Send this page to a friend

Thank You

Your message has been sent.

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

Great base camp for outdoor adventure

Tom Forsythe

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Tom Forsythe

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 19, 2015
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Great base camp for outdoor adventure

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Kanab Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Historic home remodeled with modern upgrades. New locally sourced sustainably harvested wood floors. Feel right at home in a fully equipped kitchen. Claw foot soaking tub and shower in bath. 49 inch HDTV & Internet enabled blue ray player.

Four poster King sized bed, Full bed in additional bedroom. Study with full futon - sleeps six comfortably, 8 if you push it.

Carport and asphalt surfaced parking for 6 vehicles.

Naturally cool and cozy.

  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Tom Forsythe (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 19, 2015

About Tom Forsythe

I moved to Kanab 16 years ago to escape the frenzy of Los Angeles and have never worked so hard in my life. I traded the not so stressful life of reading screenplays on the beach for the complexity of rural life. After successfully fending off the rapacious legal eagles representing the Mattel Corporation - see - I took on the responsibility of running the Little Hollywood Land tourist business. We sell iconic images of the mythic American West. We'll sell you great jewelry or put you in a classic old time photo. Running a business is a lot of work but the beauty of the land keeps it all fun - living here is like looking at the world through an 81 A warming filter.

Why Tom Forsythe chose Kanab

This charming historical home combines history with modern comfort. For just a little more than a decent hotel room you can enjoy an entire house - but isn't that the case with all vacation rentals?

This house isn't unique; it's just very nice with some real personality and room to make yourself at home.

After a long day enjoying the sites you can soak in the claw foot tub, surf the Wi fi or enjoy DVDs from the video library.

What makes this cottage unique

Of course there's a washer/dryer and quality linens. The living room has a romantic propane fireplace and comfortable seating. Out back there's a rock patio and outdoor fireplace.

Fenced rear yard makes this property both pet friendly and pet safe.

Now that we have hypoallergenic wood floors we can't in good conscience allow pets in this home.

Why HomeAway

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Travel with confidence
Travel with confidence
Guaranteed, secure, with no booking fees
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.


based on 9 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Great base camp for outdoor adventure
average rating of 4.111111 based on 9 reviews
Dallas, TX USA

Disappointing stay. No one available/on-call to help. Felt dirty. Roomy! Good location. Pet-friendly

  • 2 of 5

Overall, we experienced a disappointing stay. We wouldn't recommend this home to friends and family, however, I believe some travellers will appreciate this home for their Kanab visit. I'll outline both the positive and negative aspects of our stay.


If you keep your expectations modest and you want a roomy, pet-friendly home in Kanab, then this home will satisfy your needs!

Kanab is a great base camp for nearby Southwest adventures. It was nice to come back to a house each evening after long days of hiking and driving. The home is central in Kanab in a quiet neighborhood. We enjoyed the fully stocked kitchen and how roomy the house is. The excellent wifi was much appreciated. This property is dog-friendly and features a grassy backyard.

The owner is very personable and can offer helpful insight on the region's natural beauty. Be sure to ask his advice and to visit his interesting museum and store.


Unfortunately for us, the negative aspects of our stay outweighed the high points.

Most importantly, there was no one on-call to help us (we definitely needed it... see next paragraph). The owner was completely absent/unreachable until the second-to-last night of our week-long stay. The house info warned us he might be unreachable and stated to contact his store for assistance. We called the store several times but no one could help us; they seemed incapable and unprepared to help anyway. After repeated messages/vmails/emails over several days, we seriously contemplated a motel room.

We needed help: we encountered a few hazardous issues. (1) An entire window treatment fell on my head. The drapes were held up by a large, heavy pole with sharp, rusted, open ends. It was not a true curtain rod; it was practically scrap metal that wasn't even affixed to the wall. (2) The glass of a random picture frame on the ground fell on my foot. (3) There are rat traps and poison set out in a closet, which no one warned us about, as we brought our dog to this pet-friendly home.

This home feels dirty and unkempt. We found rat droppings and spider webs.

RETURN TO POSITIVE: The owner finally returned our days of messages. He was sincere in hearing our grievances and apologized. He promptly dispatched a repair person. Upon my request, he granted a much appreciated partial reimbursement.

Although our experience was disappointing, this home has positive points with a personable owner. Measure your expectations.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I take customer satisfaction seriously so it’s always disappointing when someone doesn’t enjoy their stay at my Kanab cottage.. On the other hand, if you are a guest who needs concierge service, then this is not the place for you. There are 800 or so hotel rooms in Kanab so hotel staff is readily available at these establishments. If instead, you’re looking for some place with the feel of a home, then this is a great place. We have a fully stocked kitchen, a king memory foam bed, a double bed and a double futon. We also have a full living room with a large TV and a wi fi enabled blue ray DVD player. This is comparable to a $1,500 a night vegas suite. So, we have amenities and space – but we don’t have a concierge. We have an extensive cleaning checklist and the home is checked for cleanliness before each visit, so it’s just not true that the home was dirty. It’s also true that I have heard from other guests that ‘it felt dirty.’ It’s also true that there have been mice in this home. Not rats – mice. It’s a rural area and there are mice everywhere so I address the problem with traps in out of the way places. But wait – there’s more. During the winter off season I have addressed the issue of mice by pouring a new concrete foundation for the home. This is a pioneer home supported by beautiful but not completely sealed red rock. This makes it easy for critters to get under the home and then into the home. The new concrete foundation should address this problem. I have also removed the carpet. Pet owners too often left messes on these carpets. We did our best to keep them clean but it was impossible. The carpet is being replaced with beautiful wood. This is locally sourced, sustainably harvested pine from the Kaibab forest leading to the Grand Canyon. It’s a beautiful and sanitary upgrade to this home. The guest’s complaint about the curtain rod boggled my mind when I first heard it and confused my maintenance man as well since that curtain rod has been there for 5 years and no one had a problem previously. We suspect some strange acrobatics on the part of the guest, but we can’t say anything more than that. The curtain rod had been secured with screws. It now as the addition of wire to make

Great house to wlk around town and drive to best friends

  • 4 of 5

We stayed and had a great time. Fully stocked, washer/dryer, netflix on TV, backyard with patio table and fruit trees, easy walk to restaurants. 3 bedrooms but we only need and used 1. Our visiting Best Friends loved it too.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Idaho Falls

Very Pleased!

  • 5 of 5

Simple, but enough for our needs. Close to everything. We loved it.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Appleton, WI

Nice vacation home

  • 5 of 5

This is a great location for exploring the national parks. Just an hour away from Zion and a few hours from both the Grand Canyon and Bryce Canyon. They had ammenities such as washer and dryer on sight and great accommodations for an entire family. Very happy with the stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway

Too much deferred maintenance; unresponsive owner

  • 1 of 5

This property is not well maintained. We were the unfortunate guests who reported the problems, but most we're left unfixed by the owner. Poor AC repoted on Mon; again on Thursday, not repaired until Fri. The TV doesn't work at all and hasn't been repaired or replaced, nor has owner responded to calls or texts on this issue. The sink and shower faucets are in poor repair. We had to request Kleenex, and no paper towels are supplied in the kitchen. Worse, the day we were to check in, the owner was no where to be found and unresponsive to phone or text. Luckily the cleaning lady let us in; otherwise we would have been stranded for the night. We don't recommend this place until all issues have been repaired and owner has a property manager if he can't respond. The owner has offered no compensation for all of the trouble with the property.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's always disappointing to have an unsatisfied customer. This guest’s difficulty in gaining access is entirely my fault. I misread the calendar, thought he was arriving on Monday instead of Sunday. I connected with him on Monday and apologized for his trouble. Other than that, this guest’s criticisms are completely unfair. I should have known that he expected concierge service when he called to say that there was no Kleenex. I promptly delivered two boxes of Kleenex- the first request I've had in three years. I do provide paper towels; if there weren’t any, that was an unfortunate oversight. When he told me that the Evaporative cooler was blowing hot air I had it fixed within 1 hour. I have since checked it and can guarantee that it will put a chill into the air. It is true that he called on Friday night and again on Saturday to say that the Television was not working. I did not get his messages until later in the day on Saturday – a function of the spotty cell phone coverage that goes along with the benefit of this being a peaceful and remote location. I am aware of the poor cell phone reception. That is why the house instructions also provide the phone number for the retail store, which is a land line and answered from 9am until 9pm every day of the week. He never called that number where he would have received some help, although probably not a new TV on a weekend in remote Kanab. Even our Radio Shack has closed so there is no place to buy a TV with 75 miles. As soon as I received his message I dispatched an employee. The guest refused him entry because he no longer wanted to watch TV. After the guest checked out, I removed and replaced the TV. I can assure any future renters that there is now a new HD 42” television installed and working perfectly along with a Wi Fi Blue ray player and surround sound. His complaints about the faucets are a complete mystery to me. I had never heard of them before he mentioned them on checkout. Since then I have tested all the faucets and can find no problems with them. I asked my housekeeper whether she had experienced any problem with the plumbing and she was as surprised as I was because she has never experienced any such problems. What really hurts is the sense of betrayal I feel from this guest. I thought it was generous when I offered him $100 off his rental fee - $50 per day that he was unable to watch television. And he said that was fair. Instead, he wrote a scathing review based on lies.

Beautiful central location. Great vacation destination.

  • 5 of 5

Me and my 3 teenagers loved this house!

The host and hostess are beautiful people and the accommodations couldn't have bee better.

We spent most of out time out seeing all the wonderful sites around, but when we returned, it felt like home. Very comfortable and restful.

And a quiet bar / restaurant right next door!!

Lots to do and see. The sky was sooo blue there!

Best place to stay in Kanab, in my opinion.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Page or St. George
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Nearest Ferry
110 Miles
Lees Ferry
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Coral Hills
Nearest Train
200 Miles
Green Rivre
Nearest Motorway
Hwy 89
Nearest Ski
70 Miles
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Coral Pink Sand Dunes
Car: necessary

Good local grocery stores, restaurants and shopping. 5 miles to Best Friends, 30 miles to Zion, 78 to Bryce, 70 to Lake Powell, 74 to Grand Canyon. It's beautiful in every direction, the land that Hollywood filmed to create the world's image of the iconic American West.

Since I own Little Hollywood Land I highly recommend this free Movie Set Museum, Trading Post and Photo Studio. Seriously it's worth visiting and the staff will help you choose the best activities for your interest and budget. There's lots of free hiking, some of it even guided, and many outfitters willing to beat up their vehicles to get you deep into the back-country. There are guided ATV and horseback tours, scenic flights and zip lines.

We'll clue you in on the attractions beyond the big names, places like Coral Pink Sand Dunes, Peekaboo slot canyon, Bunting Trail or Hog Canyon. How about Cascade Falls - see Navajo Lake shoot out of a hole in the side of a mountain - the headwaters of the Virgin River that carved Zion Canyon. We think the parks are too crowded and I'll make sure you find the places that make Kanab worth visiting over and over again.


Rates & Availability

From $125 Per night

Kanab Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Rental rates quoted in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50.00
Cleaning fee $60.00
Tax Rate 13.2%
Notes Check in at the Little Hollywood Movie Museum, 297 W. Center Street. Look for the rearing white horse at the West end of downtown Kanab.
$200 deposit by check or credit card charged at my retail store. Balance on arrival
Enter dates to see total


Kanab Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Claw foot soaking tub Separate shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1) Very comfy memory foam king sized bed, Double Beds (1) Pillow top comfort, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Double futon in the study
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
This is a nice comfortable house with 9' ceilings in the living room and master. It has historic charm with modern upgrades. It's a great base camp for a Southwest adventure. The place is outfitted with everything we can think of that you'll need.

Contact the Owner

Tell the owner when you would like to travel.

Get an Instant Quote

Enter dates to calculate a quote