GREAT BASE CAMP FOR OUTDOOR ADVENTURE

Tom Forsythe

Speaks english
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Contact the Owner

Tom Forsythe

Speaks english
Tell the owner when you would like to travel.
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

GREAT BASE CAMP FOR OUTDOOR ADVENTURE

Kanab Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Historic home remodeled with modern upgrades. Feel right at home in a fully equipped kitchen. Claw foot soaking tub and shower in bath. Internet enabled blue ray player.

Four poster King sized bed, Full bed in additional bedroom. Study with full futon - sleeps six comfortably, 8 if you push it.

Carport and asphalt surfaced parking for 6 vehicles.

Naturally cool and cozy.

Suitability:
  • pets considered
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Tom Forsythe

This advertiser has been with HomeAway.com since 2012
Speaks english

I moved to Kanab 16 years ago to escape the frenzy of Los Angeles and have never worked so hard in my life. I traded the not so stressful life of reading screenplays on the beach for the complexity of rural life. After successfully fending off the rapacious legal eagles representing the Mattel Corporation - see www.tomforsythe.com - I took on the responsibility of running the Little Hollywood Land tourist business. We sell iconic images of the mythic American West. We'll sell you great jewelry or put you in a classic old time photo. Running a business is a lot of work but the beauty of the land keeps it all fun - living here is like looking at the world through an 81 A warming filter.

This charming historical home combines history with modern comfort. For just a little more than a decent hotel room you can enjoy an entire house - but isn't that the case with all vacation rentals?

This house isn't unique; it's just very nice with some real personality and room to make yourself at home.

After a long day enjoying the sites you can soak in the claw foot tub, surf the Wi fi or enjoy classic westerns from the video library.

Of course there's a washer/dryer and quality linens. The living room has a romantic propane fireplace and comfortable seating. Out back there's a rock patio and outdoor fireplace.

Fenced rear yard makes this property both pet friendly and pet safe. To be fair to the next guest we have an extra cleaning fee for pets.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Contact the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Add vacation protection services to your booking
Three services to protect your trip:
Protect your payments in case you need to cancel.
Guarantee the rental meets your expectations
Ensure you're prepared in case of accidental damage.

Reviews

4.3
based on 6 traveler reviews

Write a Review
Great base camp for outdoor adventure
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews
business
Great base camp for outdoor adventure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418128vb
Kanab Utah
Appleton, WI
5

NICE VACATION HOME

  • 5 of 5
This is a great location for exploring the national parks. Just an hour away from Zion and a few hours from both the Grand Canyon and Bryce Canyon. They had ammenities such as washer and dryer on sight and great accommodations for an entire family. Very happy with the stay.
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
business
Great base camp for outdoor adventure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418128vb
Kanab Utah
California
1

TOO MUCH DEFERRED MAINTENANCE; UNRESPONSIVE OWNER

  • 1 of 5
This property is not well maintained. We were the unfortunate guests who reported the problems, but most we're left unfixed by the owner. Poor AC repoted on Mon; again on Thursday, not repaired until Fri. The TV doesn't work at all and hasn't been repaired or replaced, nor has owner responded to calls or texts on this issue. The sink and shower faucets are in poor repair. We had to request Kleenex, and no paper towels are supplied in the kitchen. Worse, the day we were to check in, the owner was no where to be found and unresponsive to phone or text. Luckily the cleaning lady let us in; otherwise we would have been stranded for the night. We don't recommend this place until all issues have been repaired and owner has a property manager if he can't respond. The owner has offered no compensation for all of the trouble with the property.
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's always disappointing to have an unsatisfied customer. This guest’s difficulty in gaining access is entirely my fault. I misread the calendar, thought he was arriving on Monday instead of Sunday. I connected with him on Monday and apologized for his trouble.
Other than that, this guest’s criticisms are completely unfair. I should have known that he expected concierge service when he called to say that there was no Kleenex. I promptly delivered two boxes of Kleenex- the first request I've had in three years. I do provide paper towels; if there weren’t any, that was an unfortunate oversight.
When he told me that the Evaporative cooler was blowing hot air I had it fixed within 1 hour. I have since checked it and can guarantee that it will put a chill into the air.
It is true that he called on Friday night and again on Saturday to say that the Television was not working. I did not get his messages until later in the day on Saturday – a function of the spotty cell phone coverage that goes along with the benefit of this being a peaceful and remote location. I am aware of the poor cell phone reception. That is why the house instructions also provide the phone number for the retail store, which is a land line and answered from 9am until 9pm every day of the week. He never called that number where he would have received some help, although probably not a new TV on a weekend in remote Kanab. Even our Radio Shack has closed so there is no place to buy a TV with 75 miles.
As soon as I received his message I dispatched an employee. The guest refused him entry because he no longer wanted to watch TV. After the guest checked out, I removed and replaced the TV. I can assure any future renters that there is now a new HD 42” television installed and working perfectly along with a Wi Fi Blue ray player and surround sound.
His complaints about the faucets are a complete mystery to me. I had never heard of them before he mentioned them on checkout. Since then I have tested all the faucets and can find no problems with them. I asked my housekeeper whether she had experienced any problem with the plumbing and she was as surprised as I was because she has never experienced any such problems.
What really hurts is the sense of betrayal I feel from this guest. I thought it was generous when I offered him $100 off his rental fee - $50 per day that he was unable to watch television. And he said that was fair. Instead, he wrote a scathing review based on lies.
business
Great base camp for outdoor adventure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418128vb
Kanab Utah
Dallas
5

BEAUTIFUL CENTRAL LOCATION. GREAT VACATION DESTINATION.

  • 5 of 5
Me and my 3 teenagers loved this house!
The host and hostess are beautiful people and the accommodations couldn't have bee better.
We spent most of out time out seeing all the wonderful sites around, but when we returned, it felt like home. Very comfortable and restful.
And a quiet bar / restaurant right next door!!
Lots to do and see. The sky was sooo blue there!
Best place to stay in Kanab, in my opinion.
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great base camp for outdoor adventure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418128vb
Kanab Utah
Silver Spring, MD
5

GREAT HOME IN KANAB

  • 5 of 5
Spent 5 nights in this wonderful home while volunteering at Best Friends Animal Sanctuary. One really nice aspect of this home is that it is on the Best Friends side of town so you just have to roll out of bed and it only takes about 10 minutes to get to DogTown! My favorite thing in the house is the clawfoot tub - after a long day of sweeping/mopping dog runs and taking dogs for walks it was nice to come "home" and take a nice hot bath in the antique tub. Tom was very helpful when I had problems with the TV and came right over to show me what to do. I would highly recommend this home to others.
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
business
Great base camp for outdoor adventure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418128vb
Kanab Utah
Springville
5

GREAT PROPERTY - GREAT EXPERIENCE

  • 5 of 5
We went to Kanab to visit Best Friends Animal Sanctuary. The house is on Main St. on the north end of town, very convenient. The home is spacious, clean, and well kept. It had everything we needed in terms of pots, pans, dishes, laundry, safe place to put our bikes and bedding. Our kids loved the room, compared to a hotel. The fur nature is nice and comfortable. Working with the owner was a breeze. He runs a gift shop in town that is open late so he was always available and he knew the answers to our tourist questions. We highly recommend the property.
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Great base camp for outdoor adventure
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p418128vb
Kanab Utah
Green Bay, WI Brown
5

WHY PAY FOR A MOTEL WHEN YOU CAN HAVE A FURNISHED HOME.

  • 5 of 5
Very charming home right on the main street. Great to wall down the main st close to shops and restaurants. Beautiful scenery in ths area. Very close to all the national parks and so much more.
Also was very nice to be able to make some meals there so we didn't have to eat everyone out. A very cool comfortable home.
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Email Owner Email

Map

Good local grocery stores, restaurants and shopping. 5 miles to Best Friends, 30 miles to Zion, 78 to Bryce, 70 to Lake Powell, 74 to Grand Canyon. It's beautiful in every direction, the land that Hollywood filmed to create the world's image of the iconic American West.

Since I own Little Hollywood Land I highly recommend this free Movie Set Museum, Trading Post and Photo Studio. Seriously it's worth visiting and the staff will help you choose the best activities for your interest and budget. There's lots of free hiking, some of it even guided, and many outfitters willing to beat up their vehicles to get you deep into the back-country. There are guided ATV and horseback tours, scenic flights and zip lines.

We'll clue you in on the attractions beyond the big names, places like Coral Pink Sand Dunes, Peekaboo slot canyon, Bunting Trail or Hog Canyon. How about Cascade Falls - see Navajo Lake shoot out of a hole in the side of a mountain - the headwaters of the Virgin River that carved Zion Canyon. We think the parks are too crowded and I'll make sure you find the places that make Kanab worth visiting over and over again.

Email Owner Email

Photos

Email Owner Email

Availability & Rates

Available
Unavailable

Kanab Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
Per property
Rental rates quoted in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$125
$700
$2,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $60
Tax Rate 13.2%
Email Owner Email

Amenities

Kanab Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1) Very comfy memory foam king sized bed, Double Beds (1) Pillow top comfort, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Double futon in the study
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • CD Player
  • Television ...
  • Music Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • pets considered ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
  • wildlife viewing
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • horseshoes
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • cycling
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
Notes:
This is a nice comfortable house with 9' ceilings in the living room and master. It has historic charm with modern upgrades. It's a great base camp for a Southwest adventure. The place is outfitted with everything we can think of that you'll need and we're right around the corner if you have any special requests.
Email Owner Email