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
The property has plenty of space for outside activities, basketball, football, badminton or soccer on the side field. The house is within walking distance of Shady Oak Lake that caters to families and includes lifeguards, kiddie area and concession. Bryant Lake is a 5 minute drive where you can rent paddle boats, canoes or kayaks. Enjoy the walking/bike trails very close to the house. And of course, Mall of America is a 20 minute drive as well as downtown Minneapolis for those who want to shop or visit tourist attractions.
Email Manager Email

Other Vacation Properties

$4,500 per week
7 night minimum stay
  • 4 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • 1 HF BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$2,900 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 7 BR,
  • 5 BA,
  • Sleeps 16
$910 - $1,134 per week
2 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 5