EFFICIENCY APARTMENT IN QUIET GATED COMMUNITY

Evelyn Irwin

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Contact the Owner

Evelyn Irwin

Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

EFFICIENCY APARTMENT IN QUIET GATED COMMUNITY

Lake Lure Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Efficiency apartment is located below private home, nestled on two wooded acres in gated community with rolling hills and paved roads. We are very Motorcycle-friendly.

The apartment provides everything one or two people need for a stay. It has a fully equipped kitchen, a queen bed, pull-out couch and eating area. We wash all mattress cover, pillow covers and blankets after every stay. Wi-Fi and TV/DVD with dish network service. There is a flag stone-paved outside sitting area with a table, chairs, bench and room for two hammocks. A fire pit and gas grill is on the premises for you to use. We have chickens (no roosters?) and gladly share our fresh eggs. Our chickens do make some noise, especially when they get ready to lay.

There is plenty to do in the area. Asheville’s Biltmore house, antique shopping in nearby charming towns (Hendersonville, Saluda, Tryon or Landrum), pick-your-own apples during apple season, ski Sugar or Beech Mountain, hike or rock climb Chimney Rock, or fish or swim in Lake Lure and zip-line through nature. Most of all, the reason we moved here, is the motorcycle riding. We have an abundance of twisty roads with little or no traffic, and gladly share our knowledge of roads we discovered. If you choose to do nothing or do it all, our location gives you the option.

Our neighbor hood is very private, with only a hand-full of full time residents. Our roads are perfect for walking, jogging and serious cycling, but watch out for the deer and the turkeys.

More Details
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • not suitable for children
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Guestbook comments from the owner
This VRBO property is highly recommended. Well worth the drive if you are visiting nearby Lake Lure or Rutherfordton. The Irwin's are a lovely couple who have thought of everything to ensure that your vacation is perfect. The uniquely shaped octagon efficiency apartment is extremely clean & well thought out in terms of space utilization as well as delightfully decorated. There are games, books, movies, hammocks and a propane grill all there for your enjoyment. They have every standard kitchen appliance or tool you might want as well as being stocked with coffee and other staples. Forget your cream rinse or lotion? No problem, the cabin is well stocked with anything you need.



They have beautiful flower and vegetable gardens & wildlife abounds. There are steps down to the creek, that take you to the unspoiled beauty of nature. The bird feeders and houses ensure a thrill every minute watching the beautiful wild birds. Their chickens (aka as "the girls") are full of personality & lay the most delicious eggs. They have a beautiful book with information about the different varieties of chickens that you will want to review, even if you never had any interest in chickens before your stay with them.



Most of all the kindness of the Irwin's is exceptional & you will want to come back to visit them.
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 2

Evelyn Irwin

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english
Enter your email address to view the phone number

I grew up in Germany and moved to the USA in 1968 and later joined the military. I retired from the Air Force after 33 years of service. My husband still works for a major Oil Company. We moved to Lake Lure permanently four years ago. We enjoy living in an area with four seasons and with awesome motorcycle roads. Our community is secluded, with only a few full time residents. Our neighbors are also our friends. We have chickens for the enjoyment, and fresh eggs which we often share with neighbors.

Evelyn Irwin purchased this apartment in 2006

We purchased our property in this area because of my husbands love for riding motorcycles. We have put a great deal of work into our property and are very proud of what we have done. We enjoy the outdoor area of our home. Our community also allows us to have chickens. We built a very nice chicken coop and run and enjoy sitting outside watching our girls. It's better than TV. :)

Our Efficiency is only about 350 sq', but there is so much to do in our area, we feel that it is more than adequate after a long day of sight seeing and riding. We have a nice size sitting area with a small water feature where you can relax with a glass of wine or in my husbands case, a glass of Rum and a cigar.

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

5
based on 15 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Efficiency Apartment in quiet Gated Community
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
Efficiency Apartment in quiet Gated Community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418563vb
828-625-2673
Lake Lure Asheville Area
5

BELATED HONEYMOON

  • 5 of 5
The accommodations are highly ideal for any couple, no creature comfort is overlooked. All you have to bring is clothes and food. The location is beautiful and very peaceful, nestled in the mountains. There is so much to do and see that is conveniently located in any direction. The owners are awesome people, they are careful to respect your privacy even though you are on their property. It takes very special people to allow strangers to come and enjoy themselves in such perfect surroundings. We look forward to many more stays.
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind review. You are very considerate guests. You left my place looking as if no one even stayed. We look forward to having you back for another visit.
business
Efficiency Apartment in quiet Gated Community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418563vb
828-625-2673
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Chicago suburbs
5

AWESOME ACCOMMODATIONS!

  • 5 of 5
I needed a place to stay while working with a realtor in the area to find a vacation home to purchase. Evelyn was the nicest host ever! She was such a huge help when I had various questions about the local area, even questions involving my potential home purchase. She is also one of the nicest and friendliest people I have met in a long time. The accommodations are immaculate. This is probably one of the cleanest properties I have ever stayed in. The pictures are very accurate; no surprises when you get to the property. The chickens are cute and not at all noisy. The neighborhood itself is very quiet and nicely wooded. Everything you need to cook your meals is provided should you choose not to go out. I ate out once at Larkin's on Lake Lure. Very good food and friendly wait staff. The Ingles grocery store is pretty close too. The bed and pillows are very comfortable. There is WiFi service in the unit as well as cable TV. This is a nice home base location to venture out to Asheville, Flat Rock to see a play, Brevard to visit the waterfalls, it's only 1.5 hours north to Blowing Rock, Boone and Banner Elk if you want to go skiing, and it's only about 3 hours to Gatlinburg, TN. I happened to be in town over Labor Day weekend and got to visit the NC Apple Festival in Hendersonville. Very nice event and the weather was great. If you are looking for nice, clean accommodations for 1-3 people at a very reasonable price, this is the place! Thank you again Evelyn for your wonderful hospitality!
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You are most welcome. See you again next week.
business
Efficiency Apartment in quiet Gated Community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418563vb
828-625-2673
Lake Lure Asheville Area
North Port, FL
5

FIRST EXPERIENCE USING VRBO WAS AN EXCELLENT ONE!

  • 5 of 5
From the first email to Evelyn until leaving her property, our experience has been extremely positive. On our arrival, she gave us a brief tour of the property making us feel so welcome like we were family. The cute little efficiency apartment was very well maintained and clean. I commented to Evelyn when we first entered the apartment that it looked and smelled like it was new! It was everything we anticipated and more; we were not disappointed. The good quality clean linens really impressed my wife. If ever traveling in that area, we'd like to stay there again.
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm happy to hear you had a good experience using VRBO. Both of you have been very nice and extremely considerate of the condition you left our home. Thank you again.
business
Efficiency Apartment in quiet Gated Community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418563vb
828-625-2673
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Gastonia, NC
5

PERFECT GETAWAY!

  • 5 of 5
We really enjoyed our weekend in this apartment. Evelyn was so nice to work with. The apartment is one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in and the bed was so comfortable. It had everything we needed for a short weekend getaway. We'll definitely stay there again. The rainy weather was the only thing that was not so great! I'd recommend it for a couple's getaway. So quiet and peaceful. You don't even realize you're in the basement of someone's home because you definitely cannot hear anything above you.
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry the weather did not cooperate while you were here. I do hope you get a chance to come back. I take great pride in making sure the place is very clean for every guest. Thank you for noticing. :)
business
Efficiency Apartment in quiet Gated Community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418563vb
828-625-2673
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Charlotte
5

PEACE

  • 5 of 5
I love this apartment! I was uncertain about it, knowing it was part of the owner's home. But, I was only vaguely aware of that - I saw Evelyn gardening and working with the chickens. I felt the good conversations we had only happened when I initiated them as she is conscious of privacy.
Because of the octagonal shape of the home, the apartment is situated on an basement "corner" of the house (doesn't smell/feel like a basement!). It's very private and secure. The only eyes I spotted on me belonged to the chickens on their afternoon walk looking through the gate!
I had looked at the pictures a dozen times prior to renting, and believe me, they don't do the place justice! It feels new, bright and sparkling clean. I knew I'd made a good choice when I walked in.
It's essentially one large, pretty, open room with a sofabed and super comfy bed, as well as kitchen, but the curve of the home sets that off a bit. The kitchen is so well-stocked with utensils, pots/pans, you could cook anything! Full sized stove, coffee maker, microwave & toaster oven makes it perfect. There's even a little dining table. I mostly ate outside on the private patio overlooking the back yard, flowers and woods. There's a very nice gas grill, but I opted not to grill.
The bath is lovely, clean and bright,stocked with extra products you might need. Fluffy, soft towels & beautifully decorated make this a nice retreat after a little summer hiking on Chimney Rock. There's a door to the bath & curtains which can be drawn at the patio door for privacy in the bigger room.
The patio was a perfect spot anytime of the day! It was cool during the hot days and protected during summer showers surrounded by birds, trees & beautiful flowers! There's 2 comfortable hammocks for naps (be sure to ask how to get in them, so you don't look silly crawling in!) and two Adirondack chairs, great for reading or listening to nature. The table was a nice place to eat outside with a view of a mama cardinal sitting on her nest in the bushes!
There's no water views although there is a creek nearby, and the views of mountains are limited by the trees. This apt is about 15 mins to Lake Lure.
The only thing I missed was a hot tub. I'd like to have had better cell service, but wifi worked fine.
I often travel alone, so I always have an eye out towards safety and privacy. I felt very secure as the house is in a gated community/neighborhood. It would accommodate 2-3 easily.
I can't wait to go back & will go back often!
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you back anytime.
business
Efficiency Apartment in quiet Gated Community
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418563vb
828-625-2673
Lake Lure Asheville Area
Mocksville, NC
5

LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
This was a AMAZING getaway!!!! This was our first time visiting Lake Lure and we decided we needed a quick getaway for our 10th Anniversary, we never expected such a beautiful town with alot to offer.We were greeted with the warmth of hospitality and felt right at home at the Irwin's, Evelyn was the sweetest ever and she really made us feel right at home!!! This place was EXCEPTIONALLY clean and you can tell that really know how to care for there guests!!! WE were greeted with treats and had fresh eggs in the re-fridgerator from there very own chicken house, unfortunately we had such a short stay we didn't have time to enjoy :( We are def. coming back and I wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!!!!
  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Email Owner Email

Map

Biltmore Village, Chimney Rock, Grandfather Mountain, Mount Mitchell, etc.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Lake Lure Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$65
$380
 

Additional information about rental rates

Notes Potential renters need to allow adequate time to submit deposit. Last minute rental will most likely be turned down unless it is a repeat guest. Pet policy, no children and minimum age is strictly enforced.
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Lake Lure Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 350 sq. ft.
General:
  • Heating
  • Towels Provided
  • Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Internet ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Telephone ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Coffee Maker
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) In addition to queen bed.
Entertainment:
  • Television
  • Satellite / Cable
  • DVD Player
  • Video Library
  • Books
  • Games
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • boating
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • snowboarding
  • kayaking
  • rock climbing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Email Owner Email

Other Vacation Properties

$600 - $750 per week
2 - 3 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 2 BA,
  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 2
$600 - $875 per week
2 - 5 night minimum stay
  • 1 BR,
  • 1 BA,
  • Sleeps 4