GORGEOUS ONE STORY HOME NEXT TO UNIVERSAL STUDIOS

From
$2,800
Enter dates to see total
Email Owner Email

Shiva Ommi

Speaks czech, english, french, mandarin, spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GORGEOUS ONE STORY HOME NEXT TO UNIVERSAL STUDIOS

Studio City House Rental Photos and Description

3 BR/1.5 BA Home

This gorgeous single story pool home in Studio City is centrally located close to all Hollywood and Los Angeles have to offer and yet, it its serenity and privacy makes you feel like you live in a beautiful countryside. The area is breathtaking and it's surrounding cozy and charming. Only a few minutes to Universal Studios, Getty museum, Griffith Observatory, Hollywood, Bel Air and Beverly Hills makes your traveling a great one to explore.Whether you prefer sight seeing, shopping, going to top of the line restaurants, comedy shows, famous Sunset Boulevard night life entertainment, or just relax in a beautiful and calming atmosphere, this home is perfect for you. 20 minutes to Santa Monica, Malibu and, Manhattan beach. So much to do and hard to decide what to do first.No wonder many famous people, actors and actresses pick Studio City as their home.

Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
  • wheelchair accessible
  • non smoking only

Shiva Ommi

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2011
Speaks czech, english, french, mandarin, spanish
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I am a mother of three sons. I studied Psychology however found my passion in real estate. I work as a Broker in Newport Coast, CA. I started renting a few of my homes as vacation rentals and must tell you that I am really enjoying it. People are so sweet when they are traveling and It is so nice to be able to make someone's travel a little more enjoyable.

Shiva Ommi purchased this house in 1978

I bought this house over 30 years ago when I was going to USC to study child psychology. I moved to Orange County for business 25 years ago. I was 18 when I bought the home and I must admit I fell in love with the bridge that leads you to the home. It was also amazing to me that you could get such a charming home in the middle of all the action in Hollywood, The house gives you a special feeling that Is hard to find any were else.I come to Studio City some week ends and coming back brings me such a joy, I must say that I have not found the same attachment to any of my other homes. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

I fell in love with the bridge that leads you to the house when I bought the house. The serenity and surroundings was very appealing to me. Single story homes are so comfortable and cozy. Even though the house is located in the middle of action, it gives you a feeling that of living in the countrysides. The pool helps with warm summer days as well.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

This owner accepts HomeAway's most secure form of payment. Learn More

Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

Property Reviews

Gorgeous One Story Home Next to Universal Studios
average rating of 4.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Gorgeous One Story Home Next to Universal Studios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419006vb
949 887 6737
Studio City San Fernando Valley
1

Big Disappointment

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This house was not good. While the neighborhood and the outside of the house were fine, that’s where the good news ends. We stayed less than 24 hours (we arrived at 2pm and left at 7 the next morning) and checked into a hotel. We couldn’t bear another night there. We really felt like this house was misrepresented. The inside is extremely run down. We didn’t expect a fancy house, but we expected something clean and in good shape, neither of which would describe this property. The main bathroom appeared to have mold in the shower stall and on the ceiling, there were stains in the bathtub, and the window was splintered and cracked. Getting hot water was problematic, as well. Every tile floor in the house (countertops in kitchen, floors in bathrooms and kitchen) had extremely dirty grout (I’m talking dark grey that was supposed to be white), there were cracks in the tiles in many places, and the carpet was stained. The sliding door to the backyard was off the track and very hard to open and close. The only way to open the door was to unlatch the lock on the very bottom of the door…every time! The screen door was also off the track and had a large rip down the center. The backyard backs up to Laurel Canyon Blvd. and the traffic noise was really bad, even during off traffic times. The pool was really dirty and in poor shape and the water was quite cold as the pool heater was not operational (my children, who are unconcerned about water temperature 99% of the time, did not want to go in). The outdoor cushioned furniture was ripped and frayed, the walls on the inside of the house had several cracks, the ceiling fan in the main sitting room was covered in cobwebs, and in the only room with a TV, there were no lights. No lights! Not even a floor lamp! We were sitting in the dark. In light of our experience, the condition of the house and the fact that we ended up spending only one night in the house, we had hoped that the owner would provide a refund for the unused portion of our stay. After sending her an e-mail the morning after our one and only night at the property about all of the issues described above and our intention to not spend any additional time at the house, we did not get a response until approximately three days later. And while she did provide a small refund (that represented the cost of less than half of our stay), we were pretty disappointed in the response. We’ve had good experiences using VRBO in the past
Owner's Response: I understand you wanted to go to Orange County instead of Los Angeles. Your wife had asked me if she would be able to stay at my house in Irvine for most of the trip and I told her no. I am sorry if you needed to change your trip, however putting a bad review because of it is just not right. Your email sounded like blackmailing from the beginning. It was clear to me that a bad review would be coming if I didn't refund your entire money. I am sorry but I held the house off the market for you for over six month. I have a no-refund policy, however to accommodate your change of plan. I refunded you $1,500.
I have had many guests at the house. They all had something nice to say about it. Most are repeat customers and enjoy staying there every year. The house is old but very charming and clean. The carpet is just 6 months old. There are TV in all rooms.
business
Gorgeous One Story Home Next to Universal Studios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419006vb
949 887 6737
Studio City San Fernando Valley
NY, NY
5

Studio City review

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Home is nicely landscaped with a pool and a large plot of land. You need to cross a small bridge to get from the driveway to the home. Keep this in mind if you have a small toddler as they can fit through the railing.

The home backs Laurel Canyon Road which can be busy at times but there is a fence and foliage to block the view of the road and some noise. The front bedroom of the house is fairly quiet for light sleepers or toddlers. If you're from NYC like myself the road noise will not be an issue in the rear bedroom.

The owner is responsive with her emails and friendly. The interior of the house is not updated but it was clean and has everything you need for an extended stay. You won't find a comparable hotel room or suite for the same price in LA. As long as your requirements don't include a concierge or full service hotel staff, the home will suit your stay just fine.

We were visiting family and friends in neighboring Sherman Oaks and it had enough room to host a large group for dinner. After dinner we had drinks outside while my daughter slept in the front bedroom. If you value privacy and space over pampering and amenities then this place is for you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi David,

Thank you for taking the time to put a review for my house. I enjoyed having you as my guest.

When I bought the house, liked having the gate in the back opening to laurel Canyon. The gate made walking to all the restaurants and shops on Ventura Blvd possible and accessible. The yard is about 12,000 Square feet and with all the trees and vegetations behind the gate,and the pool in the backyard, the sound of Laurel Canyon did not bother me.

I have many actors and producers who rent my house for movies and personal stay. Most have mentioned that they love the charm of the house just the way it is. I spent over $70,000 upgrading the house last year. I kept the solid wood kitchen cabinets purposely. They were just painted because i wanted to keep the feel of the house the same.

The yard is very large and private and does have bridges, creeks , pool, etc. If you have a toddler, they do need supervision.

Thank again and hope to see you soon.......Shiva
business
Gorgeous One Story Home Next to Universal Studios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419006vb
949 887 6737
Studio City San Fernando Valley
5

Gorgeous In Every Way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Wow is all I can say, What a beautiful place! Picture perfect large yard and charming interior. The owner is extremely sweet and accommodating. it is hard to believe that you could have such beautiful settings in the middle of all activities LA has to offer. This is the kind of place we would definitely recommend come back to over and over again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Mirra,
Thank you so much for putting such beautiful review for my property. enjoyment of my guests means the world to me. Reviews like yours makes the process so very special. Most my guests come to my homes repeatedly. Many past guests have become my closest friends. Please consider any of my vacation rentals as your own home and I am looking forward to seeing you soon.........Shiva
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous One Story Home Next to Universal Studios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419006vb
949 887 6737
Studio City San Fernando Valley
St. Paul, MN
3

Studio City House

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I loved the location in a pretty neighborhood just off of Laurel Canyon. The landscaping around the house is beautiful. There is a definite WOW factor when you drive up to the house and see the bridge. The master bedroom is lovely and the bed is very comfortable. The reason I gave the property only an average score was because of the following: the carpeting was badly stained. The owner has personal family photos displayed in three rooms. There was clothing hanging in one of the bedroom closets and opened food was stored in the refrigerator & freezer. There weren't privacy curtains in the bedrooms.The towels were old and worn. The kitchen wasn't equipped for a family of 5 or 6. The wonderful location and beautifully maintained grounds are the highlight of this property.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Dear Patricia,

Thank you for taking the time to put a review for my property. I take my guests very seriously and try to listen to their suggestions and make the home more appealing when I can.

Please know that the carpeting in the house is only 3 months old. I had a nice family with children prior to your stay and the kids ran in and out and made a few stains on the carpet. Your move in date was right after they moved out making it impossible to wash the carpet. The carpet has been cleaned since.

Regarding the towels I have plenty of new ones. There were a few older ones there(for the pool). I have removed them from the home.

Regarding a few items in the refrigerator, Even though I had asked the cleaning crew to remove everything, they told me they did not have the hart to remove new items. I did tell the crew that every item needs to be removed from now on.

Regarding a couple of personal clothing and 2 photographs, My son uses the home once every few months and he does have very few items that stay in the house. I will ask him to take the picture out.

Thank you again for considering my home. Take care and have many wonderful trips.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Gorgeous One Story Home Next to Universal Studios
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p419006vb
949 887 6737
Studio City San Fernando Valley
The Dalles, Oregon
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This is a wonderful property with a large yard and great pool. It feels quiet and private while still being in a great location near attractions. We forgot some items when we departed and they were mailed to us the following day, great service! We look forward to staying in this property again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Russell,
Thank you for taking the time to give my property a review. The girls were so sweet and everyone in the neighborhood is asking when they would be back. I am glad they have decided to move to US.
Hope to see you all soon......shiva
Helpful votes: 1/1
Email Owner Email

Map

Wow!!! a few minutes to Universal Studios, Hollywood, Bel Air and Beverly Hill, and everything Los Angeles has to offer, yet private and serene, like living in country sides, Studio City is home to many stars. They like living here due to it's more casual life style and its great location conveniently close to studios. Angelina & Brad and many stars prefer living in Studio City and Hollywood Hills due to its more down to earth and casual life style. Even President Obama was across the street from the house for a fundraising event at George Clooney's house. This home is close to all LA has to offer. Take a short drive to go to the fine restaurants and shops of Beverly Hills and Sunset, or take a walk on Hollywood Boulevard and watch the imprints of stars and experience the city were Oscar was borne. This will give you a taste of American movies and its history of making, Take a tour of Universal Studios to get a feel of how movies are made.Besides the active night life and all the fun places to go to in Los Angeles, you can dive 20 minutes to get to Santa Monica and Malibu beach and enjoy the ocean and water activities, 20 minutes to LAX. Whether you like to go to the desert cities or enjoy skying in the local mountains or go to San Diego or Orange County for a day trip, the drive is little over an hour. You are also a few hours drive to San Francisco , carmel and Las Vegas. An hour drive will also get you to Disney Land, Magic Mountain and sea world.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Studio City House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Minimum Stay
 
Base Rate
$2,800
$11,400
7 nights
 
Discounts: 31 nights or more: $350 Nightly
 
Summer
Apr 1 - Sep 1
$2,800
$10,500
7 nights
 
Discounts: 15 nights or more: $380 Nightly

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500.00
Tax Rate 9.0%

Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Studio City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Washing Machine
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Wireless Internet
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Kitchen ...
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) of the three bedrooms 2 have double beds and one queen
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
  • wheelchair accessible
  • non smoking only
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • health/beauty spa
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • wildlife viewing
  • miniature golf
  • boating
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • racquetball
  • hot air ballooning
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • swimming
  • snorkeling/diving
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • snorkeling
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

  • 3 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 8
$600 per night
2 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 3 BA,
  • Sleeps 5
$1,200 - $1,500 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 3 BR,
  • 4 BA,
  • Sleeps 10